wazua Wed, Dec 31, 2025

Another Stupid Law Coming Soon to a Theatre Near You
#1 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 10:33:21 AM

I have to ask and kindly this time.

What is wrong with people who are proposing bills in this country? What is really going on?

Here comes this fellow Mutua who thought a diplomatic license was his birthright with the

FILMS, STAGE PLAYS AND PUBLICATIONS ACT another

http://kfcb.co.ke/wp-con...-KFCB-21-7-Draft-10.pdf

I don't know what these fellows have against the internet. Sijui shida yao ni nini.

Now this Mutua fellow wants to control the content on the internet too. You must seek permission from him to post something online...otherwise.

I just read the first part and threw the rest to the dustbin

(k) prevent -
(i) the creation, exhibition and distribution of films and stage performances,
(ii) the exhibition of broadcast or online content, outdoor advertising and games, that are not reflective of national values and aspirations of the people of Kenya

I know the theatre people are pissed, but can someone explain to me what the hell the film board is doing trying to imagine it can regulate my online content?

Ati reflective of the values of people of Kenya? Like which value, corruption?

What's going on here? After the ICT bill, now the KFC bill cause its like fried chicken.

Hata hii Mutua, itaenda kama ile ingine.

It reminds me of the same bills that Kenyatta used to arrest lecturers who had great plays.

Baratang
#2 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 10:46:18 AM

I have to ask and kindly this time.

What is wrong with people who are proposing bills in this country? What is really going on?

Here comes this fellow Mutua who thought a diplomatic license was his birthright with the

FILMS, STAGE PLAYS AND PUBLICATIONS ACT another...

Wewe @alma, ukishtuliwa na mbuzi unashtuka!!
grolut
#3 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 10:48:02 AM

This is nonsense, do they know how the internet works?

39(1) Internet Service Providers musta)
ensure that
(i)Exhibitors and distributors who use their platforms are registered in
accordance with the provisions of this act
(ii) the content to be exhibited or distributed through their platforms
is classified in accordance with the provisions of this act
(iii)all programs being streamed through their platforms comply with
the classification guidelines of the Board.
b) take reasonable steps to prevent the use of their services for hosting
or distributing pornography, radicalization materials, glamorization of
use of drugs and alcohol, hate speech and demining any religion and
community
c) report all persons maintaining or hosting or distributing all content
reasonably suspected to be in violation of this Act
Pray
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#4 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 11:09:27 AM

hehe grolut I had not even come to those sections of the proposal

At an ISP ie Safaricom, Zuku, Jamii must make sure that what I'm watching right now on this browser has passed through Mutua's office. He has read it then and only then should they accept it to be distributed on their platform.

So Mutua wants to read all the websites in the world and then give them a KFC rating...hahahahaha...kweli

I thought I had heard all stupid things in the world, but this one is just super!

ISP's bwana Mutua do not host porn....Eishh!

I mean we either have stupid people writing these laws or just plainly uneducated.

#5 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 11:18:22 AM

grolut wrote:
This is nonsense, do they know how the internet works?

39(1) Internet Service Providers musta)
ensure that
(i)Exhibitors and distributors who use their platforms are registered in
accordance with the provisions of this act
(ii) the content to be exhibited or distributed through their platforms
is classified in accordance with the provisions of this act
(iii)all programs being streamed through their platforms comply with
the classification guidelines of the Board.
b) take reasonable steps to prevent the use of their services for hosting
or distributing pornography, radicalization materials, glamorization of
use of drugs and alcohol, hate speech and demining any religion and
community
c) report all persons maintaining or hosting or distributing all content
reasonably suspected to be in violation of this Act
Pray

Idiot is moving the web hosting business offshore.

Would it kill him to spend a few minutes with his son/daughter so they can walk him through the ABC's of the internet aged'oh! d'oh!
#6 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 1:45:17 PM

"national values and aspirations of the people of Kenya" AS DEFINED AND DICTATED BY THE WHIMS OF MUTUA!!
#7 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 1:53:34 PM

"national values and aspirations of the people of Kenya" AS DEFINED AND DICTATED BY THE WHIMS OF MUTUA!!

They are loosely defined in the Constitution chapter 10 (2) smile smile smile
grolut
#8 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:22:51 PM

Seems they pick and choose what they want from that list.

(2) The national values and principles of governance include --

(a) patriotism, national unity, sharing and devolution of power, the rule of law, democracy and participation of the people;
(b) human dignity, equity, social justice, inclusiveness, equality, human rights, non-discrimination and protection of the marginalised;
(c) good governance, integrity, transparency and accountability; and
(d) sustainable development.

In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#9 Posted : Monday, October 10, 2016 2:30:03 PM

grolut wrote:

Seems they pick and choose what they want from that list.

(2) The national values and principles of governance include --

(a) patriotism, national unity, sharing and devolution of power, the rule of law, democracy and participation of the people;
(b) human dignity, equity, social justice, inclusiveness, equality, human rights, non-discrimination and protection of the marginalised;
(c) good governance, integrity, transparency and accountability; and
(d) sustainable development.

those are not the ones he uses to decide on whether to ban porn, content from akina hamburgler and plugs to plugs groups amongst others.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2016 2:36:03 PM

Mutua gives up on the law and trashes it. Promises next time to consult.

Glad these days its easier to get rid of stupid laws before they harm everyone. Glad I did not waste my morning.

Anti_Burglar
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2016 3:44:02 PM

lol.....
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 11, 2016 4:15:46 PM

I thought AG chambers composed of lawyers had an advisory role in drafting of all in Kenya. Why do they let so many shoddy laws pass through their net?
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2016 2:23:03 AM

Under what ministry is this commission on? If it's the ICT ministry its only fair to say that this man's thinking is now obsolete and therefore he is no longer fit for the job.
enyands
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 12, 2016 6:14:24 AM

Elections are near and someone wants to Control videos and hate speech spewing on the chocho media just like what kaguta did