wazua Sun, May 5, 2024

9 Pages<12345>»
KNH is not for the faint hearted
#41 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 9:06:21 AM

Bykhovets wrote:

I think ward 7A ndio ile ward ya wale watu walioshindana kabisa due to immune deficiency?
d'oh! d'oh!

7A is mostly for Nephrology cases. 7th and 8th floor are internal medicine wards. In the 90s, 90% of admitted patients were HIV+.

I see.

#42 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 9:09:58 AM

Bykhovets wrote:

I think ward 7A ndio ile ward ya wale watu walioshindana kabisa due to immune deficiency?
d'oh! d'oh!

7A is mostly for Nephrology cases. 7th and 8th floor are internal medicine wards. In the 90s, 90% of admitted patients were HIV+.

I see.

So what did you want to impute?
#43 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 9:39:29 AM

This is way worse than I had thought!!Sad Sad
Bykhovets wrote:
kayhara wrote:
WHAT staff asking for kitu kidogo from sick dying patients to help, is this how low we have sunk

Cashiers had their own receipts. Pharmacists used to steal drugs. You had to pay a nurse extra to take give care to your patient. Radiologists would charge patients to use the radiotherapy machine and do the procedure even when the machine was broken down (many cancer patients died wondering why the disease had spread yet they went through radiotherapy).

There's a deputy director who tried to change the system at KNH and he was shot on his way home.

And then this...

Sadly, I think it is impossible to change KNH. I've trained and worked there and I think that is an honest opinion.

That means we could all die anytime. Accident victims are mostly rushed there in Nbi. You will be rushed there when unconscious, no time for whipping out your medical card.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 9:41:59 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
Kaiganjio you story just brings bad memories at that place and doctors in general in this country.

I believe my present attitude towards Kenyan gov't is shaped by what I went through and saw.

My wife got very sick at work and was rushed to Avenue Hospital.

Hupati pole kwangu. I wish she ....

What for now Sad
#45 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 10:07:11 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
Kaiganjio you story just brings bad memories at that place and doctors in general in this country.

I believe my present attitude towards Kenyan gov't is shaped by what I went through and saw.

What the hell?Sad Sad
Taurrus
#46 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 11:20:20 PM

Wachana na hawa watoto!
Taurrus
#47 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2015 11:28:16 PM

Can we conclude that we black afrikans genetically we are wired for individualism,looking at how we poorly govern ourselfs and even further in America despite the numbers of AA they still seem disorganized and only fill the prisons,wahindi ni wachache single mothers there and maybe few in prison.
#48 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2016 9:22:07 PM

Sad!

Where are those new equipments we keep reading about?
#49 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2016 11:59:47 PM

Sad!

Where are those new equipments we keep reading about?

Zimejaa
tmatekwa
#50 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 8:02:43 PM

ByKenyatta
Kaigangio wrote:
@baratang...here we go,

[b wrote:
Episode 1[/b]

