wazua Mon, Apr 29, 2024

5 Pages«<2345>
rabbit farming
#61 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 8:28:00 AM

I don't have a month,but I don't have a choice either. Please send me the contacts. I will call her immeadiately if you email me the contacts......The new zealands are too many but I can get their does as i wait for the flemish bucks.....by the way tell her to hurry up on her booklet or I will beat her to it.lol!
#62 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 8:46:00 AM

@Alma,

Check your inbox.

Yombo dhier....!!
#63 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 10:32:00 AM

@Njung'e
You're the bestest:) I knew you'll live up to your word.

Now,Do you have the full writeup(or something closer to it) on email? If yes,pliz sambaza...

Secondly,Every biz has challenges... What are the main huddles when it comes to rabbit keeping? Do they have a ka-ugonjwa that sweeps them away kama zile za kuku?

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
maia
#64 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:12:00 PM

@Leona

If rabbits are neglected,they are susceptible to the following diseases:
1. Coccidiosis:
The disease occurs when feeds are contaminated with dung (especially from poultry) or when they feed on wet fodder. Signs and symptoms of coccidiosis include diarrhoea and inability to feed. The best way to prevent this disease is to ensure the rabbit house is always kept clean. In case of an outbreak of the disease,amaranth seeds and cucurbit (plants of the cucumber family such as cucumbers,zucchini,melons,etc.) seeds are used to provide lost energy and nutrients to the rabbits. Aloe vera ( the white milky liquid in the leaves of the plant ) can be used to prevent or cure the disease.
2. Pasteurelosia:
Occurs when the rabbits are exposed to the wind. It affects the lungs. A sign of this disease is abnormal breathing. The only way to prevent the disease is by protecting
the rabbits from the wind. This can be done by covering the hutch at night.
3. Pneumonia:
This disease arises by exposure of rabbits to wind. It also occurs when the droppings are trapped in the hutch. The decomposing waste releases ammonia which
when inhaled into the lungs causes pneumonia. Protection of rabbits from the wind and making sure that droppings do not build up on the floor will help to protect the animals.
Good housing
Rabbits are very sensitive to diseases if not kept well. They rarely become sick if well taken care of and kept in proper housing and space for rest and movement. The hutch (rabbit house) should be properly built to provide a comfortable and safe place for their stay. The hutch should be 1 meter above ground to keep off predators. Rabbits naturally like dark places. The hutch should be a bit dark but with some light. The leeward side (the side sheltered from wind) should be completely shielded. The material used to build the hutch should not leave any gaps that will allow wind into the
hutch. The floor should be well constructed such that the panels or wood or sticks allow the free flow of urine. Farmers who want to trap the urine or droppings should place a trap (basin)

For more info,pls visit the link below- copy and paste if it doesn't open.
http://www.infonet-biovision.org/
maia
#65 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 12:24:00 PM

@ Alma
This advert is in the May issue of The Organic Farmer magazine (Kenya)
Rabbit Breeder
Quality breeds for fur,leather and meat.To book your quality bunnies please order in advance forplanned breeding.Buy bunnies from our farm and you get yourRabbit Management Handbook FREE.Tel: 0733 893 300,Email: jwathuge@yahoo.com(Call only during the day 8am - 5pm)
#66 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 3:42:00 AM

@Maia,thanks for the info. but to be very honest with you,I don't trust just any rabbit farmer in Kenya. Been bitten once too many times and just getting to know the truth about this industry......I would advice anyone who wishes to do it to be very careful and avoid being led into another industry of matatus....Instead of believing what anyone tells you,just wait for their words to come true.....I know of very many farmers who are being sold very bad breeds and never realising those goals written about....So tread carefully and good luck...Njunge,thanks a lot for the number. I appreciate it.
#67 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 5:38:00 AM

@Alma,

You were meeting this other farmer over the same?.Share your experience.

@Leona,

Sorry for keeping you waiting.I .I'll get you a hard copy as soon a i lay hands on them.

Yombo dhier....!!
mina
#68 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 7:49:00 AM

I'd truly love to get into rabbit farming.

is there like a farm i could visit to see?

or perhaps a booklet of some sorts?

just joined the site.

regards,

Mina

Live life like there is no tomorrow. Love like there is a tomorrow
#69 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 7:59:00 AM

Haiyaíí! This topic was posted by SUKUMA?

