wazua Mon, May 20, 2024

9 Pages123>»
The BigBox by Safaricom
#1 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 9:21:36 AM

Saw this being flogged at the mall on the weekend.

Really need something to replace my Zuku, BUT

Safcom as usual being greedy insist we need bundles. I can see my kids chewing through 50GB in 3 days...leave alone a month.

I think this bigbox will fail.

So sad. Such a product needs unlimited data.
#2 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 9:39:41 AM

Safcom as usual being greedy insist we need bundles. I can see my kids chewing through 50GB in 3 days...leave alone a month.

It wont fail....
#3 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 9:54:18 AM

It wont fail....

It costs 10k, and seems aimed for the domestic market. If you can pay 10k for a box, you'd expect unlimited data for 4k a month.

Where is my reasoning wrong?
Iganamagana
#4 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 10:10:22 AM

It wont fail....

It costs 10k, and seems aimed for the domestic market. If you can pay 10k for a box, you'd expect unlimited data for 4k a month.

Where is my reasoning wrong?

To me 50GB is unlimited. Plus free You Tube for three months. I do not know what those kids and You Tube do to my bundles but it is a constant cause of friction in my house. At least there will be a three months reprieve. It's worth it if it works as promised.
#5 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 10:34:41 AM

50gb is 8 hours of playing Call of Duty online. How is that unlimited?
Iganamagana
#6 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 10:42:52 AM

Ngai Mwathani!
#7 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 11:00:01 AM

Iganamagana wrote:

Ngai Mwathani!

I'm telling you, the kids will finish that 50gb in 3 days max.

This big box is a midro class priced product, with masufferer bundles. You want to sell hardware for 10k, but dont have unlimited?

FAIL.
majimaji
#8 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 11:07:45 AM

Does this box have free Free to Air FTA channels where one doesn't need the bundles?
#9 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 11:17:01 AM

Can it work if you've wireless?
ole3
#10 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 11:18:01 AM

Iganamagana wrote:

Ngai Mwathani!

This big box is a midro class priced product, with masufferer bundles. You want to sell hardware for 10k, but dont have unlimited?

FAIL.

Laughing out loudly smile mboss 50gb in 8 hours, 50gb in 3days Dataguzzlers in the making d'oh!
#11 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 11:44:12 AM

majimaji wrote:

Does this box have free Free to Air FTA channels where one doesn't need the bundles?

#12 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 12:35:57 PM

ole3 wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:

Ngai Mwathani!

FAIL.

Laughing out loudly smile mboss 50gb in 8 hours, 50gb in 3days Dataguzzlers in the making d'oh!

The kids must be streaming adult movies and having internet sex
chiaroscuro
#13 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 1:16:30 PM

If your kids are playing 8hrs of an online game in three days, you have a bigger problem that won't be solved by unlimited internet!
watesh
#14 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 2:37:04 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

If your kids are playing 8hrs of an online game in three days, you have a bigger problem that won't be solved by unlimited internet!

Looool online game play doesnt consume that much data. Been doing it for the past 3 Years. Only downloading and updating the game with consume alot
#15 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 6:59:47 PM

watesh wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:

Looool online game play doesnt consume that much data. Been doing it for the past 3 Years. Only downloading and updating the game with consume alot

During holidays each kid is allowed 2 hours online gaming per day on the PS4.

That's 4 hours a day of usage.

My guess was 50gb wont last long given what I've read on forums on the net.

Pls correct me as I want an alternative to Zuku.
#16 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 7:04:04 PM

ole3 wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:

Ngai Mwathani!

FAIL.

If you download movies the smallest decent rip is 700 mb minimum. Each series episode is around 300mb. Say you watch 2 shows a day, thats 600 mb a day. 5 days a week, comes to 12gb. Add two movies per weekend thats now 18gb. Add kids with PS4 playing on weekends during term....I'm telling you this 50mb is masufferer, not midro class.
#17 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 7:06:07 PM

I'm assuming the product gives you wireless in the home.
#18 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 8:13:04 PM

I'm assuming the product gives you wireless in the home.

He wants to use non-safaricom internet on the box.
#19 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 9:19:04 PM

ole3 wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:

Ngai Mwathani!

FAIL.

If you download movies the smallest decent rip is 700 mb minimum. Each series episode is around 300mb. Say you watch 2 shows a day, thats 600 mb a day. 5 days a week, comes to 12gb. Add two movies per weekend thats now 18gb. Add kids with PS4 playing on weekends during term....I'm telling you this 50mb is masufferer, not midro class.

smile ukweli, if the 50gb if for content provision - then that is a joke, 5.0 Mbps minimum is needed for HD-quality streams and I don't know who would part with 4-5 k per month to watch youtube at 240p, lakini we are a peculiar people.
anasazi
#20 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 10:07:36 PM

That 50 GB per month is a big joke if you're a heavy user. For newspaper readers wako sawa. But Safcom is used to selling bundles so it's hard for them to cannibalise their bundles business by giving unlimited via another route. Catch 22 for them. ZUKU breathes a sigh of relief and keeps moving. Safaricom must ask themselves where the value will be. We're looking for value. Capped bundles are not valuable to us.
Form is temporary, class is permanent