KPLC vs KENGEN Accounts: Sh26B Missing
wukan
#21 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 2:12:42 PM

BKB wrote:
3rd August 2018

KENGEN 6.20
KPLC 6.00

A downtrodden tug of war.

Kengen is well run but tied to the hip with its sole customer KPLC. If KPLC goes south so does kengen.
Ericsson
#22 Posted : Friday, August 03, 2018 5:59:12 PM

wukan wrote:
BKB wrote:
3rd August 2018

KENGEN 6.20
KPLC 6.00

A downtrodden tug of war.

Kengen is well run but tied to the hip with its sole customer KPLC. If KPLC goes south so does kengen.

Both have huge debts and still taking in more.
Kulipa itakuwa matanga
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
limanika
#23 Posted : Sunday, August 05, 2018 2:52:52 PM

Am sure many commenting have not read the article but the writer gives a very good hypothesis. The accountants and auditors of the 2 firms need to have a seating with the parliamentary committee on energy. Something is a miss

the amount Kenya Power says it paid out is more than what KenGen says it received.

In total, the cumulative difference between the two figures over the 10-year period comes to over Sh26bn! This represents a shortfall of about 12 per cent.

I really look forward to an explanation of this persistent difference in the payments and receipts. It is quite troubling.

Going back to the original question about the fixed charge, I did a quick test of my own hypothesis. Kenya Power started the financial year with 3.7 million domestic customers and closed with 4.6 million. Thus, the median number was about 4.1 million. Each one of them was charged Sh150 per month, making a total of Sh622 million or about Sh7.4bn in the year.

In the same period, KenGen declared that it received Sh21.7bn as “Capacity Charges” – its “fixed charge” to Kenya Power. This amount is much larger than the Sh7.4bn collected by Kenya Power.

Troubles at KP caused mainly by tenderprenuers who took advantage mainly of the last mile. And the assumed stimulus to economy owing to last mile never came to be coz the last mile power is used just for lighting, or people don't even pay hence investment cannot be recovered in medium term. Talk of effects of poor economic planning reinforced with high level looting.
Ericsson
#24 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2018 10:33:39 AM

limanika wrote:
Am sure many commenting have not read the article but the writer gives a very good hypothesis. The accountants and auditors of the 2 firms need to have a seating with the parliamentary committee on energy. Something is a miss

the amount Kenya Power says it paid out is more than what KenGen says it received.

In total, the cumulative difference between the two figures over the 10-year period comes to over Sh26bn! This represents a shortfall of about 12 per cent.

I really look forward to an explanation of this persistent difference in the payments and receipts. It is quite troubling.

Going back to the original question about the fixed charge, I did a quick test of my own hypothesis. Kenya Power started the financial year with 3.7 million domestic customers and closed with 4.6 million. Thus, the median number was about 4.1 million. Each one of them was charged Sh150 per month, making a total of Sh622 million or about Sh7.4bn in the year.

In the same period, KenGen declared that it received Sh21.7bn as “Capacity Charges” – its “fixed charge” to Kenya Power. This amount is much larger than the Sh7.4bn collected by Kenya Power.

Troubles at KP caused mainly by tenderprenuers who took advantage mainly of the last mile. And the assumed stimulus to economy owing to last mile never came to be coz the last mile power is used just for lighting, or people don't even pay hence investment cannot be recovered in medium term. Talk of effects of poor economic planning reinforced with high level looting.

Injunction on the new tariffs could be ruled by the court this week.
Lows last seen decades ago on the share price will be witnessed.
KaunganaDoDo
#25 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2018 12:10:58 PM

This is the problem when Market Analysts and Participants give quacks from seat in Financial Statement Analysis. Energy sector , like any other specialist sector requires deep understanding of the cost build up and what they actually mean. FIRST FIXED CHARGES is not the same as CAPACITY CHARGES. FIXED CHARGES, say of 150 shillings payable by each customer (SAY 4.1 MILLION CUSTOMERS as the writer says) per month represents the meter rent for the METER supplied to the customer, meaning even if the customer doesnt consume a single unit, he will pay a fixed charge of Ksh 150, that represents fixed operating cost for the customers. this fixed charges( 150 time number of customers is reported by KPLC as revenue.
CAPACITY CHARGES represents the cost of power purchase that KPLC pays to KENGEN and other IPP per month/year even when it doesnt buy energy from them. in the energy Sector, You have a Power Purchase Agreement(PPA) which stipulates the bulk Power Purchase tariff. a PPA will have FCCR(Fixed capacity charge rate) and (VOMCR-Variable operating and maintenance charge rate)...The VOMCR which is also called energy rate, is payable depending on how much actual energy is being supplied to KPLC. Like all KenGEN Hydro plants have capacity charge rates...Capacity charges recovers the Capital costs of a Generation Plant...the Energy costs recovers the Operating costs of the plant
rwitre
#26 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 9:04:50 AM

