151 Pages«<9899100101102>»
Law Capping interest rates
actuarywahisa
#1981 Posted : Monday, May 08, 2017 12:48:40 PM

mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/markets/news/Banks-triple-loan-good-borrowers/3815534-3904056-yj57vp/index.html

This is the way to go. Not a blanket overcharging of all clients to cover for the failure of banks to do homework on their customers before on-boarding.

Wacha cartels na brigade ya 'sky-is-falling' wabaki hapo na theories zao.

Reduced production, job losses, fewer new cars, minibuses and trucks being registered.

The era of alternative facts I see.smile

@actuarywahisa. Did you bother reading the article?
What you've highlighted is a LINK!

Why should I? ...

VW assembly reentry: http://www.businessdaily...00806-9fpyqe/index.html

Iveco Re-entry:
www.businessdailyafrica....860726-2hrma9/index.html

Bentley Launches:
http://http//www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/Luxury-British-car-brand-Bentley-Kenya/539550-3886854-gn8sfwz/index.html

Job Adverts:
https://www.brightermonday.co.ke/
and others...

Of course we'd rather focus only on the guys doing downsizing (primarily banks) as our example of how the sky is falling.

Provided you believe something, there will always be facts to back it. Let's wait and see the end.
There are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
Gatheuzi
#1982 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 6:35:19 AM

actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/markets/news/Banks-triple-loan-good-borrowers/3815534-3904056-yj57vp/index.html

This is the way to go. Not a blanket overcharging of all clients to cover for the failure of banks to do homework on their customers before on-boarding.

Reduced production, job losses, fewer new cars, minibuses and trucks being registered.

Why should I? ...

Iveco Re-entry:

Bentley Launches:
http://http//www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/Luxury-British-car-brand-Bentley-Kenya/539550-3886854-gn8sfwz/index.html

Job Adverts:
and others...

Of course we'd rather focus only on the guys doing downsizing (primarily banks) as our example of how the sky is falling.

Provided you believe something, there will always be facts to back it. Let's wait and see the end.

You have spoken like 10 wise men.smile smile
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
#1983 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 6:47:16 AM

actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:

Why should I? ...

Iveco Re-entry:

Bentley Launches:

Job Adverts:
and others...

Glass half empty or half full?
#1984 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 7:39:23 AM

The rise in flour is tied to the rate cap.. Things are elephant. Soon your landlord will increase rent. Watch this space

HF 428,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#1985 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 7:41:05 AM

The rise in flour is tied to the rate cap.. Things are elephant. Soon your landlord will increase rent. Watch this space

Horton
#1986 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 9:03:38 AM

Markets are tough. As a landlord. Currently finding tenants is hard currently.
mkeiy
#1987 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 9:23:37 AM

actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:

Why should I? ...

Iveco Re-entry:

Bentley Launches:

Job Adverts:
and others...

@actuarywahisa.
To you, it's a BELIEF that is making guys not buy/register new cars, vans, buses, trucks! ! !
A belief!

If the picture was rosy as you would want your 'facts/links'to suggest, don't you think we would be talking of 'increasing' x,y,z, and not 'decreasing'of the same?

The true test of the economy is the disposal economy. Kenyans don't have it, trying selling anything to them. It now takes longer than two years ago. Be it rental space, a car, a plot etc.

#1988 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 9:34:55 AM

mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:

Why should I? ...

Iveco Re-entry:

Bentley Launches:

Job Adverts:
and others...

@actuarywahisa.
To you, it's a BELIEF that is making guys not buy/register new cars, vans, buses, trucks! ! !
A belief!

If the picture was rosy as you would want your 'facts/links'to suggest, don't you think we would be talking of 'increasing' x,y,z, and not 'decreasing'of the same?

The true test of the economy is the disposal economy. Kenyans don't have it, trying selling anything to them. It now takes longer than two years ago. Be it rental space, a car, a plot etc.

True...
actuarywahisa
#1989 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 10:34:52 AM

No one is saying that things are rosy. I am only saying that not everything should be blindly blamed on interest rate capping. It is important to appreciate that at the moment there is a confounding of many factors. It is still early days to say A has caused B.

