Spikes
#21 Posted : Tuesday, February 06, 2018 6:47:04 PM

Spikes wrote:
Cv254K wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Cv254K wrote:

I think some kind of analysis (FA, TA, corporate governance) can help you avoid the worst in NSE. Ama why is Chami insisting that you learn some accounting? But I saw an accountant advising us to borrow using cash as collateral to invest in risky business that needs the same capital as the collateral given to the bank. So, accounting could be overrated. Some guys in UK and US have found monkeys picking stocks using darts outperform the market in the long term.
You can choose the Monkey strategy. Go in blindly. Throw the darts. where they land, invest. smilesmile

I know many might not want to hear this, but to be honest with you, in the final analysis, all stock market "investing" is essentially speculation.Drool

The genius of the financial industry in the "West" starting a little over 140 years or so ago, was how they managed to convince the masses that;

1) putting good money (earned through crazy sweat and toil) over which one has direct control..

2) into financial 'assets' over which one has zero control (other than FA, and - God forbid - TA!)..

3) on which one "hopes" to make a gain through capital appreciation rather than asset income...

is "investing."

When people started selling valuable migunda (plots), tangible cows, oxen, houses and farm produce over which they had direct control, to buy digits and numbers on some exchange, sold by ruthless, stock-watering financial killers like Commodore Vanderbilt and Jacob Astor, over which they had zero control, that's when the world of that era started to go mad.

It's sanity has not returned to this day, in fact said madness has reached all corners of the globe, and is getting worse by the day! Read; Bitcoin.

That's why the "investing" masses have continued to get sheared ever since -- (Great depression 1929-39, Dot com bust 2001, Global financial crisis 2007/8 (effects still ongoing) and many more in between). And that's also why they will always be outperformed by dart throwing monkeys!

Add a cartel economy like Kenya into the mix, where outright corporate fraud is the norm and entire brokerages used to collapse and vanish into the wind up until relatively recently. Why would anyone in their right mind risk a huge chunk of their entire goat in such a casino?

Bottom line, for the average Joe or Jill, it is not a very wise move to expose more than 2-3% (at most) of one's hard earned assets to the casino whether in Kenya or anywhere else on God's green earth IMHO. All things (stocks..and "investors" alike) are monkeys in said casino when all is said and done.

Shalom.

I need to meet you and shake your hands.. You have spoken the whole truth. That's why I have never invested in more than 12 listed firms at the NSE, USE, RSE since my entry in 2006 and these mainly have had significant/some government holding.. Things like SCOM, KENRE, KEGN, KCB, KQ, SBU, BOK, BRLW. Hizi vitu zingine kama HAFR, ADSS, KURW, FTG etc zinaweza sambaratika saa yeyote bila notisi. Stay woke!

@MugundaMan even putting your hard earned cash into "Migunda" involves some risk, especially here where, even after doing due diligence, you may end up being evicted from your plot. My point: I do not see sense continuing to accumulate land to the extent of buying plots in the middle of nowhere and land with greenhouses that have no roofs. You would be better off diversifying into stock than adding more of an asset you already have "enough" of. Now, when you DECIDE to diversify into stocks, that's where nasema some kind of analysis will serve you well.

@Obiero, I made my mistakes during the IPO decades. But what my mistakes taught me was that, when in an abusive marriage (Like you and KQ), it's better to cut your losses, divorce, early. Loss aversion is the cause of most heartbreaks in the NSE.

Unfortunately @Obiero is KQ serial loser

@cv254k you make some sense but remember hii pesa ni yangu hata crypto nikitaka ntanunua. meanwhile note that I twice sold some KQ as known by the true following here at wazua.. the reason why I got back in for 3rd time lucky shall be revealed in due course upon the Open Offer being materialized.. By the way my holding in KQ is basically my two and half months gross salary

Real capitulation is here!
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Cv254K
#22 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 1:55:25 PM

Spikes wrote:
Cv254K wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Cv254K wrote:

I know many might not want to hear this, but to be honest with you, in the final analysis, all stock market "investing" is essentially speculation.Drool

The genius of the financial industry in the "West" starting a little over 140 years or so ago, was how they managed to convince the masses that;

1) putting good money (earned through crazy sweat and toil) over which one has direct control..

