wazua Sat, Apr 27, 2024

5 Pages123>»
Pale blue dot
#1 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 1:15:20 PM

This is planet Earth, our home, taken from a distance of nearly 4 billion miles as the little space craft Voyager 1 was on the verge of leaving our solar system, as it was on the edge of our Solar System it decided to take one last photo of our planet and yet looking at this photo reminds me just how small we are.

Perhaps one of the most intriguing, captivating and humbling speeches was made after thinking about this "pale blue dot"

“Look again at that dot. That's here. That's home. That's us. On it everyone you love, everyone you know, everyone you ever heard of, every human being who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilization, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every "superstar," every "supreme leader," every saint and sinner in the history of our species lived there-on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.

The Earth is a very small stage in a vast cosmic arena. Think of the endless cruelties visited by the inhabitants of one corner of this pixel on the scarcely distinguishable inhabitants of some other corner, how frequent their misunderstandings, how eager they are to kill one another, how fervent their hatreds. Think of the rivers of blood spilled by all those generals and emperors so that, in glory and triumph, they could become the momentary masters of a fraction of a dot.

Our posturings, our imagined self-importance, the delusion that we have some privileged position in the Universe, are challenged by this point of pale light. Our planet is a lonely speck in the great enveloping cosmic dark. In our obscurity, in all this vastness, there is no hint that help will come from elsewhere to save us from ourselves.

The Earth is the only world known so far to harbor life. There is nowhere else, at least in the near future, to which our species could migrate. Visit, yes. Settle, not yet. Like it or not, for the moment the Earth is where we make our stand.

It has been said that astronomy is a humbling and character-building experience. There is perhaps no better demonstration of the folly of human conceits than this distant image of our tiny world. To me, it underscores our responsibility to deal more kindly with one another, and to preserve and cherish the pale blue dot, the only home we've ever known.”
#2 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 1:24:06 PM

This is planet Earth, our home, taken from a distance of nearly 4 billion miles as the little space craft Voyager 1 was on the verge of leaving our solar system, as it was on the edge of our Solar System it decided to take one last photo of our planet and yet looking at this photo reminds me just how small we are.

Perhaps one of the most intriguing, captivating and humbling speeches was made after thinking about this "pale blue dot"

“Look again at that dot. That's here. That's home. That's us. On it everyone you love, everyone you know, everyone you ever heard of, every human being who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilization, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every "superstar," every "supreme leader," every saint and sinner in the history of our species lived there-on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.

The Earth is a very small stage in a vast cosmic arena. Think of the endless cruelties visited by the inhabitants of one corner of this pixel on the scarcely distinguishable inhabitants of some other corner, how frequent their misunderstandings, how eager they are to kill one another, how fervent their hatreds. Think of the rivers of blood spilled by all those generals and emperors so that, in glory and triumph, they could become the momentary masters of a fraction of a dot.

Our posturings, our imagined self-importance, the delusion that we have some privileged position in the Universe, are challenged by this point of pale light. Our planet is a lonely speck in the great enveloping cosmic dark. In our obscurity, in all this vastness, there is no hint that help will come from elsewhere to save us from ourselves.

The Earth is the only world known so far to harbor life. There is nowhere else, at least in the near future, to which our species could migrate. Visit, yes. Settle, not yet. Like it or not, for the moment the Earth is where we make our stand.

It has been said that astronomy is a humbling and character-building experience. There is perhaps no better demonstration of the folly of human conceits than this distant image of our tiny world. To me, it underscores our responsibility to deal more kindly with one another, and to preserve and cherish the pale blue dot, the only home we've ever known.”

what if that pale blue dot is a social experiment by alliens?
#3 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 1:29:26 PM

we don't know that.... all we know is THIS IS IT!! in the words of porky pig "Th-th-th-that's all folks!"
Liv
#4 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 2:19:41 PM

Really humbling ..... But there is a God in heaven.... Wherever it is.
TPK
#5 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 2:20:49 PM

And in 5 billion years, the Sun, which will be nearing its death will expand and engulf the Pale Blue dot's orbit, as the charred ember that was once our home vaporizes.
As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
Wakanyugi
#6 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 2:28:54 PM

But it is. Just read the Bible, or most other religious literature.

According to the Bible, we are here for the benefit and pleasure of an Allen called God, who lives somewhere 'up there.' He has issued all sorts of threats and bribes to try and keep us in line. He even sent his boy to sort things out when we made too much of a mess (we promptly nailed him to a piece of wood). But his creation seems to have a diabolical mind of its own. How it will all end no one knows.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#7 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 5:59:33 PM

sisi ni 'watu' wadogo sana!!

