wazua Tue, Apr 23, 2024

KenolKobil FY 2016 net profit up 19%
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 07, 2017 6:05:45 PM

Kenolkobil reports FY group pre-tax profit 3.54 bln shillings.

March 7 (Reuters) - Kenolkobil Ltd
FY ended Dec 2016 profit before tax 3.54 billion shillings versus 2.78 billion shillings year ago

FY ended Dec 2016 group net sales of 103.50 billion shillings versus 86.55 billion shillings year ago
* Board recommends final dividend of 0.30cts
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 07, 2017 6:47:22 PM

mlennyma wrote:

FY ended Dec 2016 profit before tax 3.54 billion shillings versus 2.78 billion shillings year ago

FY ended Dec 2016 group net sales of 103.50 billion shillings versus 86.55 billion shillings year ago

Quality. Even with lower oil prices turnover is up 20% and volumes +30% even after selling Tanzania operations.
Solid dividend. The outlook for 2017 looks even better according to Ohana.
30 new sites in 2016 which will add to volumes and profits in 2017.
Profits and cashflow unlike some firms we know.
πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

KPRL write-off of 600mn and perhaps more in 2017 but if and when it is paid it can be written back into profits. Total has sued KPRL and it can take 5 years but we can wait.
Gatheuzi
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 07, 2017 6:53:45 PM

mlennyma wrote:

Quality. Even with lower oil prices turnover is up 20% and volumes +30% even after selling Tanzania operations.
πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

KPRL write-off of 600mn and perhaps more in 2017 but if and when it is paid it can be written back into profits. Total has sued KPRL and it can take 5 years but we can wait.

Does this mean we get 15 cents dividend as final dividend considering an interim of 15 cents was paid?
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Spikes
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 07, 2017 7:47:12 PM

Gatheuzi wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

Does this mean we get 15 cents dividend as final dividend considering an interim of 15 cents was paid?

It means total dividend per year 0.45 kes.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, β€œMy Father is always working, and so am I.”
Realtreaty
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 07, 2017 8:26:36 PM

#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 07, 2017 9:50:20 PM

Gatheuzi wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

Double your pleasure! 0.15 + 0.30 = 0.45
This is after taking the 600mn write-off. I believe that this will eventually come back to us eventually. Total has sued KPRL and the slow wheels
of Justice are grinding away. Perhaps we will see it in 2022. The money is owed to OMCs and KPRL has assets (land and tanks) that OMCs covet. As the number of vehicles on our roads increase, the need for fuel will increase as will the need for those tanks.
Gatheuzi
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 6:58:39 AM

Thanks @Spikes & @Vvs. So that means at current price of 14 the Dividend yield comes to 3.2%. That is not bad. For those who bought at 8 the yield is even better at 5.6%.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
heri
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 8:14:09 AM

Has the profit growth slowed down. i was expecting higher profits and higher EPS of closer to 2 bob
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 8:28:00 AM

heri wrote:
Has the profit growth slowed down. i was expecting higher profits and higher EPS of closer to 2 bob

Tosheka na hio kwa sasa

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ebenyo
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 8:31:44 AM

heri wrote:

Tosheka na hio kwa sasa

huyo jamaa ako na njaa sana.Ambia yeye anunue shares ya BAT.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 9:10:17 AM

heri wrote:

The 600mn KPRL write-off. Otherwise it would have been 2/- (3bn)
heri
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 9:43:25 AM

heri wrote:

Thanks. What is the total amount that needs to be written off?
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 9:53:56 AM

heri wrote:
heri wrote:

kitu 1.2b if I got it right ...Kk is among the few nse companies inspiring some hope however they need to work very hard this year to avoid a profit decline given the negative factors playing out this year
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 10:25:05 AM

heri wrote:
heri wrote:

It's interesting. They do not need to write it off BUT they will write it off to "clean up" the books. Could this be done to attract another buyer (eg Puma)?

Amount outstanding as @mlennyma said is 600mn more.

2H 2017 will have challenges but Jan and Feb were very good for volumes. Strong volumes, stable oil prices and stable KES all portend a better 2017.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 4:50:06 PM

Someone asked Ohana about challenges on getting paid for supplying airlines with fuel.
Ans: We only supply international airlines & they don't have a problem paying us.
πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Ericsson
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 5:01:11 PM

Someone asked Ohana about challenges on getting paid for supplying airlines with fuel.
Ans: We only supply international airlines & they don't have a problem paying us.
πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

They don't supply airlines like I speak in codes
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 5:43:16 PM

Ericsson wrote:
πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

They don't supply airlines like I speak in codes

40% market share of AvGas. Ohana leaves the rest for those who don't mind supplying late payers! Those KK does supply pay within 2 weeks. He didn't mention a single name. Ohana speaks in code.

Other customers for diesel & fuel oil include KenGen & Rabai who pay on time. Despite benefits to KK, why are we still burning diesel/fuel oil?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 6:13:11 PM

heri wrote:
heri wrote:

It's interesting. They do not need to write it off BUT they will write it off to "clean up" the books. Could this be done to attract another buyer (eg Puma)?

2H 2017 will have challenges but Jan and Feb were very good for volumes. Strong volumes, stable oil prices and stable KES all portend a better 2017.

These are tricks used by managers to secure their jobs. Segman could have turned around KK and returned it to +3B PBT in 3 yrs but posting 15% for 10 yrs wins accolades from shareholders while posting 1000% in 2 yrs then flatlining can lead to being fired.

Wenger knows it very well and tries his best not to win the premier league just so that he can retain his job.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 6:17:05 PM

heri wrote:
heri wrote:

These are tricks used by managers to secure their jobs. Segman could have turned around KK and returned it to +3B PBT in 3 yrs but posting 15% for 10 yrs wins accolades from shareholders while posting 1000% in 2 yrs then flatlining can lead to being fired.

Wenger knows it very well and tries his best not to win the premier league just so that he can retain his job.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 11:44:05 PM

heri wrote:
heri wrote:

The 600mn provisioned in 2016 & 500-600mn to be provisioned in 2017 aren't cash losses. As you said, when the courts ultimately rule in favor of OMCs, they could be written back to boost profits in a slow year. That said, folks aren't dumb enough not to see through it.