wazua Fri, May 3, 2024

15 Pages«<45678>»
Future of Safaricom - break up due to dominance!
Ericsson
#101 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 5:04:16 PM

If the presidential task force on parastatal reforms recommendations was never implemented I don't see this thing being implemented.
It will just gather dust.
Secondly the government can't kill the goose that lays it's golden egg.
Safaricom pays alot in terms of taxes and dividends to GoK
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Spikes
#102 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 5:34:08 PM

Ericsson wrote:
If the presidential task force on parastatal reforms recommendations was never implemented I don't see this thing being implemented.

Mpesa as a separate entity will be making government money in terms of taxes among other revenues...The government shall go ahead and implement the report.Unless the big fish in public offices hold significant stake in Safaricom they would like to protect from rapid downswing. But who cares if banks were shafted by rate cap by PORK?
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#103 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 7:01:45 PM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Mpesa as a separate entity will be making government money in terms of taxes among other revenues...The government shall go ahead and implement the report.Unless the big fish in public offices hold significant stake in Safaricom they would like to protect from rapid downswing. But who cares if banks were shafted by rate cap by PORK?

You better stop dreaming and get busy buying at these dips. MPESA is going no where that report will be trashed by CCK
watesh
#104 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 7:31:40 PM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

This will be the govt shooting itself on the foot. They own 30% of safaricom and now they are told to kill a huge chunk of their revenues from dividends and taxes. Then give it to Airtel to ship it off to India. A few years later the same govt will be going to India to borrow the same money.
We finally have a company big enough to boost our status internationally but now we just want to cut its legs and let another big company's subsidiary run the market. No big company will ever want to set Kenya as their headquarters. This is how we lose money and talent.
Realtreaty
#105 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 8:14:10 PM

Mucheru said NO!!! and he said it so loud that the President heard him.

You do not go round destroying investments after they have built themselves up. One day Kencell was better than Safaricom and the former kept pestering the later, but Michael worked hard to counter the attack with improvements.
Big firms as Walmart,Samsung, Apple,GE,Nokia etc did their best till they came to compete with other upcoming businesses without being capped.
Diversification is always the way to go as far as you register for license.
#106 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 8:59:31 PM

interesting

Breaking down of monopolies is inevitable. You can postpone it, but its going to happen.

That's capitalism.

If Safcom is not employing monopolistic tendencies, you should not fret. But if 90% of mobile transfers are in Mpesa, the question is not if, but when it shall happen.

Ericsson
#107 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 9:04:26 PM

KENGEN should also be declared dominant
kenya power should be declared dominant

the problem with Airtel is the indians are here to repatriate money not grow thr local economy
Orange the French were doing the same
wukan
#108 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 9:25:18 PM

watesh wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

This will be the govt shooting itself on the foot. They own 30% of safaricom and now they are told to kill a huge chunk of their revenues from dividends and taxes. Then give it to Airtel to ship it off to India. A few years later the same govt will be going to India to borrow the same money.
We finally have a company big enough to boost our status internationally but now we just want to cut its legs and let another big company's subsidiary run the market. No big company will ever want to set Kenya as their headquarters. This is how we lose money and talent.

Yeah we the banking sector shareholders thought the govt was shooting itself on the foot. We waited till the last minute till we were told "penduka" and just like that we got shafted. We still sore bro. Still sore!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
watesh
#109 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 9:39:18 PM

wukan wrote:
watesh wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Yeah we the banking sector shareholders thought the govt was shooting itself on the foot. We waited till the last minute till we were told "penduka" and just like that we got shafted. We still sore bro. Still sore!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

This is what happens when you have leaders that are so narrow minded. All they want is to boost their egos. The interest rates act was a pure political move.
I just see these guys just f***ing things up in all sectors, getting themselves huge retirement packages then leave govt to enjoy their wealth.
Ericsson
#110 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2017 7:36:10 AM

Safaricom have a vision to be as big as AT&T in terms of size and product offering.
They also want to be among top Africa's biggest companies.

Ericsson
#111 Posted : Friday, March 03, 2017 6:47:14 PM

Safaricom should go big on Fiber to the home as a way of diversification from MPESA.
All the noise around it currently won't end well and they may be forced to scale down on it.
Stick to telecommunication and stay away from financial services

Capture this;

http://www.businessdaily...35908-tllk1oz/index.html
#112 Posted : Friday, March 03, 2017 7:12:55 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Safaricom should go big on Fiber to the home as a way of diversification from MPESA.
All the noise around it currently won't end well and they may be forced to scale down on it.

Capture this;

http://www.businessdaily...5908-tllk1oz/index.html

MPESA is no different from Moneygram and Western Union.

watesh
#113 Posted : Friday, March 03, 2017 7:15:47 PM

[quote=Ericsson]Safaricom should go big on Fiber to the home as a way of diversification from MPESA.

Capture this;

http://www.businessdaily...5908-tllk1oz/index.html[/quote]
YES YES YES......yet they kept insisting there is no market since 2010. Now they have so much competition from the likes of Surf Kenya, Zuku and others.
Another thing they should offer TV with that fiber product, even if its the basic channels. Its the only way they can snatch a large chunk of Zuku customers.
Mpesa will face slow growth in usage esp with the charges now showing after each transaction and soon before. Plus some MP wanting the product to be killed in Safaricom and taken to Airtel
#114 Posted : Friday, March 03, 2017 8:26:55 PM

watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Capture this;

http://www.businessdaily...5908-tllk1oz/index.html

YES YES YES......yet they kept insisting there is no market since 2010. Now they have so much competition from the likes of Surf Kenya, Zuku and others.
Another thing they should offer TV with that fiber product, even if its the basic channels. Its the only way they can snatch a large chunk of Zuku customers.
Mpesa will face slow growth in usage esp with the charges now showing after each transaction and soon before. Plus some MP wanting the product to be killed in Safaricom and taken to Airtel

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Shame on you
#115 Posted : Friday, March 03, 2017 8:27:38 PM

watesh wrote:
[quote=Ericsson]Safaricom should go big on Fiber to the home as a way of diversification from MPESA.

Capture this;

You wish. If you are in kenya, carry out a very simple survey of people you know and how often they use mpesa and those other services. Mpesa is better than banks in service delivery but with higher charges. But nationally, still the preferred choice by the masses.
Spikes
#116 Posted : Friday, March 03, 2017 8:44:44 PM

watesh wrote:

Capture this;

You wish. If you are in kenya, carry out a very simple survey of people you know and how often they use mpesa and those other services. Mpesa is better than banks in service delivery but with higher charges. But nationally, still the preferred choice by the masses.

Just like Mumias sugar Mpesa is super brand.
#117 Posted : Saturday, March 04, 2017 1:33:35 PM

Spikes wrote:
watesh wrote:

Capture this;

Just like Mumias sugar Mpesa is super brand.

Hii mambo ya vulnerability to money laundry http://www.businessdaily...35908-tllk1oz/index.html

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#118 Posted : Tuesday, March 07, 2017 11:23:08 PM

Headed straight to KES 14

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Spikes
#119 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 6:01:17 AM

Headed straight to KES 14

Most folks here are accustomed to think Safaricom is immune to a great crash. Meltdown continues!
Metasploit
#120 Posted : Wednesday, March 08, 2017 12:16:51 PM

This one will surely touch 15..Hope to have liquidated my positions by then

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”