wazua Sun, May 5, 2024

Sundowner
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:23:28 AM

I chanced it on KBC channel one last night and didn't the show bring back good ol' days?.The artistes,the tunes and all.They featured Lionel Ritchie, Parton, Billy Ocean, Bolton, Clapton,Marvin Gaye, Elton John amongst others……. and well, who else other than Simon and Gurfenkel with their 1981 hit “Sound of Silence”.Kudos to Roy and team.Applause Applause I won’t miss any one show from here.
holycow
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:27:16 AM

I tune in to Sundowner daily except when I'm in North Eastern. The #SundownerTV show airs every Sunday and repeat on Tuesdays.
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:33:04 AM

holycow wrote:
I tune in to Sundowner daily except when I'm in North Eastern. The #SundownerTV show airs every Sunday and repeat on Tuesdays.

Repeat should be on Wednesday then coz i caught it immediately after the 9pm bulletin jana.What time on Sundays?
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:49:48 AM

It is represents lovely way to take a walk down memory lane.

My young neighbors could not believe what they were hearing when I hit the full blast dial on my rarely used high performance music system.

Thank you Guka for sharing.
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 11:18:34 AM

I chanced it on KBC channel one last night and didn't the show bring back good ol' days?.The artistes,the tunes and all.They featured Lionel Ritchie, Parton, Billy Ocean, Bolton, Clapton,Marvin Gaye, Elton John amongst others……. and well, who else other than Simon and Gurfenkel with their 1981 hit “Sound of Silence”.Kudos to Roy and team.Applause Applause I won’t miss any one show from here.

The guys couldn't look at each other in the live performance. But great song
holycow
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 11:22:42 AM

Show runs on Sunday from 5pm to 6pm. Repeat is on Tuesday at 3pm.
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 11:37:23 AM

Listening to the show all the time.

#8 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 11:41:36 AM

holycow wrote:
Show runs on Sunday from 5pm to 6pm. Repeat is on Tuesday at 3pm.

Thanks buddy. Can the guys put title and artiste(s) to each song?That would add spice.

#9 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 11:59:44 AM

K24(or is it 3 stones) have a similar show
Atalaku
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 12:08:54 PM

Jo Obongo junior, Larry wambua etc....were such greats. Sundowner still feels like the music is being played in vinyl records format...
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 12:31:44 PM

nice nice..and where did some of the old names go? John Karani, John Obongo Jnr (I think he comes in every now and then), Jeff Mwangemi, etc
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 12:55:34 PM

aemathenge wrote:

My young neighbors could not believe what they were hearing when I hit the full blast dial on my rarely used high performance music system.

so you are one of those weird neighbours who play music at full blast. what's the reason behind such behaviours anyways? poor hearing or showing off 'cultured' taste in music?
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 1:10:17 PM

mkenyan wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

so you are one of those weird neighbours who play music at full blast. what's the reason behind such behaviours anyways? poor hearing or showing off 'cultured' taste in music?

I want to believe you will re-phrase you question once you take the bold, italic and underlined text in my earlier post into context.

Secondly, it is a thing with teenagers. At least it was when that kind of music was the in thing.

We used to call it ghetto blasting. But then again you would not understand. Ask Guka.
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 6:42:43 PM

@holycow, et al...what's the name of that Roger Whittaker song that played in today's edition? Looking for it on you tube/the lyrics

There was a time I thought Catherine Ndonye said it's titled 'High'. Nikaitafuta lakini sikufaulu kuipata

Saidia maksini
holycow
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 7:02:06 PM

@holycow, et al...what's the name of that Roger Whittaker song that played in today's edition? Looking for it on you tube/the lyrics

There was a time I thought Catherine Ndonye said it's titled 'High'. Nikaitafuta lakini sikufaulu kuipata

Saidia maksini

Titled "We Are High" Getting Waithaka's songs can be tricky. I was tuned in as usual.
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 7:05:37 PM

holycow wrote:

Saidia maksini

Titled "We Are High" Getting Waithaka's songs can be tricky. I was tuned in as usual.

still can't get the lyrics but thanks. Video haiko at all!
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 12, 2015 7:25:10 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
nice nice..and where did some of the old names go? John Karani, John Obongo Jnr (I think he comes in every now and then), Jeff Mwangemi, etc

John Obongo is there weekends only. He is my favorite.

We lost Nzau Kalulu juzi

John Karani should be with some Tz station
#18 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 10:58:41 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:

John Obongo is there weekends only. He is my favorite.

We lost Nzau Kalulu juzi

John Karani should be with some Tz station

John Karani in Kiss FM, Tz. Jeff on KBC Idhaa ya Taifa.
#19 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 2:28:55 PM

@MaHeGoat,

Kula kitu.I know you are a fan of the King.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkBS4zUjJZo
XSK
#20 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 3:24:01 PM

[quote=Njung'e]@MaHeGoat,

Kula kitu.I know you are a fan of the King.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkBS4zUjJZo[/quote]

Now that CTV, ntv and KTN are off air basi sundowner lazima tuone.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!