5 Pages123>»
Uhuru: 14 seater matatus allowed back on the road W.I.E
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 7:57:04 PM

Rink > NTV Jioni!

We are back to where Moi took us.

Sad Sad Sad Sad

#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 8:13:23 PM

Rink > NTV Jioni!

Sad Sad Sad Sad

I think you misquoted him. He said he suspends "blanket ban" on 14-seater. Blanket means overall. So it means, some will be allowed, some will not be allowed. Where and how? I don't know.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 8:22:29 PM

"Accordingly, this ban will not be implemented to ensure that operators continue to invest in new, roadworthy and, therefore, safer transport for rural and long-distance routes.

"In turn, I expect the industry to support and comply with my government's efforts to reduce congestion through the elimination of low-capacity vehicles in cities like Nairobi and Mombasa," he said.

#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 8:37:29 PM

Rink > NTV Jioni!

Sad Sad Sad Sad

The 14 seater ban was a stupid move. Let people put 62, 33, 14 seaters, promboxes, boda bodas on the road and then the commuters will decide what is best for them at a particular time. Each of those modes of transport have their niches and they complement each other. That is why someone takes a prombox from muhuru bay to migori, then a 62 seater bus from migori to Nbi, then a 14 seater to embakasi, then a boda boda to his house hapo tassia nssf grabbed land. It is the market forces, the customers, who will weed out any inappropriate modes of transport due to market preferences.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 9:31:31 PM

Rink > NTV Jioni!

Sad Sad Sad Sad

The 14 seater ban was a stupid move. Let people put 62, 33, 14 seaters, promboxes, boda bodas/cyclists on the road and then the commuters will decide what is best for them at a particular time. Each of those modes of transport have their niches and they complement each other. That is why someone takes a prombox from muhuru bay to migori, then a 62 seater bus from migori to Nbi, then a 14 seater to embakasi, then a boda boda to his house hapo tassia nssf grabbed land. It is the market forces, the customers, who will weed out any inappropriate modes of transport due to market preferences.

Not with their crazy ways of driving..feeling all superman.
If we are going to allow the boda bodas,cyclists,camels and donkeys then let's ensure that we have designated side roads for them and leave the main roads for vehicles.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 9:35:15 PM

Toxicity
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 6:37:41 AM

Rink > NTV Jioni!

Sad Sad Sad Sad

I personally think they wouldn't have reversed the order but come up with a proper transport system; as simple as the old KBS system. Not a Transport system managed by hooligans.....
update president set president = speaker where president is null
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 8:15:32 AM

Rink > NTV Jioni!

Sad Sad Sad Sad

The 14 seater ban was a stupid move. Let people put 62, 33, 14 seaters, promboxes, boda bodas/cyclists on the road and then the commuters will decide what is best for them at a particular time. Each of those modes of transport have their niches and they complement each other. That is why someone takes a prombox from muhuru bay to migori, then a 62 seater bus from migori to Nbi, then a 14 seater to embakasi, then a boda boda to his house hapo tassia nssf grabbed land. It is the market forces, the customers, who will weed out any inappropriate modes of transport due to market preferences.

Not with their crazy ways of driving..feeling all superman.
If we are going to allow the boda bodas,cyclists,camels and donkeys then let's ensure that we have designated side roads for them and leave the main roads for vehicles.

@kssye, you never leave the animals behind! smile

@jagger, I think the rationale behind the 32 and 64 seater was to reduce the number of mats in the road in Nai. I agree with @Toxicity, that what we need is a proper transport system, which includes timed movement of mats or buses. Hii mambo ya kubangbang mat mpaka ijae ndio itoke kwa stage ni chida.
#9 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 8:34:55 AM

If you drive on a Sunday or on a public holiday, you would get a slight idea on who really causes jam on our roads.
kiash
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 8:43:00 AM

If you drive on a Sunday or on a public holiday, you would get a slight idea on who really causes jam on our roads.

Who does ? I thought the other day someone said there is jam even on sundays ati its guys from upside picking and dropping their mpangos to and from Eastlands .
5 Pages123>»