wazua Mon, May 6, 2024

5 Pages«<2345>
Mall Owners Rush to Get Out of the Mall Business
MugundaMan
#61 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2018 12:48:37 PM

Enyewe I'm starting to believe there is an oversaturation of malls in Nairobi City. Imagine 3 or so malls within a few tens of metres away from each other. And the food courts are largely empty. And stores look very idle. Add crazy overheads for such prime spaces. And competition from ordinary stores outside such malls with a fraction of the overhead! This niche is definitely a dangerous one to get into unless your mall product and location is outstanding and unique.
jmbada
#62 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2018 1:10:55 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Enyewe I'm starting to believe there is an oversaturation of malls in Nairobi City. Imagine 3 or so malls within a few tens of metres away from each other. And the food courts are largely empty. And stores look very idle. Add crazy overheads for such prime spaces. And competition from ordinary stores outside such malls with a fraction of the overhead! This niche is definitely a dangerous one to get into unless your mall product and location is outstanding and unique.

The estimation of Kenyan "middle class" is overblown. It is not even that they don't exist....but they spend their disposable income VERY differently from their Weestern or other counterparts.
#63 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2018 1:27:14 PM

Imagine if that Riviera guy had built a hospital and tied up with some indian medical outfit.

He would have had a captive market in that area, and could have done both high cost and low cost cover.

MugundaMan
#64 Posted : Friday, November 16, 2018 2:42:01 PM

jmbada wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

The estimation of Kenyan "middle class" is overblown. It is not even that they don't exist....but they spend their disposable income VERY differently from their Weestern or other counterparts.

True that!
I like that reasoning. I seldom go to malls because they are overpriced and I can get everything cheaper elsewhere. Plus most charge for parking when parking should be free. Malls as a business model in the Kenyan R. E. Sector are risky!
MugundaMan
#65 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2018 11:14:29 AM

https://www.construction...hopping-malls-strategy/

Interesting article. This is so true:

Greenspan shopping mall in Nairobi.

A shopping mall in Nairobi. PHOTO/FILE

In the past few years, developers have spent billions of shillings to put up show-stopping malls in Kenyan cities to meet the rising demand from international retail brands expanding into the country.

This has left the capital Nairobi with 630,000 square metres of existing mall space with an additional 98,000 square metres expected to enter the market this year, according to Mauritius-based multinational Grit Real Estate Income Group, which holds substantial interests in the Kenyan real estate market.

Countrywide, investors have built 761,805 square metres of retail space with more than 250,000 square metres expected to enter the market in the next 18 to 24 months.

Nairobi accounts for about 73 per cent of the total number of shopping malls in the country, with Two Rivers Mall (67,000 sqm), Garden City (35,000 sqm) and The Hub (35,000 sqm) being the largest shopping malls in the city.

While this can be described as a booming market, the shopping mall business itself is struggling to make money.

Although the mall culture is increasingly gaining popularity among residents, many retailers are complaining that the footfalls (the number of ‘shoppers’) are not getting converted into business.

Residents of Nairobi and other major cities and towns where stunning malls have been erected throng the facilities on weekends – spending cash on bites at food courts – but are very reluctant to shop at the malls especially at expensive outlets.

Imagine Mugundaman traipsing through Two Rivers on a Saturday morning.

He will already start complaining bitterly about having to pay for parking even before he steps in.

Then there he goes..huyooooo...past all the sijui LC Waikikis and all sorts of "high end" hopeless jewelers that charge 500k for a diamond ring - marching solidly to Carrefour. Hata ndani ya carrefour - the cheapest of all the outlets in the whole mall - he will be very price conscious. He will pick up a 1kg frozen kuku with skepticism. Ati 8 hundred bob? Sahau. These things go for 450 bob at Naivas. 300 bob or less from my neighbour Kamau a.k.a "Gitono" (desert locust) who breeds the real thing in his back yard. And his is tastier!

After walking around getting good exercise reading the "high priced" labels of the food, he will only happily emerge from the store with two packets of KCC milk for tea and perhaps a bunch of spinach. He carried his own bag to avoid getting ripped off of 10 bob for a new one of course. If there is a java nearby he might head there for the free wifi. Out of guilt he may order something. Always from the bottom left "tiny print" corner of the menu. "Bring me two sausages, one egg - all on the same plate - and house coffee white" Total bill 590 bob. And will still complain that he could have made this meal at home for a fraction of the price.