The only reason why some people are still alive is coz its illegal to shoot them!!
#70 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 9:21:00 AM

@Kabz
LOL,kwani you thought Sukuma is how blonde?hehee. Ni ka-ambitious videadly!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
mozenrat
#71 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 1:36:00 PM

Yeah,why do you think she sets such high financial standards for potential mates? Kama huna hata NZE,stay away!!
tobz
#72 Posted : Thursday, September 03, 2009 9:30:00 AM

This is a real eye opener. Any more details regarding the market for this meat ?
albertross
#73 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2009 12:18:00 PM

Sir Njun'ge,details to my inbox,please.

This is something I must get into.

nyeri_al@yahoo.com

Thinking is free...............so THINK!!
jackyfoo
#74 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 8:57:00 AM

Hello Everyone
I just joined this discussion forum. Happy to see an active group here.
I will need to review earlier messages before I make comments.
Jacky Foo
http://www.globetree.org/africa/rabbit-net
jackyfoo
#75 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 9:07:00 AM

[mina] September 02,2009 wrote
&gt;is there like a farm i could visit to see?

Hi Mina
did you get any response for your question ?

I have not really visited a rabbit 'farm' in its real sense yet in Kenya,though I have visited several places where people keep rabbits. I initiated 7 rabbit houses
... see http://www.globetree.org...rabbit-net/projects.htm

I have also made a proposal to establish a rabbit farm in Ndekero (near Meru) as a 'social enterprise' with the Nazareth Sisters. This farm would yield 100 rabbits (~100 kg) every month.

...see http://arc.peacecorpsconnect.org/view/653/

+++jf
http://finance.groups.ya....com/group/rabbit4meat/
jackyfoo
#76 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 9:38:00 AM

[alma] July 10,2009 wrote:
&gt;to be very honest with you,I don't trust just any rabbit farmer in Kenya. Been bitten
&gt;once too many times and just getting to know the truth about this industry......
&gt;I would advice anyone who wishes to do it to be very careful and avoid being led
&gt;into another industry of matatus....Instead of believing what anyone tells you,
&gt;just wait for their words to come true.....I know of very many farmers who are
&gt;being sold very bad breeds and never realising those goals written about....
&gt;So tread carefully and good luck...

thank you for sharing this. I note that you are from the USA.

what does 'very bad breeds' mean ?
How do you expect a 'good breed' to perform (compared to a 'bad breed' or the onces you got) ?

++++jf
http://www.globetree.org/africa/ndekero
jackyfoo
#77 Posted : Wednesday, October 28, 2009 9:58:00 AM

[Njung'e] July 08,2009 wrote: &gt;available breeders are the NZ and California white
&gt;(700 bob each). If you are for the Flemish giant (1500 bob each),

prices can vary since many people want to make money. So I have heard of price tags ranging from 500 to 5,000 Ksh for the same thing.

The place that provides a service to the people is the Rabbit Breeding Unit in (El Paso) Ngong. Get it directly from these people (500 Ksh Flemish giant 6 weeks old) and beware of those 'agents' who buy and sell to make quick money from 'transport' services.

++++jf
http://www.globetree.org...bbit-net/contact-us.htm
wanyambura
#78 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2009 11:37:00 AM

Hi all,I am new in this discussion forum. I got interested because my wife has a small stock of rabbits for breeding purposes (different breeds). She specialise in cross breeding to obtain the best breeds as per customer's request.
jackyfoo
#79 Posted : Sunday, November 22, 2009 5:20:00 AM

Hi Everyone

I am happy to inform you that the Ndekero Rabbit project won 1st Prize in Round 4 of the Africa Rural Connect Contest and will be awarded 3,000 US$ as seed money for the project.
http://arc.peacecorpsconnect.org/node/793

I am now looking for potential investors and donors for the project which aims to produce at least 100 rabbits every month and to develop partnership between the local community and the rabbit farm. Access to land will be via the Nazareth Sisters in Meru.

I am also interested to identify other sites where the model for rabbit production can also be implemented.

Please contact me at jacky.foo(at)gmail.com .
I also manage a e-forum on rabbit meat in Africa
http://finance.groups.ya....com/group/rabbit4meat/
which is my main forum for meat rabbit production. Please join me here. This group has many members from Kenya.

The Ndekero Project has discussion messages in
http://arc.peacecorpsconnect.org/view/653 and further discussion will take place in http://finance.groups.ya....com/group/rabbit4meat/

To subscribe,just send a blank email to :
rabbit4meat-subscribe@yahoogroups.com

++++jf
Mshindi
#80 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 10:44:55 AM

@alma, @mina, @ Njunge, 2 years on, how is this business doing? i would like to start Rabbit farming now, any experiences, challanges & lessons you can share with me. Are you now able to silence the doubting Thomases?