wazua Tue, Apr 23, 2024

151 Pages«<146147148149150>»
Law Capping interest rates
#2941 Posted : Wednesday, November 06, 2019 9:12:33 PM

Ericsson wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/companies/Comarco-to-restructure-Sh3bn-loans/4003102-5339016-7gg8gm/index.html

The biggest challenge for banks post interest rates cap law repeal will be non performing loans.

Banks are not going to be quick in revising the rates..they know we are watching.. they know mpigs are neck high in debts. they know Kenyans are already broke.
Queen
#2942 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2019 9:32:16 AM

Ericsson wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/companies/Comarco-to-restructure-Sh3bn-loans/4003102-5339016-7gg8gm/index.html

The biggest challenge for banks post interest rates cap law repeal will be non performing loans.

Banks are not going to be quick in revising the rates..they know we are watching.. they know mpigs are neck high in debts. they know Kenyans are already broke.

What do you mean "we are watching" and "the MPs are heavily indebted"..... What can we as Wanjikus do? As Maraga said, hii nchi ina wenyewe. Are you suggesting that all these MPigs when they were passing the bill they momentarily forgot that they are heavily indebted? Lets just say as things stand, we are in deep sh*t.
FUNKY
#2943 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2019 10:00:05 AM

FUNKY
#2944 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2019 11:06:13 AM

#2945 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2019 2:11:24 PM

FUNKY wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Interest-on-risky-loans-forecast-at-16pc/539546-5339802-ks7r6az/index.html ^

What do people expect him to say?? We are going to significantly increase the rates bla bla bla??? He will never do that.
#2946 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2019 2:14:19 PM

FUNKY wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Interest-on-risky-loans-forecast-at-16pc/539546-5339802-ks7r6az/index.html ^

"The MPs shielded the people with existing loans from higher rates...".

Where did this writer get this from?? Is there something I am missing? I am not aware of such an amendment going through.
Superprime1
#2947 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2019 3:08:52 PM

FUNKY wrote:

Where did this writer get this from?? Is there something I am missing? I am not aware of such an amendment going through.

A slip of the tongue (nay, pen)...Laughing out loudly
#2948 Posted : Thursday, November 07, 2019 4:14:29 PM

Queen wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

What do you mean "we are watching" and "the MPs are heavily indebted"..... What can we as Wanjikus do? As Maraga said, hii nchi ina wenyewe. Are you suggesting that all these MPigs when they were passing the bill they momentarily forgot that they are heavily indebted? Lets just say as things stand, we are in deep sh*t.

“We are not going to see a massive change. As a leader in the industry, we don’t see an opportunity to go back to the old behaviour of high rates,” he added.KCB CEO Joshua oigara

wenyewe wamesema
Metch
#2949 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 9:27:47 AM

Queen wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

“We are not going to see a massive change. As a leader in the industry, we don’t see an opportunity to go back to the old behaviour of high rates,” he added.KCB CEO Joshua oigara

wenyewe wamesema

But of course applications will be evaluated on a case by case basis smile
Start!
Queen
#2950 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 10:13:01 AM

FUNKY wrote:

The Finance committee tabled their report which contained an amendment on existing loans. There was lack of quorum in the house and therefore the report, together with the amendment therein, was never debated.

The pertinent question should now be:- is it these committee's report that was passed in lieu of quorum or was it the President's memo to the house that was passed as it were without any amendment.

My understanding is that the house was meant to debate and pass the Finance committee's report and not the president's memo directly. Am however not a lawyer.
Extraterrestrial
#2951 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 10:31:36 AM

Looks like the bear may be back. If drawdown from recent highs exceeds 20%, we are back into bear territor.
FUNKY
#2952 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 10:54:49 AM

winmak
#2953 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 11:39:48 AM

Extraterrestrial wrote:
Looks like the bear may be back. If drawdown from recent highs exceeds 20%, we are back into bear territor.

For some of us to board
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
#2954 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 12:18:06 PM

Queen wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

wenyewe wamesema

Have you been living in Kenya??? Even when people were paying 25%, the (advertised) "base rate" was around 18%. But your risk level had to be at almost 0.00% to get a loan at that rate.
#2955 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 12:34:59 PM

And what people are not seeing is the interest spread (though it was sorted earlier). The banks can pay 2% on your deposits and lend at 17%. That is a 15% spread. Compare that with the original post caps spread of 4%!!!
Ericsson
#2956 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 1:12:17 PM

Extraterrestrial wrote:

It was coming,
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#2957 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 1:25:31 PM

Queen wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

The Finance committee tabled their report which contained an amendment on existing loans. There was lack of quorum in the house and therefore the report, together with the amendment therein, was never debated.

The pertinent question should now be:- is it these committee's report that was passed in lieu of quorum or was it the President's memo to the house that was passed as it were without any amendment.

My understanding is that the house was meant to debate and pass the Finance committee's report and not the president's memo directly. Am however not a lawyer.

They were to accept or reject the president's memorandum. To reject, they needed 2/3 majority which they did not get. So the "accepted" it (by default).
#2958 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 1:53:39 PM

Queen wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

wenyewe wamesema

Have you been living in Kenya??? Even when people were paying 25%, the (advertised) "base rate" was around 18%. But your risk level had to be at almost 0.00% to get a loan at that rate.

let's say wacha tuone.asin lets wait and see.
#2959 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 2:03:07 PM

winmak wrote:
Extraterrestrial wrote:

For some of us to board

True or load up some more!!!

Value is more important than price. And buyers love discounts/low prices.
Ericsson
#2960 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2019 4:30:32 PM

Extraterrestrial wrote:

With no company being cum dividend we may even go much lower than before news of rate cap trickled in.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle