wazua Fri, Apr 26, 2024

5 Pages123>»
SK Charity Club: A call for help
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 07, 2016 10:23:36 PM

Dear Wazuans, as many of you may know,we have been supporting needy students in achieving their academic dreams through paying for their school fees and facilitating their school journey by paying for their shopping, fare and any other necessity that may arise in course of their studies.

Every year a student is identified. We have been supporting just one student per year. However, this year we were faced with a unique situation where we had so many needy students. After thorough vetting which included visiting the kids at their homes, we have come to a situation where we have 3 new students whom we found extremely needy yet they had performed very well. These three are in addition to last year's kid whom we still have to support this year through to the forth form.

Our challenge is that for us to comfortably do their shopping and buy them uniform, we require about KES 200k. We have so far been able to raise about 100k.

This is therefore a passionate appeal to Wazuans. We are begging you to contribute whatever amount you may have towards the kitty. You can send the money to our treasurer via Mpesa number 0721409351.

We are positive that the Wazua Spirit we have known these many years we have been around this family we come through to enable us take these kids to school and support them for the next four years.

Thank you very much for all who have been contributing. For those who would want to officially join the group, please drop an email to nakujua@gmail.com.

Thank you very much, and thank very much in deed.
#2 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 6:00:48 AM

mobile.nation.co.ke/news/Poverty-locking-bright-learners-from-Form-One/-/1950946/3066812/-/format/xhtml/-/ljjf3qz/-/index.html

Kudos clubsk charity for doing the best you can in investing in future of needy Kenyan kids
marko
#3 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 6:57:46 AM

mobile.nation.co.ke/news/Poverty-locking-bright-learners-from-Form-One/-/1950946/3066812/-/format/xhtml/-/ljjf3qz/-/index.html

Kudos clubsk charity for doing the best you can in investing in future of needy Kenyan kids

A very good cause. Let me do my part to fulfill it. Won't you?
WHO DARES WINS
#4 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 8:28:27 AM

Thanks @Washiku for the post. And thank you to ALL who have kept the charity club running for the several years it has!

Just to add on to what @Washiku has said.. If anyone can also support in kind in terms of shopping, we would appreciate. The kids need mattresses, sanduku, toiletries, Mathematical sets, scientific calculators, blankets, mosquito nets etc This can be donated and we'll organize for pickup of the items

One can also fully kit the child in terms of uniform. This is about 6-7000/- per child

We know we have very kind hearts here and we truly appreciate your support in advance

Kindly email us via email on mpolekabisa@gmail.com OR nakujua@gmail.com OR reggyzoe@yahoo.com

The reporting date for all kids is Wednesday 10th Feb. If we raise the required amount + shopping before then, we'll update here Asap

Many thanks in advance
#5 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 8:42:43 AM

Thanks Guys...keep sending. Will be sharing brief notes about the kids soon and what their visits found out. Let me start with Omondi who was visited by Leona.

Good Morning team

I made a visit to Dennis Omondi's home in Mathare North yesterday, and although i already updated the details on the whatsapp group, I figured it's good to have it here too for those not on whatsapp and for our records too

Dennis Omondi had 380 marks. He was at Drive-in primary school. A city council school on the Mathare 4A side. He's a courteous hard working boy and his Mum told me he used to perform even better but seeing as most of last year the teachers were on strike, he did not manage to study very well. They live in a small house, quite dark even during the day(explains why the photos i took are of poor quality, you would think it was at night), and they don't have electricity

Omondi's Mum is a widow, and she does menial jobs to keep them going - whatever job comes by,she does it. Her husband was a mechanic and he collapsed and died last year, she seems to have not gotten over her husbands death yet so when she got emotional i did not prod this path further. She has 4 kids. Eldest is in Form 4 at Ruaraka high school(day school). Omondi is the 2nd born, 3rd born is in class 6 and last born is 3yrs. She was stressed up yesterday since she had rent arrears and had even exhausted her rent deposit so the Landlord had given them until yesterday to move out. When i got there, the kids had just come back from washing/preparing their new house. A smaller house at Darajani near the river, where she would at least afford for the time being

