wazua Fri, May 3, 2024

Building village home ,Wazua nishikeni mkono please!!!
Omena
#21 Posted : Saturday, February 25, 2017 2:09:01 PM

Pat87 wrote:
Dahatre wrote:
Pat87 wrote:
I have always wanted to build my mum a village home.
I am finally ready thanks to bonuses and working hard.I don't have too large of a budget.
The land is in a town near Bondo,We have the land,yet to place a gate,we have ready blueprint for the house done by a pro.It will be a 3 bed roomed bungalow.
1.What is the acceptable % to pay a fundi?
2.Do i need a structural engineer?how much to consult?
3.Start time is May-should we start getting the materials on the ground?
4.Who has contacts of a reputable fundi near Bondo.
5.Any one knows of the closest quary near Akala area.
Any advise,criticisms is welcomed.

You can do this!
You got plenty of advice on logistics. Mine is a design one. Dunno how old your Mom is, but check plans again to make sure she can live in the house as she ages. some things I have learned with our parents:

1. Steps can become progressively harder to negotiate-leave space for ramps-also forget about sunken living rooms and stairs within the house-not safe

2. Make bathrooms safer..avoid bathtubs(showers better), asian style toilets and install instant hot water if possible, and later gadgets to make toiletting easier-higher toilet seat, bars to hang onto, chair to sit on when bathing etc..

3. You may need larger than standard doors and corridors for wheelchairs..

Anyway...Look up Universal design principles

Good luck..

Good points!I will take these in consideration,Mum is 55 years,sometimes we forget things that can be of great help,i will definitely take all these in consideration.

i have done a similar project long distance with fair success.

All payments have been via mpesa. Segregation of duties and information has been useful eg. Fundi gives the BOQ, i negotiate price with local hardware who delivers, my local worker receives and locks up the items. Nothing leaves the compound, and he has a tabulation of how he has given them out, and u counter check with fundis tabulation

To get a good contractor look around the area to see good workmanship and engage the guy. Subsequently he can recommend the best fundi for the other levels, always confirming with their actual prior work. You shd be able to smell a quack

The work as mentioned shd be task based and paid after a level is complete. Eg total amount say 100k - 40k at window level, 30k at lintel, gables etc
 It’s what you learn after you think you know it all that counts.
Pat87
#22 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 1:05:19 AM

i have done a similar project long distance with fair success.

All payments have been via mpesa. Segregation of duties and information has been useful eg. Fundi gives the BOQ, i negotiate price with local hardware who delivers, my local worker receives and locks up the items. Nothing leaves the compound, and he has a tabulation of how he has given them out, and u counter check with fundis tabulation

To get a good contractor look around the area to see good workmanship and engage the guy. Subsequently he can recommend the best fundi for the other levels, always confirming with their actual prior work. You shd be able to smell a quack

The work as mentioned shd be task based and paid after a level is complete. Eg total amount say 100k - 40k at window level, 30k at lintel, gables etc[/quote]

Thank you for the info- I am realizing people have different experiences so i will just take major points and just start and learn as i go- Hands on,i appreciate the pointers.
“An asset is something that puts money in my pocket. A liability is something that takes money out of my pocket.”
― Robert T. Kiyosaki, Rich Dad, Poor Dad
Pat87
#23 Posted : Tuesday, March 28, 2017 2:02:22 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
very good thing, you have decided to do, we should always look after our parents.
To be honest mimi sijui Bondo, but I think it should not be that different from other areas,
1. Fundi is more of a willing taker negotiation thing, pay the fundi per day or work based on the local rates
2. in my opinion for a bungalow, an engineer is an overkill.
3. get the materials once you get the main fundi, what I have found better is to accumulate cash and push the project as far as possible in one go.

My advice, get the main fundi first, let him take care of the rest, like sourcing material, getting watu wa mkono, any decent fundi should take care of all stages in a bungalow including roofing and basic finishes, don't stress with experts at each level.

there are other threads on building houses, lakini they are from some years back, weka updates once the project starts, someone else might benefit from that info.

Fundi should not source for materials

Fundi must never source for material

I would rather fundi akule kidogo and bring in material that you can hold him accountable for than trying to be mjanja then you go get materials that are bad, those guys who sell building material will give you a bad deal if they notice you don't know much.

the problem is, you deliver sand and the fundi tells you haina meno.

Hizo vitu zote unaweza jinunulia.. Just ask for specs from the fundi

just my opinion, if you can not trust the fundi with buying stuff why trust him putting a solid roof over your head, stress ya ku-travel from nairobi to bondo to buy material just because you don't want a fundi to pocket a few hundred bob

I FINALLY GOT A QUOTATION OF LABOR AND MATERIALS CHARGE.FEEL FREE TO CRITIC
LABOUR CHARGE WAS
30% +15K (EXCAVATIONS OF TRENCHES AND ROOMS)SO MEASUREMENT TO SLAB 75,000
SETTING WALL/PLATE 100,000 TOTAL LABOR 175K
BREAKDOWN