By the way in the world, 87% of all statistics is usually cooked up to make a point. Laughing out loudly

Price of maize flour... rate cap, whoever loses the election... rate cap... el nino ... rate cap. It is still early days and I think it is unwise to draw conclusions.

If at all banks are not lending to good SMEs, then the government, for example could create a fund for SMEs.
There are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
Horton
#1990 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 10:49:59 AM

actuarywahisa wrote:

By the way in the world, 87% of all statistics is usually cooked up to make a point. Laughing out loudly

Including this one 🤣🤣
wukan
#1991 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 11:26:18 AM

Of course once the rates were capped then the laws of economics dictate that all other commodities would have to be capped to maintain the balance. Watch this space as food caps, rent caps and all other caps mess up the free market economySad Sad Sad We are now entering the era of stagflation
sitaki.kujulikana
#1992 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 11:52:29 AM

how many wazuans who actually run biasharas have been affected by the rate cap, some times the answer we seek is just before us and yet we refuse to see the same.
actuarywahisa
#1993 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 12:16:47 PM

Horton wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:

Including this one 🤣🤣

I am happy you caught that one.
mkeiy
#1994 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 12:21:07 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
how many wazuans who actually run biasharas have been affected by the rate cap, some times the answer we seek is just before us and yet we refuse to see the same.

I am in business and yes, this thing has affected me. Indirectly.

My sales are not what they used to be. Some of my customers without credit facilities, can't buy or settle their accounts.
With customers defaulting, you need more working capital. You try disposing some asset, takes ages to sell, since most guys can't access credit. Unlike 2 years ago. Pesa ingepatikana, sasa ni Mungu tu!
Hell,my clearing agent is in shit and that has affected me as well.

Which makes me wonder @actuarywahisa, if it's too early to conclude now, when is the right time?
#1995 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 4:16:45 PM

mkeiy wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

I am in business and yes, this thing has affected me. Indirectly.

My sales are not what they used to be. Some of my customers without credit facilities, can't buy or settle their accounts.
With customers defaulting, you need more working capital. You try disposing some asset, takes ages to sell, since most guys can't access credit. Unlike 2 years ago. Pesa ingepatikana, sasa ni Mungu tu!
Hell,my clearing agent is in shit and that has affected me as well.

Which makes me wonder @actuarywahisa, if it's too early to conclude now, when is the right time?

Pesa iko Treasury

Wororo
#1996 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 4:40:24 PM

RECEIVED THIS POWERFUL MESSAGE VIA WHATSAPP...

What would happen if you woke up tomorrow and found that your boss had doubled your salary?

Well, on January 5, 1914, Henry Ford doubled salaries for all his employees. That simple fact revolutionized the auto industry. Ford's actions may not have been led by altruistic intentions but he realized that an economy that works for only a few is no economy at all.

It is of no use to be the only well-off person in your family or among your friends. It is of no-use to be super rich in a society of poor people.

This is already back-firing for the elites in Kenya . At first they thought; "if i have a good job, can afford to drive a good car and sleep in a good apartment, I just don't care what happens with the rest."

Little did they know that this just made their lives worse in the longterm. Henry Ford doubled his employees' salaries so they could afford to buy the cars they manufactured. That act alone created market for his products and profits more than trippled.

The economy is a circular flow. One man's expense is another man's income. If you are an entrepreneur and all your neighbours are broke, then who will buy your products?

If all your neighbours are unemployed, then who will guarantee your safety? Yes, Kenya elites, it is lonely at the top.

You still don't wonder why you can't freely use that smart phone in a taxi with open windows?

Instead of teaching your relatives to fish, you conditioned them to become dependent on you. Now when you make that money, you can't keep any of it. Because they will all be scouting for it. Everyone will be asking to make your contribution to something. Karma is indeed wrong. .

You see a job opportunity and don't tell your friends about it. You want to be a big fish in a small lake. Yeah?

You would rather pay for a foreign service than a Kenyan service? You would rather buy foreign music, honey, than Kenyan made?