Dennis Omondi has a calling letter from Kisumu boys and 2 others from private schools in Central. The annual fee for Kisumu boys is Ksh 61,554 for form 1. This is minus the uniforms and shopping. I asked Mama Omondi what she had planned IF they didn't get sponsorship, and she said she had discussed with Dennis that he would have to go to their rural area and attend a day school there, and she would work day & night to afford even that day school. Dennis has been frantically trying to find some means of sponsorship on his own since he doesn't think a day school would enable him go to University yet he plans to study hard and someday get a good job that would help him get his family off poverty. I smiled when he told me he had even planned to walk around and request people to buy him even 1 shirt, 1 sock, 1 pair of shoes etc for his journey to boarding school. He's such a determined little person. With the help of his teachers, he applied for Equity, Family bank and one other sponsorship but none came through

The reporting date for Kisumu boys is strictly 10th Feb. after that the slot is given to those on the waiting list

I believe the above summary is sufficient. But in case i've forgotten any info, i'll be glad to answer any questions. Attached herein are the details from Kisumu boys

Thanks and regards,
Leona

#6 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 8:48:31 AM

Second Boy is called Brian. Enock had to go all the way to Busia. See below his report:

Hi All,

Just an update on what went on during the visit to Brian's home on Sunday the 24th, I will just try and state as much as possible not in any given order. so forgive me for that.

His home or rather his grandmother's place is at a place called Lun'ganyiro around the border between Kakamega and Busia counties. To get there one has to connect from Bungoma and get a Matatu heading to Busia, especially those passing through nambale. If driving, from Bungoma one takes the road to Mumias and take a right turn at a place called Mayoni on to the Mumias - Busia road straight to Lung'anyiro.
From the main lung'anyiro center one moves around 500 meters to another center called El-Nino and from there you branch in and walk a distance approx 500 meters to the homestead.

A bit of background on Brian, at least what I managed to gather; his father passed away when he was about 2 years old and from there he was taken in by an uncle (his mothers brother), the uncle them moved to Nairobi where Brian attended uhuru gardens primary school upto to class 5, and then he was moved to a boarding school (st augustine, hope I got that right) back in Mumius, where he sat his KCPE.

I managed to meet the Grandmother and Brian's Mother during the visit, they were separate because the Mother happened to have been admitted to Matugu sub county hospital on Friday, and she requested that I pass by the hospital to see her, which I did since she is the only parent and it would have been good to talk to her and also because she had insisted that at least I pass by to see her.

Primary school fees was being paid by relatives contributions, well I got a bit confused by that, so I asked if the relatives would continue to ay for high school but I got the impression that help was not forthcoming from the same, I did not dig much into it since it was getting to personal family issues.

Looking at the immediate family of Brian, his grandmother who is not working and definitely can not afford the school fees, and then Brians Mum who is sickly, is not working and can not afford his school fees, but there is an extended family who maybe can afford to see him through though I don't know the willingness from the that side, so its a case of 2 extremes, the immediate family that is needy and qualifies for help, and a part of the extended family that maybe can afford, and has been paying his fees for primary school but whose willingness to continue is not certain.

I will leave for all of us to give feedback on that issue.

I arrived at Lung'anyiro health center, where I had been asked to wait at around 10 in the morning and using the contact person, actually the one who notified the group via Leona of Brian's case, a lady called Imani who happens to be Brian's cousin, the ones that had hosted him up to class 5.
They were expecting me later on in the day so my arrival at that time was not expected, the grandmother was at the hospital and since she is the one that had a phone, arrangements were made to have Brian come and pick me, which he did after some time.
He is a very tall boy, taller than me around 5 feet 9 or 10 hapo, dark and slender - just a typical teenage boy. He seemed very quiet and polite, and spoke only when spoken to, and he only asked me what I do. My dressing does not inspire a lot of confidence smile , guess he must have been confused by the khaki trousers wearing man with an old number 7 Spanish football team jersey with the name villa inscribed at the back.

Anyway we got to the home and the grandmother had arrived from the hospital, some little chit chat, also met a couple of neighbors, who to my surprise handed over Brian to me 'tumekupatia kijana wetu', which I quickly countered with a measured refusal, trying to explain that we do not 'pick' the kid, but we just work with the guardians to see them through.

Its just a typical western Kenya homestead, a main mud walled house beautifully painted on the outside with a brick red color, with stone patterns giving the impression of a stone/brick house, and another small mud house which must have been the store. Those sit on roughly half an acre of land, with a well maintained green lawn all of that surrounded by the wonderful silent mashinani atmosphere with lovely tall trees all around as far as the eye could see. Only some faint drum beat could be heard in the distance, which I was to later learn was coming from a church a few homesteads away.

