Investing in your 20s
geofreygachie
#21 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 4:58:13 PM

grahamsdisciple wrote:
Multipod wrote:
grahamsdisciple wrote:
The best advice I received is to ensure that you have at least a year of living expenses saved up in a savings account or money market fund. Once this is done you can invest with more confidence. Find an area that suits you and work on it. In your 20's the greatest return on investment are found in Human Capital therefore invest in professional training programs, learn a new language and take up further studies if possible.

Therefore, create a solid financial base for contingencies and rainy days then invest in yourself and find something/an area of investment that works for you. Most people think investing is only stocks, bonds or land however there are a million other areas.

I have actually never thought of it that way. I need to invest in myself. Lakini, wueh! 1 years worth! That's a lot!

It depends on your employability, usually it's 6 months worth of expenses but Kenya is looking volatile nowadays so let's say a year. Honestly, there's nothing worse than having to liquidate investments at huge discounts due to cash flow problems.

Wise words.I will evaluate myself.
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
Multipod
#22 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 5:10:54 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
You are an interesting person, even under online anonymity, you still find it hard to mention your exact age 20s could be 20 or 29.

you also find it hard to mention the income you get, how are you going to be helped if you fail to mention that.

Tell your exact age, the monthly income, and the work you do. someone may have made it in a situation similar and can give advice based on factual events, otherwise you will just get theoretical advice which you can get in any business book.

I have always felt the biggest advantage of forums is you get to tap into practical experience that you can not gain without going through the same for a longer period.

Ok, ok @sitaki.kujulikana,I'm 28, monthly income about KES 130,000 excluding per diem allowances which range from 20k to 200k monthly, I work in engineering.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 6:29:43 PM

Multipod wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
You are an interesting person, even under online anonymity, you still find it hard to mention your exact age 20s could be 20 or 29.

you also find it hard to mention the income you get, how are you going to be helped if you fail to mention that.

Tell your exact age, the monthly income, and the work you do. someone may have made it in a situation similar and can give advice based on factual events, otherwise you will just get theoretical advice which you can get in any business book.

I have always felt the biggest advantage of forums is you get to tap into practical experience that you can not gain without going through the same for a longer period.

Ok, ok @sitaki.kujulikana,I'm 28, monthly income about KES 130,000 excluding per diem allowances which range from 20k to 200k monthly, I work in engineering.

If you're not married,get a wife/husband first,if gay get a partner.

Being in a marriage/commitment improves your due diligence and risk assessment and management
Multipod
#24 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 6:33:29 PM

Multipod wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Being in a marriage/commitment improves your due diligence and risk assessment and management

But does that mean if one isn't married, they should while away their time "enjoying life"? And whatever happened to higher risk,higher return? Putting off marriage for later also increases the chances of getting higher returns. Or doesn't it?
#25 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 6:41:36 PM

Multipod wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

But does that mean if one isn't married, they should while away their time "enjoying life"

That's what you are implying,I didn't say so....see highlighted in red above
#26 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 7:24:36 PM

Multipod wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Concentrate on your career, develop yourself. For as long as your job remains the main source of livelihood.

Invest your extra cash in passive investments i.e stocks, bonds, bills, Sacco, land. Preferably investments that are liquid and income producing.

Join a pension scheme, take an insurance policy. They compound your wealth over time due to tax savings and employer contributions.
Mike Ock
#27 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 7:56:09 PM

Multipod wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Sasa ona, I think I know him! :D
#28 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 8:12:39 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
Multipod wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Multipod
#29 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 8:50:51 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
Multipod wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Laughing out loudly Shhh
#30 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 9:27:19 PM

Multipod wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Impunity is that you?
UpcomingPaperChaser
#31 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 10:59:39 PM

[/quote]

Ok, ok @sitaki.kujulikana,I'm 28, monthly income about KES 130,000 excluding per diem allowances which range from 20k to 200k monthly, I work in engineering. [/quote]

Which specialty in engineering? my friend engineers are languishing with a 6ok net salary at safaricom and have to work at times at odd hours while u are harvesting almost thrice their salo!! Marry a Mkamba, Mmasai and Mwarabu!!
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
Multipod
#32 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 11:06:11 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:

