wazua Fri, May 17, 2024

32 Pages«<2627282930>»
#lipakamatender
Anti_Burglar
#541 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 1:40:48 PM

The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics - Labor Unions

Although labor unions have been celebrated in folk songs and stories as fearless champions of the downtrodden working man, this is not how economists see them. Economists who study unions—including some who are avowedly prounion—analyze them as cartels that raise wages above competitive levels by restricting the supply of labor to various firms and industries.

Many unions have won higher wages and better working conditions for their members. In doing so, however, they have reduced the number of jobs available in unionized companies. That second effect occurs because of the basic law of demand: if unions successfully raise the price of labor, employers will purchase less of it. Thus, unions are a major anticompetitive force in labor markets. Their gains come at the expense of consumers, nonunion workers, the jobless, taxpayers, and owners of corporations.

Conventional wisdom about labor exploitation can be summed up in two propositions:
• Workers and employers are natural opponents; employers have a powerful advantage and they pay employees less than they are worth.
• Public policy must tilt toward unions to help employees who are otherwise at the mercy of employers in wage bargaining.
The public has considerable sympathy for the “underpayment” thesis and even for unions as a corrective force.

That is the short term game KMPDU has been playing at and with the long term expense of peoples lives.
tom_boy
#542 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 2:26:38 PM

I can see the money eating, chest thumping, impunity govt of Jubilee has many followers on this forum. The design to have health sector controlled by the powerful in this country is already at an advanced stage. We have NHIF, a govt body, behaving like a private insurance company, reimbursing private health institutions to do work that should be going on in public hospitals.

Govt claims to have put dialysis equipment all over the country, yet NHIF pays private hospitals to do dialysis.
Govt claims to have put MRI and CT scans all over in public hospitals, yet, nhif pays for these at private institutions.

NHIF is the next NYS. Mark my words. Corruption at the expense of Kenyan lives

Anyone supporting the inept govt in this doctors strike issue must be crazy. A non functional public health system will lead to substandard private health system. The two are inseperable. These loud mouths trying to politicize genuine issues inhealthcare are just blind.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Nandwa
#543 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 2:41:53 PM

Liv wrote:
Apparently the objective of the KPMDU leaders was not just a good pay for the doctors. Their motive was to show how the government doesn't care about its people in a year of elections....bringing a 2013 CBA in 2017 and insisting it has to be implemented in full from 1st July 2013.

It was a political agenda and that is why it is being dealt with politically now.... "They work for 2 hours at the government hospitals and spend the rest of the day in their private clinics" ....giving them more money won't improve the services they provide...

Those shedding crocodile tears here ....that ... oh the government has withdrawn the offer ..... Do you think you care more about ordinary Kenyans than the rest of us? You think the doctors care about ordinary Kenyans going to those public hospitals? We are a selfish, self centered, 'me first' capitalistic society.

That political angle is what we have been avoiding to say all along.I wish to add its fully backed in spirit by our very able opposition.Our saving grace is they lack the physical muscle to sustain it.

Calling it #Lipakamatender# gave away the political intention.

muganda wrote:
[quote=Unedited letter by KMPDU SG Ouma Oluga - truncated]

We did eventually talked and concluded the CBA. Yesterday, having consulted NAC, we decided that the financial offer be put in the CBA which then should be signed and registered.

And as fate would prove, the goalposts have shifted once again. The same CBA we revised for months should now wait another 30 days for signing and registration thereafter. The fact is no one wants you to have a CBA. Because a CBA is to a union what the constitution is to a country.

When we are at the very near end, a hurdle is being introduced. Doctors we have done our bit and our bit has been the best.
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
penkon
#544 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 2:46:51 PM

tom_boy wrote:
I can see the money eating, chest thumping, impunity govt of Jubilee has many followers on this forum. The design to have health sector controlled by the powerful in this country is already at an advanced stage. We have NHIF, a govt body, behaving like a private insurance company, reimbursing private health institutions to do work that should be going on in public hospitals.

Govt claims to have put dialysis equipment all over the country, yet NHIF pays private hospitals to do dialysis.
Govt claims to have put MRI and CT scans all over in public hospitals, yet, nhif pays for these at private institutions.

Anyone supporting the inept govt in this doctors strike issue must be crazy. A non functional public health system will lead to substandard private health system. The two are inseperable. These loud mouths trying to politicize genuine issues inhealthcare are just blind.

it has but no trained personnel to operate them
#545 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 2:50:26 PM

Matters about to esCALATE

tom_boy
#546 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 2:59:16 PM

It is ok for the guys at the top to foam at the mouth and deny the doctors a CBA. This is because the major losers will be private hospitals. There is not enough middle class in this country to create billions for the likes of nrb hosp and aga khan. The top guys know this. So best solution is kill public sector, then have nhif pay private hospitals.

If in doubt, investigate the relationship between CBA ( the bank) and Nairobi hospital.

Kenyans, we are stupid beyond measure. The govt is pitting us against doctors who are insisting on a better running, better funded health sector. Every doctor wants to work in an environment where they can actually do something for the patient.

Govt saying that improvement cannot be done overnight is hogwash. Equipment is already in hospitals. Sign CBA , and commit to doctors training and hiring of more doctors. Improve conditions of work, have proper call rooms, pay commensurate with hours put in. Use nhif money to pay for services made available in govt. In 1 yr, nrb hosp, aga khan will have to scale down their lofty expansion plans. These guys are expanding on the blood of Kenyans. FACT
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
tom_boy
#547 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 3:00:17 PM

It is ok for the guys at the top to foam at the mouth and deny the doctors a CBA. This is because the major losers will be private hospitals. There is not enough middle class in this country to create billions for the likes of nrb hosp and aga khan. The top guys know this. So best solution is kill public sector, then have nhif pay private hospitals.

If in doubt, investigate the relationship between CBA ( the bank) and Nairobi hospital.

Kenyans, we are stupid beyond measure. The govt is pitting us against doctors who are insisting on a better running, better funded health sector. Every doctor wants to work in an environment where they can actually do something for the patient.

Govt saying that improvement cannot be done overnight is hogwash. Equipment is already in hospitals. Sign CBA , and commit to doctors training and hiring of more doctors. Improve conditions of work, have proper call rooms, pay commensurate with hours put in. Use nhif money to pay for services made available in govt. In 1 yr, nrb hosp, aga khan will have to scale down their lofty expansion plans. These guys are expanding on the blood of Kenyans. FACT
#548 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 3:24:48 PM

tom_boy wrote:

interestingd'oh!
tom_boy
#549 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 3:35:01 PM

penkon wrote:
tom_boy wrote:

My point exactly. The CBA explicitly ties the govt to hire and train sufficient doctors to operate those equipments. The govt does not want this since you cannot eat peoples salaries and training funds.
#550 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 3:37:42 PM

chikonde wrote:
A good parent never withdraws an offer made to his children. If he does it means that the offer was made in bad faith, IMHO.

May God help the people of Kenya!

Not an insolent ruthless child who kills people. This must have been what even the religious people realized about the stupidity of the demands of this "child" just like all others involved must have left them shocked!

Think the current stand by gava has the support of the religious leaders, wakwende huko!

Now the fighting Naswa guy's have opened up their stinking breath about their role in needlessly aggravating and killing poor people again like 2007 to score political points, we shall see if God sides with such!
A New Kenya
#551 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 3:46:18 PM

tom_boy wrote:

Please tell us about the highlighted.And be very factual not those rumours manufactered in some backstreet pubs that are usually so real and graphic.

Nairobi Hospital had close to 100M at Chase Bank.Do you want us to investigate that too
Anti_Burglar
#552 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 4:06:20 PM

tom_boy wrote:
penkon wrote:
tom_boy wrote:

My point exactly. The CBA explicitly ties the govt to hire and train sufficient doctors to operate those equipments. The govt does not want this since you cannot eat peoples salaries and training funds.

Doctors specifically operate the dialysis, mri equipment and machines etc? What do the technologists do then? Why are you misinforming Kenyans?
#553 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 4:29:22 PM

tom_boy wrote:

@tom_boy, can feel your anger. Up until now, I never thought it was this simple to fool people than to convince them they have been fooled.

Today, you can't tell the difference between a university professor and a shamba boy if both of them come from the uthamaki kingdom.

I suggest we let them be. Let the public health system collapse. It was the game plan all along. Once the poor masses suffer for about 5 years, maybe they will start thinking and make right choices.
#554 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 5:18:06 PM

muganda wrote:
Unedited letter by KMPDU SG Ouma Oluga wrote:

Good morning Colleagues,

I hope you are well.

I'm aware you are all angry, frustrated and disappointed. You should be. The tens of millions of Kenyans who depend on Public Health facilities are too. I'm too.

Ironically, even those who can and should take action and make a difference for our country are equally angry, frustrated and disappointed.

The point is that we all are feeling the same and that means it is not what will break the impasse.

For 95 days, the Kenyan Doctors have been on a struggle to restore their dignity and determine their destiny.

That struggle has been long and painful.For 95 days, the public hospitals have been minimally or not functional at all.

That was not our wish or objective from the start and the public have grown weary and stretched by the unending stalemate that has been the issue of CBA registration and implementation.

While for the Kenyan doctors it was and has remained purely an industrial dispute between an employer and a group of employees, the strike meant other things and has thus been deliberately mishandled as a punishment for the doctors.

For KMPDU, the strike was never a contest of any sorts. This was simply a struggle to influence public policy relating to how WE the Kenyan doctors engage our employer, the Government, and how our Healthcare can be made to respond to each of our needs as citizens first and then as Doctors second.

We believed that Doctors United can change healthcare for everybody and bring back the nobility of a profession that is on the brink of collapse. It was about patriotism for our country.

For 95 days, the society has revealed itself to doctors in ways we all never imagined. And if there is one unforgettable outcome of the strike is that we now know what each and everybody in society thinks about doctors.

And we also know how such opinion have affected our profession. And the subtle corporate influence in matters public policy in Healthcare. It is in deed the reason we were in the struggle in the first place.

There has been little doubt that our profession is at threat at the expense of political expediency. And Beyond our immediate need to have our CBA or the union protected, there is urgent need to protect the medical profession.

For 95 days we have been injured in our hearts. By insults and ridicules. We shall heal. We forgive. We have been sacked ad infinitum and we have been character assassinated.

We have been emotionally abused by use of our moral and ethical obligation to the Hippocratic Oath. We have remained strong and United. We have demonstrated resolve beyond understanding to many.

From the start, there was already a plan to make the doctor tire. To push the doctor to his unbearable limits and finally deal a death blow to the union and the medical profession.

We approached negotiations with utmost good faith and obedience. Responding to every call of meeting and staying late sometimes up to 3am even after you advised us to keep it only up to 5pm.

Because we believed we could quickly come to an agreement and restore industrial harmony. But there were other plans that we should either have a very bad deal or have nothing at all.

And there in lies what has kept the strike for 95 days. When we kept talking about the CBA, the Government kept talking about offers and portraying the strike as simply a greedy quest for more money.

We did eventually talked and concluded the CBA. Yesterday, having consulted NAC, we decided that the financial offer be put in the CBA which then should be signed and registered.

And as fate would prove, the goalposts have shifted once again. The same CBA we revised for months should now wait another 30 days for signing and registration thereafter. The fact is no one wants you to have a CBA. Because a CBA is to a union what the constitution is to a country.

When we are at the very near end, a hurdle is being introduced. Doctors we have done our bit and our bit has been the best.

Congratulations. Let us be angry and frustrated and disappointed. Let us even cry but let us do it for our country and for the millions of citizens who pass through our hands daily in such of health. Let us do it healthcare. Let us not weep for long because as sure as the sun shall arise, we can only move forward.

No one should never convince you that fighting for what is right is not worth it. No one deserves your anger beyond the need to protect your profession. Be sure, we shall overcome.

But the success of the union depends on the very resolve and the unity we exhibit. Let us guard it. While all doctors have been ready to resume duty, doing so under threats, intimidation and show of disrespect is tantamount to career suicide. Avoid until when we advice so.

Finally, it is important to note that while the payroll and the hospital belongs to the government, your skill is selfishly yours. Use it to serve humanity in the best way possible.

But let not you think that it must be forced on you to use it. Your skill as a doctor is what you provide as Labour. How much is it worth? Some dignity perhaps. Some respect certainly!

We await to conclude the signing of Recognition Agreements, CBA and then after RTWF as was guided by the Court of Appeal under the Mediation of Religious Leaders. We hope this shall be done soon.

Thank you. God bless you. Keep Calm.

Hii ni kama ile ya Cordoo....copy and pasted idea. I hope the wazuans sympathizers will make very good donations
#555 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 7:12:17 PM

Kenyatta National Hospital has sacked 12 doctors for taking part in the strike that entered its 94th day today.

CEO Lily Koros said they had been advised against participating since the strike was illegal, and assured that they would be protected under the law.

the Star
#556 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 7:18:46 PM

KMA has pleaded that Doctors be given one last chance to continue with talks in good faith.

Following..........

Link Nationmedia breaking news
thuks
#557 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 10:01:53 PM

This will have a great (negative) impact on healthcare in Kenya. The government was successful in demonizing doctors. Many of those talking agree that doctors are rotten, money hungry lazy bones.
Who will want to seek help from such?
Health seeking behaviour was bad, how will it pan out after this?
I see seminars to retrain the workers on how to encourage people to go to hospitals, tenders?
I care!
#558 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 2:19:15 AM

There are unemployed Cuban and Tanzanian Doctors ready to come and be employed in Kenyan Public Hospitals!!!

Hii ni ukweli ama ni propaganda ya Munya?

#559 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 4:13:40 AM

There are unemployed Cuban and Tanzanian Doctors ready to come and be employed in Kenyan Public Hospitals!!!

Hii ni ukweli ama ni propaganda ya Munya?

Hao wa Tanzania waki kuja, they will be so good and kind trust me there will be no deaths or unethical practices.
Tokyo
#560 Posted : Thursday, March 09, 2017 6:23:38 AM

County governments should be authorised to recruit qualified doctors elsewhere. The reknown Cuban doctors are earning less than their counterparts in kenya
work to prosper