2) into financial 'assets' over which one has zero control (other than FA, and - God forbid - TA!)..

3) on which one "hopes" to make a gain through capital appreciation rather than asset income...

is "investing."

When people started selling valuable migunda (plots), tangible cows, oxen, houses and farm produce over which they had direct control, to buy digits and numbers on some exchange, sold by ruthless, stock-watering financial killers like Commodore Vanderbilt and Jacob Astor, over which they had zero control, that's when the world of that era started to go mad.

It's sanity has not returned to this day, in fact said madness has reached all corners of the globe, and is getting worse by the day! Read; Bitcoin.

That's why the "investing" masses have continued to get sheared ever since -- (Great depression 1929-39, Dot com bust 2001, Global financial crisis 2007/8 (effects still ongoing) and many more in between). And that's also why they will always be outperformed by dart throwing monkeys!

Add a cartel economy like Kenya into the mix, where outright corporate fraud is the norm and entire brokerages used to collapse and vanish into the wind up until relatively recently. Why would anyone in their right mind risk a huge chunk of their entire goat in such a casino?

Bottom line, for the average Joe or Jill, it is not a very wise move to expose more than 2-3% (at most) of one's hard earned assets to the casino whether in Kenya or anywhere else on God's green earth IMHO. All things (stocks..and "investors" alike) are monkeys in said casino when all is said and done.

Shalom.

I need to meet you and shake your hands.. You have spoken the whole truth. That's why I have never invested in more than 12 listed firms at the NSE, USE, RSE since my entry in 2006 and these mainly have had significant/some government holding.. Things like SCOM, KENRE, KEGN, KCB, KQ, SBU, BOK, BRLW. Hizi vitu zingine kama HAFR, ADSS, KURW, FTG etc zinaweza sambaratika saa yeyote bila notisi. Stay woke!

@MugundaMan even putting your hard earned cash into "Migunda" involves some risk, especially here where, even after doing due diligence, you may end up being evicted from your plot. My point: I do not see sense continuing to accumulate land to the extent of buying plots in the middle of nowhere and land with greenhouses that have no roofs. You would be better off diversifying into stock than adding more of an asset you already have "enough" of. Now, when you DECIDE to diversify into stocks, that's where nasema some kind of analysis will serve you well.

@Obiero, I made my mistakes during the IPO decades. But what my mistakes taught me was that, when in an abusive marriage (Like you and KQ), it's better to cut your losses, divorce, early. Loss aversion is the cause of most heartbreaks in the NSE.

Unfortunately @Obiero is KQ serial loser

@cv254k you make some sense but remember hii pesa ni yangu hata crypto nikitaka ntanunua. meanwhile note that I twice sold some KQ as known by the true following here at wazua..{inakaa hii mambo ya new farer kutoa maoni inauma sana. Na nikikwambia nimekuwa 'browser' kutoka 2010? will that make comments any more credible/logical?} the reason why I got back in for 3rd time lucky shall be revealed in due course upon the Open Offer being materialized.. By the way my holding in KQ is basically my two and half months gross salary

Eh? Eh? Never doubted you're a man of means.

Anyway, my opinion is that the opportunity cost of holding KQ (e.g. if KQ proceeds would help to realize some rental income in your low cost, high return venture) is high. Lakini hii ni maoni tu; as you say, pesa ni yako, chaguo ni lako. Now that your fellow shareholders in KQ are lenders, how willing are they to accept this gem of a stock as collateral?
#23 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 2:36:40 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Source

The stock market is growing, and many people are taking advantage of it to invest their money. However, so many people lack the general knowledge on the best investment plans. Alois Chami, who has shares in nearly all the NSE listed firms and more than 44 years experience in the stock market gives his advice on stock market. He is a constant feature at most AGMs and very vocal on issues relating to the companies he has invested in.

