wazua Fri, May 3, 2024

Politics of Water in Nairobi
#21 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 1:10:49 PM

Just read a Forbes article that Cape Town will run out of water in 90 days!!!

All I can say is wah!

Realtreaty
#22 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 1:13:22 PM

Which other source can we get water for Nairobi?
River Tana, Athi, Lake Victoria through online pumping stations by pipes or tunnels?
Why can't the govt take over the Limuru dam( Hippopotamus dam) deepen it and expand it by buying the adjacent land then fencing it to provide back up water from underground and rains?
The Road at this area should as well be lifted and well expanded to 6 lanes
#23 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 3:25:09 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
River Tana, Athi, Lake Victoria through online pumping stations by pipes or tunnels?
Why can't the govt take over the Limuru dam( Hippopotamus dam) deepen it and expand it by buying the adjacent land then fencing it to provide back up water from underground and rains?

Rain Water. If every building collected rain water, stored it for domestic use, the need for other sources would be minimal.

The level of water waste in urban areas in amazing. Imagine flushing 20 litres of water to clear 100gms pooh! Work out the waste in an average household where even pee is flushed! Add water lost while brushing when taps run through out the process.
majimaji
#24 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 3:46:49 PM

Gathige wrote:
Realtreaty wrote:

Rain Water. If every building collected rain water, stored it for domestic use, the need for other sources would be minimal.

The level of water waste in urban areas in amazing. Imagine flushing 20 litres of water to clear 100gms pooh! Work out the waste in an average household where even pee is flushed! Add water lost while brushing when taps run through out the process.

Yes, we take clean water purified expensively, add shit and throw it away. I wonder if anyone does research on alternatives to water-borne sanitation in kenia. It is possible to take care of poop without flushing with water.
#25 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 4:56:12 PM

Gathige wrote:
Realtreaty wrote:

Without thinking about poop. If all landlords can be asked to have gutters draining water towards a managed water reservoir then this water is constantly pumped to storage tanks meant for supply later companies like Roto would not make so much money. Those who grew up in the gold old days remember seeing these kind of tanks

#26 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 4:59:12 PM

majimaji wrote:
Gathige wrote:
Realtreaty wrote:

Yes, we take clean water purified expensively, add shit and throw it away. I wonder if anyone does research on alternatives to water-borne sanitation in kenia. It is possible to take care of poop without flushing with water.

No one wants alternatives as the conventional ways are avenues for quick cash. No wonder we end up drinking pooh water as the water browsers also double up as the honey suckers depending on the season.
Fyatu
#27 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 5:59:41 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
Even without the water cartels, water for every Nairobian would be a problem. The root cause of all Nairobi's problems is over crowding. The reason for the overcrowding is that Nairobi is the only place where there is serious economic opportunity for most Kenyans(or at least that is the perception) so everyone flocks huko causing big pressure on the local resources. We need to be serious with devolution, it is the key to solving a lot of Kenya's problems. Maybe a few visionary governors can develop several powerhouse counties that Kenyans can look for opportunities in

I do not agree. The problem is cartels. This one you cannot even blame poor planning or unwillingness. Just like KPLC, Nairobi Water has it's engineers and experts to map out the city and provide the service. All the major cities in the world are growing with many growing faster than Nairobi so these are just excuses. Remember that the affluent Nairobians have dug their boreholes some as close as 10 meters apart so the real victim here is the middle class and we know the middle class in Kenya is also known as the coward class.

If these cartels are well known, why is police not arresting. Why is Sonko not naming and shaming? Why are we THE PEOPLE not showing anger and picketing until this insanity is stopped??
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#28 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 6:53:48 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:
Even without the water cartels, water for every Nairobian would be a problem. The root cause of all Nairobi's problems is over crowding. The reason for the overcrowding is that Nairobi is the only place where there is serious economic opportunity for most Kenyans(or at least that is the perception) so everyone flocks huko causing big pressure on the local resources. We need to be serious with devolution, it is the key to solving a lot of Kenya's problems. Maybe a few visionary governors can develop several powerhouse counties that Kenyans can look for opportunities in

I do not agree. The problem is cartels. This one you cannot even blame poor planning or unwillingness. Just like KPLC, Nairobi Water has it's engineers and experts to map out the city and provide the service. All the major cities in the world are growing with many growing faster than Nairobi so these are just excuses. Remember that the affluent Nairobians have dug their boreholes some as close as 10 meters apart so the real victim here is the middle class and we know the middle class in Kenya is also known as the coward class.

If these cartels are well known, why is police not arresting. Why is Sonko not naming and shaming? Why are we THE PEOPLE not showing anger and picketing until this insanity is stopped??

@Fyatu, are you a Kenyan?

Realtreaty
#29 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 8:34:55 PM

Cartels are like oil in a gearbox, they can be found everywhere oiling their way to the end but are parasitic.Laughing out loudly
Fyatu
#30 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 6:36:24 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:

@Fyatu, are you a Kenyan?

Yes i am a son of soil. The hopelessness attitude by the Kenyans is what irks me. Kenyans should refuse these evils by street protests etc. For example, there should be public outrage (not on Twitter but in the streets) concerning #KNHRape saga. If it is true that rape has been going on at KNH i dont see a reason why people are not in jail...or angry Kenyans have not flushed these devils from where they hide and lynched them. Mugabe went home because Zimbabweans dropped their defeatist attitude and said enough is enough....it was so bad that the military had to intervene otherwise there would have been civil unrest. It is a high time Kenyans said enough is enough...

#31 Posted : Monday, February 19, 2018 11:52:26 PM

The cartels hard at work....

#32 Posted : Tuesday, February 20, 2018 9:31:13 AM

The cartels hard at work....

Spoiling business, shindwe. Now we have to re-brand the tanker!!!
Fyatu
#33 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 2:33:35 PM

Step in the right direction

Sonko looks like the ultimate "Kusema na Kutenda" guy
Realtreaty
#34 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 8:46:22 PM

Our women ask those guys peddling water...."Una maji safi?" ..."Ndio, hii yetu imetoka Karen si unajua karen hawakosangi maji"

"Basi niletee mitungi tano!"

f***...now i know where Karen is!!!!d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Sad Sad Sad

#35 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 10:17:27 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Our women ask those guys peddling water...."Una maji safi?" ..."Ndio, hii yetu imetoka Karen si unajua karen hawakosangi maji"

f***...now i know where Karen is!!!!d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Sad Sad Sad

Lorry guy says he was taking the water to a car wash.
sitaki.kujulikana
#36 Posted : Thursday, February 22, 2018 4:56:26 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

Lorry guy says he was taking the water to a car wash.

shida ni if you ask for clean water he will get you the clean water, but he will not disinfect, or thoroughly wash the tanker before doing that, lakini I know even for mjengo water they will get that from the rivers.
#37 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2018 10:56:19 AM

Chida sasa is too much water.....and as usual ghenyans are helpless.

#38 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2018 12:11:39 PM

Who will save the kenya water institute from water?

#39 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2018 1:56:02 PM

Interesting comment seen elsewhere.

C&P.

Investment in the huge tanks for trapping and storing this runoff water is no longer a luxury, it is essential. Imagine we have no running water in our taps. Water vendors are wading through this runoff, wet as a fish, only to deliver ten jerry cans of water for cooking. It is paradoxical!
#40 Posted : Thursday, March 15, 2018 1:56:54 PM

Who will save the kenya water institute from water?

The Tano tena regime.