What is a divided country?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
I still don't get when people say the country is divided in 2 because of elections. Isn't that normal? Majority of Americans voted for Hillary Clinton yet Trump is president. Is America therefore divided? Yes. But these are the reality of elections. I heard a prominent NASA interviewee saying that we are in danger because half the country did not vote for Uhuru, and I found myself wondering, what of the other half that did? Where are they in this equation? My issue is this and I'm ready to admit that maybe I'm only seeing it from a position that's fully objective so make me understand in a sober discussion; Uhuru & Raila participated in elections on the 8th of August, the Supreme Court annulled the elections as null and void. Raila and his lawyers celebrated the victory while Uhuru and crew moaned. Supreme Court ordered that the elections be held again. Elections were held, Raila boycotted, Uhuru won and is sworn in. Which elections did Raila win to demand to be sworn in? I don't get. But what I know is that we have a constitution, the constitution is a political document, a set of laws that enables us to live with each other because without it, there would be anarchy, we would kill each other like the wild wild west. We don't like each other politically, and that's ok and normal everywhere in the world but we have a book of laws and rules to abide by to save us all. BBI will solve it :)
There is nothing like a homogeneous society anywhere is the world. People have differences either based on colour, creed, customs etc and have to learn to leave with one another. Its normally politicians who hype emotions to exemplify the differences during certain times for purely political gains. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Exactly, therefore there is nothing wrong with a section refusing/boycotting product Jubilee!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
2012 wrote:I still don't get when people say the country is divided in 2 because of elections. Isn't that normal? Majority of Americans voted for Hillary Clinton yet Trump is president. Is America therefore divided? Yes. But these are the reality of elections. I heard a prominent NASA interviewee saying that we are in danger because half the country did not vote for Uhuru, and I found myself wondering, what of the other half that did? Where are they in this equation? My issue is this and I'm ready to admit that maybe I'm only seeing it from a position that's fully objective so make me understand in a sober discussion; Uhuru & Raila participated in elections on the 8th of August, the Supreme Court annulled the elections as null and void. Raila and his lawyers celebrated the victory while Uhuru and crew moaned. Supreme Court ordered that the elections be held again. Elections were held, Raila boycotted, Uhuru won and is sworn in. Which elections did Raila win to demand to be sworn in? I don't get. But what I know is that we have a constitution, the constitution is a political document, a set of laws that enables us to live with each other because without it, there would be anarchy, we would kill each other like the wild wild west. We don't like each other politically, and that's ok and normal everywhere in the world but we have a book of laws and rules to abide by to save us all. Good points. This 'divided country' spiel is a canard peddled by a lazy media that has somehow come to believe the cheap bromides they feed us. Truth is every country is innately divided and politics only accentuates these divisions, it doesn't create them. Like in families, people in countries stay together not because they love each other but because they need each other. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Rank: Elder Joined: 11/25/2011 Posts: 2,103 Location: Nrb
I also ask myself the same question, what excatly is division? You don't win an election, you accept and move on. I saw a tweet from Linturi, saying that over 40% did not vote for uhuru,so we should ask why. I am like, ala! Is this fellow serious.Obama won his second term by 52 or there about, and Romney accepted and moved on. If we don't want elections, we should come up with another way, but not kila 5 years to talk about a divided country. This brings me to my other point. When we say that the president should unit the country, what excatly is he supposed to do when NRM on the other side are radicalizing their supporters with resist nonsense. If the old geezers had accepted they got outplayed, the country would be in a different mood. I am happy
Rank: Elder Joined: 11/25/2011 Posts: 2,103 Location: Nrb
Having given my opinion above, hehehe! I have just watched the ceremony and it was excellent! Rudini job sasa and all those "analysts" on TV should find real work, waache Yada Yada I am happy
Even in the US, many aka majority think Trump is a joke including people in his own party, but he is still the recognized POTUS!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
2012 wrote:I still don't get when people say the country is divided in 2 because of elections. Isn't that normal? Majority of Americans voted for Hillary Clinton yet Trump is president. Is America therefore divided? Yes. But these are the reality of elections. I heard a prominent NASA interviewee saying that we are in danger because half the country did not vote for Uhuru, and I found myself wondering, what of the other half that did? Where are they in this equation? My issue is this and I'm ready to admit that maybe I'm only seeing it from a position that's fully objective so make me understand in a sober discussion; Uhuru & Raila participated in elections on the 8th of August, the Supreme Court annulled the elections as null and void. Raila and his lawyers celebrated the victory while Uhuru and crew moaned. Supreme Court ordered that the elections be held again. Elections were held, Raila boycotted, Uhuru won and is sworn in. Which elections did Raila win to demand to be sworn in? I don't get. But what I know is that we have a constitution, the constitution is a political document, a set of laws that enables us to live with each other because without it, there would be anarchy, we would kill each other like the wild wild west. We don't like each other politically, and that's ok and normal everywhere in the world but we have a book of laws and rules to abide by to save us all. Baaas. Exactly what I have been wondering. Weka hio iwe quote of Year 2017
