wazua Fri, May 3, 2024

Family Bank Bond KShs. 10Billion
smitha
#1 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 11:34:50 AM

Are Wazuans wary of this in the wake of the Imperial Bank scandal?
#2 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 11:38:52 AM

smitha wrote:

They are offering pathetic rates....Sad
Boris Boyka
#3 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 11:50:37 AM

smitha wrote:

Someone told me Family Bank are retrenching. 10B in wake of Imperial saga,under subscription.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#4 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 6:29:56 PM

smitha wrote:

What the rate?

#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 6:47:32 PM

smitha wrote:

What the rate?

13.75% P.A

With a promise to give back your money with a 1% interest at the end of tenor for every 2% gain in book value with a ceiling of 15%. An example, if the company/bank's book value grow by 50% between December 2014 and December 2020, they will give back your money plus an additional 15% of your money as asante(note that you also have the 13.5% every year regardless of whether they grow or not, unless they "Imperial Bank" you!)

With such promises, aiiiih!? Am on the sidelines from Kenyan Banks. Even saw PostBank Kenya giving 13% interest on savings account. Iko kitu mbaya inaendelea.

streetwise
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 6:55:44 PM

Family bank seems to be on the right path
Boris Boyka
#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 7:12:31 PM

smitha wrote:

What the rate?

13.5% P.A

With a promise to give back your money with a 1% interest at the end of tenor for every 2% gain in book value. An example, if the company/bank's book value grow by 50% between October 2015 and October 2020, they will give back your money plus an additional 25% of your money as asante(note that you also have the 13.5% every year regardless of whether they grow or not, unless they "Imperial Bank" you!)

With such promises, aiiiih!? Am on the sidelines from Kenyan Banks. Even saw PostBank Kenya giving 13% interest on savings account. Iko kitu mbaya inaendelea.

Post bank=gvt. That's why their interest is tax free. Whenever you put money there you have given to gvt.
With loan rates ranging 20-27% they can easily pay you and have much balance.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
whiteowl
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 1:36:27 AM

smitha wrote:

What the rate?

13.75% P.A

With a promise to give back your money with a 1% interest at the end of tenor for every 2% gain in book value with a ceiling of 15%. An example, if the company/bank's book value grow by 50% between December 2014 and December 2020, they will give back your money plus an additional 15% of your money as asante(note that you also have the 13.5% every year regardless of whether they grow or not, unless they "Imperial Bank" you!)

I'm better off taking my cash to CBK.13.5% every year vs 22% every 91 days.
enyands
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 4:31:42 AM

whiteowl wrote:
smitha wrote:

What the rate?

13.75% P.A

I'm better off taking my cash to CBK.13.5% every year vs 22% every 91 days.

Really? I thought 22% in 91 days is better than 13% in 365.5 days .ama I'm using a different math formula
Boris Boyka
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 5:11:00 AM

@Enyands @whiteowl, that 22% is per annum (p.a) for 3 months its (3/12)* 22%. Even though its still higher than the other one
Jimmy Boy
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 6:36:16 PM

22% p.a. is equivalent to 1.8% per month.....This is far much better than 13.5% p.a. which is 0.14% per month....
Treasury Bills and bonds are the way to go.... you cant compare their rates to the Family Bank Bond.... I see it being under-subscribed.... they should have postponed it until GOK rates go down and Imperial Bank fever comes down...
Regards,
Jimmy Boy
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 9:06:13 AM

smitha wrote:

What the rate?

13.75% P.A

Post Bank by the way is not supervised by the CBK, what does that imply?

But I would rather place my meager savings in Post Bank than Family Bank which is owned by some "family".

Boris Boyka
#13 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2015 4:17:43 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
smitha wrote:

Someone told me Family Bank are retrenching. 10B in wake of Imperial saga,under subscription.

50% Subscription.Sad http://www.businessdaily...6/-/10gf8l2/-/index.html
#14 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2015 5:06:16 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
smitha wrote:

50% Subscription.Sad http://www.businessdaily.../-/10gf8l2/-/index.html

The truth is that the Treasury Bills and Bonds are currently sweeter.

Ericsson
#15 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2015 5:17:41 PM

family Bank thought their sweetner was going to convince investors to put more money.
They base rate for a corporate bond has been set at 22% so to get good subscription you need to match that.
Saying the imperial bank receivership caused jitters is a fallacy
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
smitha
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 5:03:43 PM

DPP orders investigation of senior Family Bank officials over NYS scandal. Hope this is not another Imperial Bank...
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 6:51:23 PM

smitha wrote:
DPP orders investigation of senior Family Bank officials over NYS scandal. Hope this is not another Imperial Bank...

Anybody with some serious deposit inthere should take heed and flee to saftey...mapema mapema kama saa hii!

#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 8:54:04 PM

smitha wrote:

It's well known that a couple of banks handle loot stolen from govt...Things will change going forward.
watesh
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 9:35:59 PM

smitha wrote:

Anybody with some serious deposit inthere should take heed and flee to saftey...mapema mapema kama saa hii!

CBK will pounce on this one
enyands
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 9:38:05 PM

smitha wrote:

It's well known that a couple of banks handle loot stolen from govt...Things will change going forward.

I love this new cbk guy . Meant to understand one of the biggest bank is rushing to clean their books since they have been cooking for a while .but he is doing a good job