wazua Sun, May 5, 2024

6 Pages123>»
Flat Rate Excise Duty On Used Motor Vehicles
Nobby
#1 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 10:10:18 AM

Mr Rotich has told us that we will pay Ksh 150,000 to 200,000 excise duty on used motor vehicle or mitumba as they are usually referred to instead of the current 20% on customs value. How will this work ? I think the poor man who can only afford the small cheaper units like Vitz or Nissan Note will be hit very hard coz duty will almost double!! When does it take effect?d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
kiwaru
#2 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 10:38:39 AM

There is a concept called "whichever is higher". I think that the excise duty will be determined by the figure that is higher between the percentage and the flat rate.
#3 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 11:26:08 AM

kiwaru wrote:
There is a concept called "whichever is higher". I think that the excise duty will be determined by the figure that is higher between the percentage and the flat rate.

Nope! You pay 200k in addition to duty, VAT etc. even if your car cost 2 bob! Hujuma, hujuma, hujuma!!!

Rotich has done his maths and ensured MOST Kenyans will be losers because they import cars that cost less than a million bob!

Link: Tax, tax, tax!!!
Nobby
#4 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 12:58:08 PM

kiwaru wrote:

Nope! You pay 200k in addition to duty, VAT etc. even if your car cost 2 bob! Hujuma, hujuma, hujuma!!!

Rotich has done his maths and ensured MOST Kenyans will be losers because they import cars that cost less than a million bob!

who knows how it will work? The other one was rather easy to understand. If the customs value of your car was say Ksh 1000,000/= would be Ksh 250,000 i.e. 20% of the value plus duty of 25%. that simple....
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
jerry
#5 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 3:23:39 PM

Nobby wrote:
kiwaru wrote:

who knows how it will work? The other one was rather easy to understand. If the customs value of your car was say Ksh 1000,000/= would be Ksh 250,000 i.e. 20% of the value plus duty of 25%. that simple....

Nothing is hard once you get the concept! It's 200k as excise duty for vehicles of over 3yrs old.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jerry
#6 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 3:28:57 PM

Nobby wrote:
Mr Rotich has told us that we will pay Ksh 150,000 to 200,000 excise duty on used motor vehicle or mitumba as they are usually referred to instead of the current 20% on customs value. How will this work ? I think the poor man who can only afford the small cheaper units like Vitz or Nissan Note will be hit very hard coz duty will almost double!! When does it take effect?d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Parliament will be needed for approval and since it favours "masonko" you can be sure it will go through.
#7 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 5:36:53 PM

jerry wrote:
Nobby wrote:

Parliament will be needed for approval and since it favours "masonko" you can be sure it will go through.

A fellow importing a 2014 Range Rover pays 150k while the one importing a 2008 Vitz pays 200k!!!
#8 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 8:07:00 PM

Govt wants taxes

Govt wants to control mitumba imports

Nice plan hittin both birds
#9 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 10:43:23 PM

jerry wrote:
Nobby wrote:

A fellow importing a 2014 Range Rover pays 150k while the one importing a 2008 Vitz pays 200k!!!

Aren't you the same people who have been complaining that the govt punishes people who import newer less polluting cars?
premio
#10 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2015 7:15:26 AM

Tax of a car comprises of excise duty 20% import duty 25% and vat 16%. Of the customs value. A 2008/5 allion has an excise duty of 82345. That will rise to 200k and will impact on vat so on average the allion will cost 135k more. A 2008 Toyota Rav4 with an excise duty of 193000 will rise by a meagre 7000 so basicaly its punishing the poor the vitz demio axio allion premio and all cars currently costing below 1.5m will rise by btn 100-150k whereas the Toyota Landcruiser prado the mheshimiwas drive will be untouched
premio
#11 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2015 8:16:13 AM

if it was in Canada where every single coin goes to good use i wouldnt mind buying a vitz at 800k. Now in Kenya over 70% will go to line up pockets of fat cat contractors and briefcase suppliers . Why do u wantto make hard for the poor milk supplier buying a probox to transport his milk to better markets. The buyer unemployed graduate venturing into the matatu bussiness with a used nissan vannette purchased through and expensive loan and leave the rich karen residents who parks 4 luxury cars for personal use to pay the same duty.
young farmer
#12 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2015 12:56:14 PM

Do kenya make their own vehicles or their import even spare parts. Toe the line
#13 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2015 7:00:30 PM

On this, am 100% with Rotich even though my plans of upgrading my jalopy are in high gear!

Traffic jam cost me an hour sleep daily during weekday.

#14 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2015 7:20:01 PM

Hapa nakubaliana na @premio, those who can afford 6 7 800k can definitely afford to top up 100 or 200k albeit with a slight delay. Even if it passes I bet there won't be any reduction in the number of imports.
shida ni the cash won't make a difference in the states coffers, it might as well end up making a personal difference elsewhere.
#15 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2015 7:52:11 AM

premio wrote:
Tax of a car comprises of excise duty 20% import duty 25% and vat 16%. Of the customs value. A 2008/5 allion has an excise duty of 82345. That will rise to 200k and will impact on vat so on average the allion will cost 135k more. A 2008 Toyota Rav4 with an excise duty of 193000 will rise by a meagre 7000 so basicaly its punishing the poor the vitz demio axio allion premio and all cars currently costing below 1.5m will rise by btn 100-150k whereas the Toyota Landcruiser prado the mheshimiwas drive will be untouched

@Premio - The exercise duty for Prados, Mercedes, Range Rovers etc. will actually REDUCE!!!

If a mheshimiwa/cowboy contractor bought a less than 3 year old 5 million car, they would have paid a million bob in exercise duty. Now they will pay 150k!!! The poor will be paying taxes for the rich!!! Even republicans (In the US) would be impressed!!!
mkeiy
#16 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2015 10:22:49 AM

premio wrote:

@Premio - The exercise duty for Prados, Mercedes, Range Rovers etc. will actually REDUCE!!!

If a mheshimiwa/cowboy contractor bought a less than 3 year old 5 million car, they would have paid a million bob in exercise duty. Now they will pay 150k!!! The poor will be paying taxes for the rich!!! Even republicans (In the US) would be impressed!!!

My take. The excise duty amount will be the higher of the 200k,or the 20% of customs value, whichever would be higher.

I don't think one importing a Maserati would pay the same excise duty, as someone buying the Indian Nano,if the cars were of the same age.

With the taxman, it's always the higher of the two.

Minimum excise duty payable would 200k but there won't be maximum. The higher the value, the higher the amount.
mkeiy
#17 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2015 10:33:43 AM

premio wrote:

Deleted!
#18 Posted : Sunday, June 21, 2015 2:19:14 PM

mkeiy wrote:
premio wrote:

My take. The excise duty amount will be the higher of the 200k,or the 20% of customs value, whichever would be higher.

I don't think one importing a Maserati would pay the same excise duty, as someone buying the Indian Nano,if the cars were of the same age.

With the taxman, it's always the higher of the two.

Minimum excise duty payable would 200k but there won't be maximum. The higher the value, the higher the amount.

Read the proposal and better yet post the link here.
Sevian
#19 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 9:38:43 PM

As said above, the higher of the two will apply. You can take that to your local mpesa agent
jerry
#20 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 10:30:37 PM

Sevian wrote:
As said above, the higher of the two will apply. You can take that to your local mpesa agent

Link?