Waitiki land saga..
Is this a case of greed or justice. So this is the story. A man by the name Kamau waitiki buys 953 acres of land in Mombasa for 2 million shillings from a muhindi in 1975. The coast has always got squatters so there are squatters on the land who continue increasing until one day they kick out Mr. Waitiki himself and occupy the land fully in 1999. They have developed the land and have built permanent structures on it but Mr. Waitiki still retains the title and has been unwilling to sell until what he calls fair market value which by some calculations is about 10 billion shillings. Of course the wenyeji do not have 10 billion shillings to pay the man and they cannot just uproot their houses and go elsewhere, they are legitimately disenfranchised, they are Coasterians whose land was taken away from them. The government is willing to help to buy the land and give it to the squatters but Mr. waitiki wants billions and as a tax payer I don't want my money to be used to make Waitiki a billionare. So what to do? Why can't he just accept 800 million and move on but then again why should he, shamba ni yake and to be fair to him he can ask for whatever price he wants, willing buyer, willing seller.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
The problem is mambo ya kupeana peana mashamba bure.You either inherit land or buy. Imagine you spend years saving, taking chama loans and joining pyramids and then buy land; Then after 2 years, you have neighbors who have gotten the land free. How would you feel? The so called squatters are the same people you find even in places like central in what you call "gicagi" they are in every village (different from gicagi)Those who succeed get to buy their own land, others continue living there till death. Some ended there coz they sold their original land, conned by educated people.
Kusadikika wrote:Is this a case of greed or justice. So this is the story. A man by the name Kamau waitiki buys 953 acres of land in Mombasa for 2 million shillings from a muhindi in 1975. The coast has always got squatters so there are squatters on the land who continue increasing until one day they kick out Mr. Waitiki himself and occupy the land fully in 1999. They have developed the land and have built permanent structures on it but Mr. Waitiki still retains the title and has been unwilling to sell until what he calls fair market value which by some calculations is about 10 billion shillings. Of course the wenyeji do not have 10 billion shillings to pay the man and they cannot just uproot their houses and go elsewhere, they are legitimately disenfranchised, they are Coasterians whose land was taken away from them. The government is willing to help to buy the land and give it to the squatters but Mr. waitiki wants billions and as a tax payer I don't want my money to be used to make Waitiki a billionare. So what to do? Why can't he just accept 800 million and move on but then again why should he, shamba ni yake and to be fair to him he can ask for whatever price he wants, willing buyer, willing seller. The govt failed to protect waitiki's land as a taxpayer therefore he should be paid by the Govt. In another case, A retired Judge Benna Lutta was awarded over Sh 850 million compensation by the high court over illegal encroachment of his land by the government and villagers in Trans Nzoia County. High court judge Isaac Lenaola also awarded the retired judge Sh 850 million as special damages, Sh 3 million general damages and Sh 30 million for equipment, tools, animals and farm equipment that were destroyed when goons forcefully ejected the judge and his employees from the farm. <----- the Standard "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
kiash wrote:The problem is mambo ya kupeana peana mashamba bure.You either inherit land or buy. Imagine you spend years saving, taking chama loans and joining pyramids and then buy land; Then after 2 years, you have neighbors who have gotten the land free. How would you feel? The so called squatters are the same people you find even in places like central in what you call "gicagi" they are in every village (different from gicagi)Those who succeed get to buy their own land, others continue living there till death. Some ended there coz they sold their original land, conned by educated people. This is the kind of elitist Mountaineer thinking propagated by those who have made it that is at the center of the inertia to ever tackle the land problem. When the white man came and divided up the land and gave himself title deeds we all effectively became squatters. But the fundamental idea that we all owned the land before it ever had a title is one that cannot be denied. The gichagis you mention are in effect long standing IDP camps. Some people do work hard and become successful and make it out of there and manage to buy their own land but those who remain are still displaced people, they all had land that was taken away from them. The coffee farms in central owned by Kakuzis, Sasinis, etc, tea farms in Limuru, Kericho etc were once occupied or were accessible to people who no longer have access to them. Many of the indigenous people of the Coast had never seen a title deed until some were recently given to them by Ngilu and UK yet in their own land the Waitikis have title to thousands of acres. If you think that the Mau mau had legitimate grievances to rise up against the "legal" white owners of land in central, what objection would you have for the coasterians rising up against the Waitikis? The problem however is that most of us own a "kaburoti" somewhere that we most likely bought from a Waitiki and are hence on the same branch of evil grabbers. You definitely bought it with your hard earned money but so does the person who buys a stolen car.
