wazua Tue, May 7, 2024

5 Pages123>»
Black Jews AKA lost tribes of Israel
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:00:12 AM

I have always been fascinated by just how many african societies consider themselves "jews" or "jew-like".
It is not uncommon to hear Kyuks referring to themselves as the jews of kenya.
The Pokot consider themselves the lost tribe of israel
The Lemba people of Zimbabwe consider themselves the lost tribe of israel
The igbo of Nigeria as well,...
Heck I even heard a friend claim that Liberia is "Africa's israel".
Some Ghanians consider themselves jewish... some Senegalese...
I am sure the list goes on
What is with the obsession... Accept wewe ni mwafrika!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:16:23 AM

I have always been fascinated by just how many african societies consider themselves "jews" or "jew-like".
It is not uncommon to hear Kyuks referring to themselves as the jews of kenya.
The Pokot consider themselves the lost tribe of israel
The Lemba people of Zimbabwe consider themselves the lost tribe of israel
The igbo of Nigeria as well,...
Heck I even heard a friend claim that Liberia is "Africa's israel".
Some Ghanians consider themselves jewish... some Senegalese...
I am sure the list goes on
What is with the obsession... Accept wewe ni mwafrika!

who said a mwafrika cannot be a jew?

You can be a jew through self identification or practicing their culture and religion.

If many christians consider themselves descendants of Abraham, then all christians are jews too!
Anti_Burglar
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:20:19 AM

On the other hand, Iḿ always fascinated by those who cling on to the 'African' brand. You see some Europeans insisting they are 'African'. Even some Americans who easily trace their lineages back to Europe insist they are 'African'. Look at the American president. For all intents and purposes he is American yet still 'remembers' his 'African' roots. These 'African' labels is superficial. That is the evolution of it. We must accept that 'African' is nothing and move on.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:22:36 AM

Wakorino are the lost tribe of Yisrael.

#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:29:19 AM

Black jewry is fascinating... there is a book about it...
apparently the Ashanti, Tutsi, Igbo, Zulu, Beta Israel, Maasai and many others claim to be jews...
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:31:01 AM

apparently the Ashanti, Tutsi, Igbo, Zulu, Beta Israel, Maasai and many others claim to be jews...

Who is a jew? Is it by birth, religion, culture, geography etc?
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:31:09 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

On the other hand, Iḿ always fascinated by those who cling on to the 'African' brand. You see some Europeans insisting they are 'African'. Even some Americans who easily trace their lineages back to Europe insist they are 'African'. Look at the American president. For all intents and purposes he is American yet still 'remembers' his 'African' roots. These 'African' labels is superficial. That is the evolution of it. We must accept that 'African' is nothing and move on.

wewe...sasa...wewe! anzisha thread yako na hiyo topic!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 10:34:43 AM

Who is a jew? Is it by birth, religion, culture, geography etc?

apparently...By claim! if you look different from the people around you. if you have distinct cultures from those around you, if you have beaten them in war over and over again. Then Christianity shows up on your door step... you automatically associate with the conquests of the Israelites then draw an imaginary line between the so called lost tribes of israel (Samarians) and you... and then teach that to your kids... a couple of generations later - everyone has internalized the claim.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 11:08:22 AM

I thought some Kenyan tribes have tried hard to show how they are descended from ancient Egyptians

The Kikuyu, Maasai, Kalenjin and Luo . Philip Ochieng keeps writing about how the Luo were from Egypt...

Hiyo ya Israel, apart from drawing comparison in experiences tendencies etc sijaskia saana
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 11:15:54 AM

I thought some Kenyan tribes have tried hard to show how they are descended from ancient Egyptians

The Kikuyu, Maasai, Kalenjin and Luo . Philip Ochieng keeps writing about how the Luo were from Egypt...

