KCB FY 2016 earnings flat +1%
Ericsson
#41 Posted : Monday, March 13, 2017 11:15:58 AM

watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
guru267 wrote:
CIC and KCB had PAT hit by net monetary losses... This looks likely to affect other players as well.... @VVS I just hope we at least get the same dividend on Kenre.

Monetary losses will be majorly for companies that have operations in south sudan e.g equity bank, cooperative bank, Britam, UAP

KCB will take the biggest hit....a large chunk of their subsidiary business is from SS. At least Equity went to DRC but even there election wars can break out anytime after Kabila postponed the event indefinitely

That is for all the mentioned firms.
James Mwangi even mentioned a year ago that SS is really bleeding them.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
lochaz-index
#42 Posted : Tuesday, March 14, 2017 8:00:41 PM

Yowel wrote:
These results are interesting. On the balance sheet, customer deposits growth of only 6% against public notion that with the rate caps and tier three banks struggling, funds would have naturally gone to the big banks. Balances to other banks down 43% (who are funding the small banks since also their deposits have also stagnated?), growth in deposits in 2014/2015 was only 13%.

When you look at lending, higher by 11%, in 2014/2015 was 22% which is obvious from the capping law.

In terms of cash, there are questions not answered. @muganda, any chance we can see the cash flow statement.

Flight to quality has been largely a myth for 2016. It was evident in 2015 when Dubai and Imperial bank went under but insignificant thereafter.

The big boys have had a slowdown in the deposit growth rate and their QoQ 2016 numbers bear witness to it. I suspect some small time depositors gave the banking sector a wide berth all together in the wake of Chase Bank developments. In addition, there is not enough liquidity/savings in the economy to go around...more like a de-saving trend.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
Ericsson
#43 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 5:27:20 PM

KCB Group CEO Joshua Oigara while being interviewed on the trading bell (Thursday 16 March)said KCB now has adequate capital and funding that for the next three years.
Rights issue to raise capital is out.

This week Thursday it will John Gachora CEO of NIC Bank who will be at the trading bell
watesh
#44 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 6:11:05 PM

KCB Group total deposit growth +6% which is 24bn while KCB Kenya +11% which is 39bn growth. Major decline in deposits in KCB subsidiaries in other countries. South Sudan effect or what?
Ericsson
#45 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 6:33:57 PM

watesh wrote:
KCB Group total deposit growth +6% which is 24bn while KCB Kenya +11% which is 39bn growth. Major decline in deposits in KCB subsidiaries in other countries. South Sudan effect or what?

South Sudan is due to devaluation of the currency and hyperinflation
Ericsson
#46 Posted : Tuesday, May 02, 2017 11:56:59 PM

KCB to close South Sudan branches due to war shocks

Good move to cut out the fat and loss making ventures and remain with the lean and profitable ventures

http://www.businessdaily...911620-x5erse/index.html
lochaz-index
#47 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 7:56:50 AM

Ericsson wrote:
KCB to close South Sudan branches due to war shocks

Good move to cut out the fat and loss making ventures and remain with the lean and profitable ventures

http://www.businessdaily...11620-x5erse/index.html

The truth seems to be finally setting in on SS.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
Ebenyo
#48 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 9:27:43 AM

[quote=Ericsson]KCB to close South Sudan branches due to war shocks

http://www.businessdaily...11620-x5erse/index.html[/quote]

a good decision from the board.There is no need of keeping subsidiaries which are posting losses.Its the time to explore the planned move into somalia and mozambique.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Pesa Nane
#49 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 10:47:09 AM

Ebenyo wrote:

a good decision from the board.There is no need of keeping subsidiaries which are posting losses.Its the time to explore the planned move into somalia and mozambique.

Shame on you Somalia is a NO, NO. Banking in Somalia is very informal and does not fit the KCB profile
+ Security risks (more of Kebab than theft)
+ Kenya/KDF relationship
+ Huge investments in infrastructure would be required (Internet, Phone, Brick n mortar)
+ Flagging by major intermediary banks
+ Political risks (Policy in Som changes daily, sometimes hourly)
+ Huge currency risks
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#50 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 10:55:16 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

Shame on you Somalia is a NO, NO. Banking in Somalia is very informal and does not fit the KCB profile
+ Kenya/KDF relationship
+ Huge investments in infrastructure would be required (Internet, Phone, Brick n mortar)
+ Huge currency risks

There is a huge chunk of Somalia that is very peaceful kuliko Baragoi/Laikipia/Kayole smile smile smile
Spikes
#51 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 11:24:29 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

+ Kenya/KDF relationship
+ Huge currency risks

There is a huge chunk of Somalia that is very peaceful kuliko Baragoi/Laikipia/Kayole smile smile smile

