wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

How will the teachers payhike influence the economy?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 25, 2015 3:53:27 PM

The Supreme court has ruled. Teachers will have to be paid. This money was not budgeted for but now the government has to pay it. It is a significant amount of money so am thinking something will have to give, increased bond rates, increased inflation.

For those in the how will December 2016 look like if all this money has to be paid.
streetwise
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 9:42:52 AM

Giving the teachers additional money will have a very positive effect to the economy in the long run. Why so, because the teachers are known to invest their money wisely. Look at the village where you come from and tell me who is most prosperous . If on the other hand the money goes to the elite, they will buy houses in Israel and london
enyands
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 9:47:51 AM

streetwise wrote:
Giving the teachers additional money will have a very positive effect to the economy in the long run. Why so, because the teachers are known to invest their money wisely. Look at the village where you come from and tell me why is most prosperous . If on the other hand the money goes to the elite, they will buy houses in Israel and london

I agree . Teachers spend money wisely and invest in their mwalimu sacco and all. Most teachers in up countries have a cow that they milk and sell the milk . Meanwhile there is kuku laying eggs for sale . They are very organised . My mum was a teacher and still a role model of mine when it comes to money . So teachers should be added money and mpigs slashed some to pay for teachers .
watesh
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 10:32:59 AM

Plus those are extra billions circulating in peoples pockets instead of the governments pocket. Will definitely increase demand for some products eg they will shop more all over the country or utilize more services and there is a ripple effect whereby someone will be employed to provide the services etc
Mike Will
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 11:23:34 AM

More government money squandered on recurrent expenditure. I don't see any benefits for the tax payer.
mazingira
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 1:16:39 PM

It is fair , agreed but the payments need to be staggered or at least wait until next years budget so as not to interfere with the current financial years budget. This will mean slowing down many project this year , more local borrowing , more national debt , more devaluation of local currency , higher inflation and as a result the real income in economic terms earned by these teachers will have actually lost value . A little more patience where they have waited so long but save the country. Teachers are meant to be an example to the young but constantly striking is setting a terrible precedent for the coming generations where the mindset will be if we cant get it we will strike like our teachers doctors and nurses used to and we will strong arm the "___" into giving us what we want.
The truth is currently the country cannot afford this and a years relief is justified.
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 1:48:59 PM

Bad news for a public finance system already crippled by corruption and debt. Now the taxpayers money will go towards financing IMF debt, corruption and salaries. However agree that teachers invest their money well.
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 1:53:35 PM

watesh wrote:
Plus those are extra billions circulating in peoples pockets instead of the governments pocket. Will definitely increase demand for some products eg they will shop more all over the country or utilize more services and there is a ripple effect whereby someone will be employed to provide the services etc

Yes agreed. Best thing to happen, less left for looters
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:27:45 PM

The government should harmonize the salaries of all it's workers for fairness. Why have they been paying teachers less than other govt workers?
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:41:11 PM

The government should harmonize the salaries of all it's workers for fairness. Why have they been paying teachers less than other govt workers?

kwani how much were teachers being paid, I am sure they are paid more than police officers.
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:44:02 PM

Mike Will wrote:
More government money squandered on recurrent expenditure. I don't see any benefits for the tax payer.

It will still be squandered regardless. Better many people eating it spread through out the country, than a few elite!
Mike Will
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:47:29 PM

Mike Will wrote:

It will still be squandered regardless. Better many people eating it spread through out the country, than a few elite!

I hope you are being sarcastic.
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:54:01 PM

I like this ruling,

The govt leaders will need to look at themselves in the mirror to see the solution to the teachers pay crisis. How is it that Mpigs, CS's and high cadre govt positions earn on average 10 times what a teacher earns yet they expect the teachers to buy the same packet of milk, take their children through scholling etc.

There is also alot of wastage on per diems in endless conferences and trips to Mombasa and to foreign countries, let them cut down on this wastage.

As mentioned above, paying teachers will spread the wealth.
Liv
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 10:56:22 PM

I am not against the teachers salary increase. However We have a huge problem where everyone is thinking about how to get more from the exchequer ...legally or illegally without much increase in productivity. I expect the other civil servants to follow the teachers' script to have their salaries increased. A precedence has now been set and our Justice system does not care where funds will come from. We will continue borrowing to finance our excesses and greed as a people. At this rate Kenya will be in the same or in a worse situation than Greece in the next 5 to 10 years.
#15 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 6:36:35 AM

1.4b shared among 288000 people per month, si ni kidogo sana?

Yaani ni kama lunch moja serena per teacher. What is the hype about?

Anyway this is a kind of economic stimulus which goes to machinani. Teachers will have more purchasing power, wanunue safaricom airtime, phombe sigara na Kadhalika, more taxes for the government, more investment new employment opportunities etc
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#16 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 8:18:56 AM

what pay hike ? kwani kuna pesa? teachers are really out of touch with reality.
githundi
#17 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 8:53:10 AM

The problem is not teachers pay rise. It is the huge wage disparities where top civil servants earn about 80 times the wage of poorly paid civil servants.
The reason being we supposedly belief that our economy can support huge salaries for few top civil servants but always against salary increases for the many junior servants as supposedly the economy cannot support their salary increase.
I belief that where the Salaries and remuneration commission has failed us.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
wazuaguest
#18 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 9:16:40 AM

unfortunately no one has any moral authority to speak against teachers pay hike.MPs,MCA,Senators Judges,the hapless Sarah Serem commission etc.So the government should pay them and hope this spurs a national debate on public service salaries otherwise everybody should continue demanding for higher salaries until we reach Greek levels.Then we can take a cut,if that is the only way to learn.
Africa belongs to Africans.
jerry
#19 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 9:30:09 AM

wazuaguest wrote:
unfortunately no one has any moral authority to speak against teachers pay hike.MPs,MCA,Senators Judges,the hapless Sarah Serem commission etc.So the government should pay them and hope this spurs a national debate on public service salaries otherwise everybody should continue demanding for higher salaries until we reach Greek levels.Then we can take a cut,if that is the only way to learn.

True. It's the only way! A "casual" in the tea indystry is earning 23,000/= per month and a teacher 17k. And yes, the problem is disparities in salaries. MCA earning like a member of parliament? How many MCAs in Kenya?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
shocks
#20 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 10:18:28 AM

jerry wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

True. It's the only way! A "casual" in the tea indystry is earning 23,000/= per month and a teacher 17k. And yes, the problem is disparities in salaries. MCA earning like a member of parliament? How many MCAs in Kenya?

huku ni wapi nitume mtu