Shareholders in GoK-controlled firms are screwed

“Out of the 525 companies listed to render services to Kenya Power, which I checked at the registrar of companies, 136 were not authenticated and therefore did not meet the criteria set to offer services to the sole power distributor,"

Mr Kipng’eno further said 262 companies pre-qualified by Kenya Power did not have the National Constructions Authority certificates mandating them to offer services.

The auditor, who was instructed to carry out an in-depth audit on the acquisition of faulty transformers that caused the firm a huge loss, said he established that due diligence was not followed.

He said alterations on specifications were done after the opening of the tender documents.

Mr Kipng’eno established that there was conflict of interest as some of the companies listed to render services belonged to KP employees.

He (auditor) said he recommended administrative action be taken against Beatrice Meso, the company secretary, Joshua Mutua, general manager commercial services, Abubakar Swaleh, general manager human resource and administration, Samuel Ndirangu, ICT general manager, Stanley Mutwiri, general manager infrastructure development, Benson Muriithi, general manager network management, Peter Mwicigi, general manager regional co-ordination and John Ombui, the head of supply chain.

The managers have been charged with procuring substandard transformers that caused Kenya Power a Sh408 million loss.

They are accused of conspiring to commit an economic crime on diverse dates between August 3, 2013 and June 12, 2018 when they procured transformers worth Sh408,533,221 from Muwa Trading Company.
muandiwambeu
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 2:33:49 PM

KaunganaDoDo wrote:
This is the problem when Market Analysts and Participants give quacks from seat in Financial Statement Analysis. Energy sector , like any other specialist sector requires deep understanding of the cost build up and what they actually mean. FIRST FIXED CHARGES is not the same as CAPACITY CHARGES. FIXED CHARGES, say of 150 shillings payable by each customer (SAY 4.1 MILLION CUSTOMERS as the writer says) per month represents the meter rent for the METER supplied to the customer, meaning even if the customer doesnt consume a single unit, he will pay a fixed charge of Ksh 150, that represents fixed operating cost for the customers. this fixed charges( 150 time number of customers is reported by KPLC as revenue.
CAPACITY CHARGES represents the cost of power purchase that KPLC pays to KENGEN and other IPP per month/year even when it doesnt buy energy from them. in the energy Sector, You have a Power Purchase Agreement(PPA) which stipulates the bulk Power Purchase tariff. a PPA will have FCCR(Fixed capacity charge rate) and (VOMCR-Variable operating and maintenance charge rate)...The VOMCR which is also called energy rate, is payable depending on how much actual energy is being supplied to KPLC. Like all KenGEN Hydro plants have capacity charge rates...Capacity charges recovers the Capital costs of a Generation Plant...the Energy costs recovers the Operating costs of the plant

Mungu saidia watoto wako, kunasunami hapa
Lost fixed charge revenue
Per month
150/=×4.1=615millions
Per annum 615×12=7.45bn
Lost just like that.
Even if meters are given to kplc for free that money is lost without replacement. Add on top metering costs still on or as always been.
If I still need to reassure myself, I classfy that revenue stream as other revenues/other operating income or otherwise. And that other revenue is comparingly that figure and the figure closely indicates kplc makes profits from fixed charges and not operations.
Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray
Hii ingenirarua pahali pengine pabya. A close save very close save. @xxxx almost got me to think how sad it was for me to miss out on @ARM. All I have to note is, hile transformer yenye ilikua yazusha hii kitu, ndio imeanza Safari tu. It's coming down with everything and leaving just nothing on it's wake down to ground zero.
I can not touch this one above zero point 6/=. Unless walipe mumias for sabotage of operations first.d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!.
Sending pictorial illustrations has isn't been easy, but soonest I see how, you too will have a chance to appreciate that the elephant in the house too has a loose behind.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
KaunganaDoDo
#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 3:43:42 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:

Per month
150/=×4.1=615millions
Per annum 615×12=7.45bn
Lost just like that.
Even if meters are given to kplc for free that money is lost without replacement. Add on top metering costs still on or as always been.
If I still need to reassure myself, I classfy that revenue stream as other revenues/other operating income or otherwise. And that other revenue is comparingly that figure and the figure closely indicates kplc makes profits from fixed charges and not operations.
Hii ingenirarua pahali pengine pabya. A close save very close save. @xxxx almost got me to think how sad it was for me to miss out on @ARM. All I have to note is, hile transformer yenye ilikua yazusha hii kitu, ndio imeanza Safari tu. It's coming down with everything and leaving just nothing on it's wake down to ground zero.
I can not touch this one above zero point 6/=. Unless walipe mumias for sabotage of operations first.d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!.
Sending pictorial illustrations has isn't been easy, but soonest I see how, you too will have a chance to appreciate that the elephant in the house too has a loose behind.

Boss, i told you to discuss matters you fully understand...The fixed charges were converted to Energy Charges...But since you hardly understands, and you derive pleasure in misleading people, stick to your slow lane...Anyway, The fixed charges were loaded to energy rate(kWh charge) and spread across the different tariff segments...
muandiwambeu
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 5:53:02 PM

KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:

Per month
150/=×4.1=615millions
Per annum 615×12=7.45bn
Lost just like that.

Boss, i told you to discuss matters you fully understand...The fixed charges were converted to Energy Charges...But since you hardly understands, and you derive pleasure in misleading people, stick to your slow lane...Anyway, The fixed charges were loaded to energy rate(kWh charge) and spread across the different tariff segments...

I think you have mental retardation to fail to see that was a guranteed revenue, now draw the lines between guranteed revenue and marginal revenues in a regime hell bent to make energy cheap for users. Of the 10/% top up on revenue from fixed charges, by what margin will the passed on fixed charges contribute to the revenue growth.
Figures don't lie, so thieves do figure too.
Your figures are in public domain, not a special discovery in your mental context to dispell disparage my duty to get figures right and make meaningful decisions. And for correction purposes, read the current numbers are over 4.65m. so get not me into slow lanes, neither name calling nor pleasing you off me as I am pleased to intuitively live off my conginital endeavors. I do live on the sense I draw from info in the market. Only that I go a further step to make that info money friendly @helloyellow. Am not ur advisor. Neither am I responsible to your decisions.

Ericsson
#30 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 6:03:56 PM

KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:

Per month
150/=×4.1=615millions
Per annum 615×12=7.45bn
Lost just like that.

Fyatu
#31 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 8:16:44 PM

A look at Kenya power today(price shs. 4.50), i deduce the following..

1. single digit P.E.,
2. > 68% earnings.,
3. > 10% dividend yield

I have calculated Umeme market cap Vs Kenya power market cap and obviously(rolling my eyes) there is no way umeme can be worth more than the great and mighty Kenya power.

Kenya power is a buy....hapan taka kizungu mingi
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Ericsson
#32 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 9:16:30 PM

Fyatu wrote:

1. single digit P.E.,
2. > 68% earnings.,
3. > 10% dividend yield

I have calculated Umeme market cap Vs Kenya power market cap and obviously(rolling my eyes) there is no way umeme can be worth more than the great and mighty Kenya power.

Sawa tumekusikia
the deal
#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2018 9:32:18 PM

Fyatu wrote:

1. single digit P.E.,
2. > 68% earnings.,
3. > 10% dividend yield

LOL someone never learns... Unbelievable!!!! Kenya Power is a sinking ship... Stay away!
KaunganaDoDo
#34 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2018 9:15:05 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:

Per month
150/=×4.1=615millions
Per annum 615×12=7.45bn
Lost just like that.

I think you have mental retardation to fail to see that was a guranteed revenue, now draw the lines between guranteed revenue and marginal revenues in a regime hell bent to make energy cheap for users. Of the 10/% top up on revenue from fixed charges, by what margin will the passed on fixed charges contribute to the revenue growth.
Your figures are in public domain, not a special discovery in your mental context to dispell disparage my duty to get figures right and make meaningful decisions. And for correction purposes, read the current numbers are over 4.65m. so get not me into slow lanes, neither name calling nor pleasing you off me as I am pleased to intuitively live off my conginital endeavors. I do live on the sense I draw from info in the market. Only that I go a further step to make that info money friendly @helloyellow. Am not ur advisor. Neither am I responsible to your decisions.