Meanwhile he is busy investing all over the place tu. How can such a person be a customer of a high end shop in a mall? Haiwesekani hata kamwe. This is good for the economy though. The more of such people we have the faster the country will develop because they are not wasting money on consumerism that adds zero to national savings nor the personal bottom line. The Chinese are also the same. By the time you see a Muchina blowing thousands in a casino you know tens if not hundreds of millions are busy relaxing in his accounts. Wahindi are worse. Trying to get a muhindi to part with a shilling is like trying to get blood out of a stone. Ask Russell Peters. . That's why their economies are growing at crazy %'s.
kayhara
#66 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2018 5:20:34 PM

Last Sunday I felt the pain of being ripped off, I walked into a mall around 8pm to buy superglue, the mtaa hardware was closed, I took two my calculations are that's 60 Bob thate thate each, shock on me when I got the change and each was 160 Bob, I cursed my impatience, madam came fuming also looking at the 10 carrots she bought at 190, saying that's a whole kasuku at the market with most somehow well to do Kenyans thinking like us then malls are in trouble, supermarkets are the ones keeping some malls going
To Each His Own
MugundaMan
#67 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2018 6:28:19 PM

kayhara wrote:

Last Sunday I felt the pain of being ripped off, I walked into a mall around 8pm to buy superglue, the mtaa hardware was closed, I took two my calculations are that's 60 Bob thate thate each, shock on me when I got the change and each was 160 Bob, I cursed my impatience, madam came fuming also looking at the 10 carrots she bought at 190, saying that's a whole kasuku at the market with most somehow well to do Kenyans thinking like us then malls are in trouble, supermarkets are the ones keeping some malls going

@Kayhara, you and many others like us are the reason why Kenya's middle class beats it's US and British counterparts in wealth by a country mile. In fact hiyo 30% mentioned in the article I believe is an understatement IMHO.
mulla
#68 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 1:12:20 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
https://www.constructionkenya.com/6166/kenya-shopping-malls-strategy/

In the past few years, developers have spent billions of shillings to put up show-stopping malls in Kenyan cities to meet the rising demand from international retail brands expanding into the country.

This has left the capital Nairobi with 630,000 square metres of existing mall space with an additional 98,000 square metres expected to enter the market this year, according to Mauritius-based multinational Grit Real Estate Income Group, which holds substantial interests in the Kenyan real estate market.

Countrywide, investors have built 761,805 square metres of retail space with more than 250,000 square metres expected to enter the market in the next 18 to 24 months.

Nairobi accounts for about 73 per cent of the total number of shopping malls in the country, with Two Rivers Mall (67,000 sqm), Garden City (35,000 sqm) and The Hub (35,000 sqm) being the largest shopping malls in the city.

While this can be described as a booming market, the shopping mall business itself is struggling to make money.

Although the mall culture is increasingly gaining popularity among residents, many retailers are complaining that the footfalls (the number of ‘shoppers’) are not getting converted into business.

Residents of Nairobi and other major cities and towns where stunning malls have been erected throng the facilities on weekends – spending cash on bites at food courts – but are very reluctant to shop at the malls especially at expensive outlets.

He will already start complaining bitterly about having to pay for parking even before he steps in.

Then there he goes..huyooooo...past all the sijui LC Waikikis and all sorts of "high end" hopeless jewelers that charge 500k for a diamond ring - marching solidly to Carrefour. Hata ndani ya carrefour - the cheapest of all the outlets in the whole mall - he will be very price conscious. He will pick up a 1kg frozen kuku with skepticism. Ati 8 hundred bob? Sahau. These things go for 450 bob at Naivas. 300 bob or less from my neighbour Kamau a.k.a "Gitono" (desert locust) who breeds the real thing in his back yard. And his is tastier!

After walking around getting good exercise reading the "high priced" labels of the food, he will only happily emerge from the store with two packets of KCC milk for tea and perhaps a bunch of spinach. He carried his own bag to avoid getting ripped off of 10 bob for a new one of course. If there is a java nearby he might head there for the free wifi. Out of guilt he may order something. Always from the bottom left "tiny print" corner of the menu. "Bring me two sausages, one egg - all on the same plate - and house coffee white" Total bill 590 bob. And will still complain that he could have made this meal at home for a fraction of the price.

Meanwhile he is busy investing all over the place tu. How can such a person be a customer of a high end shop in a mall? Haiwesekani hata kamwe. This is good for the economy though. The more of such people we have the faster the country will develop because they are not wasting money on consumerism that adds zero to national savings nor the personal bottom line. The Chinese are also the same. By the time you see a Muchina blowing thousands in a casino you know tens if not hundreds of millions are busy relaxing in his accounts. Wahindi are worse. Trying to get a muhindi to part with a shilling is like trying to get blood out of a stone. Ask Russell Peters. . That's why their economies are growing at crazy %'s.

Sitaki matusi, but the British economy, amongst other Western nations, is highly reliant on the retail sector, especially fashion to keep the economy ticking.
#69 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 1:25:57 PM

mulla wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Sitaki matusi, but the British economy, amongst other Western nations, is highly reliant on the retail sector, especially fashion to keep the economy ticking.

I like the disclaimer, but why are you guys scared of this mugundaman clueless dustbowl fellow yawa? Just yaps, wont do anything to you my fren, he found us here and he will leave us here.
MugundaMan
#70 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 2:06:52 PM

mulla wrote:

Laughing out loudly Sina matusi, if a person is civil with me I am VERY civil with them. Yes, of course retail sector/services are very important : even in Kenya. US retail sector - strongest in the world - has always boomed thanks to the financial illiteracy (spend, spend, spend) of their middle class. This is why American middle class wealth has eroded steadily into the hands of the corporates there since the 1960s! The average American is living lavish on loans and credit cards. The average middle class Kenyan owes nobody and spends wisely as they accumulate assets debt free over time.
Muthawamunene
#71 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 2:28:11 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
mulla wrote:

Laughing out loudly Sina matusi, if a person is civil with me I am VERY civil with them. Yes, of course retail sector/services are very important : even in Kenya. US retail sector - strongest in the world - has always boomed thanks to the financial illiteracy (spend, spend, spend) of their middle class. This is why American middle class wealth has eroded steadily into the hands of the corporates there since the 1960s! The average American is living lavish on loans and credit cards. The average middle class Kenyan owes nobody and spends wisely as they accumulate assets debt free over time.

With the advent of mobile lending apps (Tala, Branch, KCB-Mpesa, Mshwari, Timiza, Loop ....), Kenyans are also catching the easy credit bug.

I am in no way against credit, but some of the ways these services are advertised is misleading to the simple mind of the ordinary Kenyan.

An article I read recently made me realize that these are just what are called "Pay-Day-Loans" in the U.S.

Anywho, as long as you are on the right side of the economy, the supply side, then yaaay!!! to deepening of Kenya's credit and financial landscape.

One of the quotes that I chant on a daily basis is by John Wayne - "Life is hard, It's even harder when you're stupid."

Tafakari.
Fyatu
#72 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 3:14:34 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

The thrifty Mugundaman knows very well that it is the defense rather than the offense that counts when it comes to wealth creation. I was once a mall junky/fool but nowadays i prefer to purchase my groceries hapo mtaani where i can kula story with Mogaka the shopkeeper when he weighs my quarter Kilogram of sugar, chat with mama Njeri when she katakatas my coktail of sukuma wiki and spinach and also analyse sportpesa bets with Mutinda the butcher when he katakatas my matumbo ya mbuzi etc. Atleast in mtaani i personalize my shopping
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
MugundaMan
#73 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 3:37:56 PM

Muthawamunene wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
mulla wrote:

With the advent of mobile lending apps (Tala, Branch, KCB-Mpesa, Mshwari, Timiza, Loop ....), Kenyans are also catching the easy credit bug.

I am in no way against credit, but some of the ways these services are advertised is misleading to the simple mind of the ordinary Kenyan.

An article I read recently made me realize that these are just what are called "Pay-Day-Loans" in the U.S.

Anywho, as long as you are on the right side of the economy, the supply side, then yaaay!!! to deepening of Kenya's credit and financial landscape.

One of the quotes that I chant on a daily basis is by John Wayne - "Life is hard, It's even harder when you're stupid."

Tafakari.

