Earning 100k and above
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 12:48:58 AM

#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 4:39:06 AM

Very poor
innairobi
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 6:12:44 AM

ukiskiza wakenya wakiongea juu ya pesa, you'd think at least half the country consists of dollar millionaires. kenya is still a very poor country.

look at something as basic as car ownership. there are 1.5 million vehicles on kenyan roads. remove two to three hundred thousand matatus you remain with 1.2 million personal cars. in a country of 12 million households, that means a maximum of 10% of households own a personal car. na ni mitumba si hata gari mpya.

let's even make the extreme assumption that all of these 1.2 million personal cars are owned by households headed by persons over 35. of our 12 million households, i would say maybe 4 million are headed by a parent 35 years or older. so even kenyans aged over 35 years, at least 75% do not own a car.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 7:12:18 AM

This is not a real reflection of the situation. Less than 8% isare in formal employment and pay income tax and those are the only ones whose data you can capture. Many are in business and in Kenya, most pay VAT and not income tax and they are raking in millions.

#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 8:14:16 AM

Have you factored in those in pharmaceutical industry, Laundry & dry cleaning and govt/private facilitators and "facilitees"?

What about the hundreds of thousands of kenyans working and living outside?
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 8:16:49 AM

This is not a real reflection of the situation. Less than 8% isare in formal employment and pay income tax and those are the only ones whose data you can capture. Many are in business and in Kenya, most pay VAT and not income tax and they are raking in millions.

Very true.

I deal alot with business people and I can tell you the figures are good.

A simple butchery that you would not give a second glance does sales of about 15k and 30% is profit.

I know a fruit supplier who does sales of 20k per day and 8000 is his daily profit.This ones do not even pay tax.

Examples are many.......
innairobi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 8:33:10 AM

Very true.

A simple butchery that you would not give a second glance does sales of about 15k and 30% is profit.

I know a fruit supplier who does sales of 20k per day and 8000 is his daily profit.This ones do not even pay tax.

Examples are many.......

that is why experts look at consumption data like car ownership to get a rough idea of informal incomes in third world countries. the overwhelming majority of informal workers will aspire to buy a car when they have saved enough or can get a sacco loan. car ownership shows the majority of kenyan workers whether formal or informal are very poor.

it is true that there are tens of thousands of people in informal jobs in kenya earning more than 100K per month and even i know some. but the reality is that millions of informal workers, the self-employed and business owners do not touch 100K and the evidence is all around. look at the way politicians can muster a massive crowd in the middle of the week.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
innairobi
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 8:48:06 AM

another thing and maybe @kiash can confirm this but the median two-person household in the united states earns about $45,000 after tax. that would be in the region of kshs 400,000 per month for the two adults which translates to kshs 200,000 per month per adult.

now think about it. if the median person in the united states is earning 200K per month albeit post-tax and we're talking about a country whose GDP per capita is 40 times higher than kenya's, what would the median monthly income in kenya be? it's obvious from the laws of economics that only a small percentage of kenyans are making 100K or 200K per month.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 8:53:57 AM

innairobi wrote:

Very true.

Examples are many.......

that is why experts look at consumption data like car ownership to get a rough idea of informal incomes in third world countries. the overwhelming majority of informal workers will aspire to buy a car when they have saved enough or can get a sacco loan. car ownership shows the majority of kenyan workers whether formal or informal are very poor.

it is true that there are tens of thousands of people in informal jobs in kenya earning more than 100K per month and even i know some. but the reality is that millions of informal workers, the self-employed and business owners do not touch 100K and the evidence is all around. look at the way politicians can muster a massive crowd in the middle of the week.

This data is pretty accurate, I have been in good formal and informal business, majority of these "biasharas" make less than 10k, someone making 20k in mpesa, butchery, mboga, nguruwe, cyber, exhibition, stationary, etc are there and are the top but wa 100k are there but just maybe 10k people in all of Kenya, perhaps you talk of combined household, kazi ya baba na mama BTW Nairobi top businesses, housing, cars, apartments, are owned by no more than 500 people, and you know the top 20 who own every major private institute employing thousands, Kenya is controlled by about 50people/families who also control money/banking and all the money our collective central bank prints goes to them and they charge you 20% interest as they sit nyambering at home complaining about lazy Kenyan's.
A New Kenya
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 10:34:44 AM

All in all, Kenyans are poor, this will change, when you look at global wealthiest, even Kenyan mdosi ni musufferer mbaya and we should not be over critical on the "few rich", we have a 1000 times smaller budget for 40million people than a company with 2000 employees somewhere in US, which is not the best example, mpaka sisi sote tukubali tunakaujinga na si yule wa ukabila/masomo, etc we ourselves are thinking substandard ways and we can't take anything to the global market but fight like chokoras for "power", we are a nation of kumbaffs and before each kumbaff humbles himself and innovates, takes responsibility and action (which many including here are doing) for "the rest", and thinks of a way to bring them "the 100k earning jobs" to their doorstep, they continue nyambering where they are and pointing at the President to come to them with Canaan things out of the blue or no peace etc..hivo ndio kunaendaga, mdogo mdogo we will get there..
A New Kenya
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 11:08:11 AM

KNBS data can't be conclusive, I agree

Though it's accurate on formal employment. Very few are paid over 100k. Fewer are taking home 100K after statutory deductions.