DESCRIPTION QTY UNIT RATE AMOUNT
BRICKS 8000 PC 8 64000
LIME WHITE WASH 1 BG 700 700
CEMENT 185 BG 750 138750
SAND(LAKE) 2 X25 TON 24000 48000
HARDCORE 3 X25 TON 20000 60000
BALLAST 1 BY 25 TON 58000 58000
MURRAM 1 BY 25 TON 20000 20000
WATER SUPPLY PLENTY 15000
POLYTHEN HEAVY GAUGE 2 RILL 4500 9000
WIRE NAILS 28 KG 150 4200
STEEL RODS
Y10 45 KG 750 33750
Y6 20 KG 250 5000
BINDING WIRE 20 KG 150 3000
WALL PASS 3 ROLL 4000 12000
PLAIN SHEET 6 M 700 4200
PLYWOOD 1 PC 700 700
INSECTICIDE 2 LT 1000 2000
ROUND POLES 35 PCS 200 7000
TIMBER (FORM WORK) 0
6X 1 300 FT 24 7200
3 X 2 100 FT 24 2400
SISAL ROPES 25 PCS 30 750

TOTAL
TRANSPORTATION

BRICKS 3 TRIPS 6000 18000
MATERIALS FROM HARDWARE ALL TRIPS 15K 15000
TOTAL 528650

THIS IS JUST TO SLAB LEVEL FOR A 3 BEDROOM.
“An asset is something that puts money in my pocket. A liability is something that takes money out of my pocket.”
sitaki.kujulikana
#24 Posted : Tuesday, April 04, 2017 3:36:06 PM

Pat87 wrote:

I FINALLY GOT A QUOTATION OF LABOR AND MATERIALS CHARGE.FEEL FREE TO CRITIC
LABOUR CHARGE WAS
30% +15K (EXCAVATIONS OF TRENCHES AND ROOMS)SO MEASUREMENT TO SLAB 75,000
SETTING WALL/PLATE 100,000 TOTAL LABOR 175K
BREAKDOWN

DESCRIPTION QTY UNIT RATE AMOUNT
BRICKS 8000 PC 8 64000
LIME WHITE WASH 1 BG 700 700
CEMENT 185 BG 750 138750
SAND(LAKE) 2 X25 TON 24000 48000
HARDCORE 3 X25 TON 20000 60000
BALLAST 1 BY 25 TON 58000 58000
MURRAM 1 BY 25 TON 20000 20000
WATER SUPPLY PLENTY 15000
POLYTHEN HEAVY GAUGE 2 RILL 4500 9000
WIRE NAILS 28 KG 150 4200
STEEL RODS
Y10 45 KG 750 33750
Y6 20 KG 250 5000
BINDING WIRE 20 KG 150 3000
WALL PASS 3 ROLL 4000 12000
PLAIN SHEET 6 M 700 4200
PLYWOOD 1 PC 700 700
INSECTICIDE 2 LT 1000 2000
ROUND POLES 35 PCS 200 7000
TIMBER (FORM WORK) 0
6X 1 300 FT 24 7200
3 X 2 100 FT 24 2400
SISAL ROPES 25 PCS 30 750

TOTAL
TRANSPORTATION

BRICKS 3 TRIPS 6000 18000
MATERIALS FROM HARDWARE ALL TRIPS 15K 15000
TOTAL 528650

THIS IS JUST TO SLAB LEVEL FOR A 3 BEDROOM.

Disclaimer, I am not an architect so any opinion is just a personal one. smile
first, looks like nyumba ya gorofa, and just from the final figure upto slab level I would think that figure (500k) is fair.
lakini haujaweka total area ya nyumba.

I noticed hardcore mingi sana hapo, are they excavating all the soil, or are they just doing trenches, if the latter I would think that hardcore ni mingi sana since hakuna backfilling mingi needed.

what is this setting wall plate ?

still I would prefer if you broke it down in stages, and get materials and charges for each level. like foundation level, the walling level and slab level.

but great that you are going ahead with it.
Pat87
#25 Posted : Friday, July 28, 2017 10:57:50 PM

So i finally did it,i am at the roofing stage,feeling overwhelmed. but relieved at the same time.
What is the best % for roofing labor cost?
The house is 189 m2 and i got a crazy quote again.
The roofing is Versatile roman long tile and the timber i want is cypress.
The outrageous figures are
The versatile royal longtile they wrote i need 85 pcs X 2850 = 242k
Timber Cypress 4" x 2" 2100ft xKsh 47 =98k
Timber 2" by 2" 2000 ft X 26= 52k
Ridges 25 pcs x 800 = 20k
Nails 4" 50kg x 180 = 9k
I just feel its excessive,who knows of a hardware in Kisumu that will give me figures that make sense.

#26 Posted : Friday, July 28, 2017 11:12:52 PM

Pat87 wrote:
So i finally did it,i am at the roofing stage,feeling overwhelmed. but relieved at the same time.
Nails 4" 50kg x 180 = 9k
I just feel its excessive,who knows of a hardware in Kisumu that will give me figures that make sense.

That timber cost is off the hinges. Search some more unless you are building in an area that lacks the resource

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 01, 2017 6:03:45 PM

Pat87 wrote:
Nails 4" 50kg x 180 = 9k

Consider buying your own tree and sawing appropriately, its no big deal and should be much cheaper.
winmak
#28 Posted : Tuesday, August 01, 2017 6:35:42 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Pat87 wrote:
Nails 4" 50kg x 180 = 9k

Consider buying your own tree and sawing appropriately, its no big deal and should be much cheaper.

That buying a tree thing can also get tricky, from overpriced trees to brokers who make sure even if you get a tree, the processing costs add up to the same ready timber cost. Unless you have your own trees in your shamba or family farm, it is very tricky
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB