wazua Mon, May 6, 2024

Sugar Crackdown- What exactly is going on?
shadowinvestor
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2018 2:05:35 PM

Rai's via Menengai group of companies and some small "fish" around the country have borne the weight of this crackdown. While we accept that illegal imported sugar, substandard etc is bad- the is more hapa. Sasa leteni conspiracy stories, the truth, the lie and the "govt natative" tuongee.

My take- It has been an easy source of wealth that needs to be cut/ taken up by others
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2018 3:30:49 PM

It sounds political but we know corruption and these kind of things never bring down politicians so I think it is a diversion or cover-up of something major.
It just doesn't make sense how this story has been blown up yet this sugar nonsense happens every year, even Mumias brings in sugar through the same barons. Mercury is the only twist in the story but I don't think it's new.

shadowinvestor
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2018 3:56:01 PM

There was a time they threw sugar in the ocean, KRA case for Kes2B for some Somali billionaire, a push by anticounterfight guys targeting substandard items etc. Is the sugar a bit hot that its hitting the press more unlike other items, I know of a few Chinese in hiding as their wares have been confiscated.
For sure its political one way or another- however it has evaded the usual companies- Mumias was always in the thick of these shenanigans- Kabras seems to be the private player who took over this and allowed to avoid the public scrutiny of Mumias.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2018 4:11:37 PM

What we are seeing is a scheme from far back muted by RAI. His aim all along has been to take up the economy of Western Kenya and have it by himself. To do so, he started by buying off former PanPaper and it was aptly named RAI paper. It must also not be forgotten that his family owns West Kenya famous for Kabras Sugar, Kabras Rally, Kabras Rugby and Kabras Hockey. Anything wrong with that? Let's just say no. To accomplish his ambitions, RAI mooted a plan to bring down the entire sugar industry. This would play into the grand scheme and he would eventually buy off the sugar plants for a song just as he did PanPaper. He inherited the Chaimanship of the then millers association and by extension ,he had a big say in the then Kenya Sugar Board. During his tenure, zoning was abolished and this meant that, despite not having a nucleus of it's own, West Kenya was able to poach cane from other millers. They would in turn pay cash for the crop thereby overiding other millers and their contractual agreements with outgrowers. This explains the current situation of the sugar industry in Western. Now, the crook did not leave it there. He went ahead and roped in major sugar sellers in the country namely Parlea,YH,Rising Star,Mbote,Kanini,Diamond,Jamaa amongst others. Together, they would hoard sugar in 2016 and that brought a cry from the opposition and the general citizenship. Uhuru's government heeded by allowing importation to cushion consumers while checking the ever rising price of sugar. Little did the government know they were playing into the hands of this crooks. Apart from importing both legally and illegally, WK has been involved in buying immature cane from unsuspecting farmers in Western region using profits from the imported sugar.The aim being to keep other sugar industries out of business until they close down. What should the government, apart from arresting this crooks and locking them up,do?

1. Ban sugar importation forthwith.
2. Instead of destroying the impounded sugar, distribute it to the 4 sugar mills which have capacity to refine namely, Chemelil, Nzoia,Sony and Mumias and then put it back to the market.
3. Close down any sugar mill that has no known nucleus of it's own.
4. Re-introduce zoning.
5. If any shortfall is to be imported, this should be done by existing millers.
8. Limit packaging and branding of sugar to existing millers only.

#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2018 4:22:47 PM

shadowinvestor wrote:

For sure its political one way or another- however it has evaded the usual companies- Mumias was always in the thick of these shenanigans- Kabras seems to be the private player who took over this and allowed to avoid the public scrutiny of Mumias.

You have little or no facts. No sugar miller in Kenya has imported sugar in the last 15 years save for a permit issued to WK in 2016. Actually, Mumias has NEVER imported sugar in it's 49 years of existence save for an attempt in 2012 or 2013 which ended up with the Dubai bank fiasco.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2018 4:40:41 PM

The crooks trying to hide more smuggled sugar. Lorries arrested in Migori.

#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2018 5:40:52 PM

Njunge wrote:
What we are seeing is a scheme from far back muted by RAI. His aim all along has been to take up the economy of Western Kenya and have it by himself. To do so, he started by buying off former PanPaper and it was aptly named RAI paper. It must also not be forgotten that his family owns West Kenya famous for Kabras Sugar, Kabras Rally, Kabras Rugby and Kabras Hockey. Anything wrong with that? Let's just say no. To accomplish his ambitions, RAI mooted a plan to bring down the entire sugar industry. This would play into the grand scheme and he would eventually buy off the sugar plants for a song just as he did PanPaper. He inherited the Chaimanship of the then millers association and by extension ,he had a big say in the then Kenya Sugar Board. During his tenure, zoning was abolished and this meant that, despite not having a nucleus of it's own, West Kenya was able to poach cane from other millers. They would in turn pay cash for the crop thereby overiding other millers and their contractual agreements with outgrowers. This explains the current situation of the sugar industry in Western. Now, the crook did not leave it there. He went ahead and roped in major sugar sellers in the country namely Parlea,YH,Rising Star,Mbote,Kanini,Diamond,Jamaa amongst others. Together, they would hoard sugar in 2016 and that brought a cry from the opposition and the general citizenship. Uhuru's government heeded by allowing importation to cushion consumers while checking the ever rising price of sugar. Little did the government know they were playing into the hands of this crooks. Apart from importing both legally and illegally, WK has been involved in buying immature cane from unsuspecting farmers in Western region using profits from the imported sugar.The aim being to keep other sugar industries out of business until they close down. What should the government, apart from arresting this crooks and locking them up,do?

