wazua Tue, May 7, 2024

70 Pages«<4445464748>»
SGR Progress thus far
#901 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 10:32:20 PM

Six trains per day starting tomorrow...3 each way....

http://www.businessdaily...2754-j959gvz/index.html

The first train, which will make stopovers at stations like Voi and Mtito Andei along the way, will depart from Mombasa at 8 a.m. while the second - which will be express - will depart at 9 a.m.

The third train will also be express and will depart from the port city at 3 p.m.

Poor planning since two trains will arrive at mombasa or kisumu at the same time sharp.
Very clueless leaders at transport.

#902 Posted : Friday, June 30, 2017 11:23:42 PM

vky wrote:
Six trains per day starting tomorrow...3 each way....

http://www.businessdaily...2754-j959gvz/index.html

The first train, which will make stopovers at stations like Voi and Mtito Andei along the way, will depart from Mombasa at 8 a.m. while the second - which will be express - will depart at 9 a.m.

The third train will also be express and will depart from the port city at 3 p.m.

i can wager there will be no inter county train leaving tomorrow, was there yesterday and what is in the article above is a stark contrast to what the seemingly clueless officials at the station told me

You are a genius...they have just cancelled the launch.
MKT

Iganamagana
#903 Posted : Sunday, July 02, 2017 3:03:25 PM

They can actually do 10 passenger trains per day (5 from nbi and 5 from mbs) and also do 10 cargo trains each night (5 from mbs and 5 from nbi). That is 20 trains every 24hrs. That way the reli will be well utilized.

Who are these guys making all those 10 trips?

If they could have a 7.00pm departure on Fridays and Sundays in both towns, they would benefit many workers who would wish to see their families.
#904 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 6:30:22 PM

Na Engineer wetu ako wapi?
#905 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 7:07:51 PM

Wako huko Kirinyaga construction.
Fullykenyan
#906 Posted : Monday, July 03, 2017 7:09:42 PM

Wako huko Kirinyaga construction.

The one that is synonymous with shoddy work?
#907 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 12:46:29 PM

SGR Phase 2A (Nairobi-Naivasha) is ongoing. This 4.5km tunnel at Embulbul, Ngong will be the longest in East Africa.

#908 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 12:54:15 PM

More progress...

The Kenya Railways Corporation has received 60 double-stack wagons for the Standard Gauge Railway freight services. Double stack wagons are able to transport containers with one placed on top of the other. With double stack wagons, the train will have a capacity of transporting over 200 containers in one trip.

http://www.the-star.co.k...wagons-for-sgr_c1597605

#909 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 12:58:46 PM

Niiice

#910 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 1:13:06 PM

The most expensive train project in the world, in a country where less than 5% of the population files tax returns.

And there are actually people applauding this madness.

Only in Africa.
#911 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 2:39:10 PM

The most expensive train project in the world, in a country where less than 5% of the population files tax returns.

Only in Africa.

In 1890s the Lunatic line was considered in the same goggles you are using now but it proved "pundits" wrong as it later created the country we today call Kenya with numerous commercial centers along its path.

Jitahidi
#912 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 2:53:37 PM

Only in Africa.

@KulaRaha you have fought SGR since the start. May be you are an investor in the transport business or freight terminal and projecting losses ahead..
sheri
#913 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 3:02:51 PM

Only in Africa.

Majority of Kenyans usually fight government projects without outlining the pro's and cons of such projects. I would rather you outline the issues that make such a project useless and give wazuans an opportunity to interrogate the issues . Otherwise we will lump you together with those tenderpreneurs who missed the opportunity to eat.
#914 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 4:58:17 PM

Only in Africa.

You have not heard of HS2 192 Kilometers to cost £6.6bn or $8.6bn
#915 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 8:03:58 PM

Phase 2 INTERMEDIATE STATIONS

Narok, Mulot, Bomet, Sondu, Ahero South, Kibos

Double stack wagons have been received

Freight locomotives

4.5Km Tunnel Embulbul Ngong

#916 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 8:42:24 PM

Tano Tena!

TIIBIM.

#917 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 10:38:31 PM

Phase 2 INTERMEDIATE STATIONS

Narok, Mulot, Bomet, Sondu, Ahero South, Kibos

Double stack wagons have been received

Freight locomotives

4.5Km Tunnel Embulbul Ngong

I used to see these kind of manenos i.e. tunnels etc huko Switzerland. Kumbe even us Kenyans are capable of doing it. This is a big boost to the morale of Kenyans. Anything is doable. Kudos to Ohuru for the transformation into the first world. I know even mzungu can not believe what is happening in kenya courtesy of khamwana.
#918 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 11:09:02 PM

I understand that National Geographic and the Discovery Channel are doing a documentary on the SGR under their MegaProjects series. I am very proud to be Kenyan and also very proud of Ohuru.
#919 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 11:28:55 PM

Only in Africa.

In 1890s the Lunatic line was considered in the same goggles you are using now but it proved "pundits" wrong as it later created the country we today call Kenya with numerous commercial centers along its path.

Ala...what changed? You used to be so anti-SGR?
#920 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 11:33:00 PM

Only in Africa.

Ala...what changed? You used to be so anti-SGR?

Jamaa alipewa kazismile