wazua Tue, Apr 23, 2024

9 Pages«<6789>
Centum Full Year results 2017/2018
#141 Posted : Monday, December 10, 2018 10:57:43 PM

Centum owned Sabis School injects Sh1bn for expansion
https://www.businessdail...9822-eg8e1ez/index.html
The Runda based elite school which welcomed its first batch of 100 students in September this year expects the second phase of expansion in Runda will raise its admission capacity to a total of 1,200 students.
"We expect to admit hundreds of more students starting next year based on the interest recorded from parents," said Mr Kleynhans in a statement.
Kalameni
#142 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2018 10:10:35 AM

@VVS that school fees is some people's annual salary.If the market/demand is there then it's a good investment.
#143 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2018 10:26:05 AM

Kalameni wrote:
@VVS that school fees is some people's annual salary.If the market/demand is there then it's a good investment.

Sabis is in direct competition with other elite learning institutions such as the German School, International School of Kenya, Potterhouse School, Braeburn, Rosslyn Academy, Kenton and St Andrews Turi.

The international schools space has recently benefited from a steady growth of the middle class and the large pool of expatriates working for multinationals, foreign governments and global institutions like the UN. The top-of-the-range schools charge annual fees of between Sh200,000 and Sh600,000 for day scholars while those in boarding school pay up to Sh1.7 million a year.
rwitre
#144 Posted : Monday, December 24, 2018 12:05:47 PM

Where is this one going? I was quietly loading up at 28 then it suddenly decides to take off with all supply being cleared up.

Sellers come back. Obey the bear and give us a Christmas discount Laughing out loudly
#145 Posted : Monday, December 24, 2018 1:01:02 PM

rwitre wrote:
Where is this one going? I was quietly loading up at 28 then it suddenly decides to take off with all supply being cleared up.

Sellers come back. Obey the bear and give us a Christmas discount Laughing out loudly
Sad Sad Sad #TukoPamoja
rwitre
#146 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2019 12:12:02 PM

rwitre wrote:

Sad Sad Sad #TukoPamoja

Sigh# Hii imeenda.

Current: 35 (High 36.2, Low 33)

My regret is not buying more sooner. Anyway 25% gains in about a month is not bad.

Still heavily discounted though. Letting it ride before offloading. Of course if it retreats we will pounce on more.
#147 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2019 6:27:33 PM

rwitre wrote:

Sad Sad Sad #TukoPamoja

Sigh# Hii imeenda.

Current: 35 (High 36.2, Low 33)

My regret is not buying more sooner. Anyway 25% gains in about a month is not bad.

Still heavily discounted though. Letting it ride before offloading. Of course if it retreats we will pounce on more.
Yep! Except the off-loading part. I am staying in until we see the fruits harvested.
rwitre
#148 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2019 3:20:42 PM

Closes the week at 37.3

Just over a month ago it was on sale at 28.

33% gain in 5 weeks. Still heavily discounted. Tuendelee kupanda tu polepole.

Watu wa "dustbowl is everything" look away. There is no money to be made here. The stock market is a scam. Only gangsters in suits can thrive. Laughing out loudly
#149 Posted : Friday, February 01, 2019 3:45:03 PM

rwitre wrote:
Closes the week at 37.3

Just over a month ago it was on sale at 28.

33% gain in 5 weeks. Still heavily discounted. Tuendelee kupanda tu polepole.

Watu wa "dustbowl is everything" look away. There is no money to be made here. The stock market is a scam. Only gangsters in suits can thrive. Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You are looking for the wrath of @mugundaman.
#150 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2019 10:09:16 AM

Gaining on speculative volume.
#151 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2019 10:33:12 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Gaining on speculative volume.

Sina chapaa but I believe in it for the medium term. Sina insider info Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
I read the Annual Report and the Investor Presentation.
Ebenyo
#152 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 10:30:56 AM

Total. liabilities-45,391,000

Total equity-50,897,000

Debt to equity ratio-89%
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#153 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 10:56:43 AM

Ebenyo wrote:

Total equity-50,897,000

Debt to equity ratio-89%

From the Debt you should deduct the cash (and liquid assets) they have.
Ebenyo
#154 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 3:22:50 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

Total equity-50,897,000

Debt to equity ratio-89%

That means there is some sort of reliance on sidian bank which is loss making.
The amount you are saying is titled customer deposit which is 12,832,000.
kwani sidian bank only have 12m in deposits?
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ericsson
#155 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 3:31:00 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

Total equity-50,897,000

Debt to equity ratio-89%

As per FY2017 results yes
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#156 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 8:14:17 PM

Trash

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ericsson
#157 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 10:08:14 PM

Trash

It is fattened for slaughter
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#158 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 10:25:16 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Trash

It is fattened for slaughter

Clear manipulation on the provisions as well as commission and fees

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#159 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2019 1:05:00 AM

Ebenyo wrote:

Total equity-50,897,000

Debt to equity ratio-89%

Customer Deposits are 12.8 BILLION.
From the 45bn you should deduct the portion at that attributable to bank deposits and bank borrowings given these are not obligations of Centum and Centum does not have direct access to these funds.
As an example: If HF goes under, then Britam loses its deposits at HF and the % of its portion of shareholders capital.

45bn - 12.8bn - 3.2bn = 29bn
* Deferred Income Tax may or may no be considered a liability for this calculation given it only mature if there is a taxable event.

There are other "Minority Shareholders" in the group so let's look at the D:E Ratio for the "Company" which is more representative.
Debt: 17.4bn
Equity: 48.7bn
#160 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2019 1:13:04 AM

Trash

Thanks for this information. Very kind of you.
Sidian Bank posts Sh22 million profit on income jump
https://www.businessdail...4136-wmn7jvz/index.html

I am glad that Sidian has posted its first quarterly profit as far as I can remember after the interest rate cap. This Jan-Mar 2019 results will contribute to the FY19 results for Centum. Applause

Let's see how 2Q shapes up but if Sidian keeps up the good work then I see a ongoing contributions to Centum's FY19-23 results.