Get some stocks: Once you invest in stock exchange, you become a sleeping partner and the company becomes active. Later on you get profits and dividends. The initial capital you gave, which is your money, is protected. Nowadays there are regulations from the CMA and the NSE that protect shareholders in case a company goes under.

Be bold: When you want to invest, you have to have some confidence about it. When I started out, I would invest half of my salary in shares. I started alone, without anybody advising me. I went to the stock exchange back in 1973, found people on the trading floor and I got about three brokers. They told me “If you buy from this counter, if it is low today and goes up tomorrow and you come and sell, you will getSee Also: An investment product that pays Sh25k for Sh600 invested additional money.” I was inspired because I figured that since I will not have physically worked for that money, unlike in my 9-5 job, there was a good future in it. I started right away.

Go to the banks: If you want to start from scratch, approach any stockbroker for advice. We depend on them for whatever we do; buying and selling. Nowadays they are found within banks, which have taken over stock broking through subsidiaries and it is the best way because they keep money and cannot be broke. If the stock broker is weak, the bank supports the brokerage side with its own money, unlike before when it was done by companies owned by individual people who would sometimes lose money.

Buy while the prices are low: The best time to invest is when the company prices are low. This has been my guiding principle all through. Watch them, and if the company works well and the shares prices go high, then you can offload some.

You will not always get it right: We invested in some companies that went under later, like Kenya Finance. Nowadays that does not happen because there are regulations, but sometimes we also buy into companies that do not give dividends. Those mistakes are unforeseen.

They only appear when you have already bought shares. If you invest in a company which is starting out, you can buy shares at Sh10 and then it slows down and starts selling at Sh5. It is not a mistake of your own making but of the company that has listed itself on the stock exchange. You cannot avoid that, sometimes.

Read the signs: Monitor the stock exchange to see how share prices are performing. Also, if a company has good results yearly and quarterly, it gives you an upper hand of knowing whether it is doing well.

Stay informed: Companies announce their quarterly reports in the press. For shareholders, they also post brochures and sometimes brokers know how different companies are performing. Performance of a company also depends on the CEOs and Finance Directors.

Keep them on their toes: You do this by asking questions. I ask so many questions and sometimes I call companies I have invested in, wanting to talk to CEOs and they give me a chance. AGMs are must attend events for me as it gives me the opportunity to continue asking questions.

Learn some accounting: When you go to the AGMs and meetings where companies announce results, they will give you a big booklet that has balance sheets, cash flow statements, profit and loss statements and so on. I did accounting in 1965, so I know a bit of it. When you understand accounting, you are able to ask the right questions. That way, you get specific answers. If you smell a rat, you can sell your stock.

Diversify your portfolio: I decided to have many companies which are listed on the stock exchange in my portfolio, so that if one does not do well, another one doing well will recover my loss. I wanted to buy in many because some do not pay dividends, while others will pay big dividends and that covers the weak ones.

The simple moral of the story, time is your friend in the market. You don't have to be particularly bright or analytical if you are a long termer. Charlie Munger for example was not the sharpest tool in the shed but he latched on to Buffett's tail and waited 30 years and the rest is history. Makes a cruel mockery of the Elliot Wave crew Drool

Hata mimi I bought into Safcon IPO, I was allocated 800 shares, bought additional 1200 in the open market. For an average investment of less than 12K it has turned into aprox 50K in less than 10 years.THis is possible without any TA, FA, governance even at the time of the purchase, I didn't know what NSE and IPO meant in full...So yes I was a dart throwing monkey

Btw , my holding in Safcon is a mere three times my annual pay
#24 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 2:54:50 PM

Mugundaman: "Charlie Munger for example was not the sharpest tool in the shed but he latched on to Buffett's tail and waited 30 years and the rest is history."

