wazua Wed, Apr 24, 2024

Equity Bank Opening In DRC
watesh
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2015 4:03:23 PM

Equity Bank is buying part of ProCredit Bank in Congo. Bank has 170,000 clients. 96% of the 85 million people not banked. 9% GDP growth rate. 7th biggest bank in DRC. Bigger thank Equity bank Uganda, Rwanda and TZ combined
Ericsson
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2015 4:30:08 PM

Equity Group Holdings Limited has entered into an agreement with ProCredit Holding AG and Co. KGaA (PCH), Belgische Investeringsmaatschappij Voor Ontwikkelingslanden N.V (“BIO”) and Stichting DOEN (“DOEN”) to acquire 79 per cent of the issued share capital of ProCredit Bank Congo S.A. (“ProCredit”), a public limited liability company established in the Democratic Republic of Congo (“DRC”).

Completion of the transaction is subject to regulatory approval in Kenya and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

ProCredit is the leading bank in the SME sector in the DRC. The Bank is the 7th largest bank by assets in the market with total assets exceeding US$ 200million, net assets of US$ 25million and a customer base of over 170,000. It was established in 2005 and has amongst its shareholders the German Development Bank KfW (“KfW”) and the International Finance Corporation (“IFC”) who currently hold 12 per cent and 9 per cent of the Bank’s issued share capital respectively.

Dr. James Mwangi, Group Managing Director and CEO of EGHL said the proposed acquisition of ProCredit , an SME focused bank in the DRC, provides Equity Group a great platform to further the Group’s growth objectives while extending its mission of financial inclusion across Africa. “We are excited about our entry into Sub Sahara Africa’s third most populous country through the investment in a fast growing, well established and highly regarded Bank. We see enormous scope for development in the DRC and, together with the well trained and dedicated team of staff at Pro Credit Bank, we look forward to actualising the great ambitions we share for the DRC market” he added.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Mainat
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2015 5:10:06 PM

Excellent move buying into a German ran outfit so culture clash shouldn't be as huge. Time for Equity to unleash its mobile capability in virgin territory.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2015 5:13:11 PM

Mainat wrote:
Excellent move buying into a German ran outfit so culture clash shouldn't be as huge. Time for Equity to unleash its mobile capability in virgin territory.

political stability is key for them to enjoy the full fruits.
moneydust
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2015 5:22:35 PM

Great news hopes the share gets a lift
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2015 5:30:37 PM

moneydust wrote:

Foreigners have been bullish Equity since Monday.
Smart move from member.
@SufficientlyP
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2015 5:35:03 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
moneydust wrote:

Foreigners have been bullish Equity since Monday.
Smart move from member.

its good they will not have teething problems.
young farmer
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 5:39:27 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Mainat wrote:

You mean Kenya political instability, terror, nepotism and corruption
Boris Boyka
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 7:28:09 AM

young farmer wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
Mainat wrote:

You mean Kenya political instability, terror, nepotism and corruption

d'oh! @farmer come out of the shamba! Who on earth doesn't know about DRC (Democratic Republic of Congo) instability?
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
kawi254
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 12:09:16 PM

Isn't this the same mistake Equity made when getting into Uganda i.e buying a shell micro finance at a premium and would have been better off using the 6 billion starting from scratch.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 12:40:13 PM

kawi254 wrote:
Isn't this the same mistake Equity made when getting into Uganda i.e buying a shell micro finance at a premium and would have been better off using the 6 billion starting from scratch.

1) UML was bought from shady characters who took their money and ran.
2) ProCredit has shareholders like DEG & IFC who are solid entities.
3) Equity must have learnt from Uganda & added claw-back provisions that mean Equity gets refunds for bad debts, etc
4) Pro-credit is a German not Greek bank Applause Applause Applause

That said, Equity has to be careful in DRC.
Pesa Nane
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 3:53:14 PM

Cautionary Statement
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 6:26:24 PM

There was once a time when cautions served as rally catalysts,nowadays they appear like normal news even transcentury once issued a cautionary statement.
watesh
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 6:31:18 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Cautionary Statement

Never seen the CEO that excited when making the announcement....so am still piling up. If it crumbles too bad
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 3:57:12 AM

Social, political and economic stability of some of African nationas are areas that Mr. Mwangi needs to carefully be checking before investing.

A population that has been in war for +10 years tend to have a "haki yetu" mentality which is not good for business. A general may just pop up and decide to nationalise all companies.

watesh
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 6:46:02 AM

Social, political and economic stability of some of African nationas are areas that Mr. Mwangi needs to carefully be checking before investing.

A population that has been in war for +10 years tend to have a "haki yetu" mentality which is not good for business. A general may just pop up and decide to nationalise all companies.

18 banks are already operating in the country, watch a documentary and you get to see things are picking up. It more like wazungus think alshabaab are bombing all over kenya yet its majorly some parts. The general part is scary though hahaha
young farmer
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 28, 2015 7:41:10 AM

Mzungu can see untapped wealth in DRC all the way from Germany, but "Muafrika" see war.
watesh
#18 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2015 9:35:13 PM

young farmer wrote:

Mzungu can see untapped wealth in DRC all the way from Germany, but "Muafrika" see war.

Applause Applause Applause Applause umesema ukweli
mnandii
#19 Posted : Saturday, May 30, 2015 10:25:52 AM

watesh wrote:
young farmer wrote:

Shame on you

@dunkang's sentiment needs to be taken seriously. You need to ask yourself why the mzungu is leaving now in the first place. Diversification is good at times. But diversification for the sake of it shows that we don't know what we are doing.

Unfortunately for many wazuans in these counters they have fallen in love with the stocks they own! They therefore lack objectivity in assessing the risks and opportunities inherent in the stocks.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#20 Posted : Saturday, May 30, 2015 7:59:17 PM

mnandii wrote:
watesh wrote:
young farmer wrote:

Shame on you

@dunkang's sentiment needs to be taken seriously. You need to ask yourself why the mzungu is leaving now in the first place. Diversification is good at times. But diversification for the sake of it shows that we don't know what we are doing.

Unfortunately for many wazuans in these counters they have fallen in love with the stocks they own! They therefore lack objectivity in assessing the risks and opportunities inherent in the stocks.

I fell in love with KQ at one time. I ignored the signs and warnings. Finally, I sold out.
I fell in love with KK at one time. I ignored the signs and warnings. I am still in but at a HUGE opportunity cost.

Never fall in love with a stock/firm you do not have control of. Ask yourself, do you implicitly trust the management?