Golden State Warriors
Alba
#61 Posted : Tuesday, June 13, 2017 6:22:10 PM

Durants win is the most hollow victory in the history of the NBA
#62 Posted : Tuesday, June 13, 2017 6:33:44 PM

Alba wrote:

Fans Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly delusional. Its a job to him..the more the money, the titles, the better.
#63 Posted : Wednesday, June 14, 2017 10:18:03 AM

Alba wrote:

You are not serious, did you see how happy the guy was/is. Plus he won finals MVP, meaning he really wanted that victory.
#64 Posted : Wednesday, June 14, 2017 10:37:20 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Alba wrote:

You are not serious, did you see how happy the guy was/is. Plus he won finals MVP, meaning he really wanted that victory.

Sometimes back i realy wanted the oklahoma city to winbut the maverics took it. Now he has done it.
Does this mean that fan loyalty in the nba especially for us foreigners is for individuals and not teams?

Na wewe unasema hollow meza wembe . I have never been a fan of mr james
Alba
#65 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 2:57:37 PM

Im not a Lebron fan or an NBA fan.

Lakini joining the team that beat you so you could win the championship is the antithesis of what past NBA legends have done.

Back in the 1980s, the Pistons used to be beaten by the Celtics all the time. But neither Isaiah Thomas nor Joe Dumars joined the Celtics. They continued to work on their game until they finally overcame the Celtics and won the championships.

By the 1990s, Jordan and the Bulls had lost to the Pistons twice. He did not join the Pistons. Instead the bulls worked on their weakness until they were able to beat the Pistons.

Back to this decade, there is nothing wrong with super-teams. Lakini joining a team that won 72 games and would have won the championship without you, makes this a hollow victory.

Its like donating millions to Bill Gates who is already the richest man.

Also Durant has ruined the competitive balance in the league. Yaani the Warriors won 16 playoff games and lost only one. Which means no more exciting 7 game series. No team can compete against them. Upuzi.

Hayo ni maoni yangu.
#66 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 3:08:14 PM

Alba wrote:

Lakini joining the team that beat you so you could win the championship is the antithesis of what past NBA legends have done.

Back in the 1980s, the Pistons used to be beaten by the Celtics all the time. But neither Isaiah Thomas nor Joe Dumars joined the Celtics. They continued to work on their game until they finally overcame the Celtics and won the championships.

By the 1990s, Jordan and the Bulls had lost to the Pistons twice. He did not join the Pistons. Instead the bulls worked on their weakness until they were able to beat the Pistons.

Back to this decade, there is nothing wrong with super-teams. Lakini joining a team that won 72 games and would have won the championship without you, makes this a hollow victory.

Also Durant has ruined the competitive balance in the league. Yaani the Warriors won 16 playoff games and lost only one. Which means no more exciting 7 game series. No team can compete against them. Upuzi.

Hayo ni maoni yangu.

sasa... nani aliwaambia wajifunge?
#67 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 3:23:31 PM

Lebron left Cleveland Cavaliers to Miami Heat to win the championship and then went back to Cavs
#68 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 3:30:14 PM

Alba wrote:

Hayo ni maoni yangu.

Until all of a sudden, someone emerges from somewhere and they can. Relax, its a they-come-they-go kind of thing. Wasn't it the same story with James, Wade and Bosh? In more familiar circles (soccer),...the trio of Suarez, Messi and Neymar was for a spell unbeatable. Real Madrid clipped them in the league and CL ....Spain's tiki taka was the bees knees in World and European football 2008 to circa 2012 ...then in roars Germany with a game so clinical that mathematical equations can be used to summarize it ...
Wacha hawa GSW wa-enjoy.
#69 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 4:46:40 PM

Alba wrote:

Hayo ni maoni yangu.

My fren, its not that simple. As has been said elsewhere, Lebron was the first to create a super team with the Miami Heat. Even currently, the cavs are still very good with 3 allstars and they generally run through teams in the East with little to no opposition.

Then there is the matter of salary cap which is meant to balance talent across the league. Cavs have burst the salary cap while surprise suprise, GSW are still within the salary cap, meaning all those stars at cavs have sacrificed millions of earnings to go for a ring. Unlike Lebron who first takes his max, signs short term contracts with exit clauses that make it impossible for his teams to plan into the future and throws a tantrum asking for more players to stack his team every time they lose.

I am very happy he lost to Durant
#70 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 5:24:59 PM

And GSW might not be going to trump house though it has been a tradition since time immemorial, why do sportspersons in US hate trump as such?
wazuaguest
#71 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 7:02:08 PM

If you put yourself in the players shoes,you are the best in your generation and not win anything is sad.Yet you give sweat and blood training and playing.When your great grand children read about you they should read you won something.In football Thiery Henry left Arsenal in search of a champions league trophy and he got it at Barca.When his name is mentioned they say he is a Champions league winner.That matters.
Africa belongs to Africans.
#72 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 7:16:04 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
If you put yourself in the players shoes,you are the best in your generation and not win anything is sad.Yet you give sweat and blood training and playing.When your great grand children read about you they should read you won something.In football Thiery Henry left Arsenal in search of a champions league trophy and he got it at Barca.When his name is mentioned they say he is a Champions league winner.That matters.

