President Yoweri K Museveni philosophy of development
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
I have browsed wazua for a thread about M7 philosophy on development or how he goes about governing Uganda with no success. It is amazing how we(wazuans) have overlooked(underrated) this mzee. In my endeavors to waste my employers time, i stumbled upon this photo from the mzee twitters page. He calls his farm in Luweero "The Presidential Demonstration farm" which he uses to propagate his ideology/philosophy of development to Ugandans. He is so much into agriculture and his model of economic development might seem rudimentary to a regular kizungu-nyingi-na-catwalk Kenyan, but seems more sustainable. His ideas on industrial parks are modest(like those of prof. Kivutha of Makueni) compared to ours(think Eldoret industrial park). He is rarely in state house Entebbe and can be found frolicking with villagers debating mundane stuff such as drip irrigation and bottle irrigation etc.. From the above kizungu nyingi and other reasons, i think the M7 model deserves a thread in this great forum. References 1. Yoweri Museveni official twitter pageDumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
From a quick glance at his twitter page, he seems very interested in agriculture and building churches, which is a good thing, but I wish african leaders and in this case since we are discussing m7, put more effort on cleanliness, and to achieve that two things come to mind paved roads and piped water.
usafi will go a long way in improving peoples livelihoods, and since m7 has failed to do that in the past 20 something years, his philosophy is just that.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:From a quick glance at his twitter page, he seems very interested in agriculture and building churches, which is a good thing, but I wish african leaders and in this case since we are discussing m7, put more effort on cleanliness, and to achieve that two things come to mind paved roads and piped water.
usafi will go a long way in improving peoples livelihoods, and since m7 has failed to do that in the past 20 something years, his philosophy is just that. Do you mean there is no tap water and paved roads huko? Or are you referring to the unrivaled chaos of champala city? Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Fyatu wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:From a quick glance at his twitter page, he seems very interested in agriculture and building churches, which is a good thing, but I wish african leaders and in this case since we are discussing m7, put more effort on cleanliness, and to achieve that two things come to mind paved roads and piped water.
usafi will go a long way in improving peoples livelihoods, and since m7 has failed to do that in the past 20 something years, his philosophy is just that. Do you mean there is no tap water and paved roads huko? Or are you referring to the unrivaled chaos of champala city? of course there is, but only for a select few households, you know in Africa we still have majority of the population residing in the rural areas. There is something about cleanliness that just makes people to be better beings, you notice those who live, and even those people from slums who work in the upmarket gated estates will never litter ovyo ovyo, even while in such estates most people are kinder and tend to follow the order set. I think if focus is on cleanliness and ways of making the same better to maintain we would generally make bigger strides towards cannan, and to be clean alot of water is needed and paved roads and walkways make it easier to maintain that cleanliness.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
I like how he has practical solutions to the problems afflicting Ugandans. Kenyans should use the advice.....
Fyatu wrote:I have browsed wazua for a thread about M7 philosophy on development or how he goes about governing Uganda with no success. It is amazing how we(wazuans) have overlooked(underrated) this mzee. In my endeavors to waste my employers time, i stumbled upon this photo from the mzee twitters page. He calls his farm in Luweero "The Presidential Demonstration farm" which he uses to propagate his ideology/philosophy of development to Ugandans. He is so much into agriculture and his model of economic development might seem rudimentary to a regular kizungu-nyingi-na-catwalk Kenyan, but seems more sustainable. His ideas on industrial parks are modest(like those of prof. Kivutha of Makueni) compared to ours(think Eldoret industrial park). He is rarely in state house Entebbe and can be found frolicking with villagers debating mundane stuff such as drip irrigation and bottle irrigation etc.. From the above kizungu nyingi and other reasons, i think the M7 model deserves a thread in this great forum. References 1. Yoweri Museveni official twitter page Makueni has industrial parks? Didn't know that. What you see on Twirra may not be a representative of the facts. The twirra account is run by professional PR agents well trained by our own Cynthia Nyamai so it will take a trip to the land of Buganda to see trully what M7 has done. How much can than mgomba cost in the KE market? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:From a quick glance at his twitter page, he seems very interested in agriculture and building churches, which is a good thing, but I wish african leaders and in this case since we are discussing m7, put more effort on cleanliness, and to achieve that two things come to mind paved roads and piped water.