The home visit did not last long since we had to head to the hospital, I just managed to get a sneak preview of Brian's document which he showed me, birth certificates, result slips, some certifications on leadership from him being a prefect in his primary school. I also met a couple of his relatives and a neighbor who happened to be visiting.

Now coming back to the Mother, she has been sick from September last year, and has been in and out of hospital since then, the latest being that she is very sick, at least I happened to visit her, the conditions in the hospital as in most government institutions are not for the faint hearted, the ward was being shared by some very sick people, I saw a kid who was burnt very badly, and some other patients who were sad to say most likely on their death beds, the hygiene and just the condition of the hospital is just dire, the grandmother had mentioned that she had not eaten in the 2 days since the daughters admission and once I got in I understood why.
The moment I got to her bed side all she could manage to mutter to me was that she wanted us to help her kid go to school, all the time tears rolling down her face, as she tried to brief me on her family, the Husband dying and all, she seemed very weak so I made the visit short.

Brian is an only child, and to add to the info the grandfather also died a long time ago, as mentioned Brian got 'called' to Maranda High School and since as he told me letters are no longer sent via the post, but he will have to travel to Mumius where he can go to a cyber and have the same printed out, only then I guess can we know about the admission requirements and school fees, but reporting date should be towards the end of next week or early the week after.

I did not manage to carry y camera around, and unfortunately after the night journey and the constant calls to Imani for directions my phone had already zapped all the juice from the battery, and I guess after seeing the mum in hospital I was just not thinking straight.

I left the hospital at around 1 PM, and made my way back to Bungoma where I boarded a matatu for Nairobi and I safely got home at around midnight.

Please give your feedback and any queries just in case I forgot anything, especially if you feel we should go ahead with the case, if so Iw ill go ahead and get the details on the admission letter and we can plan for the financial part, we would also need to arrange or agree on if we will get some of us escorting him to school, which will need some good amount of planning.

Best Regards,
Enock.
sitaki.kujulikana
#7 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 9:05:04 AM

guys of friday saa ya phombe, donate chupa mbili in cash, na watu wa middle class ya faux pass, don't ignore this thread.
#8 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 9:22:41 AM

Third kid is Ann. She is an orphan living in Machakos with her aunt. See below what the team found out.

#team ann masaku. (Rachel, Hellen,Sue and collins the brother)we left nbi @ 8.00am headed to kyua. kyua is past machakos,masii , katangi in fact ni kitui mwanzo. we arrived at about 11.40. The aunt does manual work and her husband is a watchman ... she has raised 10 k which she is willing to cost share.

#9 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 9:27:14 AM

The fourth kid is now in 2nd form. The team has pushed her for the first year successfully. The support is usually more intense. It includes mentoring the kids, following up on their performance, attending their parents' days etc. It goes beyond the financial/material.

Thank you members who have sacrificed this far to empower the future generation in their small ways.
#10 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 10:15:36 AM

First, let me thank the charity group for a good job they are doing. I know our contributions will greatly impact yon these children. Bright children whose circumstances were about to determine their future but only saved by each and every one of us' generosity. Whatever contribution we make, am sure will go a long long way in changing these children's lives and will be blessed abundantly.... Skip a lunch, take a matatu for a day, pay one less go-karting ride for your kid, share the bottles of your favourite drink by taking two less, and ( I know it is important but..... could you ask your lady if she could trade next Sunday's flowers for a child's life? You might score the 100 mark you are looking for...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ) did I say that? Laughing out loudly, and for those who are writing a cheque to buy their pastor a Range Rover, pay a few coins less, ask for a discount on your phone upgrade and throw to Onesmus and many more.... it's just a small adjustment that means another human being's life. Let's count on each other's support for the sake of these kids.

I stand with the SK Charity.

