wazua Sun, Apr 6, 2025

Zain Modem!!!!!!!!!
Eddy
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 5:08:00 PM

Is it just me or there is a problem with Zain modem,i can not google,get gmail and alot of sites are being 'Network timedout'. Can you imagine life without google???????
petro
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 6:55:00 PM

You are not alone. I have never seen anything like this. By the way,it is too slow only few websites are available.

Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can't lose.
jerry
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 8:02:00 PM

So I shouldn't try it? I'm using my phone but I think not for ever. I'll try Safcom modem one day soon.

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
brightstar
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 5:52:00 AM

I have experienced the same problem too over the last two weeks and all I did was to get it unlocked to allow me to use a safcom sim card. Now am smiling. Don't put up with crappy service.
thingira
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 5:58:00 AM

i ran. and i have no regrets.
Zain internet was just one more after per minute billing,call setup fee.
These guys openly retrenched kenyans mercilessly.
Get that modem opened up and run while u can!

A woman wants one man to satisfy her every need.
A man wants every woman to satisfy his one need.
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 6:20:00 AM

I can't connect to google since yesterday afternoon....

What's up?

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
adept
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:08:00 AM

It is a problem with zain internet if the thread under pennywise is anything to go by.
Eddy
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:14:00 AM

Thanks guys and i hope Zain gets a solution soon otherwise this is really unacceptable. For those who have opened it up where can i do this?
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:31:00 AM

@Eddy

Had the same drama with my Zain modem too...but got a temporary solution that works for me. Am acessing the sites remotely.

Got to www.icanacess.com

Almost at the end of your page,type the site you want to go to(e.g www.gmail.com) at the input box down there..almost at the end of the page.. and click on the browser link at the right side of the ka-box.

You'll be able to acess you site and if it requires login details...you'll login normally,though,you might be required to input some other details(eg your birthdate) for security reasons since its remote acess.

Works for me...You can try it on your end and see how it goes.

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:45:00 AM

@Mukiha

Zain has 'techinical issues'' since last week!!! It's the most annoying thing they've done this year and have no courtesy to tell their customers.. Anyway,Try acessing your unavailable sites remotely for now

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
andycapp
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 8:54:00 AM

Incidentally i cant get Google & facebook websites.
I wondered if it my computer or wat?
Im using zain internet.
Anyone with info on whats happening?
doh
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:00:00 AM

@ thingira and brightstar

How did u address their purported lockin contract for one year for the monthly option.

they disconnected me in dec but are still invoicing me. they claim i cant run because the contract was one year. anyway i wouldnt budge cause what are they billing me for after disconnecting me. Its immoral and down right robbery.

where can i unlock their modem to use it with safcom.

info is money
Nissi
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:06:00 AM

Thank heavens,the problem is now resolved.I told you........it was just a technical problem like any other.

As he thinks,so is he
andycapp
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:21:00 AM

Yes its back.
Now i can access google & facebook.
missydear
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 11:24:00 AM

Lovely modem i have really enjoyed using the modem

Kudos to Zain

'To establish true self-esteem we must concentrate on our successes and
forget about the failures and the negatives in our lives.
Eddy
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 11:29:00 AM

@Leona and Nissi

Thank you guys. Yeah,it is now back and i can continue using Zain it is 'expectable' that a system can never be 100%.

SK is really commendable with the kind of sharing one gets,you are bound to get a solution always.
Coolbull
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 6:10:00 PM

@doh

Very true outright robbery.
They locked clients with one year contracts then compromised quality of service hoping Kenyans not to stand for their rights. They disconnected me in Dec and they still bill.
I wrote to them and informed them i'll only pay for what i used,otherwise they can go to court as i head to Stockskenya and Facebook; public court.

Initially the service was good but as they got more people on board,they compromised service. Typical of Kenyan companies.

I'm with Safcom,slightly more expensive but i get to do what i need to do online.-3G ni poa.

Cool Bull
Kata
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 6:52:00 PM

Haiya !!!

Kwani Zain iko na Modem!!

Anyway,why use 2G when you got a better option of 3G. I have been using safcom na niko sawa mie

Wisely and slow; they stumble that run fast
giddy
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:06:00 PM

Why lock yourselves with one provider.Be liberated with the OPEN modems.They work with all network operators.safcom,zain,yu,orange.If one operator is not meeting your needs just remove the sim and plug in another,its that fast.Dont be 'locked' be OPEN.Get the OPEN modems.E-mail for more details:<sentiltd@gmail.com>
#20 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 6:33:00 AM

Personal experience:

Connected to zain late last year....speeds were slooooooow! Average speed was 0.5 - 1.5 kBps!!Complained until their data service manager came to do a test in my office.....he promised that things would improve in a couple of months
Called in some SCOM guys to do a test drive...speed were also sloooooow! Same as the Zain connection. BTW,the test was done with their own modem.
Earlier this year,the Zain connection 'woke up'.....it averages 15-20 kBps,yes,BYTES,not BITS. For 3k per month,I couldn't ask for more.
I have compared this with that of friends using SCOM and I think Zain is faster.... one problem with the SCOM user interface is that it does not dislay the live speed while browsing...you can only find out when downloading a file [check the DAP,for example]

Conclusion:
SCOM 3G is just hype!
It reminds me of those funny music systems that proclaim several thousands of watts out put....yet none sounds louder than my faithful 60W per channel Marantz amp [but do I say?]

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)