You would rather kill Family Bank a Kenyan owned bank where the owner has invested 99.9 percent of all his earnings in Kenya. And you are comfortable with empowering foreign banks that don't even own their headquarters. They simply rent and take out all the profits. And you think you will get to middle income? Huh.

This culture is just sickening. It is only in this country where people are comfortable owning too much of a small thing than owning a small share of a big thing. This scarcity mindset is what is killing us.

We pride in building mansions in our villages in a sea of mud and wattle houses. And in the end we pay for it. With insecurity, with deaths.

It makes no sense to have majority poor and few rich. It always back fires. It makes no sense to have the only beautiful girlfriend among all your friends. It will backfire. They will all be rooting for her. See?

It is this simple common sense that we have failed to grasp. We waste time mastering all sorts of economic theories and wonder why we have this growth without actual development.

You educate your kids abroad and are comfortable leaving other kids with a failed education system. In the end when you get that accident, you will be rushed to that hospital with a poorly educated Kenyan doctor.

You build bad roads then get massacred by the same roads. What goes around comes around. The inventor of the Guilottine suffered at the same hands. You pay your Kenyan teachers poorly and expect them to produce awesome graduates? Really?

I hope we soon get some common sense and start caring about the man next door. And make sure everyone is earning their worth. And make sure when we do work, we do it excellently.

If you are employed, give your work the best of efforts. If your boss succeeds, you too succeed. If he earns more, he can afford to pay you more and hire even more people.

If you see an opportunity, notify your friends or family members.

I told people that I would be the happiest if all my family members are much richer than me. That means if I had a business, they would invest in it.

But here you are, all your friends are broke and it is the same people you will send invites to your wedding meetings. It is the same people you will ask to fundraise for your medical bills.

Please, please...start doing something to make sure the economy works for everyone regardless of their field. Let it work for a musician, for an artist, for an engineer, for the teacher etc. That is how you build sustainable societies. Let women fight for men's rights and let men fight for women's rights.

Love your neighbour as you love thyself. Is that too hard?

# Shared. Spread it to other Kenyans and lets make our country an equitable one.
Wororo
#1997 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 4:51:24 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

I pursue business too.

In 2013, my small, young business totally stalled because of the elections.

What I learned is that I needed to think beyond KE to avoid a repeat come 2017.

That's what I did. Late 2014, I got a call offering an opportunity to venture outside KE.

And without hesitation I grabbed the opportunity. I am afloat coz of attacking clients outside Kenya especially with the current elections and interest caps quagmire...

Local, small businesses are sincerely ailing.
#1998 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 6:48:56 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
[quote=obiero][quote=maka]Look at this;

This month the Central Bank of Kenya offered a 10 year Treasury Bond for a total amount of up to Kshs 25 Billion. The total number of bids received was 795 amounting to Kshs 26.31 Billion. The Weighted average rate for successful bids was 15.039%

Coupon 15.039% crazy...even after WHT its good cash

I spoke to the president and his take was that the government shall pull down borrowing rates for itself, which is a good thing.. Expect government to obtain cheap credit. Watch the tbill rate slide down in coming months. We live in good times

Congrats for speaking with @citizen001 but you should have asked him how the "government shall pull down borrowing rates for itself" when in fact we know the rates are market driven (through auctions)

Beg to differ. The auctions are driven mainly by banks.. Now that banks are pushed to the wall on consumer lending, expect government to show a stiff hand

Rates at the auction won't come down anytime soon....that 10 year was just a start.

91, 182, 364 day bills all down.. Expect the shorter tenor to hit 6.5% by December.. As per Graham's law, the bulls at the NSE must show up shortly.. http://www.businessdaily...4800-b0eb44z/index.html[/quote]

Government stiff hand now visible with the last few failed auctions.. The NSE rally is nigh http://www.businessdaily...98768-c6waci/index.html[/quote]
I spoke to the president

Here we are http://www.businessdaily...19230-geckqhz/index.html

#1999 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 7:16:41 PM

Wororo wrote:
RECEIVED THIS POWERFUL MESSAGE VIA WHATSAPP...

What would happen if you woke up tomorrow and found that your boss had doubled your salary?

