36 Pages«<2829303132>»
President Uhuru Kenyatta 2nd Term - 2017/2022
HaMaina
#581 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 12:24:02 PM

HaMaina wrote:
thuks wrote:
wukan wrote:
Uhuru should have listened to the nerds from Risk department. We warned about the "Pharonic" projects and interest rate cap. Now the chicks are coming home to roost

Low revenue collection, a ballooning debt and the economic challenges of Covid-19 have plunged Kenya into a cash crunch, with all indications clear that the government is struggling.

On Monday, Interior CS Fred Matiang'a hinted at a looming pay cut for civil servants in a desperate move to ease pressure on recurrent expenditure, weighed down by dwindling domestic revenue collections.

In an interview with a local TV station, Matiang'i admitted that although no one loves a pay cut, the government is facing a tough situation.

"All of us are going to be called upon to accept these extraordinary measures because we are dealing with extraordinary circumstances. If it comes to that (pay cut) so be it," Matiang'i said.

He added that some of the major development projects are going to be affected as the government cuts back on spending.

His sentiments were the closest admission by a senior state official of a cash crunch in the Jubilee administration that has turned to borrowing for survival amid low revenue collection.
https://www.the-star.co....ress-government-admits/

Afro cinema continues....smile

Central Bank data show that public debt reached Sh7.12 trillion as of September – an increase of Sh1.2 trillion over the same period last year.

Of these, about Sh835 billion has been borrowed since the virus was first declared in March, going up to Sh909 billion, factoring in principal arrears and accrued interest.

Treasury is yet to release more than Sh300 billion to counties as a result of dwindling revenue from taxes.

Yatani sought to allay fears the state was doing badly in terms of cash-flow, dismissing those assertions as "speculation".

However, the CS conceded that revenue has fallen below target. “Of course, you understand we are in an abnormal situation.”

“There is low business performance and revenue is also falling below target [and] we have an option of reducing expenditure. That does not necessarily mean there is stress,” he told the Star.

“Our debt level is sustainable; we are meeting our obligations as required; we are running efficiently as a government,” he added.

The CS explained, "We may be slightly low on revenue performance but that does not mean the situation is bad.”
https://www.the-star.co....ail-out-state-agencies/

Nothing to fear. We are so bullish that we'll borrow to fund a referendum. Kwani iko nini?

Applause Applause But I blame myself, I voted for a joker who's not making me laugh. Liwe funzo kwagu na kwa wengine kama mimi. Wataii wa kuzurura nchi zote na Watu hawaelewi kazi zao hawfai kuongoza.

COVID has messed up the economy, and Kenya is not in isolation on this. The recovery will be amazing _ 2021 on-wards.

Referendum is just an event, what is 14b anyway for a Country like Kenya?

He spent the first 2.5 years of his second term flying around the world to attend parties and weddings and pinting like its christmas , even broke the record for the most traveled president on east Africa. What that was for only he knows. Had he spent that time to cushion the economy against the unknown, just by making sure the economic stability is maintained, this covid issue would not have been felt like its being felt today. A note to him, " You don't have to be on a plane to get high, you can do that in the comfort of your house."
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
#582 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 3:13:12 PM

The youth conference deliberations today was wonderful, under the chairmanship of H.E PORK UMK. Twasonga mbele!!!
HaMaina
#583 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 4:45:49 PM

The youth conference deliberations today was wonderful, under the chairmanship of H.E PORK UMK. Twasonga mbele!!!

I'm not surprised, the prezo & his deputy are fairly good talkers, and even better at convincing others. Im sure they can both convince a chicken into unplucking itself.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
HaMaina
#584 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 4:56:29 PM

Uhuru to be ‘unavailable’ after Jamhuri Day for one month, ministry says
Thitifini
#585 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 6:06:46 PM

Ameamua kuwacha, good move...