However, I've seen an interesting thing:there's a lot of under the wraps intrapreneurship in most organisations. As in a guy who reports to a job where he earns 50K but it affords him the chance of earning 100k, 200k more..

Take for instance property managers and caretakers. The amounts they earn are very little. But being in charge of a building means you're the procurement boss, the maintenance boss, the debt collection guy. These are different revenue streams! Tax free money!

I have seen a lot of such cases where people are earning very little but they don't complain. They don't even move or want to move. They're making more money while employed than they'd do if they moved to another company with higher pay or if they went solo.

But usually it's at a cost to their employers
wukan
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 11:16:58 AM

Try renting out a house above $500 you will start believing the statistics.
Mike Ock
#13 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 12:04:32 PM

Though it's accurate on formal employment. Very few are paid over 100k. Fewer are taking home 100K after statutory deductions.

However, I've seen an interesting thing:there's a lot of under the wraps intrapreneurship in most organisations. As in a guy who reports to a job where he earns 50K but it affords him the chance of earning 100k, 200k more..

Take for instance property managers and caretakers. The amounts they earn are very little. But being in charge of a building means you're the procurement boss, the maintenance boss, the debt collection guy. These are different revenue streams! Tax free money!

I have seen a lot of such cases where people are earning very little but they don't complain. They don't even move or want to move. They're making more money while employed than they'd do if they moved to another company with higher pay or if they went solo.

Even if you added all the hustlers, thieves, pharmacists etc into the equation, you'll still have less than 200,000 people earning over 100k per month. Common sense tells you that there will always be more employees than any other group. It's the most common route of making money by far. Therefore the number of rich employees will also be more than the number of rich hustlers/business owners/pharmacists put together. If there are 75,000 employees making over 100k, the hustlers making 100k are likely to be less than that. Put them together and you have less than 150k people making over 100k.

Also, please factor in that most businessmen always paint rosy pictures of their biashara to the public. But ask an accountant or a banker to tell you the truth about businesses in Kenya. They are the ones who see actual bank statements. Most of them are making just enough money for the owner to be able to survive
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 12:08:33 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Even if you added all the hustlers, thieves, pharmacists etc into the equation, you'll still have less than 200,000 people earning over 100k per month. Common sense tells you that there will always be more employees than employers. Therefore the number of rich employees will also be more than the number of rich employers. If there are 75,000 employees making over 100k, the business owners making 100k are likely to be less than that.

Also, please factor in that most businessmen always paint rosy pictures of their biashara to the public. But ask an accountant or a banker to tell you the truth about businesses in Kenya. They are the ones who see actual bank statements. Most of them are making just enough money for the owner to be able to survive

Ni madeni tu! Watu wanaona watu wakicheka na Mali wanafikiri ni biashara lakini ni madeni on the shilling tu watu wanatumia, ata banks.
A New Kenya
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 12:12:32 PM

Why are people asking questions that have already been answered? THE QUOTE SAYS FORMAL EMPLOYMENT... so don't ask if I considered your taxi driver or garbage collector. But anyway... how do we want to handle it... double the number? Triple it? Quadruple it?
#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 12:23:52 PM

Why are people asking questions that have already been answered? THE QUOTE SAYS FORMAL EMPLOYMENT... so don't ask if I considered your taxi driver or garbage collector. But anyway... how do we want to handle it... double the number? Triple it? Quadruple it?

Education, focus longterm on being a knowledge economy rather than industrial, capitalist, e.t.c As an insider in the technology and energy sector, keep your fingers crossed, some biiiiig news coming soon!
A New Kenya
Taurrus
#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 12:47:06 PM

Is this a feel good thread?
Ngogoyo
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 2:28:13 PM

innairobi wrote:
another thing and maybe @kiash can confirm this but the median two-person household in the united states earns about $45,000 after tax. that would be in the region of kshs 400,000 per month for the two adults which translates to kshs 200,000 per month per adult.

now think about it. if the median person in the united states is earning 200K per month albeit post-tax and we're talking about a country whose GDP per capita is 40 times higher than kenya's, what would the median monthly income in kenya be? it's obvious from the laws of economics that only a small percentage of kenyans are making 100K or 200K per month.

Na hawa naonanga na Jack daniels and blankets and wine etc ni akinanani?
Iganamagana
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 2:45:53 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
innairobi wrote:

Middo class by local standards.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 07, 2017 2:49:41 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
innairobi wrote:

The 79K

Start counting once they exceed 80K we shall know that, that jonalist is a bonokosmile smile smile