15 Pages«<131415
Unga limited takeover
#281 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 8:57:35 AM

Unga steps up competition with Eldoret wheat plant
https://www.businessdail...01378-g7kc91/index.html

"The company already has an existing line besides the new “state-of-the-art” plant expected to more than double capacity."
The new capacity is probably more efficient.

"The line, earlier slated for commissioning in October, was opened in mid-December, according to the firm chief executive officer Nick Hutchinson."
Revenue and costs in 2H may increase. Profits may be tougher to come by given the issues surrounding maize, competition, drought and politics.

"plans to install a soya meal production line at its Dakar Road, Nairobi, plant in the course of the 2018/2019 financial year."
Long-term planning.

I wish you well mzee

Asante. I don't stress too much as long as the management is good/reliable. They don't have to be superstars every year. It's nigh impossible once a firm is mature.

The dividend I received from Unga was very helpful in helping me stay well-stocked with Unga branded unga (Ngano and Mahindi), pulses (Amana) and Ennsvalley bread. Actually, all my meals and alcohol. Applause
The interim dividend (FY 2018) and buyout of KK has kept my car fueled and maintained. Applause
The dividend from TPS (FY 2018) will allow me to stay at a Serena property. I don't have many shares so it will be just a weekend during the off-season but I will top-up.
The KenRe dividend will pay for my car, medical, NHIF and property insurance premiums.
I&M's dividend will take care of utilities, bank charges and many other expenses eg entertainment.
Centum's dividend will be reinvested.

I had hoped KQ's dividends would have paid for flights but I am glad I sold them given there has been no dividend since 2012.

Overall, it is all good Drool
#282 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 9:00:27 AM

Unga steps up competition with Eldoret wheat plant
https://www.businessdail...01378-g7kc91/index.html

"The company already has an existing line besides the new “state-of-the-art” plant expected to more than double capacity."
The new capacity is probably more efficient.

"The line, earlier slated for commissioning in October, was opened in mid-December, according to the firm chief executive officer Nick Hutchinson."
Revenue and costs in 2H may increase. Profits may be tougher to come by given the issues surrounding maize, competition, drought and politics.

"plans to install a soya meal production line at its Dakar Road, Nairobi, plant in the course of the 2018/2019 financial year."
Long-term planning.

I wish you well mzee

Asante. I don't stress too much as long as the management is good/reliable. They don't have to be superstars every year. It's nigh impossible once a firm is mature.

The dividend I received from Unga was very helpful in helping me stay well-stocked with Unga branded unga (Ngano and Mahindi), pulses (Amana) and Ennsvalley bread. Actually, all my meals and alcohol. Applause
The interim dividend (FY 2018) and buyout of KK has kept my car fueled and maintained. Applause
The dividend from TPS (FY 2018) will allow me to stay at a Serena property. I don't have many shares so it will be just a weekend during the off-season but I will top-up.
The KenRe dividend will pay for my car, medical, NHIF and property insurance premiums.
I&M's dividend will take care of utilities, bank charges and many other expenses eg entertainment.
Centum's dividend will be reinvested.

I had hoped KQ's dividends would have paid for flights but I am glad I sold them given there has been no dividend since 2012.

Overall, it is all good Drool

Bure kabisa! I read that post with high interest until the last line

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#283 Posted : Monday, May 06, 2019 9:31:47 AM

@Obiero
Nilisahau NIC's dividends will pay for my electronics.
C&G's dividends paid for my travel.
Safaricom's dividends will pay for my internet and phone service.

@Young and I are "wazee" and we don't mind the dividends!
#284 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2019 9:48:51 AM

@Obiero

30% drop in profit. I wonder if they will maintain the dividend

Ericsson
#285 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2019 10:55:14 AM

@Obiero

Profit before tax declined by more than 50% from ksh.1.293bn to 615mn
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#286 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2019 8:30:03 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@Obiero

Tough economy - many firms have suffered under #TanoTena

Proud of Unga which has remained profitable with all the politics and bad vibes in a year when many firms ended up with losses.

Dividend is 50 cents (vs 1/- last year) but enough to pay for my expenses. Applause

I suspect @young is also like me and we try to earn more than we spend. Or adjust our spending to our income.
#287 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2019 8:42:53 PM

Delayed commissioning of the new and efficient wheat plant in Eldoret but FY 2019-2020 should see the benefit of a full year of production.

Soymeal plant commissioned in June 2019 so FY 2019-2020 should see the benefit of a full year of production.

The maize situation looks dire given the politics around maize. Sales were hurt due to input shortages.

Depreciation (non-cash) will increase in FY 2019-2020 as will finance costs for the new plants.
The reduced dividend was to help accelerate the repayment of debt.

Competition remains a challenge.
#288 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2019 8:43:00 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@Obiero

Proud of Unga which has remained profitable with all the politics and bad vibes in a year when many firms ended up with losses.

Dividend is 50 cents (vs 1/- last year) but enough to pay for my expenses. Applause

I suspect @young is also like me and we try to earn more than we spend. Or adjust our spending to our income.

