wazua Sun, May 5, 2024

17 Pages«<45678>»
Centum
alotoftalk
#101 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 2:17:43 PM

alotoftalk wrote:
I doubt there is a company that's more lucrative for employees than Centum. [Source: Annual Report pg. 75]

The CEO Mworia got KES 200 Million (close to USD 2 Million) in 2015. That's comparative to the CEO pay for the largest companies in Africa like Standard Bank and even most NYSE listed companies.

In 5 years he will be a newly minted KES billionaire. A good thing is that he's using some of that money to buy shares.

So if Centum goes the TCL way he'll have some skin in the game.

I also hope they start paying more of this in share options which increases skin in the game and can be easily clawed back. Plus efficient from a cashflow perspective.

http://www.businessdaily...386730-kehj0y/index.html
Investment philosophy development in progress...
dsktop
#102 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 2:53:14 PM

poor centum shareholders.....company has a weak cashflow sustained only by borrowing(bonds this year,last year loan from avic et al all at 6B).The income statement is buoyed by revaluation gain,exaggerated at that!....and forced books as in can anyone show me the source of 4,695,509 listed in the cashflow as purchase of investment property cause its not explained by note 14 ...and by the way that is 4.6Billion
#103 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 5:29:27 PM

dsktop wrote:
poor centum shareholders.....company has a weak cashflow sustained only by borrowing(bonds this year,last year loan from avic et al all at 6B).The income statement is buoyed by revaluation gain,exaggerated at that!....and forced books as in can anyone show me the source of 4,695,509 listed in the cashflow as purchase of investment property cause its not explained by note 14 ...and by the way that is 4.6Billion

Anyone please explain? Who audits Centum's books?
tom_boy
#104 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 5:54:38 PM

dsktop wrote:

I have always had issues with directors who declare no dividend but pay themselves handsomely in CASH based on non cash gains in valuation that are easily manipulated. That is plain stealing. No other way to describe it.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
researchfirst
#105 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 6:31:10 PM

dsktop wrote:

pwc are their auditors.

If you look at the annual report, it was not revaluation gains but beverage sales that were by far the biggest income driver (8,140,574,000 in FY16 versus 36,792,000 in FY15). See note 6. The unrealised gains in investment property were 5,118,581,000 in FY16 and 1,737,045,000 in FY15). Again, note 6. Given the disclosures in note 14, they seem reasonable to me.
dsktop
#106 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 7:27:16 PM

researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:

pwc are their auditors.

If you look at the annual report, it was not revaluation gains but beverage sales that were by far the biggest income driver (8,140,574,000 in FY16 versus 36,792,000 in FY15). See note 6. The unrealised gains in investment property were 5,118,581,000 in FY16 and 1,737,045,000 in FY15). Again, note 6. Given the disclosures in note 14, they seem reasonable to me.

Ok great.
one question though,what growth does that represent i.e from 36.7M in FY15 to 8.14B in FY16 is it realistic to you?

Also kindly show me the make up of their cashflow figure for investment property 4,695,509 noting that under note 39 they have already handled the 5,118,581,000 when determining the cash from operations 3,631,542,000

Realtreaty
#107 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 9:09:39 PM

2016- Mall opening
2017- international school opening- Kiambu- Schools have made indian businessmen very rich and Kirubi will not be left behind. He just need to make schools and concentrate on quality for high end paying parents/students
http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/busi...-smart-school-open-2017/
researchfirst
#108 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 9:54:35 PM

dsktop wrote:
researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:

pwc are their auditors.

Ok great.
one question though,what growth does that represent i.e from 36.7M in FY15 to 8.14B in FY16 is it realistic to you?

Also kindly show me the make up of their cashflow figure for investment property 4,695,509 noting that under note 39 they have already handled the 5,118,581,000 when determining the cash from operations 3,631,542,000

Like you, I cannot figure out exactly how they got to the 4,695,509 figure and am annoyed that I cannot. Some of it clearly comes from capitalised subsequent expenditure on existing properties, but I cannot reconcile everything precisely. For what it's worth, I am not terribly worried by it. To put it in context, Safaricom switched from reporting cost of sales in 2013 to direct costs and other expenses in 2014 and that change also drove me crazy trying to reconcile. I prefer consistent reporting, but I wasn't worried that they were trying to hide anything. I'm not in this case either. Sometimes things just get shifted around due to a rules change or management preference. As long as it isn't intentionally shady, it isn't a problem.
dsktop
#109 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 10:12:57 PM

researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:
researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:

pwc are their auditors.