All finances are accounted for and Onesmus will be updating us on all the financials as he always does. Your contribution is going for a worth course, be rest assured.
#11 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 10:52:20 AM

First, let me thank the charity group for a good job they are doing. I know our contributions will greatly impact yon these children. Bright children whose circumstances were about to determine their future but only saved by each and every one of us' generosity. Whatever contribution we make, am sure will go a long long way in changing these children's lives and will be blessed abundantly.... Skip a lunch, take a matatu for a day, pay one less go-karting ride for your kid, share the bottles of your favourite drink by taking two less, and ( I know it is important but..... could you ask your lady if she could trade next Sunday's flowers for a child's life? You might score the 100 mark you are looking for...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ) did I say that? Laughing out loudly, and for those who are writing a cheque to buy their pastor a Range Rover, pay a few coins less, ask for a discount on your phone upgrade and throw to Onesmus and many more.... it's just a small adjustment that means another human being's life. Let's count on each other's support for the sake of these kids.

All finances are accounted for and Onesmus will be updating us on all the financials as he always does. Your contribution is going for a worth course, be rest assured.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I love the response this far. For all those who are sending. Mungu Awabariki sana. Through your generosity and kindness, a life will be changed for the better, forever.
#12 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 11:43:25 AM

It is more blessed to give....

Digression kidogo (with apologies), it is one thing to continually raise funds, but, like those who've worked in some NGOs can attest,coffers can run dry. It might be worthy raising a lumpsum amount, starting a mbiachara (ata kama ni trading stocks) and having proceeds accruing thereof, going into meeting the childrens expenses. Sorry for digressing.

tnai9
#13 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 2:39:31 PM

Wau, this is nice, I didnt even know it exists..its good to touch a life, even if in the smallest way possible.
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#14 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 9:59:48 PM

Thanks a lot to all who answered our call. We managed to raise almost 50k. This means the school fees is now fully sorted. We only need to close in The gap for shopping and fare. The shopping for form one is usually a bit tasking as you may all know and hence the high cost. Thank thank you thank you for your generosity. You are trully awesome.

The door is still open...if you can squeeze in some cash from your budget, it will go a long way. Keep sending.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 1:53:13 AM

Thanks a lot to all who answered our call. We managed to raise almost 50k. This means the school fees is now fully sorted. We only need to close in The gap for shopping and fare. The shopping for form one is usually a bit tasking as you may all know and hence the high cost. Thank thank you thank you for your generosity. You are trully awesome.

The door is still open...if you can squeeze in some cash from your budget, it will go a long way. Keep sending.

Just reading this. will do my part sometime this week.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 8:05:28 AM

Just reading this. will do my part sometime this week.

Thanks @Harrydre. Your support always welcome.
Ethiteri
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 10:31:26 AM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I love the response this far. For all those who are sending. Mungu Awabariki sana. Through your generosity and kindness, a life will be changed for the better, forever.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

And to you too Washiku.You must be having a" degree" in fundraising.smile

The fire,the zeal,the faith.Wow!

Be blessed abundantly

#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2016 9:22:30 AM

Today is the day.. All our 3 new kids report to school. We pray for journey mercies and for a wonderful 4yrs ahead! God is great...

Vyulya girls for Ann the orphan girl from Masii...

Maranda boys for Brian, the boy with an ailing single Mum from Mumias...

Kisumu boys for Dennis, the boy from Mathare with a widowed Mum....

The above was only possible through team effort. You are all blessed people!

We shall walk with them in this journey, God willing. We shall keep coming back to beg, almost every term. For now, if you have something to spare, please send as we plan for second term. We know its a sacrifice, so whatever amount you can squeeze is welcome.
iKenya
#19 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2016 5:06:54 AM

I am happy, proud and blessed to be part of this journey!
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
PeterReborn
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2016 2:02:07 PM

Today is the day.. All our 3 new kids report to school. We pray for journey mercies and for a wonderful 4yrs ahead! God is great...

Vyulya girls for Ann the orphan girl from Masii...

Maranda boys for Brian, the boy with an ailing single Mum from Mumias...

Kisumu boys for Dennis, the boy from Mathare with a widowed Mum....

The above was only possible through team effort. You are all blessed people!

We shall walk with them in this journey, God willing. We shall keep coming back to beg, almost every term. For now, if you have something to spare, please send as we plan for second term. We know its a sacrifice, so whatever amount you can squeeze is welcome.

Applause Applause Good Job Washiku and team.
I will send through something for the kids.
Are there plans to mentor the kids in addition to the financial assistance?Wazua is rich with individuals who can help the kids choose the right career and guide them on how to build these careers.

Consistency is better than intensity