wazua Sun, Apr 28, 2024

6 Pages<1234>»
Uganda Elections
Alba
#21 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2016 11:33:46 PM

Both PNU and ODM sides of the grand COLLUSION gava campaigned for M7 in 2010

That may be true. I do not know. If they did then shame on them. I will believe you when you provide objective evidence.

I find it difficult to believe that Raila would support museveni yet according to the Nation and according to wikileaks, the two became enemies in 2007

Also the two differed sharply over the issue of migingo island.

My biggest issue however is the act of going to Uganda to encourage ethnic divisions and ethnic based voting. Uganda has had some horrific ethnic cleansing in the past. Museveni himself is guilty of of committing atrocities. Ugandans should be encouraged to vote on issues. Blindly voting on tribal basis is bogus and can lead to ethnic strife.

As I have said many times, blind allegiance to your tribe is silly because only the elites are benefitting. Most wazuans are not eating. Most of you will not see any of the ksh 791 million that has dissappeared from Waiguru's ministry. So your blind loyalty to your tribal chiefs is bogus.

Also blind loyalty to tribal chiefs is the key reason for PEV 2008 and the so called land clashes of the 1990s.

I wish someone would give this message to Ugandans. They should not let Ruto mislead them to a path of destruction.
Alba
#22 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2016 11:53:03 PM

Interestingly enough I was in Kampala during that period of time and my discussions with my designated cab guy on numerous topics including the ethnic dimensions of the election and he told me ethnicity has never been an issue. And yes statements such as

The above bolded part is so bloody important. I always tell people that Kenyans are the worst culprits when it comes to ethnic-oriented voting.

It is true that ethnic considerations also play a part in elections in other countries. In fact many Kenyans are quick to justify their ethnic oriented voting by pointing to other countries. But Kenya has taken ethnic voting to ridiculous levels. So much so that if a person is looting the treasury, they must still be defended if they happen to be from your ethnic group.

As you pointed out, a person's ethnicity is not a key factor in Ugandan elections. The Buganda are the most populous ethnic group yet I am not aware of them ever electing a Buganda president. I am not even sure a Buganda person has come close to being elected.

Same in Nigeria. The Hausa are the most populous group. Yet no Hausa has ever run for election much less be elected. You do not hear Hausa's agitating to have a Hausa president.

Most Naija presidents have been from small ethnic groups including the two most recent. Some like Murtala Mohamed were from ethnic groups that are so small as to be equivalent to the rendille or Kuria. Murtala , a general, was selcted by a panel of other senior army officers.

And in Tanzania, ethnicity is a non-issue in
elections.

When the foreign media such as BBC reports on Kenya elections, all they talk about is which ethnic group supports whom. It reflects very poorly om Kenya.

Now Ruto and his ilk wants to go and poison the neighbour's well. Shameful behaviour.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2016 5:02:30 PM

Tomorrow is the D-Day museveni will be re-erected, if you doubt, sit on a pin!
Iganamagana
#24 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 11:22:23 AM

Tomorrow is the D-Day museveni will be re-erected, if you doubt, sit on a pin!

He stands no chance.......of being defeated in a not so free and unfair elections.
#25 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 11:39:06 AM

Can Uganda really decide?

#26 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 12:42:13 PM

Expect this in 2017 here.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#27 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 12:53:16 PM

sasa kwanini M7 amezima social media lakini
#28 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 12:56:23 PM

#29 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 1:05:24 PM

Ata Turkey wamefunga twirra and fb sijui wassap due to the Bombing of Ankara yesterday.
UKayRUto will do the same in 2017, mos-def.

#30 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 1:27:12 PM

#31 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 1:51:18 PM

#32 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2016 2:57:57 PM

Alba wrote:
@Washiku
Perhaps you should go past the sensational headline and read the article. It does not say RAO asked Ugandans to vote for anyone.

It says he went to Uganda to thank Ugandans for taking him and hosting him when he fled Kenya and also to tell Ugandans to vote wisely.

And the article is from 2010 and has no references to tribal appeals so Im not sure how relevant it is to this discussion.

@Alba, in a logical thinking, if a guy is campaigning and you drive with him in the same car during his campaign trips, what does that mean to you?

#33 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2016 3:45:28 PM

#34 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2016 3:46:56 PM

Early lead with 63%
#35 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2016 4:20:16 PM

Riots in Kpla as EC gives M7 63% lead against KB's 32%.

So jana cops arrested KB and life still went on smoothly, can you imagine the sheer chaos and riots that would rock the country if the leading opposition candidate in Kenya was arrested on the election day? Am still in disbelief, clearly we take politics and main politicians too seriously
#36 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2016 4:55:41 PM

re-arrested
#37 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2016 5:30:29 PM

#38 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:03:05 PM

#39 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:16:07 PM

[quote=Lolest!]M7 takes it with 60%
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/141k6ap/-/index.html[/quote]

I expected 98% with all that government control of electoral process!
#40 Posted : Saturday, February 20, 2016 5:45:26 PM

[quote=Lolest!]M7 takes it with 60%
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/141k6ap/-/index.html[/quote]

I expected 98% with all that government control of electoral process!

It must be made to look really, Otherwise anything above 70% would have seemed to be rigged