Ok great.

Like you, I cannot figure out exactly how they got to the 4,695,509 figure and am annoyed that I cannot. Some of it clearly comes from capitalised subsequent expenditure on existing properties, but I cannot reconcile everything precisely. For what it's worth, I am not terribly worried by it. To put it in context, Safaricom switched from reporting cost of sales in 2013 to direct costs and other expenses in 2014 and that change also drove me crazy trying to reconcile. I prefer consistent reporting, but I wasn't worried that they were trying to hide anything. I'm not in this case either. Sometimes things just get shifted around due to a rules change or management preference. As long as it isn't intentionally shady, it isn't a problem.

It cant be from anything capitalised or what not ,it has to be cash hence its presence in the cash flow....

Their reporting format is consistent from last year and before (which btw also had fraudulent elements) hence am not buying the switching format argument.

For that reason I'm calling their accounts shady and their omission intentional/fraudulent until someone shows me otherwise...I'm willing to learn
researchfirst
#110 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2016 10:30:41 PM

dsktop wrote:
researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:
researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:

pwc are their auditors.

Ok great.

It cant be from anything capitalised or what not ,it has to be cash hence its presence in the cash flow....

Their reporting format is consistent from last year and before (which btw also had fraudulent elements) hence am not buying the switching format argument.

For that reason I'm calling their accounts shady and their omission intentional/fraudulent until someone shows me otherwise...I'm willing to learn

I understand your point. Send them an email. I did it once with Dangote and actually got a direct reply. If you don't ask, you don't get! smile
#111 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 4:53:17 AM

researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:
researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:
researchfirst wrote:
dsktop wrote:

pwc are their auditors.

Ok great.

I understand your point. Send them an email. I did it once with Dangote and actually got a direct reply. If you don't ask, you don't get! smile

They impliedly valued 2 Rivers at 23B. The mall is yet to open, yet to book a revenue. That is when they lost me. Creative accounting at work.
The Great
#112 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 5:34:14 AM

Is this Researchfirst guy the DJ? So defensive. Pulling titles and names.
"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own."
#113 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 6:25:39 AM

The Great wrote:

Let's wait for him(or her) to declare his interest.
Horton
#114 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 7:31:29 AM

The Great wrote:

Or it could be someone passionate about centum?!?!? I highly doubt dj has the time or the motivation to come here and debate
#115 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 7:36:48 AM

Everyone in Wazua normally defend the shares they own religiously cc. Up there I can see wafuasi wa Kengen criticizing this researchfirst guy for defending Centum.smile
enyands
#116 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 7:51:50 AM

Horton wrote:
The Great wrote:

Or it could be someone passionate about centum?!?!? I highly doubt dj has the time or the motivation to come here and debate

He did once especially that time when guys were fired up here at wazua about the 1 billion bonus payout and he tweeted that he has had people are mad about the 1b payout abs if they have a problem they should "ask chris"". I think murchir copied that here
#117 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 8:20:04 AM

enyands wrote:
Horton wrote:
The Great wrote:

He did once especially that time when guys were fired up here at wazua about the 1 billion bonus payout and he tweeted that he has had people are mad about the 1b payout abs if they have a problem they should "ask chris"". I think murchir copied that here

The DJ, Ngunze, Bob Collymore are confirmed members of wazua

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
kryptonite
#118 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 9:07:53 AM

enyands wrote:
Horton wrote:
The Great wrote:

Hii wazua inaweza kuwa chama
The harder you work, the luckier you get
Horton
#119 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 10:06:30 AM

enyands wrote:
Horton wrote:
The Great wrote:

Confirmed? Really?
#120 Posted : Tuesday, September 20, 2016 10:13:32 AM

Horton wrote:
enyands wrote:
Horton wrote:
The Great wrote:

Confirmed? Really?

What if Angelica Anne is DJ?