Maybe it's time to sell

#289 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2019 10:36:15 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@Obiero

Maybe it's time to sell
Not for me at the moment. Perhaps in the future if the circumstances change.

The challenge is there are so many wonderful bargains on the NSE and I have no cash so dividends are highly anticipated and welcome.
KenRe
Unga
Centum
I&M
MugundaMan
#290 Posted : Saturday, September 28, 2019 11:09:29 PM

Flee the casino NOWW or get SHAVED even more!!

Ati "bargains and a buying opportunity"?

vvs ARE YOU KURAZY or just in deep denial!

That is what you said about Mumias which is now SUSPENDED from the NSE! MORE TO COME!!

#291 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2019 12:44:48 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
Flee the casino NOWW or get SHAVED even more!!

Ati "bargains and a buying opportunity"?

vvs ARE YOU KURAZY or just in deep denial!

That is what you said about Mumias which is now SUSPENDED from the NSE! MORE TO COME!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I think you are @Obiero in a different costume.
Attributing shares to me which I do not own or have owned for years.

@obiero claims I own Kurwitu Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
You claim I own Mumias Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I am open about what I have. Winner and Losers. I did buy some ARM - going against the usual grain of my investments - and got burnt.

In the meantime, I am having fun buying up shares in good firms at discounts. Drool Applause Drool Applause
Extraterrestrial
#292 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2019 6:11:49 AM

The Act required a shareholder to accumulate at least 90 per cent shareholding for a takeover to be successful. The amendment however lowers this to just 50 per cent.“The Amendment Act now lowers the 90 per cent threshold to just 50 per cent, thereby pulling Kenya away from global practice in relation to minority shareholder protections," said Bowmans Law in an analysis.
"The lower threshold allows any bidder to force out any non-assenting shareholders easily if 50 per cent of the shares to which the offer relates accept the offer.”
“There are few, if any, jurisdictions globally with such a low threshold for compulsory acquisition. We anticipate challenges to the legitimacy of this amendment and, potentially, in respect of any take-over effected in the future that takes advantage of the lower thresholds," said the law firm.

https://www.standardmedi...ower-in-new-legal-change
#293 Posted : Sunday, September 29, 2019 8:27:24 AM

Extraterrestrial wrote:
The Act required a shareholder to accumulate at least 90 per cent shareholding for a takeover to be successful. The amendment however lowers this to just 50 per cent.“The Amendment Act now lowers the 90 per cent threshold to just 50 per cent, thereby pulling Kenya away from global practice in relation to minority shareholder protections," said Bowmans Law in an analysis.
"The lower threshold allows any bidder to force out any non-assenting shareholders easily if 50 per cent of the shares to which the offer relates accept the offer.”
“There are few, if any, jurisdictions globally with such a low threshold for compulsory acquisition. We anticipate challenges to the legitimacy of this amendment and, potentially, in respect of any take-over effected in the future that takes advantage of the lower thresholds," said the law firm.

https://www.standardmedi...wer-in-new-legal-change
This is worrisome but "We anticipate challenges to the legitimacy of this amendment and, potentially, in respect of any take-over effected in the future that takes advantage of the lower thresholds"
It's interesting to note who the Chairman of the CMA is and which family has 50%+ of Unga's shares!

SAHL tried to get to 74.99% of Stanbic and it can choose a takeover option.
BAT
EABL
BBK/ABSA
KPLC
KenRe
Most firms have a single or combination/related shareholders with 50%+ and what choice does that leave the minorities with?
#294 Posted : Friday, March 17, 2023 8:16:11 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@Obiero

Maybe it's time to sell

The challenge is there are so many wonderful bargains on the NSE and I have no cash so dividends are highly anticipated and welcome.
KenRe
Unga
Centum
I&M

From 35 to 16 and still sliding into the abyss.. Well, atleast no one will say I didn't try to warn my senior

#295 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2023 11:44:06 AM

Ericsson wrote:
@Obiero

Maybe it's time to sell

KenRe
Unga
Centum
I&M

From 35 to 16 and still sliding into the abyss.. Well, atleast no one will say I didn't try to warn my senior

Almost the entire NSE is suffering since 2018. Saf shareholders are also crying with the recent slide. Sad

Even though there have been major hits eg KES/USD, Russia-Ukraine, etc, it does feel like the majority are deliberately keeping the reported performance down. Sad

Despite all that, I am glad I did not sell my Unga to buy KQ. Laughing out loudly
#296 Posted : Thursday, March 23, 2023 11:47:13 AM

When did this crash to 15 and people refused to sell at 30?
#297 Posted : Sunday, July 30, 2023 8:27:55 AM

mlennyma wrote:
When did this crash to 15 and people refused to sell at 30?

can you believe it. people refused to sell at over 100% premium! Unga began the year with a share price of 32.00 KES but has since lost 51.1% off that price valuation, ranking it 62nd on the NSE in terms of year-to-date performance. Understanding the Kenyan investor is a difficult task https://afx.kwayisi.org/nse/unga.html