#KuweniSerious ... Charlie is brilliant! Buffett says so himself! Have you listened to Charlie speak? Charlie joined up with Buffett but he was already very wealthy at the time.
wukan
#25 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 3:09:55 PM

The simple moral of the story, time is your friend in the market. You don't have to be particularly bright or analytical if you are a long termer. Charlie Munger for example was not the sharpest tool in the shed but he latched on to Buffett's tail and waited 30 years and the rest is history. Makes a cruel mockery of the Elliot Wave crew Drool

Hata mimi I bought into Safcon IPO, I was allocated 800 shares, bought additional 1200 in the open market. For an average investment of less than 12K it has turned into aprox 50K in less than 10 years.THis is possible without any TA, FA, governance even at the time of the purchase, I didn't know what NSE and IPO meant in full...So yes I was a dart throwing monkey

[/quote]

@swenani i see you are on a payroll, so trading is not your main hustle. If trading is day job you can't do that monkey dart throwing. Elliot wave crew is about preserving capital by minimizing risk and extending gains. Elliot crew is like the farmer who grows spinach, tomatoes anything to sell seasonally. 50K in in 10 yearsd'oh! d'oh! . 50k is the monthly target for trading
#26 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 3:16:00 PM

wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

@swenani i see you are on a payroll, so trading is not your main hustle. If trading is day job you can't do that monkey dart throwing. Elliot wave crew is about preserving capital by minimizing risk and extending gains. Elliot crew is like the farmer who grows spinach, tomatoes anything to sell seasonally. 50K in in 10 yearsd'oh! d'oh! . 50k is the monthly target for trading

#27 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 3:30:41 PM

wukan wrote:

[/quote]

Stop looking at it in absolute values, look at it in relative numbers, how much do you invest to get a return of 50Kp.m? If you annualized it, would you beat my star performance? my performance at NSE is envied by BTC addicts

The 50K your are writing off is a return of close to 400% in 10 years.Cytonn Financial Services Fund has managed 46% since Oct 2015 at this rate, it will take them close to 20 years to achieve my success which I managed in 10 years yet Cytonn is spending significant resources paying people to analyse the market trends

Now imagine if I had access to the resources you and cytonn have, I would be delivering returns of 25% p.a to my clients
#28 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 4:00:10 PM

wukan wrote:

Stop looking at it in absolute values, look at it in relative numbers, how much do you invest to get a return of 50Kp.m? If you annualized it, would you beat my star performance? my performance at NSE is envied by BTC addicts

The 50K your are writing off is a return of close to 400% in 10 years.Cytonn Financial Services Fund has managed 46% since Oct 2015 at this rate, it will take them close to 20 years to achieve my success which I managed in 10 years yet Cytonn is spending significant resources paying people to analyse the market trends

Now imagine if I had access to the resources you and cytonn have, I would be delivering returns of 25% p.a to my clients
[/quote]

Since 2012, from 4+++ to 5.50 bob we have been told to sell Safcom many times ooooh retracting/retrenchment and all those jargons. Look where we are smile
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 4:19:47 PM

wukan wrote:

Since 2012, from 4+++ to 5.50 bob we have been told to sell Safcom many times ooooh retracting/retrenchment and all those jargons. Look where we are smile [/quote]

As they keep drawing waves and analyzing governance,market, competition, regulation,earnings etc we shall have recouped our initial investment by end of FY 2018 through dividends
wukan
#30 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 5:03:05 PM

The same old Safcom tale. Safcom is an old trade been there done that-capital redeployed into better productive trades(cryptos). For every stellar performer there are like 5 monkeys bleeding out a long term portfolio. The annualized 10 yr growth for portfolios at the NSE is a poor 3-7%

The safcom dividend yield of 3-4% is not exactly something to write home about. Cytonn booked a nice trade with KCB at 24 that's 16% yield and +80% capital gains.
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 5:30:43 PM

wukan wrote:
The same old Safcom tale. Safcom is an old trade been there done that-capital redeployed into better productive trades(cryptos). For every stellar performer there are like 5 monkeys bleeding out a long term portfolio. The annualized 10 yr growth for portfolios at the NSE is a poor 3-7%

The safcom dividend yield of 3-4% is not exactly something to write home about. Cytonn booked a nice trade with KCB at 24 that's 16% yield and +80% capital gains.