That said, why is the area around the 'earth' dark? what about the other planets and objects some even larger than the earth?
#8 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 6:29:54 PM

That said, why is the area around the 'earth' dark? what about the other planets and objects some even larger than the earth?

try and figure out how your ka-quarter in ruai scales hapo Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

the rest is a scattered ray of light from the sun
The photo above was taken by Voyager 1 in 1990 as it sailed away from Earth, more than 4 billion miles in the distance. Having completed its primary mission, Voyager at that time was on its way out of the Solar System, on a trajectory of approximately 32 degrees above the plane of the Solar System. Ground Control issued a command that directed the distant space craft to turn around and, looking back, take photos of each of the planets it had visited. From Voyager's vast distance, the Earth was captured as a infinitesimal point of light , actually smaller than a single pixel of the photo. The image was taken with a narrow angle camera lens, with the Sun quite close to the field of view. Quite by accident, the Earth was captured in one of the scattered light rays caused by taking the image at an angle so close to the Sun.

By the way just because all the planets revolve the sun on the same plane (more or less) - they are not aways at the scope of each other.

ps... the vastness of space makes everything pale. The large planets we are talking about? for example - Jupiter with it's 1300 times the volume of the earth
and everything else? can fit between the earth and the moon!!!

TAFAKARI HAYO!! the planets are really small small things in the vastness of space. What we consider big is really... small.
Tara
#9 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 7:09:03 PM

That said, why is the area around the 'earth' dark?

I think the darkness has to do with the expanding universe after the big bang.
Taurrus
#10 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 7:30:05 PM

Ngai! wacha tu turishe kuku!
Taurrus
#11 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 7:32:11 PM

Ni kwasababu ya ODM
#12 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 7:32:12 PM

try and figure out how your ka-quarter in ruai scales hapo Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

hata jamaa wa mashamba atashangaa! smile

By the way just because all the planets revolve the sun on the same plane (more or less) - they are not aways at the scope of each other.

My thinking is Voyager 1 traveled away from the sun right? in that case at such far distances at the edge of the solar system, it should be able to capture a number of objects in one view/scope.

Same way at a space shuttle an astronaut can view more than one continents unlike one in a plane..or how hubble captured other galaxies in totality. sijui kama unanielewa.

#13 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 8:59:13 PM

hata jamaa wa mashamba atashangaa! smile

My thinking is Voyager 1 traveled away from the sun right? in that case at such far distances at the edge of the solar system, it should be able to capture a number of objects in one view/scope.

Same way at a space shuttle an astronaut can view more than one continents unlike one in a plane..or how hubble captured other galaxies in totality. sijui kama unanielewa.

it's a matter of perspective - when focusing in the narrow area of the solar system that our planet is in - you may not see other dots unless they are in that narrow view. and again - may be they are there - we just don't have them marked. i.e. here is mars - but i seriously doubt they are anything close. in the vastness that is space.

the one thing that we really don't understand well (I think we think we do but we may not is gravity) the sun's gravity is still felt that far off. look up the scales here on a scaled down version of the solar system where the distance from the sun to earth is 9.71 m - the distance to where is object is would be almost 300meters and with that view point the expanse of what is before you (the field of view) would be overwhelming unless you focused on one small area (where the said blue marble is present) and the very fact that they are not seen here shows how far they are from each other
#14 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 9:05:45 PM

The wide-angle photograph of the sun and inner planets (not visible), with Pale Blue Dot superimposed on the left, Venus to its right

the superimposed image is
#15 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 9:12:07 PM

The wide-angle photograph of the sun and inner planets (not visible), with Pale Blue Dot superimposed on the left, Venus to its right

the superimposed image is

now this makes sense..lol

but how they figured that is earth, venus etc from the dots lol.I assume Voyager 1 took other zoomed in pics for clarity.
#16 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 9:19:26 PM

Jesus

The Voyager Golden Records are phonograph records that were included aboard both Voyager spacecraft launched in 1977. They contain sounds and images selected to portray the diversity of life and culture on Earth, and are intended for any intelligent extraterrestrial life form, or for future humans, who may find them. Neither Voyager spacecraft is heading toward any particular star, but Voyager 1 will pass within 1.6 light-years of the star Gliese 445, currently in the constellation Camelopardalis, in about 40,000 years.
#17 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 9:35:12 PM

Jesus

The Voyager Golden Records are phonograph records that were included aboard both Voyager spacecraft launched in 1977. They contain sounds and images selected to portray the diversity of life and culture on Earth, and are intended for any intelligent extraterrestrial life form, or for future humans, who may find them. Neither Voyager spacecraft is heading toward any particular star, but Voyager 1 will pass within 1.6 light-years of the star Gliese 445, currently in the constellation Camelopardalis, in about 40,000 years.

Will it survive that long? by the way 1.6 light years = 9.3 Trillion Miles!
#18 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 10:04:59 PM

Jesus

Will it survive that long? by the way 1.6 light years = 9.3 Trillion Miles!

that is long term thinking.... on a side note - are there any startrek fans out there? There was the V'ger movie which was actually based on a voyager spacecraft getting lost and coming back.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2016 8:58:36 AM

here is an interesting analogy - If the sun was a grapefruit, Earth would be the size of a grain of raw sugar 50 ft away!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2016 9:20:10 AM

Illusion. Very subtle one at that.

@Wakanyugi ...