@kusadikika Hapo umegonga ndipo. Small correction... Not all moutaneers are of that school of thought.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
@Kusadikika you are misreporting the facts, Mr. Waitiki took a loan plus his savings to purchase the land and as we all agree that was alot of cash then. He occupied the land and was doing very well till the tribal crashes started and the farm was invaded. To say that its the coast people who did that ni owongo. I worked in that area for 12 years and I can tell you for a fact that the so called watu wa bala did it together with some wadigo, it was free for all and the majority occupiers are luo and waluya who disguise themselves as digo.
Ngong wrote:@Kusadikika you are misreporting the facts, Mr. Waitiki took a loan plus his savings to purchase the land and as we all agree that was alot of cash then. He occupied the land and was doing very well till the tribal crashes started and the farm was invaded. To say that its the coast people who did that ni owongo. I worked in that area for 12 years and I can tell you for a fact that the so called watu wa bala did it together with some wadigo, it was free for all and the majority occupiers are luo and waluya who disguise themselves as digo. I also would think so but let's say Kusadikika has valid points.Very valid indeed and they touch on some injustice(s) to either or both parties.His points are then lost in his feelings when he invokes the name of a tribe.How many of the current generation of mountaineers were around when Waitiki bought the farm? How many of the same generation have been anywhere near Waitiki's farm? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:Ngong wrote:@Kusadikika you are misreporting the facts, Mr. Waitiki took a loan plus his savings to purchase the land and as we all agree that was alot of cash then. He occupied the land and was doing very well till the tribal crashes started and the farm was invaded. To say that its the coast people who did that ni owongo. I worked in that area for 12 years and I can tell you for a fact that the so called watu wa bala did it together with some wadigo, it was free for all and the majority occupiers are luo and waluya who disguise themselves as digo. I also would think so but let's say Kusadikika has valid points.Very valid indeed and they touch on some injustice(s) to either or both parties.His points are then lost in his feelings when he invokes the name of a tribe.How many of the current generation of mountaineers were around when Waitiki bought the farm? How many of the same generation have been anywhere near Waitiki's farm? True,it is stereotyping that hurts,waitiki bought the land very expensive those days,resigned from his well paying job to engage in farming. His farm was invaded cause of his tribe,his muhidi neighbors farm was also invaded and used as training ground for militia. Let him get the maximum from his investment plus damages and lost revenue,BTW what is the total monthly salary/allowance of our beloved MPIGS?
The squatters are actually "millionaire squatters". http://www.standardmedia...-of-shillings-in-mombasa
C&P “Waitiki should be compensated and we are ready to pay. Let people not lie to Government that we did not know this was his land before we bought it. Let Government come up with a formula to raise the Sh10 billion demanded by Waitiki. Maybe it can raise half and then require all land owners to each pay Sh200,000,” he said. According to Government estimates, 120,000 residents live on the land which was sub-divided and illegally sold to the owners who now hold fake allotment letters and titles. Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...ings-in-mombasa?pageNo=2According to its owner, Evanson Kamau Waitiki, the 930 acre farm was home to over 900 heads of cattle and 300,000 chicken. It gave him a cumulative monthly income of Sh1 million through sale of fresh milk, beef, chicken and fruits which he exported to South Africa, Europe and even Saudi Arabia. Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...ings-in-mombasa?pageNo=1Pay this guy his money or better still let rent be paid to him by the occupiers for sue its his estate!
Waitiki land saga..