...It was around 10:00AM when I was leaving the opd (the outpatient department) after the brief altercation with the patients appointments booking man and headed towards the KNH KBS station. I took a KBS and alighted at the ambassadaur hotel, crossed over to Kencom where there used to be alot of telephone boothes.
It was very hot and I could feel that for every step i made my body was weakening at a rate never felt before.
I called my friend on her land line (there were no mobile phones then, and whoever had them, they were buying them at close to kshs 500,000 per hand set). Luckily enough, I managed to get the friend and I explained to her my situation. We agreed that she meet me at the kencom bus station inside the sitting area. Half an hour later she found me dozing at the seat. She immediately called her orthopaedic surgeon brother who agreed to see me in KNH. We got inside the KBS and off we went to KNH. We went straight to the room where the surgeon was stationed when he was being consulted in KNH. The lady friend at this juncture had to leave, but I instructed her to call my guardian whom I was staying with in dandora. It was around 1.30PM.
The surgeon examined me and and recommended that I be admitted immediately. I was sent to casualty to begin the process of admission. I was further examined by the doctor on duty after waiting for close to 3 hours. This is when the doctor dropped the atom bomb...that i was suffering from one of the 260 known kidney diseases and i had to be examined further through lab tests in order to know exactly which one to treat...I started making some calculations in my head, really weird calculations...if it took say 4 days for one test to be done and results released, then for 260 tests it would take 1040 days and that is almost 3 years. I was figuring here that I would be dead before they were able to determine which disease they would be treating! But that was the least of my concerns at the time.
A renal ultra sound was recommended but the doctor informed me that the institutes only machine had packed up and as such I would have to have it done in town. Next he wanted a complete haemogram (blood tests) done. Also a complete urinalysis tests were required. I just asked the doctor if he really expected me to do all that in my situation noting that even walking was a problem. He suggested that he would admit me, but before I was put onto any treatment, all those tests would have to be done.
It was around 7:00PM and my guardian had just arrived from work. The consultant gave us the lab requisitions and he told us that the haemogram and urinalysis could be undertaken in KNH labs, he directed us where to go, in addition to telling me to report to ward no. 46 after these tests.
We went to the main lab and gave out the requisitions only to be told that there were no reagents. There were 3 men in that lab. It was getting to around 9:00PM and as we sat on one of the benches along the corridor near the lab wondering what to do next, we saw one of the men who was in that lab. He was coming towards us. We stopped him and literally begged him to help us...his suggestion, toeni kitu! We parted with some money and at around midnight the haemogram and urinalysis tests samples were collected and we were adviced to pick them in the morning the following day.
After the lab, we went to ward no 46 on the 7th floor of the main block. Just before we entered the main door we could see that there was a lot of activities along the ward corridor. once inside I almost fainted on seeing the number of people who had been admitted that night...it was well over 50. At the nurse call desk, I was informed that my file had not been brought from casualty, so I was told to wait. All the benches and seats in the ward were all occupied by patients who were waiting to be assigned a space to sleep. We went down to the opd where there is quite a lot of seats and sat there for the rest of the early morning till around 5:00AM in the morning. I did not sleep and neither my guardian. We went back to the ward where my guardian left me to go and prepare to report to work.
At around 7:00AM in the morning I was assigned a space where I was going to be receiving my treatment from...the beds were full to capacity, each 3ft by 6 ft bed being shared by 4 patients. The spaces between the beds where matrices had been laid on the floor were also full (each matrice had 4 patients), but luckily enough I got a space in one of the matrices on the floor. One patient did not make it to the morning and I doubt if the other 3 patients knew that one of them had died. That is how the space became available. As I sat on that floor matrice feeling exhausted and worse off than I was the previous day, I just looked at the the three half dead patients whom I was to share the matrice with and I could not help imagining that I had voluntarily prepared my path to the KNH morgue! I walked to the window and looked at the ground below, the industrial area and Nairobi National Nark and asked myself, "Hey kaigangio, which is better, home or here?". The answer came after three months!!
Thats it folks...episode 2 to follow.

Pole sana. An accurately told story from the perspective of the patient.

Ward 46, I think, is now ward 7A.

Ward 46 has never existed in Kenyatta National hospital. The last ward was no 36 located on 10th floor
tmatekwa
#51 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 8:33:21 PM

Bykhovets wrote:
kayhara wrote:
WHAT staff asking for kitu kidogo from sick dying patients to help, is this how low we have sunk

Cashiers had their own receipts. Pharmacists used to steal drugs. You had to pay a nurse extra to take give care to your patient. Radiologists would charge patients to use the radiotherapy machine and do the procedure even when the machine was broken down (many cancer patients died wondering why the disease had spread yet they went through radiotherapy).

There's a deputy director who tried to change the system at KNH and he was shot on his way home.

It was all about tenders. A deal gone wrong
tmatekwa
#52 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 9:47:16 PM

KNH was at its worst in 1991- 1992. This is when most donors froze funding to force Moi introduce multiparty politics in Kenya. It was also the time when Jirongo was busy printing the 500 shilling note, and Kamlesh patni was busy exporting ghost gold....The combination of these factors had negative effects on the country's economy.

The government reintroduced cost sharing in public health institutions to bridge the funding gaps. IMF introduced structural adjustment programs such as retrenchment, liberalising the economy etc.

Salaries for public servants could not keep up with the general inflation, a precursor to corruption.

The Kenya government has been working with the WHO to bring much needed reforms to the health sector. Many blue prints exist to this end. For example, "strengthening health systems (2007)" highlights six key areas for health reforms namely
1). Leadership for health
2). Human resources for health
3). Health care financing.
4). Service delivery
5). Health information system
6). Medical products, and vaccines.

According to the "Health systems assessment report, 2010" published by Louma et all, Kenya has been performing poorly in the six key areas listed above. Most notably in the area of health financing. The budgetary allocation for public health institutions is grossly inadequate, at per capita of $60, compared to first world countries like USA which funds it's health care at $3,000 per capita.

The government is trying to introduce socialised healthcare insurance via NHIF. But the coverage and the benefits package remains rudimentary. NHIF owes KNH millions in unpaid claims.

