Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
According to CAK statistics April 1-June 30 2018
Safaricom lost 1.6% mkt to stand at 65.4%
Airtel gained 1.6% to stand at 21.4%
Telkom gained 0.2% to stand at 8.8%
Finserve (Equitel) lost 0.1% to stand at 4.3%
Safaricom subscribers now stand at 29,780,048 compared to 29,570,185 in March 31 2018
Airtel subcribers stand at 9,744,440 compared to 8,709,556 in March 2018
Telkom Kenya subscribers stand at 3,995,365 compared to 3,804,996 in March 31 2018

Finserve subscribers stand at 1,959,009 compared to 1,944,231 in March 2018

that loss is insignificant to safaricom

There is no absolute loss

You guys have been advancing that Telcom is eating into Safcom market share, how come that is not reflected in growth of subscribers. Safcom are way ahead of the chasing pack.

That data is June.. Plus usage trumps numbers

Safaricom will report higher profits than last year.
Telkom kenya still has a journey to go,its subscribers numbers growth is low
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson
#202 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 12:16:58 PM

Wananchi have finally agreed to surrender the kenyan mkt
ombaalbt
#203 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 12:28:51 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Wananchi have finally agreed to surrender the kenyan mkt

A new more aggresive entrant might come on board. They are still looking for buyers
https://www.the-star.co....rol-data-market_c1835227
Learning to sit on my hands
Ericsson
#204 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 12:42:35 PM

ombaalbt wrote:
[quote=Ericsson]Wananchi have finally agreed to surrender the kenyan mkt

A new more aggresive entrant might come on board. They are still looking for buyers
https://www.the-star.co....ol-data-market_c1835227[/quote]

MTN Business is also looking for an exit plan.
#205 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 8:46:25 PM

#206 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 8:52:15 PM

He has joined the Airtel chorus yet @Obiero & @Ericson keep on claiming Telcom is giving Safcom a tough time. Safcom won't succum to such fake competition.
rwitre
#207 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 9:12:46 PM

He has joined the Airtel chorus yet @Obiero & @Ericson keep on claiming Telcom is giving Safcom a tough time. Safcom won't succum to such fake competition.

How to not get ahead: Keep complaining about your competition.
#208 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 9:28:59 PM

I used Telkom for data when they first started touting their 4G but it was a bust in my area. I got a strong signal but poor speeds.
I eventually settled on Faiba4G (modem) complemented by Safaricom and Airtel (mpango).
#209 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 10:06:17 PM

rwitre wrote:

I support the fact that Safaricom needs to be declared dominant.. The outtage in July exposed this precarious position that we have exposed ourselves to

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ericsson
#210 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 12:44:47 PM

rwitre wrote:

I support the fact that Safaricom needs to be declared dominant.. The outtage in July exposed this precarious position that we have exposed ourselves to

The competition needs to look at the market for a long term horizon and the customer to be really convinced to move
Ericsson
#211 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 12:54:57 PM

HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away
#212 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 6:02:14 PM

Ericsson wrote:

#213 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 6:39:05 PM

Ericsson wrote:

FY18 is done and dusted the new year is 19. Note its not calendar yr but Fin yr.

Safaricom’s fiber market share grew from 19.4 percent in the last quarter to 21.2 percent by June on the back of aggressive marketing that added 14,537 fixed internet customers between March and June, to hit a total of 78,104 users.

Firm No. of Subscriptions Market Share (%)
    Wananchi 112,155- 30.4
    Safaricom 78,104 - 21.2
    Mawingu Networks Ltd 77,722 21.1
    Jamii Telecom 43,529 11.8
    Poa Internet Kenya Ltd (formerly Argon Telecom Services Ltd) 25,810 7
    Internet Solutions (ex-Access Kenya) 15,227 4.1
    Liquid Telecom 9,720 2.6
    Telkom Kenya 4,178 1.1

#214 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 6:39:16 PM

Ericsson wrote:

I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes.
Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers...
#215 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 6:42:46 PM

Ericsson wrote:

I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes.
Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers...

These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit

#216 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 6:59:04 PM

Ericsson wrote:

These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit

Are they taxing profitability or the service? The profit is taxed, if the govt feels they need more taxation out of the service safaricom is providing then the subscribers should foot it
#217 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 7:01:20 PM

Ericsson wrote:

I may not be a fan of Safcom as a consumer but for the last 10 years they have innovated like crazy. Other monopolies eg KQ and KPLC have crashed.
From M-Pesa, to Tills/Buy Goods to FTTH. These are long-term projects that needed massive investments in time and resources.
Celtel/Zain/Airtel dropped the ball.
Telkom/Orange/Telkom was a non-starter.

I prefer a (competitive) market economy to price controls that kill off innovation.

I want Airtel, Telkom and Faiba to step up and force Safcom to lower prices thanks to competition.
#218 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 7:01:46 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Are they taxing profitability or the service? The profit is taxed, if the govt feels they need more taxation out of the service safaricom is providing then the subscribers should foot it

There's no corporate ethics behind this.. Kenya is a poor state and the citizens need a break

#219 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 7:02:49 PM

Ericsson wrote:

#220 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 7:03:38 PM

Ericsson wrote:

True. I am going to hurt but the increased taxes but the Dynamic Duo didn't get into power without the consent of 50%+1.