usafi will go a long way in improving peoples livelihoods, and since m7 has failed to do that in the past 20 something years, his philosophy is just that. Correction, 32 years. Since January 26, 1986
murchr wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have browsed wazua for a thread about M7 philosophy on development or how he goes about governing Uganda with no success. It is amazing how we(wazuans) have overlooked(underrated) this mzee. In my endeavors to waste my employers time, i stumbled upon this photo from the mzee twitters page. He calls his farm in Luweero "The Presidential Demonstration farm" which he uses to propagate his ideology/philosophy of development to Ugandans. He is so much into agriculture and his model of economic development might seem rudimentary to a regular kizungu-nyingi-na-catwalk Kenyan, but seems more sustainable. His ideas on industrial parks are modest(like those of prof. Kivutha of Makueni) compared to ours(think Eldoret industrial park). He is rarely in state house Entebbe and can be found frolicking with villagers debating mundane stuff such as drip irrigation and bottle irrigation etc.. From the above kizungu nyingi and other reasons, i think the M7 model deserves a thread in this great forum. References 1. Yoweri Museveni official twitter page Makueni has industrial parks? Didn't know that. What you see on Twirra may not be a representative of the facts. The twirra account is run by professional PR agents well trained by our own Cynthia Nyamai so it will take a trip to the land of Buganda to see trully what M7 has done. How much can than mgomba cost in the KE market? Sorry i did not mean to say Makueni has an industrial park.I was referring to Makueni fruit pulp factory. Museveni's idea of an industrial park is that which manufactures/adds value to simple things/commodities/natural resources that is abundant in Africa but taken for granted and fed to dogs.He, like Kivutha, has encouraged simple development as building of fruit factories in rural areas as part of agricultural industrial parks. 1. LINK 1 2. LINK 2Africans have been singing the song of value addition for many years but little is done. We have this kasumba that value addition is a complex thing and procrastinate about it forever. Value addition is not complex...look at finlays or willamson or sasini tea. An example of value addition. Look at delmonte whose products can be found in supermarket shelves in London etc.Don't be shocked when the sweet apple mango from Makueni starts being transported by KQ to New york come September or a later date.Thus,i think M7s approach to economic growth is sustainable. Come to think of it, the good prof of Makueni county can build all these factories(milk, mangoes and many others) in one area of Wote town and "organically" build an industrial park. Yes, i am aware that twirra can be used to "paka mtu mafuta kwa mgongo wa chupa" but credit should be given where credit is due. I wouldn't know how that mgomba cost Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Fyatu wrote:murchr wrote:Fyatu wrote:I have browsed wazua for a thread about M7 philosophy on development or how he goes about governing Uganda with no success. It is amazing how we(wazuans) have overlooked(underrated) this mzee. In my endeavors to waste my employers time, i stumbled upon this photo from the mzee twitters page. He calls his farm in Luweero "The Presidential Demonstration farm" which he uses to propagate his ideology/philosophy of development to Ugandans. He is so much into agriculture and his model of economic development might seem rudimentary to a regular kizungu-nyingi-na-catwalk Kenyan, but seems more sustainable. His ideas on industrial parks are modest(like those of prof. Kivutha of Makueni) compared to ours(think Eldoret industrial park). He is rarely in state house Entebbe and can be found frolicking with villagers debating mundane stuff such as drip irrigation and bottle irrigation etc.. From the above kizungu nyingi and other reasons, i think the M7 model deserves a thread in this great forum. References 1. Yoweri Museveni official twitter page Makueni has industrial parks? Didn't know that. What you see on Twirra may not be a representative of the facts. The twirra account is run by professional PR agents well trained by our own Cynthia Nyamai so it will take a trip to the land of Buganda to see trully what M7 has done. How much can than mgomba cost in the KE market? Sorry i did not mean to say Makueni has an industrial park.I was referring to Makueni fruit pulp factory. Museveni's idea of an industrial park is that which manufactures/adds value to simple things/commodities/natural resources that is abundant in Africa but taken for granted and fed to dogs.He, like Kivutha, has encouraged simple development as building of fruit factories in rural areas as part of agricultural industrial parks. 1. LINK 1 2. LINK 2Africans have been singing the song of value addition for many years but little is done. We have this kasumba that value addition is a complex thing and procrastinate about it forever. Value addition is not complex...look at finlays or willamson or sasini tea. An example of value addition. Look at delmonte whose products can be found in supermarket shelves in London etc.Don't be shocked when the sweet apple mango from Makueni starts being transported by KQ to New york come September or a later date.Thus,i think M7s approach to economic growth is sustainable. Come to think of it, the good prof of Makueni county can build all these factories(milk, mangoes and many others) in one area of Wote town and "organically" build an industrial park. Yes, i am aware that twirra can be used to "paka mtu mafuta kwa mgongo wa chupa" but credit should be given where credit is due. I wouldn't know how that mgomba cost Thanks for the clarification. Am very supportive of your idea on value addition and i hope we'll do more of that. In the few times i travel and I find myself going through the shelves of supermarkets to see what people out there have and in the process, noted that you can get so much from what we grow in East Africa. But we need to be consumers of our goods and revolutionize our meals and eating "Habits". As an example, Apart from unga and oil, we can get sugar, bio degradable plastic etc Our staple Kenyan breakfast is tea and bread. Must the bread be wheat based? Why not banana bread? Pumpkin bread, sweet potato bread? Our culture needs a revolution if we need to leap steps forward I once came across Kenyan coffee...labelled as Kenyan coffee in a supermarket and not a dukawalla and it really felt good. But even as we seek to add value, production costs must come down significantly. Cost of power, transportation, availability of water etc etc "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Source of the Nile Bridge, Jinja. Cost $112M Length 525M Beautiful
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:[quote=Fyatu][quote=sitaki.kujulikana]
There is something about cleanliness that just makes people to be better beings, you notice those who live, and even those people from slums who work in the upmarket gated estates will never litter ovyo ovyo, even while in such estates most people are kinder and tend to follow the order set.