Good point right there Applause Applause Applause
Alba
#73 Posted : Saturday, June 17, 2017 8:24:57 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

Good point right there Applause Applause Applause

Comparing basketball and football is bogus. In basketball, the impact of a player is more significant. Thats why players are measured based on how many championships they win.

Rather than provide a football example. lets focus on basketball. Give me one example of a player who left his original team while still in his prime to join the team that had beaten him in the previous year.
Alba
#74 Posted : Saturday, June 17, 2017 8:27:52 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

My fren, its not that simple. As has been said elsewhere, Lebron was the first to create a super team with the Miami Heat. Even currently, the cavs are still very good with 3 allstars and they generally run through teams in the East with little to no opposition.

Then there is the matter of salary cap which is meant to balance talent across the league. Cavs have burst the salary cap while surprise suprise, GSW are still within the salary cap, meaning all those stars at cavs have sacrificed millions of earnings to go for a ring. Unlike Lebron who first takes his max, signs short term contracts with exit clauses that make it impossible for his teams to plan into the future and throws a tantrum asking for more players to stack his team every time they lose.

Actually the first super team created was the Celtics with Garnett, Allen, Pierce and Rondot

The difference between Lebron joining the heat and Durant joining the Warriors is that Durant joined a team that was already the best in the league. That team would have won the championship with or without Durant.
#75 Posted : Monday, June 19, 2017 7:18:58 AM

Alba wrote:

Hayo ni maoni yangu.

now it is up to individual players to create competitive balance in the league? while at it maybe lebron should move to a weaker team to create such a balance. nonsense on stilts.
#76 Posted : Monday, June 19, 2017 9:32:22 AM

Alba wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Actually the first super team created was the Celtics with Garnett, Allen, Pierce and Rondot

The difference between Lebron joining the heat and Durant joining the Warriors is that Durant joined a team that was already the best in the league. That team would have won the championship with or without Durant.

And you know this how? The same team without Durant lost to Cavaliers in the finals the previous year even after breaking records for most wins in a season. They were still best that year going by that statistic. You may have theories and scenarios of could-be could-have-been but they are pointless. It isn't done until its done.
Alba
#77 Posted : Monday, June 19, 2017 3:07:28 PM

quicksand wrote:

And you know this how? The same team without Durant lost to Cavaliers in the finals the previous year even after breaking records for most wins in a season. They were still best that year going by that statistic. You may have theories and scenarios of could-be could-have-been but they are pointless. It isn't done until its done.

Last year the warriors were leading the series 3-1. Then Draymond Green got suspended for game 5. That opened up an opportunity for the Cavs. Chances are that if Draymond Green was not suspended, the warriors would have won game 5
Alba
#78 Posted : Monday, June 19, 2017 3:19:32 PM

mkenyan wrote:

now it is up to individual players to create competitive balance in the league? while at it maybe lebron should move to a weaker team to create such a balance. nonsense on stilts.

Yes it is indeed players are more respected when they take on a challenge instead of taking the easy way out. Put on your thinking hat bro. Do you like to a watch secondary schools compete against primary schools?
Do you want to watch a heavyweight boxer fight a middleweight?.
I think most people want to watch evenly matched teams compete.

That's why Paul Pierce said Durants move was like joining bullies instead of fighting them

And Stephen A smith called Durant's move weak and running away from a challenge
hamburglar
#79 Posted : Thursday, July 13, 2017 7:51:24 PM

A little controversy. Could KD be the best player in the league at this point?

I know Lebron is a beast but KD seems unstoppable especially playing alongside those other Dubs.

Westbrook is explosive, Steph can shoot the lights out and the beard can score in bunches, but I honestly feel like KD can do anything he chooses to on the court at this point in his career.

What an exciting time to be an NBA fan. So many good players. A time when a superstar player like Damien Lillard doesn't make the all star game speaks volumes.

Too many good players. Devin Booker just dropped 70 points in a game last season, and he isn't even in the top 30 of the best players in the league. Lol. Good times.

#80 Posted : Friday, July 14, 2017 10:38:38 AM

Alba wrote:
mkenyan wrote:

Yes it is indeed players are more respected when they take on a challenge instead of taking the easy way out. Put on your thinking hat bro. Do you like to a watch secondary schools compete against primary schools?
Do you want to watch a heavyweight boxer fight a middleweight?.
I think most people want to watch evenly matched teams compete.

That's why Paul Pierce said Durants move was like joining bullies instead of fighting them

And Stephen A smith called Durant's move weak and running away from a challenge

That's a bit like being a middle level manager in a tier 2 bank and then a conglomerate comes knocking with a directorship offer and you turn them down ....or having an immaculately maintained car which an acquaintance wants but also some ruthless collector is willing to pay 3 times as much as your acquaintance .... cause you know ...respect and principles.
Its business. If you can have such choices in your sphere and honestly choose the path of less gain, then sure,...you have earned a place on the high pedestal that allows you to critique others who place their interests first.