Kenyan citizenry finds it more convenient to blame the Health worker than the government, which is actually in charge of the Health sector. Lack of equipment, lack of vital manpower, lack of medicine etc has its Genesis in meager budgetary allocation by the government.

Kenyans can be likened to a man who expects to have a buffet in a 5 star hotel for only 100 Bob! The reality downson them when they encounter poor untimely service....the actual worth of your money ($60 per person per year). After all,Health workers are not miracle workers.
#53 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 7:41:49 PM

shameless thieves!!
#54 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 9:26:36 PM

murchr #63 Posted : Saturday, October 10, 2015 12:32:13 PM wrote:
There are so many ways to make hospitals efficient and paying doctors and nurses "adequately" is on the bottom of the list. Healthcare in India is a success yet the doctors there are paid on the same payscale as Kenyans. The poor health status has to do with culture first and Education.

On culture...the Kenyan attitude is "what is there for me" We careless about life. Very few docs will care to research and give you a proper diagnosis. For instance when you go to a doc, you will tell him what you feel and trust me if you tell him,...." I think I have Malaria" he will give you a malaria test and prescription. That is the main reason why there's a high rate of mis-diagnosis.

Secondly, our docs like every other Kenyans are thieves. If you care to go to their clinics in town, you'll find them using stuff marked MOH from bed-sheets to equipment. How many times have you come across some drugs marked "NOT FOR SALE" and "GOK"? They will make sure the x-ray machine in the hospital is not working so that they can refer you to their labs..so when we criticize politicians we should also blame ourselves to an extend.

For government hospitals to run efficiently, they will have to automate...and am sure this would get the highest resistance but there's no two ways about it. All hospitals will need to be connected to a P2P system.(Welcome Alma..smile )I find it rather absurd that hospitals procure drugs in anticipation that people will eventually get sick. How do you put a measure to how many people will suffer from cholera? Am not saying that there should be no drugs but it can be done more efficiently taking away pilferage if not minimizing it.

Devolving healthcare was the best decision ever made...thats a discussion for another day.

http://wazua.co.ke/forum...26&f=24&q=687506
tmatekwa
#55 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 9:45:10 AM

[quote=murchr #63 Posted : Saturday, October 10, 2015 12:32:13 PM]There are so many ways to make hospitals efficient and paying doctors and nurses "adequately" is on the bottom of the list. Healthcare in India is a success yet the doctors there are paid on the same payscale as Kenyans. The poor health status has to do with culture first and Education.

On culture...the Kenyan attitude is "what is there for me" We careless about life. Very few docs will care to research and give you a proper diagnosis. For instance when you go to a doc, you will tell him what you feel and trust me if you tell him,...." I think I have Malaria" he will give you a malaria test and prescription. That is the main reason why there's a high rate of mis-diagnosis.

Secondly, our docs like every other Kenyans are thieves. If you care to go to their clinics in town, you'll find them using stuff marked MOH from bed-sheets to equipment. How many times have you come across some drugs marked "NOT FOR SALE" and "GOK"? They will make sure the x-ray machine in the hospital is not working so that they can refer you to their labs..so when we criticize politicians we should also blame ourselves to an extend.

For government hospitals to run efficiently, they will have to automate...and am sure this would get the highest resistance but there's no two ways about it. All hospitals will need to be connected to a P2P system.(Welcome Alma..smile )I find it rather absurd that hospitals procure drugs in anticipation that people will eventually get sick. How do you put a measure to how many people will suffer from cholera? Am not saying that there should be no drugs but it can be done more efficiently taking away pilferage if not minimizing it.

Devolving healthcare was the best decision ever made...thats a discussion for another day.

http://wazua.co.ke/forum...6&f=24&q=687506[/quote]

Kenyans are really good at telling stories. The problem is, they have this convenient way of failing to mention names.
Jacy26
#56 Posted : Wednesday, May 04, 2016 3:15:14 PM

tmatekwa wrote:
ByKenyatta
Kaigangio wrote:
@baratang...here we go,

[b wrote:
Episode 1[/b]

