wazua Sun, May 19, 2024

151 Pages«<9091929394>»
Law Capping interest rates
Spikes
#1821 Posted : Monday, January 30, 2017 2:49:35 PM

guru267 wrote:
tafutabiz wrote:
I don't trust IMF and World Bank. I don't know of their very successful policies. I know their failures, infact they engineered African poverty through their Stractural Adjustments Programs(SAP). Greece followed their advice to the grave.

At 30% interest what kind of business are the SME's doing to give them positive returns ama ni wash wash? Interest capping is the best thing to happen in Uhuru's reign. The banks that come to terms with this sooner the better.

Tell that to the SMEs who are sitting with decline letters from Banks and are now getting worse shafting from the Micro institutions and the likes of Mshwari.

The economy will continue to bleed until this thing is reversed and the Banks will make sure of it!

The economy will bleed till stability is restored . You'll be surprised to hear this IMF fellows being the pioneers glorifying rate cap in a couple of years to come from now.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
streetwise
#1822 Posted : Monday, January 30, 2017 9:16:07 PM

Agreed rate caps it is
Musimo
#1823 Posted : Monday, January 30, 2017 9:49:51 PM

KenyanEconomist wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2017/01/26/imf-wants-kenya-to-scrap-interest-caps-on-loans_c1494899 ^

IMF must be as confused as the rest of us who said this will happen.

Never mind exactly what we said will happen happened. It must be a coincidence that can be explained away somehow or a still a figment of our imagination like it was said to be when we predicted it!!!

IMF wakende huko... we're a sovereign state..

LOL, a sovereign state who needs a loan from the IMF. IMF is granting CBK a $1.5bn standby facility to keep the KES stable, and came to our rescue during the 2011 FX crisis, yet Kenyans are so thankless.

It's like going to a bank, asking your Banker for a facility, mismanaging your personal finances (as our Politicians have mismanaged and looted our finances), and when the Banker tells you to be careful so you are able to pay back, your wife and children start cursing the banker!!

But indeed, we are a sovereign state, with the freedom to make poor decisions if we so choose!

No need to panic. Interest rate caps are good for us. About the only thing that UK has done right. World Bank and IMF et al are colonial masters. Better to do the exact opposite of what they recommend. Rate caps will force responsible lending. Thats what we need.

Whether World Bank and IMF et all are colonial masters or not does not take away from the following:

1. Int Rate cap of 4% + CBR has taken away unsecured borrowing in kenya (as one SME put it, better an expensive loan than none at all)

2. Private Sector Credit Growth is lowest it's been in years. If this continues, it will affect Kenya's Growth

3. More importantly, Interest Cap as is hand-cuffs the CBK's ability to effectively carry out Monetary Policy. Any move in the CBR rate now directly impacts lending rates, which was not the intent.

A. Imagine that CBK wants to increase rates to defend the KES at next week's meeting. If they raise the CBR by 200 bps, that means cost of deposits immediately jump from 7% to 8.4%, while cost of loans jumps from 14% to 16% the next day. This hits mwananchi immediately. An election year like 2017, this means that CBK is less likely to carry out its mandate because the increase in Int rates will be viewed negatively. CBR is supposed to indirectly influence interest rate expectations, not directly.

B. Now imagine that the slowdown in Private Sector Credit Growth scares the CBK, and they decide to stimulate the economy. The correct monetary action would be to reduce rates. If they reduce rates from 10% to 8%, this would mean that the max lending rates that banks can lend are at 12%. This would freeze up borrowing even further, as banks would be even more picky with who they lend to, and demand more collateral! Note that not even GOK can borrow at 12% long term.

No one is saying that the Idea of a rate cap cannot work in Kenya, but the current law restricts lending and also hamstrings CBK's monetary policy. IMF is correct, whether or not they are "colonial masters"

I suggest they "adjust" the cap and base it on KBRR instead of CBR rate. Also increase the band from 400 bps to ~800 bps.

