enyands wrote:
kayhara wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
enyands wrote:

Duty on the popular. models, Toyota Belta (1290cc), Toyota Premio (1490cc) and Honda Fit (1290cc) was up by Sh98,001, Sh124,000 and Sh145,291 respectively.

Luxury cars like Range Rovers and Mercedes Benz, which account for a small share of all vehicle imports, however saw their excise taxes drop by up to Sh1 million.

link

And we say the govt wants common Mwananchi to prosper, that's kenya for you

Prosper by importing second hand cars which pollutes enevironment?

Excise duty is meant to discourage consumption of harmful goods/services that's why it's called sin tax.

Common mwananchi is not worried about owning a car but having accommodation, food and cothing

The common mwananchi travels in an overloaded probox, his food is ferried in tinted vitz, and his mutumba bales are shared between boda boda and the cheap advans.

The common mwananchi uses boda boda thus why excise duty was scrapped on motorcycles and bicyles.

Vitz, advans and probox are for the middle class

Second hand cars pollutes environment, if you want to save money,import a car which is less than 3 years old and save 50K+ and use it for long unless wewe ni mtu unapenda kudrive number plate

actually this does not help, a 7 year old car depreciates by 60-70% a 3 year by less, the difference in price after the 200k and the 150k duty still leaves the older car cheaper by far than the newer car, so the duty is no incentive to buy a newer car, they would have done away with duty for cars less than 3 years, that would have helped.

Duty serves two purposes
1. Discourage imports-excise duty
2. A means of government to recover tax which GM, DT dobie etc would have paid if you had bought the car locally-VAT.
3. For fairness and equity- It is expected/assumed that a person who buys a 7 yr old car wont use it for long unlike a person who buys 2 yr old car thus why there are differences in depreciation

What you guys are missing is why is 2009 vits has more expensive excise than 2009 Mercedes Benz .someone explain that

Never ever, what model of Merc is it?

Swenani read my red highlights on the very top of this current thread. Popular cars duty went up by ksh xxx,xxx,xxx respectively.
Luxury cars like Mercedes had their duty go down by upto a million.why is someone punished to import popular car by paying 200k while luxury cars have a huge tax break? ??

ooh,pole, That's the purpose of midro crass in any economy, to cushion the rich and support the poor-You should be happy!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly shida midro crass wa kenya ni wachache sana, and the worst thing is that they do not want the poor to get in, we the midro crass want to remain gated

Laughing out loudly gated on apartments bought on loans from banks at a rate of 20% ,service charge of 20k a month hoping one day we don't get fired from our current job because we don't want to loose the mortgaged gated apartment that houses the "car loaned"car at a rate of 20% bought with a exercise duty of 200k. Kweli middro crass iko chida Laughing out loudly
sqft
#62 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 5:36:04 PM

Flat rate excise duty (200k) on used cars scrapped "to help those importing cheaper cars". Link Budget.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#63 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 6:26:00 PM

sqft wrote:
Flat rate excise duty (200k) on used cars scrapped "to help those importing cheaper cars". Link Budget.

And replaced with what???

They needed to experiment to know this was a Bullcrap idea?? Haki Kenya kuna mchezo!

Effective when?? Kama mtu yuko na ka prado high seas, hatalipa a ka lose 200k??
sqft
#64 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 6:27:32 PM

sqft wrote:

They needed to experiment to know this was a Bullcrap idea?? Haki Kenya kuna mchezo!

Back to the old 20% of value. Kama zamani.
Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
#65 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 6:31:31 PM

sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:

This boys did not go to basic tax classes or it is a case of degree ni harambee smile
#66 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 6:32:39 PM

sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:

Ka Prado itabidi kafike by when???

Haki those with "cheap" cars with duty paid at 200k will have a problem selling them!!! Unauza ka Demio ulilipia 200k na watu sasa wanalala 20%!! And you have 30 such cars!! Good luck to you!
sitaki.kujulikana
#67 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 7:12:44 PM

sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:

This boys did not go to basic tax classes or it is a case of degree ni harambee smile

the thinking might have been based on the numbers back then, I don't know maybe they noticed you are better collecting tax from many poor people than asking the rich guys to take their cars for verification.
#68 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 8:07:38 PM

when is the new rate applicable?
sqft
#69 Posted : Wednesday, June 08, 2016 8:14:48 PM

Midnight tonight just like pombe used to go up at midnight.smile
#70 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 6:47:54 AM

Workers will also have something to smile about. Those in the lowest income tax band (earning below Sh10,165 per month) will now have their bonuses, overtime and retirement benefits exempted from tax. The government proposes to expand the tax bands and increase personal relief by 10 per cent.
“These measures are meant to cushion the workers from high cost of living and demonstrates our commitment to sharing the growth of our economy,”

What if employers decided to reduce salaries to 10165 and pay the rest as bonuses? A safe route to avoid funding scandals?
sizzla
#71 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 7:33:20 AM

sqft wrote:

Unfortunately its not same as pombe since the law was amended and passed in parliament to add this excise amount. Same process has to be done to reverse the law...
#72 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 8:00:07 AM

sizzla wrote:
sqft wrote:

Unfortunately its not same as pombe since the law was amended and passed in parliament to add this excise amount. Same process has to be done to reverse the law...

Hope it in August as I have an import en route bah!
#73 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 8:33:57 AM

sizzla wrote:
sqft wrote:

Parliament had last time refused to pass that bill (Or rather amended that section) and the president took the bill back to parliament. Now they take it back again so that whatever they insisted on and parliament had disagreed on can be reversed!
streetwise
#74 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 8:35:55 AM

Does this apply to the Nema and NCA levies as well i.e are they effective from midningt last night ?
bartum
#75 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 10:31:23 AM

The standard says it will cost 20% more to import and business daily says it will revert to pre Dec 2015.now which is which and where can I see or get correct info
bartum
#76 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 10:36:11 AM

What is the duty of importing CCTV camera I need some
bartum
#77 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 10:47:23 AM

Mr. Speaker, last year I introduced excise duty on motor vehicles based on the age of the vehicles at a specific rate. This has been perceived to be unfair, inequitable and punitive to importers of vehicles commonly imported by low income earners but beneficial to importers of luxurious vehicles. In order to address the situation, I propose to amend the Excise Duty Act, 2015 to remove specific rate of duty and introduce advalorem rate of 20% based on the value of the vehicle"
#78 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 12:09:55 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:

the thinking might have been based on the numbers back then, I don't know maybe they noticed you are better collecting tax from many poor people than asking the rich guys to take their cars they noticed you are better collecting tax from many poor people than asking the rich guys to take their cars for for verification.

lakini kuna watu watachomeka .A KCH going for 700,000 while KCFs and KCGs going for a million given most are still in stock Sad
#79 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 12:15:34 PM

madollar wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:

the thinking might have been based on the numbers back then, I don't know maybe they noticed you are better collecting tax from many poor people than asking the rich guys to take their cars they noticed you are better collecting tax from many poor people than asking the rich guys to take their cars for for verification.

lakini kuna watu watachomeka .A KCH going for 700,000 while KCFs and KCGs going for a million given most are still in stock Sad

These changes wont take effect immediately, the 2015 excise duty act has to be amended, I suspect the earliest will be in Dec 2016.
#80 Posted : Thursday, June 09, 2016 12:31:24 PM

madollar wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
sqft wrote:
sqft wrote:

These changes wont take effect immediately, the 2015 excise duty act has to be amended, I suspect the earliest will be in Dec 2016.

And who will be importing between now and then?? Who would be willing to take the risk?

I suspect 6 to 8 weeks tops!!