...It was around 10:00AM when I was leaving the opd (the outpatient department) after the brief altercation with the patients appointments booking man and headed towards the KNH KBS station. I took a KBS and alighted at the ambassadaur hotel, crossed over to Kencom where there used to be alot of telephone boothes.
It was very hot and I could feel that for every step i made my body was weakening at a rate never felt before.
I called my friend on her land line (there were no mobile phones then, and whoever had them, they were buying them at close to kshs 500,000 per hand set). Luckily enough, I managed to get the friend and I explained to her my situation. We agreed that she meet me at the kencom bus station inside the sitting area. Half an hour later she found me dozing at the seat. She immediately called her orthopaedic surgeon brother who agreed to see me in KNH. We got inside the KBS and off we went to KNH. We went straight to the room where the surgeon was stationed when he was being consulted in KNH. The lady friend at this juncture had to leave, but I instructed her to call my guardian whom I was staying with in dandora. It was around 1.30PM.
The surgeon examined me and and recommended that I be admitted immediately. I was sent to casualty to begin the process of admission. I was further examined by the doctor on duty after waiting for close to 3 hours. This is when the doctor dropped the atom bomb...that i was suffering from one of the 260 known kidney diseases and i had to be examined further through lab tests in order to know exactly which one to treat...I started making some calculations in my head, really weird calculations...if it took say 4 days for one test to be done and results released, then for 260 tests it would take 1040 days and that is almost 3 years. I was figuring here that I would be dead before they were able to determine which disease they would be treating! But that was the least of my concerns at the time.
A renal ultra sound was recommended but the doctor informed me that the institutes only machine had packed up and as such I would have to have it done in town. Next he wanted a complete haemogram (blood tests) done. Also a complete urinalysis tests were required. I just asked the doctor if he really expected me to do all that in my situation noting that even walking was a problem. He suggested that he would admit me, but before I was put onto any treatment, all those tests would have to be done.
It was around 7:00PM and my guardian had just arrived from work. The consultant gave us the lab requisitions and he told us that the haemogram and urinalysis could be undertaken in KNH labs, he directed us where to go, in addition to telling me to report to ward no. 46 after these tests.
We went to the main lab and gave out the requisitions only to be told that there were no reagents. There were 3 men in that lab. It was getting to around 9:00PM and as we sat on one of the benches along the corridor near the lab wondering what to do next, we saw one of the men who was in that lab. He was coming towards us. We stopped him and literally begged him to help us...his suggestion, toeni kitu! We parted with some money and at around midnight the haemogram and urinalysis tests samples were collected and we were adviced to pick them in the morning the following day.
After the lab, we went to ward no 46 on the 7th floor of the main block. Just before we entered the main door we could see that there was a lot of activities along the ward corridor. once inside I almost fainted on seeing the number of people who had been admitted that night...it was well over 50. At the nurse call desk, I was informed that my file had not been brought from casualty, so I was told to wait. All the benches and seats in the ward were all occupied by patients who were waiting to be assigned a space to sleep. We went down to the opd where there is quite a lot of seats and sat there for the rest of the early morning till around 5:00AM in the morning. I did not sleep and neither my guardian. We went back to the ward where my guardian left me to go and prepare to report to work.
At around 7:00AM in the morning I was assigned a space where I was going to be receiving my treatment from...the beds were full to capacity, each 3ft by 6 ft bed being shared by 4 patients. The spaces between the beds where matrices had been laid on the floor were also full (each matrice had 4 patients), but luckily enough I got a space in one of the matrices on the floor. One patient did not make it to the morning and I doubt if the other 3 patients knew that one of them had died. That is how the space became available. As I sat on that floor matrice feeling exhausted and worse off than I was the previous day, I just looked at the the three half dead patients whom I was to share the matrice with and I could not help imagining that I had voluntarily prepared my path to the KNH morgue! I walked to the window and looked at the ground below, the industrial area and Nairobi National Nark and asked myself, "Hey kaigangio, which is better, home or here?". The answer came after three months!!

Ward 46 has never existed in Kenyatta National hospital. The last ward was no 36 located on 10th floor

@Kaigangio Pole sana. Was there a part 2 of this story?
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
Ms Mkenya
#57 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 10:40:59 AM

KNH was best under the Prof Meme reign. Prof Meme was to KNH what Michuki was to the transport industry to Kenya.
....above all, to stand.
#58 Posted : Tuesday, May 31, 2016 11:04:27 AM

Jacy26 wrote:
tmatekwa wrote:
ByKenyatta
Kaigangio wrote:
@baratang...here we go,

[b wrote:
Episode 1[/b]

@Kaigangio Pole sana. Was there a part 2 of this story?

@kaigangio has close to 4 stories pending completion here on wazua
#59 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2016 7:18:24 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

What the hell?Sad Sad

internet iko na wachawi, saddest comment I have seen in a while

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#60 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2016 9:28:06 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

What the hell?Sad Sad

internet iko na wachawi, saddest comment I have seen in a while

Wazua has all manner of characters