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
sqft
#586 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 6:07:31 PM

Thitifini wrote:

He also needs to take annual leave like all employees.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#587 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 7:43:40 PM

Who will be incharge? WSR? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#588 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 9:20:45 PM

Unavailable doesn't mean not in charge!!! smile smile smile

Ruto will just continue with his funeral escapades!!!
sqft
#589 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 11:37:47 PM

Matiangi will be in charge.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#590 Posted : Monday, December 07, 2020 11:43:10 PM

Maybe KDF. He has steadily been militarizing alot of operations.
#591 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2020 12:31:49 AM

Gathige wrote:

Wana weza mgeuka mbaya
#592 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2020 9:29:59 AM

Gathige wrote:

Wana weza mgeuka mbaya

Nothing like that can happen, loyal mbaya_ in the appointments those whom you are not sure of are always passed na ujanja.
#593 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2020 11:38:21 AM

The days of easy access to the Chinese capital are now officially over.

Lending by the China Development Bank and the Export-Import Bank of China collapsed from a peak of $75 billion in 2016 to just $4 billion last year, according to data compiled by researchers at Boston University.

This couldn't come at the worst time for many African countries who'll likely be forced out into the bond market to borrow money often at much higher rates.

As for the major multilateral lenders, well, the U.S. and Europe probably won't support huge capital injections into the World Bank and IMF to expand access financing given that their coffers at home are now running low following trillions of dollars of stimulus spending.

Borrowing money is just going to be a lot more difficult for developing countries in 2021.

Source: Eric Olander On LinkedIn

Link:https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6741962953165213696/

Source Article from the Financial Times.

Link: China curtails overseas lending in face of geopolitical backlash
#594 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2020 5:05:51 PM

Gathige wrote:

Wana weza mgeuka mbaya

Nothing like that can happen, loyal mbaya_ in the appointments those whom you are not sure of are always passed na ujanja.

You can never be too sure. Constitutionally WSR is incharge when the President is away.
#595 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2020 6:20:47 PM

Gathige wrote:

Wana weza mgeuka mbaya

You can never be too sure. Constitutionally WSR is incharge when the President is away.

Unavailable & away are 2 different things.

Plus WSR being incharge are fertile imagination, we know what transpired with Dr. Karanja.

We learn from the past.

And don't tell me Constitution, hiyo ni karatasi tu, practical/reality is different _ kwa grounds!!!
#596 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2020 6:27:01 PM

Gathige wrote:

Wana weza mgeuka mbaya

Unavailable & away are 2 different things.

Plus WSR being incharge are fertile imagination, we know what transpired with Dr. Karanja.

We learn from the past.

And don't tell me Constitution, hiyo ni karatasi tu, practical/reality is different _ kwa grounds!!!

If we were living in Dr. Karanja's era, WSR would be no where near power today because Katiba is supreme. So if Katiba says WSR is in charge then that's it hii ingine ni show tu
#597 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2020 11:42:17 AM

Baaasss Nî Gîa Kũgũrũ Kũu Wa Jomo.

Kinyîra O hau Ithe Wa Ngîna!

Andũ a matatũ nî machina thigũkũ îno

Kenya Railways Corporation will Friday (11 December 2020) restart commercial passenger service on the Nairobi-Nanyuki line after more than two decades, offering competition to public service vehicles that have dominated the central Kenya routes.

Commuters travelling from Nairobi to Nanyuki will pay Sh200 fare on second class coaches and between Sh50 and Sh100 for inter-terminus trips that will serve Murang’a, Makuyu, Maragua, Sagana, Karatina, Kiganjo, Chaka and Naromoru stations.

Matatu operators that ply the route such as 2NK charge Sh600 on a single trip.

Cargo operations on the rehabilitated 240-kilometre Nairobi-Nanyuki started in August and targets goods like fuel, fertilisers, hardware, cereals and other farm produce.

Kenya Railways is also targeting business people and leisure travellers.

Source Link: Passenger rail service to central Kenya starts. WEDNESDAY DECEMBER 09 2020
#598 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2020 1:27:18 PM

Gathige wrote:

Wana weza mgeuka mbaya

I don't see it? kwani nini inawazuia saa hii?
he will follow 'KATIMBA' and WSR will be 'incharge'.
#599 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2020 2:39:51 PM

Gathige wrote:

Wana weza mgeuka mbaya

I don't see it? kwani nini inawazuia saa hii?
he will follow 'KATIMBA' and WSR will be 'incharge'.

Even you know that is a big lieLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly , power is absolute!!!

WRS will continue tangatangaing in churches and funerals.
sqft
#600 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2020 6:26:04 PM