Indeed. Betting culture is also scary. Unfortunately it is the poor and the lower middle classes who are caught in the payday loans and betting trap IMHO. Speaking of payday loans the biggest culprit by far is none other than Safaricom! At a 7% PER MONTH "processing fee" for loans you can calculate how much that is per annum. Isitoshe people borrow today, pay tomorrow, then borrow again a few days later so we are talking 1000's of % in interest per annum which would make payday lenders in the US very impressed.
MugundaMan
#74 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 3:55:23 PM

Fyatu wrote:

The thrifty Mugundaman knows very well that it is the defense rather than the offense that counts when it comes to wealth creation. I was once a mall junky/fool but nowadays i prefer to purchase my groceries hapo mtaani where i can kula story with Mogaka the shopkeeper when he weighs my quarter Kilogram of sugar, chat with mama Njeri when she katakatas my coktail of sukuma wiki and spinach and also analyse sportpesa bets with Mutinda the butcher when he katakatas my matumbo ya mbuzi etc. Atleast in mtaani i personalize my shopping

Precisely and that's why the malls are struggling. They are trying desperately to turn the Kenyan middle class into loose pockets like their American counterparts but so far they are not getting much traction. That's why shops like Chandarana started targeting mithungus. They know the average Mwafrika just comes for the bargains and their own Asian kin will be caught dead buying anything that costs even a shilling more than absolute lowest price.
#75 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 4:18:56 PM

In malls, supermarkets, bata shops, safaricom etc are always busy since they sell items at normal rates. But some stores are too expensive especially those selling clothes except maybe LC waikiki that has normal prices.

I think malls should appeal to the regular customer, not targeting just the high end customer. They should also sell normal foods like ugali, fish, beef stew, rice etc where one can enjoy family lunch or dinner. Not everyone likes overpriced junk food like pizzas, broiler chicken and chips, burgers etc....or the overpriced "steak" that goes for 1800 bob a plate.
Ericsson
#76 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 4:23:01 PM

In malls, supermarkets, bata shops, safaricom etc are always busy since they sell items at normal rates. But some stores are too expensive especially those selling clothes except maybe LC waikiki that has normal prices.

I think malls should appeal to the regular customer, not targeting just the high end customer. They should also sell normal foods like ugali, fish, beef stew, rice etc where one can enjoy family lunch or dinner. Not everyone likes overpriced junk food like pizzas, broiler chicken and chips, burgers etc....or the overpriced "steak" that goes for 1800 bob a plate.

The problem is the rent they pay.They are then forced to price their products at higher prices to make ends meet.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#77 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 5:55:20 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The problem is the rent they pay.They are then forced to price their products at higher prices to make ends meet.

I know! Like why would I ever consider eating nyama choma at Two Rivers, while we have Jiweke Tavern

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#78 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2018 10:19:20 AM

Yet another mall ...

https://www.businessdail...1182-cjn9yaz/index.html

South African retailer Shoprite is set to take up space at a new mall under construction off Nairobi’s Uhuru Highway.

The firm in a statement Tuesday said leases have been signed with Nanyuki Cedar Mall developer Kiloran Development Group, which will see it take up 4,000 square metres as an anchor tenant at the shopping complex.

The new mixed use property, dubbed The Beacon, will be 28,500 square metres (306,771 square feet).

It is located to the east of Uhuru Highway towards Bunyala Road roundabout.

“Shoprite has signed up with Kiloran for a flagship store of almost 4,000 square meters in the iconic development ‘The Beacon’ located in the centre of Nairobi," said the firm.
#79 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2018 10:22:14 AM

Yet another mall ...

https://www.businessdail...1182-cjn9yaz/index.html

South African retailer Shoprite is set to take up space at a new mall under construction off Nairobi’s Uhuru Highway.

The firm in a statement Tuesday said leases have been signed with Nanyuki Cedar Mall developer Kiloran Development Group, which will see it take up 4,000 square metres as an anchor tenant at the shopping complex.

The new mixed use property, dubbed The Beacon, will be 28,500 square metres (306,771 square feet).

It is located to the east of Uhuru Highway towards Bunyala Road roundabout.

“Shoprite has signed up with Kiloran for a flagship store of almost 4,000 square meters in the iconic development ‘The Beacon’ located in the centre of Nairobi," said the firm.

That area will do well just like Nakumatt Mega did......
#80 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2018 11:28:55 AM

No wonder malls are empty....

74pc of salaried Kenyans earn less than Sh50,000

https://www.businessdail...64896-yimri5/index.html

Teachers top list of workers earning over Sh100,000

https://www.businessdail...64550-tk9ouc/index.html