Well, on January 5, 1914, Henry Ford doubled salaries for all his employees. That simple fact revolutionized the auto industry. Ford's actions may not have been led by altruistic intentions but he realized that an economy that works for only a few is no economy at all.

It is of no use to be the only well-off person in your family or among your friends. It is of no-use to be super rich in a society of poor people.

This is already back-firing for the elites in Kenya . At first they thought; "if i have a good job, can afford to drive a good car and sleep in a good apartment, I just don't care what happens with the rest."

Little did they know that this just made their lives worse in the longterm. Henry Ford doubled his employees' salaries so they could afford to buy the cars they manufactured. That act alone created market for his products and profits more than trippled.

The economy is a circular flow. One man's expense is another man's income. If you are an entrepreneur and all your neighbours are broke, then who will buy your products?

If all your neighbours are unemployed, then who will guarantee your safety? Yes, Kenya elites, it is lonely at the top.

You still don't wonder why you can't freely use that smart phone in a taxi with open windows?

Instead of teaching your relatives to fish, you conditioned them to become dependent on you. Now when you make that money, you can't keep any of it. Because they will all be scouting for it. Everyone will be asking to make your contribution to something. Karma is indeed wrong. .

You see a job opportunity and don't tell your friends about it. You want to be a big fish in a small lake. Yeah?

You would rather pay for a foreign service than a Kenyan service? You would rather buy foreign music, honey, than Kenyan made?

You would rather kill Family Bank a Kenyan owned bank where the owner has invested 99.9 percent of all his earnings in Kenya. And you are comfortable with empowering foreign banks that don't even own their headquarters. They simply rent and take out all the profits. And you think you will get to middle income? Huh.

This culture is just sickening. It is only in this country where people are comfortable owning too much of a small thing than owning a small share of a big thing. This scarcity mindset is what is killing us.

We pride in building mansions in our villages in a sea of mud and wattle houses. And in the end we pay for it. With insecurity, with deaths.

It makes no sense to have majority poor and few rich. It always back fires. It makes no sense to have the only beautiful girlfriend among all your friends. It will backfire. They will all be rooting for her. See?

It is this simple common sense that we have failed to grasp. We waste time mastering all sorts of economic theories and wonder why we have this growth without actual development.

You educate your kids abroad and are comfortable leaving other kids with a failed education system. In the end when you get that accident, you will be rushed to that hospital with a poorly educated Kenyan doctor.

You build bad roads then get massacred by the same roads. What goes around comes around. The inventor of the Guilottine suffered at the same hands. You pay your Kenyan teachers poorly and expect them to produce awesome graduates? Really?

I hope we soon get some common sense and start caring about the man next door. And make sure everyone is earning their worth. And make sure when we do work, we do it excellently.

If you are employed, give your work the best of efforts. If your boss succeeds, you too succeed. If he earns more, he can afford to pay you more and hire even more people.

If you see an opportunity, notify your friends or family members.

I told people that I would be the happiest if all my family members are much richer than me. That means if I had a business, they would invest in it.

But here you are, all your friends are broke and it is the same people you will send invites to your wedding meetings. It is the same people you will ask to fundraise for your medical bills.

Please, please...start doing something to make sure the economy works for everyone regardless of their field. Let it work for a musician, for an artist, for an engineer, for the teacher etc. That is how you build sustainable societies. Let women fight for men's rights and let men fight for women's rights.

Love your neighbour as you love thyself. Is that too hard?

# Shared. Spread it to other Kenyans and lets make our country an equitable one.

What a shitty write-up, most likely written by some naive university kid or someone who is just an idiot. The economic relationships the write-up is trying to link are as different as day and night, coz they mix micro and macro economic issues.

The basic economic principle is the rationality of the consumer, meaning you make decisions that best favour you (as an individual or a family unit).

The bit about societal welfare is macroeconomics and is best left for the govt of the day to influence through policies.

I can't feel the power.
#2000 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 7:24:27 PM

Alternative narrative:
https://www.standardmedi...-doom-are-falling-apart

Standard on occasion do so good well researched write-ups I have to admit. The first article I have seen in awhile that approached this interest cap with an open mind. Seems bankers have run out of money to give journos to help them cry wolf.