Ok, ok @sitaki.kujulikana,I'm 28, monthly income about KES 130,000 excluding per diem allowances which range from 20k to 200k monthly, I work in engineering. [/quote]

Which specialty in engineering? my friend engineers are languishing with a 6ok net salary at safaricom and have to work at times at odd hours while u are harvesting almost thrice their salo!! Marry a Mkamba, Mmasai and Mwarabu!![/quote]

If I get into any more details I'll be sharing too much information. Encourage your friends. Pay for engineers definitely gets better as you gain more experience and specialize. Those odd hours will pay in the end. Sky's the limit.

About Mkamba, Mmasai or Mwarabu, hmm...
#33 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2015 11:20:29 PM

Which specialty in engineering? my friend engineers are languishing with a 6ok net salary at safaricom and have to work at times at odd hours while u are harvesting almost thrice their salo!! Marry a Mkamba, Mmasai and Mwarabu!![/quote]

60K??? That's a salary for a cashier who has KATC II why would an engineer be paid 60K? I thought with 130K he was being underpaid ama these are Zetech engineerslike impunity
Multipod
#34 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2015 6:21:39 AM

60K??? That's a salary for a cashier who has KATC II why would an engineer be paid 60K? I thought with 130K he was being underpaid ama these are Zetech engineerslike impunity
[/quote]

Most engineers usually start out with 40-50k (esp if they're working in contractor firms or some of these manufacturing companies) However, they gain good income from travel allowances and side hustles (design work, construction, installations, consultancy etc) It's one of those careers where you get a significant boost once you get registered by the board, and become a specialist or you start your own firm as opposed to moving up the ladder into management. You'll find technicians in companies such as Kenya Power and KQ earning much more than the engineers due to specialization (and CBAs help too smile )
#35 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2015 7:36:15 AM

Multipod wrote:
So many pple like you have posted stuff here just dig up wazua

The thing is, I've been reading up on different threads here and I'm overwhelmed. I always leave feeling more confused than informed.

Then maybe just maybe you need to chill out from investment for some time
Nimerudi
#36 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2015 7:55:51 AM

Multipod wrote:
Hi guys

I'm in my 20s, looking for the best way to invest my money. So far, I've bought land, I have 2 term policies, I'm in a chama where we contribute quite a good amount of cash monthly (but don't know what to do with it). I feel I should be doing more but I don't know where to start since I don't have a financial background. Stocks are an unchartered territory for me. I'd really love to acquire a house before I turn 30 but the mortgage threads here are quite discouraging. I have a monthly salary and varying allowances from work travel.

For those with more financial experience, what should I do? I'm open to taking more risks but I'm wary of people taking advantage of my naivety.

Heeeelp!

Why do people always ignore manufacturing? Have you had a look at a scalable manufacturing/processing idea? With an engineering background you could possibly have a unique advantage starting in that sector. For instance, you could look at Alibaba for some ideas.
Multipod
#37 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2015 8:45:21 AM

Nimerudi wrote:

Why do people always ignore manufacturing? Have you had a look at a scalable manufacturing/processing idea? With an engineering background you could possibly have a unique advantage starting in that sector. For instance, you could look at Alibaba for some ideas.

I have always considered manufacturing but the ideas I have require very high initial capital costs. So I put them on the back burner for now.
Multipod
#38 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2015 8:48:12 AM

Impunity is that you?

I know not of this Impunity that you speak of.
#39 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2015 10:16:47 AM

[/quote]
I know a Mechanical Engineer earning 60k gross with 7 years experience. Working with some mhindi industrial co

Graduate of THE
Nimerudi
#40 Posted : Thursday, December 10, 2015 10:38:20 AM

Which specialty in engineering? my friend engineers are languishing with a 6ok net salary at safaricom and have to work at times at odd hours while u are harvesting almost thrice their salo!! Marry a Mkamba, Mmasai and Mwarabu!!

[/quote]
I know a Mechanical Engineer earning 60k gross with 7 years experience. Working with some mhindi industrial co

Graduate of THE[/quote]

That's just sad. Sad After 5 years of study in one of the most demanding courses. Laughing out loudly