wazua Tue, May 21, 2024

Cembe millers - investment opportunity
ngapat
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 3:06:37 PM

About Cembe

Cembe Millers Ltd is a new venture specialising in milling grains like maize. It was incorporated under the Companies Act (Cap 486) of the laws of Kenya. The company will produce maize flour in Kenya for human consumption across East and Central Africa. The by-products will be processed and sold as animal feeds.

Inviting Investors

Cembe Millers is calling on interested pioneer investors to own shares in the new company. This special joint venture is not to be missed by anyone who shares in our vision “To Feed the Community!”, while generating appreciable benefits.

Our company targets a daily production output of 1,000 bags of maize meal each weighing 90kgs. One kilogram(1kg) of of maize flour currently retails at approximately Ksh. 50/-. This translates to a total gross production of Ksh. 50 x 90 kgs x 1,000 bags which is Ksh. 4,500,000/-.

The purchase cost of 90 kgs of maize flour is Ksh. 2,600/- and we aim at buying 1,000 bags of maize per day. Initial Expected Returns Daily Purchase Cost: Ksh. 2,600 x 1,000 bags which is Ksh. 2,600,000/- Daily Gross Margin: Ksh. 4,500,000 minus Ksh. 2,600,000 which is Ksh. 1,900,000/- Annual Gross Margin: Ksh. 1,900,000 x 25 days x 12 months which is Ksh. 570,000,000/-

http://cembemillers.co.ke/
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 3:27:00 PM

Not a bad idea but who is the neutral regulator?
Mart_Consult
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 4:16:45 PM

What's the share pool? At that price I'd want to see assigned company valuation and rationale behind it...plus of course directors and management profile...
I went into the (Ferry) industry knowing the same thing I knew with all other businesses I went into- Nothing. Then I built it from there. - Sheldon Adelson (Titans at the Table- Giants of Macau)
Mkimwa
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 4:48:23 PM

[quote=ngapat]About Cembe

Cembe Millers Ltd is a new venture specialising in milling grains like maize. It was incorporated under the Companies Act (Cap 486) of the laws of Kenya. The company will produce maize flour in Kenya for human consumption across East and Central Africa. The by-products will be processed and sold as animal feeds.

Inviting Investors

Cembe Millers is calling on interested pioneer investors to own shares in the new company. This special joint venture is not to be missed by anyone who shares in our vision “To Feed the Community!”, while generating appreciable benefits.

Our company targets a daily production output of 1,000 bags of maize meal each weighing 90kgs. One kilogram(1kg) of of maize flour currently retails at approximately Ksh. 50/-. This translates to a total gross production of Ksh. 50 x 90 kgs x 1,000 bags which is Ksh. 4,500,000/-.

The purchase cost of 90 kgs of maize flour is Ksh. 2,600/- and we aim at buying 1,000 bags of maize per day. Initial Expected Returns Daily Purchase Cost: Ksh. 2,600 x 1,000 bags which is Ksh. 2,600,000/- Daily Gross Margin: Ksh. 4,500,000 minus Ksh. 2,600,000 which is Ksh. 1,900,000/- Annual Gross Margin: Ksh. 1,900,000 x 25 days x 12 months which is Ksh. 570,000,000/-

http://cembemillers.co.ke/[/quote]

Funny business case:
1. Assuming 100% efficiency - you buy 1000 bags of maize, and you expect them to produce the same 1000 bags of flour.
2. What about operational costs - power, rent, staff, marketing budget,other inputs, wastage, transport, finance costs? The returns will be very minimal.
3. Maize prices flactuate seriously in Kenya.
4. Have you started production? or are selling "shares" in something that hasnt even started?
5. Business valuation. Justify.
6. How many shares does your company have?

Run people, run..
Chaka
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 5:05:12 PM

@Mkimwa,
Apart from what you have raised I would want to know;
i)Has the plant and eqp been purchased?ie milling and packing machines
ii)Where will the milling be done?
iii) How do you intend to deal with the competition?
iv)Compliance costs i,e permits,licences etc..?
v)When was the Co. incorporated?
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 6:11:05 PM

Very simplistic thinking on this business case. The elephant in the room is always this question. How many bags of sembe maize meal can you sell on a daily basis? And what are the selling and distribution costs. You cant sell the stuff at selling prices as you need to leave a margin for your distributors/wholesalers. Have you thought about your marketing strategy?
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 7:40:15 PM

CMA says it's a fake unauthorized offer http://www.cma.or.ke/index.php?...nd-events&Itemid=230
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 8:09:23 PM

Even that name looks scaaaaaaaam!!!!!!!!!!
Chaka
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 19, 2015 9:31:40 PM

muganda wrote:
CMA says it's a fake unauthorized offer http://www.cma.or.ke/index.php?...nd-events&Itemid=230

@Muganda,Wow..did you google this?May be these guys should go for a private offer?
#10 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 1:15:16 AM

These are conmen. Be warned!!!

Link
#11 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 1:28:40 AM

Chunga usibaki na unga kwa mkono!!
BGL
#12 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 8:08:41 AM

CMA has raised a red flag on cembe millers. Check the Daily Nation page 32
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#13 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 11:16:39 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Chunga usibaki na unga kwa mkono!!

Na sio ya pharmacists d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
maru101
#14 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 1:04:38 PM

CEMBE MILLER

Following CMA's efforts to stop the start-upAnxious from seeking funding from the public, do you think its a scam or not?
Still learning...
Chaka
#15 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 1:57:22 PM

maru101 wrote:
Following CMA's efforts to stop the start-upAnxious from seeking funding from the public, do you think its a scam or not?

Even if its not a scam,it portrays the promoters as rather ignorant fellows..
maru101
#16 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 2:00:15 PM

Very true Chaka,
Still learning...
Realtreaty
#17 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:19:30 PM

It sounds a politician company kupta public anouncement kwa matanga to seek sympathy. Kwani hii ni "OKOA KENYA" company?
whiteowl
#18 Posted : Saturday, February 21, 2015 9:45:42 AM

The idea of funding non existent companies is just ridiculous! But if you're into the business of buying dreams, go ahead.
Pesa Nane
#19 Posted : Sunday, February 22, 2015 2:08:50 PM

maru101 wrote:
CEMBE MILLER

If ever there was a time when thinking was not required.......
Don't even finish to read this, RRRUUUUUUUNNNNNNNN!
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane
#20 Posted : Sunday, February 22, 2015 2:22:20 PM

Domain Details
Domain Name: cembemillers.co.ke
Domain ID: 216734-KENIC
Creation Date: 2015-01-29T21:01:56.115Z
Registry Expiry Date: 2016-01-29T21:01:56.159Z
Sponsoring Registrar: Sasahost Limited
Domain Status: ok
Registrant ID: 216730-KENIC
Registrant Name: Cembe Millers
Registrant Street: P.O. BOX 63851
Registrant Street: Postal Code 00619
Registrant City: Nairobi
Registrant State/Province: Nairobi
Registrant Postal Code: 00200
Registrant Country: KE
Registrant Phone: +254.0000000000
Registrant Phone Ext:
Name Server: ns47.sasahost.com
Name Server: ns48.sasahost.com
Name Server: ns49.sasahost.com
DNSSEC: unsigned
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.