2. Instead of destroying the impounded sugar, distribute it to the 4 sugar mills which have capacity to refine namely, Chemelil, Nzoia,Sony and Mumias and then put it back to the market.
4. Re-introduce zoning.

Alright, Jamaa! Is this the same Jamaa which is currently running the biggest supermarket in Nyandarua County called Jamaa Supermarket in Olkalou town. They were Storing their sugar in the National Cereals and Produce Board godown in the town. Now, are we about to hear of a connection between this jerkass Rai and the corrupt NCPB???
Cornelius Vanderbiltt
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2018 6:30:58 PM

Njunge wrote:

4. Re-introduce zoning.

i think reprocessed mercury taste very sweet. hehehe.but al in all the government is really trying to sabotage somebody's 2022 bid.ni hayo tu.
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 9:40:18 AM

This Rai guy imported 187 million kilos of sugar in one year alone!!! There are people doing business of this magnitudee in "the wild wild East"!!!

Yani if he was importing Vitz of 1000kg he would have brought in 187,000 vitz!!!

Selling in retail @100/- a kilo would make you 18.7b! More than 10b in profit for this cheaply

There's no way you'd be doing this kind of business without major corruption especially if you are of Indian origin and on an election year (forgive my racist comment but ni ukweli).

#10 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 9:48:37 AM

Njunge wrote:

4. Re-introduce zoning.

Would you want to say anything about the business connections of this Rai guy with the first family. Or its too hot to handle.

By the way, Uhuru appointed the guy to Kenya Forestry Service board.
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 9:52:45 AM

This Rai guy imported 187 million kilos of sugar in one year alone!!! There are people doing business of this magnitudee in "the wild wild East"!!!

Yani if he was importing Vitz of 1000kg he would have brought in 187,000 vitz!!!

There's no way you'd be doing this kind of business without major corruption especially if you are of Indian origin and on an election year (forgive my racist comment but ni ukweli).

Crazy figures...
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 9:53:24 AM

...and that is how WK Sugar has been declaring it's crushing. Never mind the license issued was for 34,000 tonnes. A good part of that sugar was brought in through Kismayu and then transported by dhows to Kiwayu (It takes 7 to 8 hours by dhow from Kiwayu to Lamu), Lamu and into the mainland.
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 10:02:04 AM

[quote=Njunge]
Would you want to say anything about the business connections of this Rai guy with the first family. Or its too hot to handle.

I will...on condition you prove all your friends and business partners are angels.

#14 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 10:14:31 AM

Njunge wrote:

...and that is how WK Sugar has been declaring it's crushing. Never mind the license issued was for 34,000 tonnes. A good part of that sugar was brought in through Kismayu and then transported by dhows to Kiwayu (It takes 7 to 8 hours by dhow from Kiwayu to Lamu), Lamu and into the mainland.

With the Military presence? Or is the cancer that deep? If uniformed personnel are involved in distribution, Wanjiku kwisha... Kunywa mercury yako and move onSad

#15 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 12:01:02 PM

Njunge wrote:

With the Military presence? Or is the cancer that deep? If uniformed personnel are involved in distribution, Wanjiku kwisha... Kunywa mercury yako and move onSad

I also wonder how they manage to get to lamu/Mukowe.The military usually checks any vehicle coming from Kiwayu to Mukowe and Kiunga to Mukowe/lamu. The few lorries I have seen operating on that route are mainly carrying fish and they have coolers.

How do they manage to move sugar from Kiwayu? Kweli hii Kenya sio yetu
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 12:19:45 PM

Njunge wrote:
[quote=Njunge]

I will...on condition you prove all your friends and business partners are angels.

Ah. Crackdown ni ya lesser weevils.

heri
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 12:22:30 PM

Njunge wrote:

4. Re-introduce zoning.

Woi, i give up. Is that how high these things go?
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 12:55:37 PM

Njunge wrote:

Of course "we" cannot talk about that... It is betrayal. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 12:57:40 PM

@njung'e have you thought maybe this RAI guy works for the big fish including the one you cannot talk about? smile
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2018 1:37:27 PM

@njung'e have you thought maybe this RAI guy works for the big fish including the one you cannot talk about? smile

Rai has been a bigshot since I can remember. Raiply. Rai group of companies. Well known muhindi but somewhat down to earth.