3-4% really, Ok. Mine is 12.76% net of w/tax - my best share returns on 'volumes' without headache and heartache and i dont have to look at my back every minute. Anyway kila mtu na monkey chake.

my age doesn't allow those crazy crypro swings
#32 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 7:02:07 PM

wukan wrote:

Hapa ndio watu wa pundamentals mnapotea heri hawa waganga wa market mad men pyschology akina @karasinga na @Mnandi, Mimi with my 2k shares my average buying price is 5.5 bob, why do you want me to use the current safcom price to calculate my dividend yield? When building a house for rental do you use the initial construction/acquisition cost or the current market price to calculate rental yield?

Infact sisi watu wa river road school of economics we prefer when safaricom yield is lower(suing the current market price) since it translates to more capital gains since total return is more important that dividend yield.

Hata heri hawa waganga wa pyschology wakina Karasinga

wukan
#33 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 8:37:55 PM

wukan wrote:

Hapa ndio watu wa pundamentals mnapotea heri hawa waganga wa market mad men pyschology akina @karasinga na @Mnandi, Mimi with my 2k shares my average buying price is 5.5 bob, why do you want me to use the current safcom price to calculate my dividend yield? When building a house for rental do you use the initial construction/acquisition cost or the current market price to calculate rental yield?

Infact sisi watu wa river road school of economics we prefer when safaricom yield is lower(suing the current market price) since it translates to more capital gains since total return is more important that dividend yield.

You actually believe that Kshs 10,000 of 1970 is the same as kshs 10,000 of the year 2018Pray Pray Pray So what is the yield of my grandpa's kenya breweries shares bought in the 70ssmile smile

You remind me of the river road kanjuras who took control of the nairobi city council in 1980. They decided there is no need to carry out regular valuation of city plots. To this day I still pay land rates based on the 1982 valuation roll. So isorite...tuendelee na style hiyo hiyo tujienjoy

#34 Posted : Thursday, February 08, 2018 8:58:22 PM

wukan wrote:

You actually believe that Kshs 10,000 of 1970 is the same as kshs 10,000 of the year 2018Pray Pray Pray So what is the yield of my grandpa's kenya breweries shares bought in the 70ssmile smile

You remind me of the river road kanjuras who took control of the nairobi city council in 1980. They decided there is no need to carry out regular valuation of city plots. To this day I still pay land rates based on the 1982 valuation roll. So isorite...tuendelee na style hiyo hiyo tujienjoy

Compare the total return for safaricom(dividens+capital gains) against inflation, wacha siasa
#35 Posted : Friday, February 09, 2018 1:41:17 PM

wukan wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kulala hapana mbaya after kushiba. There's a 'Do not disturb' sign.

MugundaMan
#36 Posted : Saturday, February 10, 2018 4:41:56 AM

Mugundaman: "Charlie Munger for example was not the sharpest tool in the shed but he latched on to Buffett's tail and waited 30 years and the rest is history."

#KuweniSerious ... Charlie is brilliant! Buffett says so himself! Have you listened to Charlie speak? Charlie joined up with Buffett but he was already very wealthy at the time.

VVS,
lol, give me a break, brother. I hope you are not confusing book smarts or "what Buffett/the media said" about Charlie for real smarts that deliver tangible results. Long stories on podiums don't count. If he was so smart, how come he isn't mentioned in the league of your hero WB? What he had before WB was chump change in the big scheme of things and you know it. His biggest achievement to date has been WB granting him space under his wing.
MugundaMan
#37 Posted : Saturday, February 10, 2018 5:02:21 AM

wukan wrote:

This is typical hilarious TA speak. Living in a fantasy la-la land, in stubborn denial of their own stark reality. I used to speak like this when I was young and dumb and believed that all the training from my finance degrees and the loads of worthless TA books that I would spend days in a trance reading were gospel. WAPI? SHOW US THE TRADES OVER A ONE YEAR PERIOD. I dare you to post them hapa for us to evaluate the "killings" you are making from Elliot Waving your way to riches around the NSE.

