wazua Sat, May 4, 2024

KCB FY 2016 earnings flat +1%
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 8:18:57 AM

These results show the clear culprit is loan loss provisions. Seems the boom years resulted in largesse (in ageing branches) which was covered up by exorbitant loans.

#2 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 8:26:21 AM

But a proposed final dividend of 3/= per share is a lucrative pay-out of 11.5%
bird_man
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 8:43:47 AM

muganda wrote:

Is this confirmed??
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Spikes
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 8:50:21 AM

muganda wrote:

Nothing lucrative there.Just preparing you for rights issue.This is purely a bait.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
watesh
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 8:53:18 AM

I thought KCB had thinning core capital....dividend rise was not expected
Ericsson
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 8:53:22 AM

bird_man wrote:
muganda wrote:

Is this confirmed??

Confirmed

"The KCB Group AGM will be held on 21st April 2017. The Proposed final dividend will be Sh3 per share"
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Yowel
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 8:56:22 AM

These results are interesting. On the balance sheet, customer deposits growth of only 6% against public notion that with the rate caps and tier three banks struggling, funds would have naturally gone to the big banks. Balances to other banks down 43% (who are funding the small banks since also their deposits have also stagnated?), growth in deposits in 2014/2015 was only 13%.

When you look at lending, higher by 11%, in 2014/2015 was 22% which is obvious from the capping law.

In terms of cash, there are questions not answered. @muganda, any chance we can see the cash flow statement.
Ericsson
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 9:01:44 AM

Spikes wrote:
muganda wrote:

Nothing lucrative there.Just preparing you for rights issue.This is purely a bait.

Hakuna rights issue
Wewe meza mate watu wakila nyama
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 9:20:57 AM

watesh wrote:
I thought KCB had thinning core capital....dividend rise was not expected

2017 is a killer year for banks, the only hope is lifting the rate cap
Spikes
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 9:24:34 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
muganda wrote:

Hakuna rights issue

Good lucky. I know the market is hyped it can rise as high as 40/-
muandiwambeu
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 10:42:25 AM

muganda wrote:

Questionable, very suspicious. Muganda some people here may not understand that what pay out ratio is. Please do mind to explain, elaborate compare and contrast with the sectors average. I suspect fattening for slaughtersmile smile
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
Ericsson
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 10:49:56 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
muganda wrote:

Questionable, very suspicious. Muganda some people here may not understand that what pay out ratio is. Please do mind to explain, elaborate compare and contrast with the sectors average. I suspect fattening for slaughtersmile smile

Payout ratio is 47% of after tax profit
ARAP CHARLES
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 11:03:44 AM

muganda wrote:

EXTREMELY! This is what will save an entire generation of wasuans..
Watch and Listen and Live
watesh
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 11:11:15 AM

My analysis on interest income KCB Bank (assuming its the Kenyan unit from the statements provided)
Q1 2016 - 14.39
Q2 2016 - 14.43
Q3 2016 - 14.86
Q4 2016 - 12.5

As compared to 2015
Q1 2015 - 10.63
Q2 2015 - 11.89
Q3 2015 - 11.99
Q4 2015 - 14.2

Interest rate cap had an impact....a couple of billions gone. Through increased volumes kind of compensated. From this i can say Q1 2017 will be stagnant or drop....
Ebenyo
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 11:30:08 AM

Spikes wrote:
muganda wrote:

Bring it on!
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 11:39:20 AM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
muganda wrote:

Hakuna rights issue

40 ni ndoto za mchana.. Lakini 30 is reality

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ebenyo
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 11:45:32 AM

bird_man wrote:
muganda wrote:

Is this confirmed??

yes its confirmed.

Towards the goal of financial freedom
Spikes
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 11:58:17 AM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
muganda wrote:

Hakuna rights issue

40 ni ndoto za mchana.. Lakini 30 is reality

Kwa hivyo sahii ni kubaya?
mulla
#19 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 12:02:46 PM

watesh wrote:
My analysis on interest income KCB Bank (assuming its the Kenyan unit from the statements provided)
Q1 2016 - 14.39
Q2 2016 - 14.43
Q3 2016 - 14.86
Q4 2016 - 12.5

As compared to 2015
Q1 2015 - 10.63
Q2 2015 - 11.89
Q3 2015 - 11.99
Q4 2015 - 14.2

Interest rate cap had an impact....a couple of billions gone. Through increased volumes kind of compensated. From this i can say Q1 2017 will be stagnant or drop....

Wah didn't think interest rate caps law would affect the banks so soon in Q4. Does KCB issue interim ama 3/= is first and final DVD?
Ericsson
#20 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 12:11:47 PM

The dividends are also been paid earlier this year (May 26) compared to previous period when they have been paying in July and late June