I think if focus is on cleanliness and ways of making the same better to maintain we would generally make bigger strides towards cannan, and to be clean alot of water is needed and paved roads and walkways make it easier to maintain that cleanliness. Hapo umenena without even realising it. A neglected house attracts vandals. A neglected compound attracts tresspassers. The grafitti on matatus encourages matatu madness. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Lolest! wrote:Source of the Nile Bridge, Jinja. Cost $112M Length 525M Beautiful It was highlighted on CNBCA yesterday.Very beautiful indedd especially at night. The Entebe-Kampala superhighway looks beautiful at night too.I could not believe it was Uganda. One thing i found absurd is that the bridge was being marketed as a tourist attraction...ama kweli sisi wa-Africa tuko na shida.Eti sasa bridge ni tourist attraction? Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Fyatu wrote:Lolest! wrote:Source of the Nile Bridge, Jinja. Cost $112M Length 525M Beautiful It was highlighted on CNBCA yesterday.Very beautiful indedd especially at night. The Entebe-Kampala superhighway looks beautiful at night too.I could not believe it was Uganda. One thing i found absurd is that the bridge was being marketed as a tourist attraction...ama kweli sisi wa-Africa tuko na shida.Eti sasa bridge ni tourist attraction? It's Ok. It makes one have a panoramic view of the source of the nile. Which is something that has fascinated humanity even during the days of the pharaoh. That bridge is an important tourist attraction.
The construction was epic. Much respect to the engineers. Testing the bridge with overloaded trucks. It showed that the bridge is up to, and even beyond, international standards...
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/8/2018 Posts: 2,211 Location: DC (Dustbowl County)
Besigye once admitted that the man is a strategic thinker. He plans ten or even twenty steps ahead. before he even begins to implement anything he puts his mind to, no emotions involved. Unfortunately he uses almost all his talents for self preservation. Development is secondary to him. But I generally like the guy. Ni ka sungura mjanja. He can slap you terribly and then charm you into understanding the reasons why he slapped you for your own benefit, using humour and a self effacing style and interesting stories that make him seem very harmless.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,506 Location: nairobi
Fyatu wrote:Lolest! wrote:Source of the Nile Bridge, Jinja. Cost $112M Length 525M Beautiful It was highlighted on CNBCA yesterday.Very beautiful indedd especially at night. The Entebe-Kampala superhighway looks beautiful at night too.I could not believe it was Uganda. One thing i found absurd is that the bridge was being marketed as a tourist attraction...ama kweli sisi wa-Africa tuko na shida.Eti sasa bridge ni tourist attraction? It actually is.. Just like the LA bridge HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
obiero wrote:Fyatu wrote:Lolest! wrote:Source of the Nile Bridge, Jinja. Cost $112M Length 525M Beautiful It was highlighted on CNBCA yesterday.Very beautiful indedd especially at night. The Entebe-Kampala superhighway looks beautiful at night too.I could not believe it was Uganda. One thing i found absurd is that the bridge was being marketed as a tourist attraction...ama kweli sisi wa-Africa tuko na shida.Eti sasa bridge ni tourist attraction? It actually is.. Just like the LA bridge Yeah, remember it's on the Nile
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
We can't judge a philosophy by referring to it alone. We have no way of knowing whether it's great.
But we can praise anything, if it has objects that we hold dear. Like fish, bridges, cars, 'obsessions'. Logic without emotion and other common delusions.
Quote:Mr Museveni, who said he enjoyed the dialogue, told his opponents that he will not think of relinquishing power until he is satisfied that the “prosperity and strategic security of Africa have been achieved”.
“I hear people like Mao talking about transition, how they would like to sit in the audience and see Museveni handing over power. That is the most important thing for him. I do not think that is the most important and it is good he is saying that,” Mr Museveni said on Thursday. “So, the political class, instead of talking about the destiny of Africa, you are talking about petty things— elections, who becomes who. That is why I have said if I still have strength, I will continue,” he continued.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
tom_boy wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:[quote=Fyatu][quote=sitaki.kujulikana]
There is something about cleanliness that just makes people to be better beings, you notice those who live, and even those people from slums who work in the upmarket gated estates will never litter ovyo ovyo, even while in such estates most people are kinder and tend to follow the order set.
I think if focus is on cleanliness and ways of making the same better to maintain we would generally make bigger strides towards cannan, and to be clean alot of water is needed and paved roads and walkways make it easier to maintain that cleanliness. Hapo umenena without even realising it. A neglected house attracts vandals. A neglected compound attracts tresspassers. The grafitti on matatus encourages matatu madness. It’s not graffiti it’s art! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
President Yoweri K Museveni philosophy of development