I chanced it on KBC channel one last night and didn't the show bring back good ol' days?.The artistes,the tunes and all.They featured Lionel Ritchie, Parton, Billy Ocean, Bolton, Clapton,Marvin Gaye, Elton John amongst others……. and well, who else other than Simon and Gurfenkel with their 1981 hit “Sound of Silence”.Kudos to Roy and team. I won’t miss any one show from here. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 971 Location: Home
I tune in to Sundowner daily except when I'm in North Eastern. The #SundownerTV show airs every Sunday and repeat on Tuesdays.
holycow wrote:I tune in to Sundowner daily except when I'm in North Eastern. The #SundownerTV show airs every Sunday and repeat on Tuesdays. Repeat should be on Wednesday then coz i caught it immediately after the 9pm bulletin jana.What time on Sundays? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
It is represents lovely way to take a walk down memory lane. My young neighbors could not believe what they were hearing when I hit the full blast dial on my rarely used high performance music system. Thank you Guka for sharing.
Njung'e wrote:I chanced it on KBC channel one last night and didn't the show bring back good ol' days?.The artistes,the tunes and all.They featured Lionel Ritchie, Parton, Billy Ocean, Bolton, Clapton,Marvin Gaye, Elton John amongst others……. and well, who else other than Simon and Gurfenkel with their 1981 hit “Sound of Silence”.Kudos to Roy and team. I won’t miss any one show from here. The guys couldn't look at each other in the live performance. But great song
Show runs on Sunday from 5pm to 6pm. Repeat is on Tuesday at 3pm.
Listening to the show all the time. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
holycow wrote:Show runs on Sunday from 5pm to 6pm. Repeat is on Tuesday at 3pm. Thanks buddy. Can the guys put title and artiste(s) to each song?That would add spice. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
K24(or is it 3 stones) have a similar show
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
Jo Obongo junior, Larry wambua etc....were such greats. Sundowner still feels like the music is being played in vinyl records format...
nice nice..and where did some of the old names go? John Karani, John Obongo Jnr (I think he comes in every now and then), Jeff Mwangemi, etc
aemathenge wrote:It is represents lovely way to take a walk down memory lane.
My young neighbors could not believe what they were hearing when I hit the full blast dial on my rarely used high performance music system.
Thank you Guka for sharing. so you are one of those weird neighbours who play music at full blast. what's the reason behind such behaviours anyways? poor hearing or showing off 'cultured' taste in music?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
mkenyan wrote:aemathenge wrote:It is represents lovely way to take a walk down memory lane.
My young neighbors could not believe what they were hearing when I hit the full blast dial on my rarely used high performance music system.
Thank you Guka for sharing. so you are one of those weird neighbours who play music at full blast. what's the reason behind such behaviours anyways? poor hearing or showing off 'cultured' taste in music? I want to believe you will re-phrase you question once you take the bold, italic and underlined text in my earlier post into context. Secondly, it is a thing with teenagers. At least it was when that kind of music was the in thing. We used to call it ghetto blasting. But then again you would not understand. Ask Guka.
@holycow, et al...what's the name of that Roger Whittaker song that played in today's edition? Looking for it on you tube/the lyrics There was a time I thought Catherine Ndonye said it's titled 'High'. Nikaitafuta lakini sikufaulu kuipata Saidia maksini
Lolest! wrote:@holycow, et al...what's the name of that Roger Whittaker song that played in today's edition? Looking for it on you tube/the lyrics
There was a time I thought Catherine Ndonye said it's titled 'High'. Nikaitafuta lakini sikufaulu kuipata
Saidia maksini Titled "We Are High" Getting Waithaka's songs can be tricky. I was tuned in as usual.
holycow wrote:Lolest! wrote:@holycow, et al...what's the name of that Roger Whittaker song that played in today's edition? Looking for it on you tube/the lyrics
There was a time I thought Catherine Ndonye said it's titled 'High'. Nikaitafuta lakini sikufaulu kuipata
Saidia maksini Titled "We Are High" Getting Waithaka's songs can be tricky. I was tuned in as usual. still can't get the lyrics but thanks. Video haiko at all!
Intelligentsia wrote:nice nice..and where did some of the old names go? John Karani, John Obongo Jnr (I think he comes in every now and then), Jeff Mwangemi, etc John Obongo is there weekends only. He is my favorite. We lost Nzau Kalulu juzi John Karani should be with some Tz station
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Lolest! wrote:Intelligentsia wrote:nice nice..and where did some of the old names go? John Karani, John Obongo Jnr (I think he comes in every now and then), Jeff Mwangemi, etc John Obongo is there weekends only. He is my favorite. We lost Nzau Kalulu juzi John Karani should be with some Tz station John Karani in Kiss FM, Tz. Jeff on KBC Idhaa ya Taifa. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
@MaHeGoat, Kula kitu.I know you are a fan of the King. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkBS4zUjJZoNothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
[quote=Njung'e]@MaHeGoat, Kula kitu.I know you are a fan of the King. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkBS4zUjJZo[/quote] Now that CTV, ntv and KTN are off air basi sundowner lazima tuone. You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!