This could have been done, but nobody thought that UK would sign the bill. There was actually some arrogance from banks after parliament passed the bill, after signing is when they went full panic mode. CBK itself did not even give an opinion or a way forward,or an alternative. So let them bleed, so that if t hey get another chance to give input when possibly reviewing the bill then they WILL give a way, knowing very well that the law will not be scrapped.
muandiwambeu
#1824 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2017 12:23:06 AM

Musimo wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2017/01/26/imf-wants-kenya-to-scrap-interest-caps-on-loans_c1494899 ^

Never mind exactly what we said will happen happened. It must be a coincidence that can be explained away somehow or a still a figment of our imagination like it was said to be when we predicted it!!!

LOL, a sovereign state who needs a loan from the IMF. IMF is granting CBK a $1.5bn standby facility to keep the KES stable, and came to our rescue during the 2011 FX crisis, yet Kenyans are so thankless.

It's like going to a bank, asking your Banker for a facility, mismanaging your personal finances (as our Politicians have mismanaged and looted our finances), and when the Banker tells you to be careful so you are able to pay back, your wife and children start cursing the banker!!

But indeed, we are a sovereign state, with the freedom to make poor decisions if we so choose!

No need to panic. Interest rate caps are good for us. About the only thing that UK has done right. World Bank and IMF et al are colonial masters. Better to do the exact opposite of what they recommend. Rate caps will force responsible lending. Thats what we need.

Whether World Bank and IMF et all are colonial masters or not does not take away from the following:

1. Int Rate cap of 4% + CBR has taken away unsecured borrowing in kenya (as one SME put it, better an expensive loan than none at all)

2. Private Sector Credit Growth is lowest it's been in years. If this continues, it will affect Kenya's Growth

3. More importantly, Interest Cap as is hand-cuffs the CBK's ability to effectively carry out Monetary Policy. Any move in the CBR rate now directly impacts lending rates, which was not the intent.

A. Imagine that CBK wants to increase rates to defend the KES at next week's meeting. If they raise the CBR by 200 bps, that means cost of deposits immediately jump from 7% to 8.4%, while cost of loans jumps from 14% to 16% the next day. This hits mwananchi immediately. An election year like 2017, this means that CBK is less likely to carry out its mandate because the increase in Int rates will be viewed negatively. CBR is supposed to indirectly influence interest rate expectations, not directly.

B. Now imagine that the slowdown in Private Sector Credit Growth scares the CBK, and they decide to stimulate the economy. The correct monetary action would be to reduce rates. If they reduce rates from 10% to 8%, this would mean that the max lending rates that banks can lend are at 12%. This would freeze up borrowing even further, as banks would be even more picky with who they lend to, and demand more collateral! Note that not even GOK can borrow at 12% long term.

No one is saying that the Idea of a rate cap cannot work in Kenya, but the current law restricts lending and also hamstrings CBK's monetary policy. IMF is correct, whether or not they are "colonial masters"

I suggest they "adjust" the cap and base it on KBRR instead of CBR rate. Also increase the band from 400 bps to ~800 bps.

This could have been done, but nobody thought that UK would sign the bill. There was actually some arrogance from banks after parliament passed the bill, after signing is when they went full panic mode. CBK itself did not even give an opinion or a way forward,or an alternative. So let them bleed, so that if t hey get another chance to give input when possibly reviewing the bill then they WILL give a way, knowing very well that the law will not be scrapped.

Muhiki wene ti mandathi utotie gutotie gwe, this far and no more. It all started with one mpig feeling the pain. Now you see. Hata CBR rate hike will be capped by a law and be only discussed and approved by parliament only after national suffrage if need be. Sasa eti mpc, eti ngoo CBR hike, can't somebody see all those are anti the purpose, self defeating, and anti-intent of the rates caps motive to lower interest rates to near or equal japan's 1%. Sad Sad Sad Sad
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
wukan
#1825 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2017 12:13:54 PM

#1826 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2017 12:19:59 PM

Whats the projection for banks FY results....
muandiwambeu
#1827 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2017 1:44:08 PM

This site can’t be reached

http’s server DNS address could not be found.
DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN
Liar Liar Liar
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#1828 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2017 5:06:36 PM

This has more to do with the more stringent provisioning requirements of CBK. All banks have tightened their risk procedures because they can now not get away with the casual provisioning processes they were used to.

Plus the CBK is now holding individual Head of Depts who require CBK approval for their positions liable for non compliance with prudential guidelines. You get fired and are blacklisted, ask Family Bank HODs or Ex-Chase HOD's found culpable.

Atleast we finally have a regulator, banks will slowly adjust to the right way of doing business
Speculz
#1829 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2017 5:17:12 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:

http://www.businessdailyafrica....93242-ir9a19z/index.html
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#1830 Posted : Tuesday, January 31, 2017 8:58:42 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

This has more to do with the more stringent provisioning requirements of CBK. All banks have tightened their risk procedures because they can now not get away with the casual provisioning processes they were used to.

Plus the CBK is now holding individual Head of Depts who require CBK approval for their positions liable for non compliance with prudential guidelines. You get fired and are blacklisted, ask Family Bank HODs or Ex-Chase HOD's found culpable.

Atleast we finally have a regulator, banks will slowly adjust to the right way of doing business

Has any ex-chase HOD suffered?
#1831 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 10:59:35 AM

Musimo wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

What??? Anyway, as I have been saying, some people will never let facts get in the way of a "good" argument!

Anyway, this is not the worst of it. In the previous page I have read a lot of unbelievable stuff I didn't even know which to reply to and what to ignore. I ultimately decided to ignore all of them!
#1832 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 11:01:13 AM

Musimo wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

What??? Anyway, as I have been saying, some people will never let facts get in the way of a "good" argument!

Anyway, this is not the worst of it. In the previous page I have read a lot of unbelievable stuff I didn't even know which to reply to and what to ignore. I ultimately decided to ignore all of them!
Musimo
#1833 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 11:33:26 AM

Musimo wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

This could have been done, but nobody thought that UK would sign the bill. There was actually some arrogance from banks after parliament passed the bill, after signing is when they went full panic mode. [b]CBK itself did not even give an opinion or a way forward,or an alternative[b]. So let them bleed, so that if t hey get another chance to give input when possibly reviewing the bill then they WILL give a way, knowing very well that the law will not be scrapped.

The CBK only said they wouldnt want that because it would be dangerous for the CBR, forgetting they could have suggested KBBR as the benchmark to set for pricing loans. that would effectively give them a hand in dealing with any shocks to the economy, while at the same time ensuring stable lending via stable rates of the KBBR.
#1834 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 11:40:02 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:

Link: Try this
#1835 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 11:42:20 AM

Musimo wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

The CBK only said they wouldnt want that because it would be dangerous for the CBR, forgetting they could have suggested KBBR as the benchmark to set for pricing loans. that would effectively give them a hand in dealing with any shocks to the economy, while at the same time ensuring stable lending via stable rates of the KBBR.

Were you really following this issue from the beginning???
mulla
#1836 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 1:32:43 PM

Musimo wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

This could have been done, but nobody thought that UK would sign the bill. There was actually some arrogance from banks after parliament passed the bill, after signing is when they went full panic mode. [b]CBK itself did not even give an opinion or a way forward,or an alternative[b]. So let them bleed, so that if t hey get another chance to give input when possibly reviewing the bill then they WILL give a way, knowing very well that the law will not be scrapped.

The CBK said much more than you are purporting @maichblack I support your arguments I still fail to see how rate caps are good for the economy...so far it has just been negative.....
#1837 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 2:20:52 PM

mulla wrote:
Musimo wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

The CBK said much more than you are purporting @maichblack I support your arguments I still fail to see how rate caps are good for the economy...so far it has just been negative.....

Mistaken Identity.

It is one Musimo. Not @MaichBlack.
Ngalaka
#1838 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 2:47:38 PM

mulla wrote:

Apparently, the implausible explanation seems to be –
- the Banks are just sulking for now’
- Kenyan lenders are lazy and slow in coming up with ‘proper’ grading models to filter borrowers creditworthiness.
- All this while (sic) Banks are in the process of trying to figure out how to navigate CBK requirements in relation to ratios.

This is what I can glean from pro Cap brigade.

Problem is – we have been in this hole since Sept. October can and went, as did Nov, Dec, and January.
Now we are in Feb and there doesn’t seem to be any respite.

Their advice – let’s wait some more, the ‘sulking’ ‘laziness’ and ‘CBK requirements re-organisation’ will come to an end, then credit will be flowing again!
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#1839 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 10:09:31 PM

#1840 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 10:11:18 PM

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/article/2001227855/party-is-over-for-speculators-as-cbk-reins-in-yields-on-state-bonds