Hiyo ya Israel, apart from drawing comparison in experiences tendencies etc sijaskia saana

there is also the who Egypt claim as well... I think the Wangas from Mumias also claim walitoka 'misri'
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 11:20:24 AM

here is another bunch http://gnosticwarrior.com/beda.html

some arabs claim that during the exodus some hebrews got lost and created the "tahayat".

the keyword is "isolation"... every group that claims is somehow isolated or feels isolated from the larger group. some claim to be because of their perceived superiority.
majimaji
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:28:48 PM

I'm Dorobo and proud. The Dorobo also were hunter gatherers that occupied parts forests around Karura, forest road, ngong forest. Absorbed by the Kikuyu and Maasai, this groups together with the Gumba and Athi people have disappeared from history. Fact is, the kikuyu did not name most areas of muranga and nyeri, most place names there have no meaning in kikuyu. Also most kikuyu names have no meaning in kikuyu, reason being that they were adapted from earlier settlers.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:39:47 PM

majimaji wrote:

I'm Dorobo and proud. The Dorobo also were hunter gatherers that occupied parts forests around Karura, forest road, ngong forest. Absorbed by the Kikuyu and Maasai, this groups together with the Gumba and Athi people have disappeared from history. Fact is, the kikuyu did not name most areas of muranga and nyeri, most place names there have no meaning in kikuyu. Also most kikuyu names have no meaning in kikuyu, reason being that they were adapted from earlier settlers.

sshhh... the guys who believe they originated from mukurwe wa nyagathanga will hear and realise their history is rubbish. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:41:05 PM

Bottom line is that human race belong to one group either from a creation perspective or evolution perspective.

So all those people claim to be jews,egyptians etc are not wrong
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:48:52 PM

This isn't a peculiarity of Africans. Jewish claims have spread all over the globe. All are in the fray... but why?

A starting point would be:

During the Age of Discovery, European explorers attempted to connect many peoples with whom they first came into contact to the Ten Lost Tribes, sometimes in conjunction with attempts to introduce Christian missionaries. The first person to identify the lost tribes with an East Asian nation was João Rodriguez (1561-1634), a Jesuit missionary and interpreter. In 1608, he argued that the both the Japanese and the Chinese descended from the Lost Tribes of Israel. He believed that the Chinese sages Confucius and Lao-tse took their ideas from Judaism.

That is, the claim could be driven by a natural inclination to seek legitimacy by identifying with the predominant social forces in a world.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:50:39 PM

majimaji wrote:

sshhh... the guys who believe they originated from mukurwe wa nyagathanga will hear and realise their history is rubbish. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

No history is rubbish.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 1:53:59 PM

majimaji wrote:

No history is rubbish.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly right!! the interesting thing about history is that the nearer it is to the current period of time the more sane it is... if you start turning back the clock... it becomes more ridiculous and weird until it becomes utter rubbish.
kayhara
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 2:01:37 PM

You should catch the 'African' experts in the many vernacular tv stations, the 'elders' give some questionable facts, ati ugali and githeri was a traditional Kikuyu food, many names of places in Kikuyu are just corruption of English names eg karatina.
To Each His Own
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 2:07:11 PM

Kenyans are the Jah people of the Revelations and Prophecies of the Torah/Old Testament in King James Version. But this need a bit of reading my friend!!! Otherwise whether by evolution or biology, we are the progenitors of the Jews and Arabs, they got neanderthal somewhere but they are our kids, by astronomy, the telling of time as we know it could not have started anywhere other than on the equator, just as many religious historians have said this is Eden, "the center of God's garden", that was what those archaeologist/anthropologist who chose the name Kenya knew, Kenya really means Eden, Jahs Land we are the "fathers" of the Palestinians and Israelis", these are just our children, and chosen to bring peace unto them, otherwise the Holy passages point to Kenyans being the Jah people even in their 42 tribes including "others". As the dorobo up there has pointed out, they are a Key ingredient, in the Holy mix...it is true..Pray ...you are living in Zionsmile
A New Kenya
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2016 2:21:49 PM

Among the wise men who went to see Jesus,one of them was black. He offered myrrh as a gift which is said to have been used by the black community only.