I will teach you how it works and it was done.... The total revenue from fixed charges per year is spread to the last audited units sold ... for your information, the only revenue that is guaranteed is Energy sales... Fixed charges were a big challenge for customers who are not vending..a huge amount is classified as receivables..... most of them are on prepaid metering...as you know, prepaid metering system you pay (guaranteed) before you use..as opposed to having prepaid customer who has outstanding fixed charges for many months.... They struggle with payment... Anyway, its rocket science this tariff thing.... you are allowed to be slow
KaunganaDoDo
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2018 9:24:18 AM

Fyatu wrote:

1. single digit P.E.,
2. > 68% earnings.,
3. > 10% dividend yield

Just hold off abit... There is still alot coming ...I should expect it to go to 3 shillings after the financial are out...But in 6 Months you will be rich....
Fyatu
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2018 9:37:07 AM

KaunganaDoDo wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

1. single digit P.E.,
2. > 68% earnings.,
3. > 10% dividend yield

Just hold off abit... There is still alot coming ...I should expect it to go to 3 shillings after the financial are out...But in 6 Months you will be rich....

The facts are glaring. I am happy to sweep more at 3bob...pension manenos
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
muandiwambeu
#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2018 2:33:27 PM

KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:

Per month
150/=×4.1=615millions
Per annum 615×12=7.45bn
Lost just like that.

I will teach you how it works and it was done.... The total revenue from fixed charges per year is spread to the last audited units sold ... for your information, the only revenue that is guaranteed is Energy sales... Fixed charges were a big challenge for customers who are not vending..a huge amount is classified as receivables..... most of them are on prepaid metering...as you know, prepaid metering system you pay (guaranteed) before you use..as opposed to having prepaid customer who has outstanding mixed charges for many months.... They struggle with payment... Anyway, its rocket science this tariff thing.... you are allowed to be slow

If u can not understand it, don't blame others from your mental miseries. I did analysis the facts and bared them for who have something between the ears, not you.
Excuse
KaunganaDoDo
#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2018 2:46:25 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:

Per month
150/=×4.1=615millions
Per annum 615×12=7.45bn
Lost just like that.

I will teach you how it works and it was done.... The total revenue from fixed charges per year is spread to the last audited units sold ... for your information, the only revenue that is guaranteed is Energy sales... Fixed charges were a big challenge for customers who are not vending..a huge amount is classified as receivables..... most of them are on prepaid metering...as you know, prepaid metering system you pay (guaranteed) before you use..as opposed to having prepaid customer who has outstanding mixed charges for many months.... They struggle with payment... Anyway, its rocket science this tariff thing.... you are allowed to be slow

If u can not understand it, don't blame others from your mental miseries. I did analysis the facts and bared them for who have something between the ears, not you.
Excuse

Thanks MAN for your analysis...excellent...Laymen teaching the clergy about when the world will end and when Jesus christ will return...Nobody knows the day nor the hour...But those who have bibles...who live in the bibles..knows the signs, things LAYMEN CANT SEE...Anyway lets ROCK and ROLL
muandiwambeu
#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2018 3:56:23 PM

KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
KaunganaDoDo wrote:

Per month
150/=×4.1=615millions
Per annum 615×12=7.45bn
Lost just like that.

I will teach you how it works and it was done.... The total revenue from fixed charges per year is spread to the last audited units sold ... for your information, the only revenue that is guaranteed is Energy sales... Fixed charges were a big challenge for customers who are not vending..a huge amount is classified as receivables..... most of them are on prepaid metering...as you know, prepaid metering system you pay (guaranteed) before you use..as opposed to having prepaid customer who has outstanding fixed charges for many months.... They struggle with payment... Anyway, its rocket science this tariff thing.... you are allowed to be slow

Ericsson
#40 Posted : Sunday, November 04, 2018 8:19:48 AM

@vvs
Throw back and I hope you bookmarked the post where I told you Kenya power will be mismanaged and looted nearly to it's death while kengen will be run well and bear fruits.
TNA run firms vs URP run firms.