Maize politics
http://www.the-star.co.k...-rift-maize-says-koskei
The North Rift maize farmers shouldn't hold the govt hostage. Now they are even dictating prices that govt (read tax payers) should buy. NB the NCPB depots are still full of last yrs maize. Why should a bag of maize be selling at 800 bob in Uganda while it is 3000 bob on the other side of the border in kenya? Maize should be left to market forces like all other commodities. That way the price of unga will come down to 50 bob per 2kg.
jaggernaut wrote:http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/move-rift-maize-says-koskei
The North Rift maize farmers shouldn't hold the govt hostage. Now they are even dictating prices that govt (read tax payers) should buy. NB the NCPB depots are still full of last yrs maize. Why should a bag of maize be selling at 800 bob in Uganda while it is 3000 bob on the other side of the border in kenya? Maize should be left to market forces like all other commodities. That way the price of unga will come down to 50 bob per 2kg.
It is not as simple as that. Both producers and consumers are Kenyans and the GOK is duty bound to safeguard the welfare of both. To be honest, K.Sh.800 per 90kg bag does not cover even half of the production costs. If we wish our farmers to continue producing maize, a price south of K.Sh2,500 a bag is demotivating. Note that being food self-sufficient is not only a matter of national pride but also security. Recall, a while ago when Tanzania was blocking movement of their maize into Kenya allegedly because they also did not have enough. Before this, somebody had tried to sneak a ship load of aflatoxin maize in to the country.
The gava gave them fertaliser and machinery and they produced as required. The farmers have done their part, now let the gava buy the maize to put in grain reserves period! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:The gava gave them fertaliser and machinery and they produced as required. The farmers have done their part, now let the gava buy the maize to put in grain reserves period! were they producing for gava??? why doesnt gava buy rice, wheat, coffee, beans etc etc? hii mapendeleo iishe kabisa When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
kingfisher wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:The gava gave them fertaliser and machinery and they produced as required. The farmers have done their part, now let the gava buy the maize to put in grain reserves period! were they producing for gava??? why doesnt gava buy r ice, wheat, coffee, beans etc etc? hii mapendeleo iishe kabisa All those you have highlighted are only used to prepare snacks as you wait to eat the real food? Why would government waste money buying rice(who eats rice anyway?)?Coffee ni ya wazungu na Kysse! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Willing buyer willing seller "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
A 50kg bag of DAP goes for KSh 3,000 in retail. The government provided subsidized fertilizer which was going for KSh 2,200, however this was quietly siphoned by the big guns e.g. in the Nakuru depot a good portion of that consignment ended up in Kabarak farm of MO1; so most farmers did not benefit from the government subsidies. 25kg of certified seeds were selling at KSh 3,500. When you compound all these together with labor and machinery, the cost of producing a 90 kg bag of maize becomes very high in comparison to someone farming in UG or TZ. DAP in UG is approximately KSh 1,000; ironically that too was shipped through the Mombasa port. Considering the high cost of farming in Kenya probably as a results of high Duty, VAT and other Taxes, it’s cheaper for us to stop farming and become net importers of food stuff.
Tebes wrote:Willing buyer willing seller Middle men are also a problem!!!!!!!!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
otienosmall wrote:A 50kg bag of DAP goes for KSh 3,000 in retail. The government provided subsidized fertilizer which was going for KSh 2,200, however this was quietly siphoned by the big guns e.g. in the Nakuru depot a good portion of that consignment ended up in Kabarak farm of MO1; so most farmers did not benefit from the government subsidies. 25kg of certified seeds were selling at KSh 3,500. When you compound all these together with labor and machinery, the cost of producing a 90 kg bag of maize becomes very high in comparison to someone farming in UG or TZ. DAP in UG is approximately KSh 1,000; ironically that too was shipped through the Mombasa port. Considering the high cost of farming in Kenya probably as a results of high Duty, VAT and other Taxes, it’s cheaper for us to stop farming and become net importers of food stuff. Accept and move on. How come the DAP is cheaper in UG than Kenya after making the trip all the way from Mbsa ? Just like fuel,accept and move on the middle men will continue building mansions
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
Swenani wrote:kingfisher wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:The gava gave them fertaliser and machinery and they produced as required. The farmers have done their part, now let the gava buy the maize to put in grain reserves period! were they producing for gava??? why doesnt gava buy r ice, wheat, coffee, beans etc etc? hii mapendeleo iishe kabisa All those you have highlighted are only used to prepare snacks as you wait to eat the real food? Why would government waste money buying rice(who eats rice anyway?)?Coffee ni ya wazungu na Kysse! Uuuuwii eti gava to buy coffee? Please usiharibie farmers na kessy starehe.
kiash wrote:otienosmall wrote:A 50kg bag of DAP goes for KSh 3,000 in retail. The government provided subsidized fertilizer which was going for KSh 2,200, however this was quietly siphoned by the big guns e.g. in the Nakuru depot a good portion of that consignment ended up in Kabarak farm of MO1; so most farmers did not benefit from the government subsidies. 25kg of certified seeds were selling at KSh 3,500. When you compound all these together with labor and machinery, the cost of producing a 90 kg bag of maize becomes very high in comparison to someone farming in UG or TZ. DAP in UG is approximately KSh 1,000; ironically that too was shipped through the Mombasa port. Considering the high cost of farming in Kenya probably as a results of high Duty, VAT and other Taxes, it’s cheaper for us to stop farming and become net importers of food stuff. Accept and move on. How come the DAP is cheaper in UG than Kenya after making the trip all the way from Mbsa ? Just like fuel,accept and move on the middle men will continue building mansions Tell that to the poor folk...pole kwao. possunt quia posse videntur
Seed ndio shida. Seed varieties like 614, 625, 629 etc were developed in the early 80's and require lots of fertilizer. They are expensive, have a long maturity period and hence no longer profitable.