There is a reason why the Buffett's of this world are on Forbes yet no single known Elliot Waver features even in Taifa Leo, Pulse or the back page business section of People Daily. And why the Cytonn name I hear being dropped hapa with aplomb makes most of their "profits" from unrealized gains on property than from Elliot Waving on the NSE. In fact if Cytonn's migundas were not appreciating in value they too would be a sea of red given their hefty overhead expenses. Their genius is to dupe everyone at how well they are doing by launching grandiose off plan projects, getting big names to finance them, then selling dreams to the public through a blitz of ads everywhere.

Over the medium to long term, the trail behind every single TA adherent is invariably a sea of red. But as I said, the TA adherents are always in denial about their voodoo science not working over the medium to long term. They always highlight their wins but NEVER their losses. Within 5 years at most of TA trading the average full time TA adherent quietly disappears into other professions, with all the bluster of a pipsqueak, after getting killed in the market. The smart ones among them get religion and become long-termers or look for something else to do.
Spikes
#38 Posted : Saturday, February 10, 2018 9:17:11 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:

This is typical hilarious TA speak. Living in a fantasy la-la land, in stubborn denial of their own stark reality. I used to speak like this when I was young and dumb and believed that all the training from my finance degrees and the loads of worthless TA books that I would spend days in a trance reading were gospel. WAPI? SHOW US THE TRADES OVER A ONE YEAR PERIOD. I dare you to post them hapa for us to evaluate the "killings" you are making from Elliot Waving your way to riches around the NSE.

There is a reason why the Buffett's of this world are on Forbes yet no single known Elliot Waver features even in Taifa Leo, Pulse or the back page business section of People Daily. And why the Cytonn name I hear being dropped hapa with aplomb makes most of their "profits" from unrealized gains on property than from Elliot Waving on the NSE. In fact if Cytonn's migundas were not appreciating in value they too would be a sea of red given their hefty overhead expenses. Their genius is to dupe everyone at how well they are doing by launching grandiose off plan projects, getting big names to finance them, then selling dreams to the public through a blitz of ads everywhere.

Over the medium to long term, the trail behind every single TA adherent is invariably a sea of red. But as I said, the TA adherents are always in denial about their voodoo science not working over the medium to long term. They always highlight their wins but NEVER their losses. Within 5 years at most of TA trading the average full time TA adherent quietly disappears into other professions, with all the bluster of a pipsqueak, after getting killed in the market. The smart ones among them get religion and become long-termers or look for something else to do.

Spikes
#39 Posted : Saturday, February 10, 2018 9:21:07 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:

@ MugandaMan you are killing me ooo!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Since I joined Wazua I've never followed a thread so fascinating like this one. It brings real discussions on a round table. Forget about the noise most Wazuans love making. Real knowledge and ideas are here. Thought provoking propositions that would change one's destiny for better or worse . It depends on TA adherent's aptitude to master the art of market psychology enshrined in accurate timing of low entry when the security in question bottoms out. Some individuals are talented on that skill of buy low sell high ---clear and timely use of information in the public. . .The most challenging part of TA is application. More than 98% of people you hear shout here don't know how to implement TA tools.
Since I want to make a quick killing and get rich in the shortest time possible via nse,hats off to TA proponents. I want to be among the chosen few, less than 2% who apply TA knowledge properly.
#40 Posted : Saturday, February 10, 2018 10:07:20 AM

wukan wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kulala hapana mbaya after kushiba. There's a 'Do not disturb' sign.

Timing is subjective and relative.While you might brag about making 50K in a month, someone else would wonder why you've to wait for a month to make 50K yet s/he can make that in a day.

But none of you so far has answered my questiobn as to how much you usually invest to make 50K in a month? Ama hii ni hot air mnajigamba nayo?

I want to annualize your returns and compare it over the 10 yr period