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Intelligentsia wrote:2012 wrote:I still don't get when people say the country is divided in 2 because of elections. Isn't that normal? Majority of Americans voted for Hillary Clinton yet Trump is president. Is America therefore divided? Yes. But these are the reality of elections. I heard a prominent NASA interviewee saying that we are in danger because half the country did not vote for Uhuru, and I found myself wondering, what of the other half that did? Where are they in this equation? My issue is this and I'm ready to admit that maybe I'm only seeing it from a position that's fully objective so make me understand in a sober discussion; Uhuru & Raila participated in elections on the 8th of August, the Supreme Court annulled the elections as null and void. Raila and his lawyers celebrated the victory while Uhuru and crew moaned. Supreme Court ordered that the elections be held again. Elections were held, Raila boycotted, Uhuru won and is sworn in. Which elections did Raila win to demand to be sworn in? I don't get. But what I know is that we have a constitution, the constitution is a political document, a set of laws that enables us to live with each other because without it, there would be anarchy, we would kill each other like the wild wild west. We don't like each other politically, and that's ok and normal everywhere in the world but we have a book of laws and rules to abide by to save us all. Baaas. Exactly what I have been wondering. Weka hio iwe quote of Year 2017 Ala!!,wewe hujui? He won by not asking people to vote. The IEBC counted the people that voted and the surplus did not vote because they were Raila's. This was the same gig in 2005. He campaigned against the 'Wako draft' and 'won'. He extrapolated this win to be a vote for 'his constitution' and a rubberstamp that he was to 'husband' the constitutional process. He fails to understand that voting 'No' and 'Not voting' comes due to a myriad of reasons one of which is 'him'. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:Intelligentsia wrote:2012 wrote:I still don't get when people say the country is divided in 2 because of elections. Isn't that normal? Majority of Americans voted for Hillary Clinton yet Trump is president. Is America therefore divided? Yes. But these are the reality of elections. I heard a prominent NASA interviewee saying that we are in danger because half the country did not vote for Uhuru, and I found myself wondering, what of the other half that did? Where are they in this equation? My issue is this and I'm ready to admit that maybe I'm only seeing it from a position that's fully objective so make me understand in a sober discussion; Uhuru & Raila participated in elections on the 8th of August, the Supreme Court annulled the elections as null and void. Raila and his lawyers celebrated the victory while Uhuru and crew moaned. Supreme Court ordered that the elections be held again. Elections were held, Raila boycotted, Uhuru won and is sworn in. Which elections did Raila win to demand to be sworn in? I don't get. But what I know is that we have a constitution, the constitution is a political document, a set of laws that enables us to live with each other because without it, there would be anarchy, we would kill each other like the wild wild west. We don't like each other politically, and that's ok and normal everywhere in the world but we have a book of laws and rules to abide by to save us all. Baaas. Exactly what I have been wondering. Weka hio iwe quote of Year 2017 Ala!!,wewe hujui? He won by not asking people to vote. The IEBC counted the people that voted and the surplus did not vote because they were Raila's. This was the same gig in 2005. He campaigned against the 'Wako draft' and 'won'. He extrapolated this win to be a vote for 'his constitution' and a rubberstamp that he was to 'husband' the constitutional process. He fails to understand that voting 'No' and 'Not voting' comes due to a myriad of reasons one of which is 'him'. That is very true @masukuma! ...and you should be fired for counting posts in wazua instead of counting votes in W/Africa.
Amores wrote:I also ask myself the same question, what excatly is division? You don't win an election, you accept and move on. I saw a tweet from Linturi, saying that over 40% did not vote for uhuru,so we should ask why. I am like, ala! Is this fellow serious.Obama won his second term by 52 or there about, and Romney accepted and moved on. If we don't want elections, we should come up with another way, but not kila 5 years to talk about a divided country. This brings me to my other point. When we say that the president should unit the country, what excatly is he supposed to do when NRM on the other side are radicalizing their supporters with resist nonsense. If the old geezers had accepted they got outplayed, the country would be in a different mood.
And now UoN has de-registered Senator Mithika Linturi's degree for presenting fake papers to obtain a degree certificate
What is a divided country?