wazua Fri, Mar 29, 2024

Zap to Mpesa now available
Djinn
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 12:37:00 PM

I hear that you can now send from Zain to Safaricom numbers. This is a major breakthrough and I think will create some niche mobile cash operators. Not sure if the reverse works (I have to ask a Safaricom subscriber).

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
chris79
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:41:00 PM

Mpesa customers have been able to send money to any mobile number since Mpesa was launched,so it's nothing new...

Be the change you want to see in the world...
adept
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:56:00 PM

I must really be behind news.

@Chris79 - Are you serious that I can actually send money using Mpesa to my Zain line and go and withdraw it from an Mpesa Agent?
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 1:56:00 PM

@Chris79: what do you mean any number? Can Mpesa send to Telkom? Wacha mchezo! MPesa can only send to SCOM numbers.

@Djinn:
Many people don't remember that Kencell was ahead of SCOM in introducing sms....and when SCOM also introduced the service,it was not possible to send from SCOM to Kencell while Kencell to SCOM was going through....in fact,Kencell started sending sms abroad long before SCOM was able to send to Kencell....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 2:02:00 PM

Yaani kencell could have been the market leader but instead did not do their market reserach well,the initial per minute billing I believe was their undoing,despite a superior network. They forgot that in Africa,more often than not,quantity beats quality.

chris79
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 2:23:00 PM

You guys are seriously behind news. When you send money to a non-Safaricom number the recipient gets an sms with the transaction ID which he then presents to an Mpesa agent who can then does the transaction on his behalf using his (agent's) phone. That sms is valid for 7 days,after which if the money is not withdrawn it reverts to the sender. And yes you can send to any mobile number as long as it's able to recieve sms.

#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 2:31:00 PM

Tell 'em chris79. Also tell 'em that Mpesa to non-scon costs the sender ksh 75 and now zap to scon is ONLY ksh 10. It is cheaper to send cash from zap to scon than scon to scon.
chris79
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 3:01:00 PM

Oh yeah GG,and that too,though that's what they said about Vuka tariff till they came to their senses. Hope they take longer this time...

mkristo
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 3:29:00 PM

You mean zap jamaas could not send money b4 to other networks? atleast for M-Pesa it worked right from the start.

Forget about the 10 bob,Zain needs to just do what the leader is doing cos if it does not make business sense,then stop it rather than quietly hike rates while people still think they are enjoying an offer.

By the way how far has the sale of zain gone? Is it true? KENCELL,CELTEL,ZAIN,...like Kenya's political parties

today is the day to act,don't say tomorrow
Jaguar
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 5:28:00 PM

Great services from both operators. Zap should now enable ATM withdrawals like mpesa while mpesa should enable individual customers set their nickname like zap
jerry
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 08, 2009 10:23:00 PM

@Djinn & GG. I thought u meant that I could actually send cash from zap to Mpesa! There is a difference between sending to Mpesa and sending to Safaricom line. Only if u r sending upto 2,500/= does it cost 75/= from Scom to other mobile #s. It'll cost u 400/= to send btn 20,001 and 35,000 from Scom to Zain for example.

Hotels will always serve the fruits/vegs of the season. In stocks,ur duty as a trader is to identify the HOTshare of the season.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 7:32:00 AM

Surprised most people did not know that u could send money from MPesa to other lines. Also people talk so much about this 10/= forgetting that Zap deposits attract a charge whereas MPesa deposits are free of charge!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
jerry
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 9:54:00 AM

What are the deposit rates for zap?

Hotels will always serve the fruits/vegs of the season. In stocks,ur duty as a trader is to identify the HOTshare of the season.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 10:10:00 AM

@McReggae,its ignorance that people have...and they will be the first to bash Mpesa. the info is always there,no one seems interested.

From a Little Spark may burst a Mighty Flame...
Masinza
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 4:35:00 PM

Is it possible to sent money from zap kenya to zap uganda or zap tz. If not thats one way if introduced zain can beat safcom. Your views
Njemi
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 5:20:00 PM

My friend,I once went to one of the zain customer care center to enquire about sending money to safcom and I was told its possible but at my own risk........you better be sure b4 transacting

@
cxz
#17 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 5:36:00 PM

Not possible. Wanted to send some cash to tz yesterday & zain kenya customer care told me it won't work. Best option so far is moneygram. But are testing a mobile transfer solution with western union in all countries with zain. Hopefully this will bring charges down

'A stone is heavy,and the sand weighty; but a fool's wrath is heavier than them both.' (Proverbs 27:3).