And when the risk is so huge you can imagine the accelerating returns to scale of investing in Somalia . Somalia has a big potential of exponential business growth. The market is virtually virgin for entry of formal financial institutions. But who's willing to take the greatest risk?
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Ericsson
#52 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 11:31:09 AM

@Spikes
Coca Cola
Davis and Shirtliff are already in Somalia
Pesa Nane
#53 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 4:41:46 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@Spikes
Coca Cola

Davis are not is Somalia.
Coke. You want to compare a manufacturing plant with a banking hall in foot traffic?
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#54 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 5:13:33 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@Spikes
Coca Cola

Davis are not is Somalia.
Coke. You want to compare a manufacturing plant with a banking hall in foot traffic?

Manufacturing is even worse in terms of possible loss smile smile smile
watesh
#55 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 5:36:03 PM

Spikes wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

+ Kenya/KDF relationship
+ Huge currency risks

And when the risk is so huge you can imagine the accelerating returns to scale of investing in Somalia . Somalia has a big potential of exponential business growth. The market is virtually virgin for entry of formal financial institutions. But who's willing to take the greatest risk?

A bank would be a huge target for broke terrorist who want money. They will assume there is a huge pile of dollars just sitting in there that they can smash and grab.
KCB should find a better strategy outside Kenyan subsidiary. None of them is past Ksh500m in profitability.
#56 Posted : Wednesday, May 03, 2017 11:10:38 PM

Spikes wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

+ Kenya/KDF relationship
+ Huge currency risks

As pointed out and articulated well by either @Pesa8 or @Ericsson, there's huge regulatory risk for KCB esp with European and US regulators. Why take the risk? The potential profits aren't enough to cover blacklisting for USD or Euro transactions, on-lending for US or EU funds, etc. Some US/EU shareholders may have to dispose of their shares if KCB is flagged or cited for non-kosher transactions. There is immense potential but that might be a few years into the future.
#57 Posted : Thursday, May 04, 2017 5:55:21 AM

Spikes wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

+ Kenya/KDF relationship
+ Huge currency risks

As pointed out and articulated well by either @Pesa8 or @Ericsson, there's huge regulatory risk for KCB esp with European and US regulators. Why take the risk? The potential profits aren't enough to cover blacklisting for USD or Euro transactions, on-lending for US or EU funds, etc. Some US/EU shareholders may have to dispose of their shares if KCB is flagged or cited for non-kosher transactions. There is immense potential but that might be a few years into the future.

Burukenge analysis.. Ever heard of international blacklist for prohibited persons and business. The mafia are controlled by the said UN list. KCB can go to Somalia and do clean business. It's security factors that has delayed its entry

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Spikes
#58 Posted : Wednesday, May 24, 2017 5:44:10 PM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
muganda wrote:
But a proposed final dividend of 3/= per share is a lucrative pay-out of 11.5%

Nothing lucrative there.Just preparing you for rights issue.This is purely a bait.

Hakuna rights issue
Wewe meza mate watu wakila nyama

Good lucky. I know the market is hyped it can rise as high as 40/-

40 ni ndoto za mchana.. Lakini 30 is reality

There we go! 40/- prints. I was very accurate when I predicted this reality. Those who heed my calls always walk all the way to the bank smiling. @ Obiero you lost this one now it is prudent you take back your 'clown' title you branded me. It's high time you pronounce yourself 21st century clown .Period!
It's amazing how the market reacts against egotistical individuals and proves them wrong.@ Obiero your ego is on fire .It's blazing!
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#59 Posted : Wednesday, May 24, 2017 6:02:07 PM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
muganda wrote:
But a proposed final dividend of 3/= per share is a lucrative pay-out of 11.5%

Nothing lucrative there.Just preparing you for rights issue.This is purely a bait.

Hakuna rights issue
Wewe meza mate watu wakila nyama

Good lucky. I know the market is hyped it can rise as high as 40/-

40 ni ndoto za mchana.. Lakini 30 is reality

There we go! 40/- prints. I was very accurate when I predicted this reality. Those who heed my calls always walk all the way to the bank smiling. @ Obiero you lost this one now it is prudent you take back your 'clown' title you branded me. It's high time you pronounce yourself 21st century clown .Period!
It's amazing how the market reacts against egotistical individuals and proves them wrong.@ Obiero your ego is on fire .It's blazing!

Shots fired....smile
Chaka
#60 Posted : Wednesday, May 24, 2017 6:38:53 PM

LOL...I like it when some jamaas get humbled..Leo atakamata humble pie for supper..

Spikes wrote: