wazua Fri, Mar 29, 2024

15 Pages«<910111213>»
Future of Safaricom - break up due to dominance!
Flo-ology
#201 Posted : Sunday, May 07, 2017 2:38:34 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Shak wrote:
Shak wrote:
[quote=VituVingiSana]Punishing Safaricom for building M-Pesa into a giant is silly. They all started from the same premise/level but one innovated. #ThisIsKenya

How is this likely to affect the share price?

CS Mucheru says government is opposed to the splitting of Safaricom. Thank goodness

Same thing happened with Governor on the interest rates

Obiero acha uwongo
The governor said CBK he didn't say government

@ericsson never question the prophet of wazua.. here is the bad news on Safaricom dominance http://www.businessdaily...6290-78kxybz/index.html[/quote]

Interoperability means, you can now send your money from Equitel to Safaricom. Who wins here, the provider who can provide enough mobile money functions

Good move and good news. Closely watching how this unfolds.
Reflection Eternal
bartum
#202 Posted : Monday, May 08, 2017 11:49:31 AM

Crosses 20 easily
#203 Posted : Monday, May 08, 2017 12:03:38 PM

bartum wrote:
Crosses 20 easily

Massive profit increase to be announced.. the exchange bar confirms

HF 428,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ericsson
#204 Posted : Monday, May 08, 2017 12:23:34 PM

bartum wrote:
Crosses 20 easily

That one we know.
Juzi you were predicting doom times for safaricom
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#205 Posted : Tuesday, May 09, 2017 9:03:27 PM

Ericsson wrote:
bartum wrote:
Crosses 20 easily

That one we know.
Juzi you were predicting doom times for safaricom

You must learn to understand @obiero.. What he was implying was stressful times ahead, not losses!!!! Anyway, here we are
Safaricom FY 2016-2017
EBITDA 95.6B
EBT 67.3B
Net income 46.3B
Dividend KES 1

watesh
#206 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 9:12:12 AM

So am reading that this government sold off its entire 35% stake in Safaricom for Kshs284 billion....Govt must be REALLY broke.
Or they want to set some sh*ty regulation that would massacre that stock price
#207 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 9:20:24 AM

watesh wrote:
So am reading that this government sold off its entire 35% stake in Safaricom for Kshs284 billion....Govt must be REALLY broke.

They are issuing some statement on the same ummmh apparently its not true...or its something they considered but when people started talking about it...wakakanyagia...

watesh
#208 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 9:31:46 AM

watesh wrote:

They are issuing some statement on the same ummmh apparently its not true...or its something they considered but when people started talking about it...wakakanyagia...

For sure that may be it....i dont really understand why they even would consider to even sell now. A mammoth company still doing double-digit growth in revenues with soooo much potential.
Pesa Nane
#209 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 9:47:26 AM

Hogwash reporting
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#210 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 9:58:25 AM

watesh wrote:

For sure that may be it....i dont really understand why they even would consider to even sell now. A mammoth company still doing double-digit growth in revenues with soooo much potential.

lochaz-index
#211 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 10:59:43 AM

watesh wrote:

Nothing to do with with GoK. GoK stake still stands as is just Vodafone and vodacom musical chairs. https://www.bloomberg.co...-billion-safaricom-stake
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
Ericsson
#212 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 11:06:43 AM

Useless reporting from watesh and Wallace Kantai;
It's Vodafone that's transferring its stake to Vodacom SA not GoK

https://www.bloomberg.co...er&utm_medium=social
#213 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 11:59:43 AM

[quote=Ericsson]Useless reporting from watesh and Wallace Kantai;
It's Vodafone that's transferring its stake to Vodacom SA not GoK

https://www.bloomberg.co...r&utm_medium=social[/quote]

Another move that stunts the growth of Safaricom outside of Kenya. Another opportunity lost by Vodafone (and local shareholders) to make crazy money riding on the goodwill inherent in Safaricom/ Mpesa brands.

I belief "Mpesa" is more acceptable to Africans than other attempts to copycat Mpesa with funny names like "vodacom money".

Vodafone site says Mpesa has 19.9 million users in Africa, Middle East and Europe. What they don't say is that 99% of the users are Kenyans and Kenyans in the diaspora.

Mpesa is Kenyan, is African just like Mercedes is German. You don't see Mercedes marketed as "Nyati" or "Kifaru" in Kenya.

If I was Vodafone, grow Mpesa as a genuine Kenyan/ African business, empower it to make acquisitions in other developing and emerging countries.

Lastly, South Africans don't know shit about growing business in the rest of Africa. If they were unable to replicate Mpesa in their country, how can you trust them to manage a thriving Mpesa brand.
peep
#214 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 8:43:13 PM

We were taught in Law 101 that existing shareholders are given right of first refusal if a shareholder wants to exit. We're we consulted and I missed the meeting?
#215 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 8:51:18 PM

Bloomberg wrote:
In the all-share deal, Vodafone will transfer a 35 percent stake in Safaricom to its Johannesburg-based unit, getting stock in return that raises its Vodacom holding to about 70 percent.

Reuters wrote:
UK-based telecoms group Vodafone moved to consolidate two of its African interests on Monday with the transfer of a 35 percent stake in Kenya's Safaricom to majority-owned South African subsidiary Vodacom.

The 34.6 billion-rand ($2.6 billion) deal, structured as an acquisition of the stake by Vodacom in return for new shares, is the latest move by Vodafone's chief executive Vittorio Colao to rationalise the group's disparate portfolio of interests around the world. Colao said last month that the company would fold some of its operations in sub-Saharan Africa into Vodacom as part of a "single, coordinated Africa strategy".
Ericsson
#216 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 10:25:45 PM

The African subsidiary of British multinational Vodafone is set to take over 35 per cent ownership of Safaricom in a share swap deal that could pave the way for a more rapid spread of M-Pesa across the continent.
Vodafone, which currently owns 40 per cent of Safaricom SCOM • 20.50 ▲ 1.23%, Monday announced it will cede majority of its stake in return for new ordinary shares in Vodacom for an estimated Sh266.6 billion (€2.4 billion).
People familiar with the transaction said the share swap will effectively bring to an end a clause that barred Safaricom from venturing outside Kenya.
ICT secretary Joe Mucheru disclosed that Safaricom, in which the Kenyan government controls a 35 per cent stake, could not before the transaction move into other African countries that would put it into direct competition with Vodacom.
While Safaricom will still not be free to enter Vodacom markets in Africa, it can now move to new countries where the South African firm does not have a presence.
Vodacom will in turn be free to use M-Pesa in its markets.
“At the board level if the company decides there is a market opportunity for Safaricom, say Ethiopia, we can go there,” said Mr Mucheru in an interview.

http://www.businessdaily...8464-11e48p6z/index.html
Wororo
#217 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 10:43:42 PM

Vodacom to acquire strategic stake in Safaricom for R35 billion

Dear Colleagues,

I have exceptionally exciting news to share with you. In addition to announcing a solid set of financial results this morning, the Vodacom Group has agreed on terms with Vodafone to buy a strategic interest (just under 35%) in Kenya’s market leading telco, Safaricom. To put it into context, the Safaricom transaction is worth R34.6 billion, making it almost five times bigger than the Neotel offer.

Apart from being a household name in Kenya, Safaricom is a high growth, high margin, high cash generation business that operates in a high growth market. Closer cooperation with a quality asset like Safaricom will create further value and mutually beneficial opportunities for both companies including the likes of best practice sharing, replicating Safaricom’s success in M-Pesa in Vodacom’s other territories as well as creating new pan-African enterprise solutions in other east Africa markets.

Safaricom’s leading mobile money platform, M-Pesa, is an important driver of Kenyan economic growth, providing essential financial services to over 19 million customers. The proposed transaction will improve Vodacom Group’s presence in East Africa, jointly increasing the company’s growth in financial services customers to 32 million, making it a formidable player in financial services on the continent.

From a Vodacom perspective, it offers a rare opportunity to diversify our revenue growth and profitability – all in a single transaction. For example, if we included Safaricom into the Annual Results we issued this morning, it would have proportionally equated to 12.6% of the overall group’s service revenue. It will provide a platform for further growth that we firmly believe will be to the benefit of you, our colleagues, our customers and clients, our shareholders and the communities in which we operate. Specifically, I want to emphasise the benefits from enhanced career prospects, including greater international job opportunities.

As is the case with transactions of this nature, there are certain regulatory and shareholder approvals that we will need to secure before it is finalised. As this is a related-party transaction (we are buying a stake from Vodafone, our parent company) we have made sure that all appropriate governance controls have been implemented. We have negotiated this transaction on an arm’s length basis and will see to it that it is evaluated and executed in the same spirit as we need to ensure the equitable treatment of the interests of minority shareholders in particular.

I am confident that we have negotiated an attractive price for access to an additional 28.1 million customers and one of the most successful and innovative telecoms companies in Africa. It also sets us up to occupy a leading position in sub-Saharan Africa with exposure to one-third of the region’s gross domestic product.

These are exciting times and I promise to keep you updated on the progress we make, as and when we can.

Regards,
Shameel
#218 Posted : Monday, May 15, 2017 10:53:25 PM

Wororo wrote:

Dear Colleagues,

I have exceptionally exciting news to share with you. In addition to announcing a solid set of financial results this morning, the Vodacom Group has agreed on terms with Vodafone to buy a strategic interest (just under 35%) in Kenya’s market leading telco, Safaricom. To put it into context, the Safaricom transaction is worth R34.6 billion, making it almost five times bigger than the Neotel offer.

Apart from being a household name in Kenya, Safaricom is a high growth, high margin, high cash generation business that operates in a high growth market. Closer cooperation with a quality asset like Safaricom will create further value and mutually beneficial opportunities for both companies including the likes of best practice sharing, replicating Safaricom’s success in M-Pesa in Vodacom’s other territories as well as creating new pan-African enterprise solutions in other east Africa markets.

Safaricom’s leading mobile money platform, M-Pesa, is an important driver of Kenyan economic growth, providing essential financial services to over 19 million customers. The proposed transaction will improve Vodacom Group’s presence in East Africa, jointly increasing the company’s growth in financial services customers to 32 million, making it a formidable player in financial services on the continent.

From a Vodacom perspective, it offers a rare opportunity to diversify our revenue growth and profitability – all in a single transaction. For example, if we included Safaricom into the Annual Results we issued this morning, it would have proportionally equated to 12.6% of the overall group’s service revenue. It will provide a platform for further growth that we firmly believe will be to the benefit of you, our colleagues, our customers and clients, our shareholders and the communities in which we operate. Specifically, I want to emphasise the benefits from enhanced career prospects, including greater international job opportunities.

As is the case with transactions of this nature, there are certain regulatory and shareholder approvals that we will need to secure before it is finalised. As this is a related-party transaction (we are buying a stake from Vodafone, our parent company) we have made sure that all appropriate governance controls have been implemented. We have negotiated this transaction on an arm’s length basis and will see to it that it is evaluated and executed in the same spirit as we need to ensure the equitable treatment of the interests of minority shareholders in particular.

I am confident that we have negotiated an attractive price for access to an additional 28.1 million customers and one of the most successful and innovative telecoms companies in Africa. It also sets us up to occupy a leading position in sub-Saharan Africa with exposure to one-third of the region’s gross domestic product.

These are exciting times and I promise to keep you updated on the progress we make, as and when we can.

Regards,
Shameel

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly They are already thinking of coming to snatch your jobs. The tables might be turned Safcoms management might soon be running Vodacom
cyruskulei
#219 Posted : Tuesday, May 16, 2017 10:19:17 AM

Wororo wrote:

Dear Colleagues,

Regards,
Shameel

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly They are already thinking of coming to snatch your jobs. The tables might be turned Safcoms management might soon be running Vodacom

I dont like this. The way south africans do bizness is totally different from us. I think we should oppose this and ask vodafone to sell to the public/ kenyans.
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

#220 Posted : Friday, May 19, 2017 7:52:47 PM

Let us discuss pesalink.. I think it will dent the green monster