R I P Ahmed Salim Bamahriz
Those of age remember this great Kenyan from the coast. "Asema tufuate Nyayo! Yeye a fuata Nyayo za Ndovu" That made me laugh for a year! http://www.nation.co.ke/...3854-hjvqxrz/index.html
Moi said that the guy should have been deported to Yemen where his ancestors came from. Fine, Bahmariz said. I'll go back to Yemen if Moi will go back to Sudan!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout.
Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. They did ascend to power but all disappointed. Both mutunga and justice Ibrahim are former political detainees. Rao, orengo, nyongo, kiraitu all became ministers at some point. Can we remember anything they did ?
Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. si kibaki na baba were in opposition during the advent of the multiparty movement. We might never know, but as a matter of opinion do you think those guys who were beaten up and jailed would change the way things are, or have been in the country in any major way.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. si kibaki na baba were in opposition during the advent of the multiparty movement. We might never know, but as a matter of opinion do you think those guys who were beaten up and jailed would change the way things are, or have been in the country in any major way. correction :Kibaki was never in the opposition during the agitation for return to multiparty democracy. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Been watching how far and fast this thread will grow. Am not disappointed In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
kaka2za wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. si kibaki na baba were in opposition during the advent of the multiparty movement. We might never know, but as a matter of opinion do you think those guys who were beaten up and jailed would change the way things are, or have been in the country in any major way. correction :Kibaki was never in the opposition during the agitation for return to multiparty democracy. You beat me to it. And Kibaki was not even a fence sitter. He was a diligent KANU sycophant. Even after Moi was forced to introduce pluralism, Kibaki said the opposition was wasting its time because trying to defeat KANU was like cutting a mugumo tree with a razor blade. Kibaki only defected to the opposition in late 1991 when he realized that KANU was unsellable in central province. And some say he spoiled Matiba's chances of beating Moi in 1992. As to the second question about whether they changed anything, I would say that at the very least they forced moi to cave in and allow pluralism. Otherwise people would still be being beaten and detained without trial.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/17/2011 Posts: 627 Location: Mbui-Nzau, Kikumbulyu
The 7th parliament was legendary
FRM2011 wrote:Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. They did ascend to power but all disappointed. Both mutunga and justice Ibrahim are former political detainees. Rao, orengo, nyongo, kiraitu all became ministers at some point. Can we remember anything they did ? Being a cabinet minister does not amount to ascending to power. Ministers do the presidents bidding. They do only what the president wants. And sometimes if they are doing too well, they can be removed from the position. Case in point: Ask anyone who worked at KNH when Matiba was health minister. They will tell you that KNH became very efficient and well run. Matiba would make surprise visits to the place even as late as 1 am in the morning. So the people running the place had to keep ship shape. And how was he rewarded? Moi removed him from the health portfolio and replaced him with Kibaki whom everyone knew was a lazy bum. Now fast forward to 2002. RAO became minister for roads and and went on a campaign to reclaim land that was set aside for road reserves and firing so called cowboy contractors. It was Kibaki who stopped the process of reclaiming government land. Wamalwa also became Veep but he was basically reduced to a cheerleader for Kibaki. He had no choice. Long story short, cabinet ministers are generally powerless to effect the changes that these people were agitating for in the 1990s. A better measure of someone's ability to effect change is what he does as a governor. I would have liked to see the likes of Matiba or Muliro as governors or even president.
Shida ni system of our governance! people who were prisonned by the moi error came to power but never improved the judiciary neither the prisons system,it was their turn now to use the same system for personal gain!
Angelica _ann wrote:Been watching how far and fast this thread will grow. Am not disappointed Kuna notable absentee but all in all l salute this great Kenyan,he dared when it was very dangerous but as usual the cowards took over when the sea calmed! We got a long way to go!
Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. Even the biblical Moses did not get to see the promised land of Canaan. Its by design. Fighters are never rulers "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. Even the biblical Moses did not get to see the promised land of Canaan. Its by design. Fighters are never rulers Kiguoya's like Mavegges rule!!!! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Kenyan politics favors opportunists At independence: Home Guards got everything,freedom fighters nothing!Remember old Jomo asking Bildad.."wewe uko na nini? 2nd Liberation: Fence sitters wanakula nyama,proponents are either sick,dead or wanatamani nyama. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Alba wrote:FRM2011 wrote:Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. They did ascend to power but all disappointed. Both mutunga and justice Ibrahim are former political detainees. Rao, orengo, nyongo, kiraitu all became ministers at some point. Can we remember anything they did ? Being a cabinet minister does not amount to ascending to power. Ministers do the presidents bidding. They do only what the president wants. And sometimes if they are doing too well, they can be removed from the position. Case in point: Ask anyone who worked at KNH when Matiba was health minister. They will tell you that KNH became very efficient and well run. Matiba would make surprise visits to the place even as late as 1 am in the morning. So the people running the place had to keep ship shape. And how was he rewarded? Moi removed him from the health portfolio and replaced him with Kibaki whom everyone knew was a lazy bum. Now fast forward to 2002. RAO became minister for roads and and went on a campaign to reclaim land that was set aside for road reserves and firing so called cowboy contractors. It was Kibaki who stopped the process of reclaiming government land. Wamalwa also became Veep but he was basically reduced to a cheerleader for Kibaki. He had no choice. Long story short, cabinet ministers are generally powerless to effect the changes that these people were agitating for in the 1990s. A better measure of someone's ability to effect change is what he does as a governor. I would have liked to see the likes of Matiba or Muliro as governors or even president. Good point there. It seems Kiraitu murungi might be the next meru governor. But we both know there is no need for mercy people to hold their breath. It's kula nyama season.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
It's sad to see that these young Kenyan bloggers failed to in their history classes. I hear history these days is taught by teachers born in 1980. Obviously, there shall be a disconnect with real life. People like Ahmed Salim worked for your ass to post on Wazua. Have some respect tafadhali. We know what Moi was, we know what he did, we know those who were with him..All of them in jubilee or the opposition. That's why some of us would prefer to watch our news from Boniface Mwangi's tweeter feed and prefer to buy some rum on election day 2017. Just to avoid being branded home guards by our grand children. RIP. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
alma1 wrote:It's sad to see that these young Kenyan bloggers failed to in their history classes. I hear history these days is taught by teachers born in 1980. Obviously, there shall be a disconnect with real life.
People like Ahmed Salim worked for your ass to post on Wazua. Have some respect tafadhali.
We know what Moi was, we know what he did, we know those who were with him..All of them in jubilee or the opposition.
That's why some of us would prefer to watch our news from Boniface Mwangi's tweeter feed and prefer to buy some rum on election day 2017. Just to avoid being branded home guards by our grand children.
RIP. so, who should be teaching history of akina shaka zulu, or vasco dagama, or of the early migrations from Sudan and Cameroon, naona disconnect kubwa hapo. I find hii mambo of only considering those who were never part of the system to be good leaders a bit (I don't know the word to use), even the americans used the scientist from the hitler regime.
murchr wrote:Alba wrote:Those were the days when Kenya had a principled opposition. Its a shame that none of the people who beaten, tortured and detained to fight for pluralism ever came to power. The people from the Moi error have retained power throughout. Even the biblical Moses did not get to see the promised land of Canaan. Its by design. Fighters are never rulers I guess you forgot Nelson Mandela, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Aung san suu kyi, Fidel Castro , Lech Walesa, Benazir Bhutto, ..................
R I P Ahmed Salim Bamahriz