How maize-growing cartel holds State to ransomMeanwhile middlemen have imported hundreds of thousands of bags from Uganda at 800bob and are waiting to sell to NCPB at 2800 bob. Current maize market price is 1500 bob. For how long will we subsidize maize farmers, and making the price of unga so high?
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,501 Location: nairobi
Bang! https://www.businessdail...44472-n8w17mz/index.html HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Another maize scandal in the pan cooking. Quote:Maize farmers face a fertiliser crisis ahead of the planting season after the government said it could not promise a timely delivery of the subsidised farm input.
Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Mwangi Kiunjuri said the State had challenges procuring fertiliser, casting doubts on the availability of the commodity with just a month to the beginning of the season.
Mr Kiunjuri did not disclose details about the procurement troubles, but historically firms bidding for the lucrative import of the subsidised fertiliser have fought court battles over tendering. You all know how it plays out - no fertilizer then low production causing importation of maize. If Uhuru wants to achieve any of his agendas he has to ensure that Kenya is food sufficient. Na si lazima watu wale ugali ama githeri. I think to punish these people we should produce more rice wheat, revolutionize the potato and it will not take long before that maize magendo industry is totally disrupted. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:Another maize scandal in the pan cooking. Quote:Maize farmers face a fertiliser crisis ahead of the planting season after the government said it could not promise a timely delivery of the subsidised farm input.
Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Mwangi Kiunjuri said the State had challenges procuring fertiliser, casting doubts on the availability of the commodity with just a month to the beginning of the season.
Mr Kiunjuri did not disclose details about the procurement troubles, but historically firms bidding for the lucrative import of the subsidised fertiliser have fought court battles over tendering. You all know how it plays out - no fertilizer then low production causing importation of maize. If Uhuru wants to achieve any of his agendas he has to ensure that Kenya is food sufficient. Na si lazima watu wale ugali ama githeri. I think to punish these people we should produce more rice wheat, revolutionize the potato and it will not take long before that maize magendo industry is totally disrupted. ... Or they will get local (read well politically connected) businessmen to import the fertilizer and flood the market like we saw with the mercury. BBI will solve it :)
kimiri wrote:jaggernaut wrote:http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/move-rift-maize-says-koskei
It is not as simple as that. Both producers and consumers are Kenyans and the GOK is duty bound to safeguard the welfare of both. To be honest, K.Sh.800 per 90kg bag does not cover even half of the production costs. If we wish our farmers to continue producing maize, a price south of K.Sh2,500 a bag is demotivating. Note that being food self-sufficient is not only a matter of national pride but also security. Recall, a while ago when Tanzania was blocking movement of their maize into Kenya allegedly because they also did not have enough. Before this, somebody had tried to sneak a ship load of aflatoxin maize in to the country. Maize is our Food security. Food has been a cause of riots and collapse of order all over the world starting with the known french revolution caused by the rise of bread prices. Eygpt subsidizes its wheat. I heard somewhere that in India its onions, i don't know how true this is... but everywhere i know Governments including US, Britain subsidies its farmers and guarantees a reserve price and keeps strategic reserves in case of a shortage. Increase in prices on staple food consumed by the majority of the populace means most cannot afford to buy it, which means hunger then anger and there is no way you can control an hungry-angry mass - riots - collapse of order and possibly a revolution. That is what is happening in Venezuela and Sudan. The majority of those citizens don't care about oil prices, they want to eat.
So even after the bumper harvest in 2019, millers have been allowed to import maize because ..... you guessed it, our produce is rotten. No farmer can prosper in Kenya unless ofcourse if your name ends with ..tta. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/10/2015 Posts: 961 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:So even after the bumper harvest in 2019, millers have been allowed to import maize because ..... you guessed it, our produce is rotten.
No farmer can prosper in Kenya unless ofcourse if your name ends with ..tta. Rotten maize > aflatoxins > cancer > death. https://www.cancer.gov/a...k/substances/aflatoxins
It would be genocidal for millers to feed kenyans rotten maize so as to please maize farmers. You should also know that last year it was unusually wet especially during the harvest season and this led to spoilage and poor drying of the maize and thus rotten maize. https://www.the-star.co....-harvest-in-north-rift/
So where does kenyatta come in? You want to blame him for the "Indian ocean dipole" that caused the unusual weather and climate change? Proverbs 13:11 Dishonest money dwindles away, but whoever gathers money little by little makes it grow.
sqft wrote:murchr wrote:So even after the bumper harvest in 2019, millers have been allowed to import maize because ..... you guessed it, our produce is rotten.
No farmer can prosper in Kenya unless ofcourse if your name ends with ..tta. Rotten maize > aflatoxins > cancer > death. https://www.cancer.gov/a...k/substances/aflatoxins
It would be genocidal for millers to feed kenyans rotten maize so as to please maize farmers. You should also know that last year it was unusually wet especially during the harvest season and this led to spoilage and poor drying of the maize and thus rotten maize. https://www.the-star.co....-harvest-in-north-rift/
So where does kenyatta come in? You want to blame him for the "Indian ocean dipole" that caused the unusual weather and climate change? Even the maize that comes from brazil has afflatoxin the humidity is from the sea...NTV already exposed to the public that what we think is very clean unga including Hostess has high contents of afflatoxin That not withstanding the govt is very capable of formulating policies that would ensure that a farmer's produce is well stored and preserved. The inaction is a let down to farmers. It rains very heavily in Ug and Tz actually more than Kenya yet they find ways to feed us. The same measures that were taken in the dairy sector can be taken in all agri sectors "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Maize politics