wazua Mon, May 6, 2024

12 Pages«<89101112>
Safaricom HY 2014/2015 EPS up 32%
#181 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 9:35:24 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Safcom leads banks to take all shylock business,they must enter with caution knowing a shylock holds some personal assets to sell when the borrower defaults

What does 'lending' airtime cost Safcom? Almost zero.

Okoa jahazi? 5bob!! You borrow 50, use it, next time you top up with 100 your balance will be 45
watesh
#182 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 9:37:19 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Safcom leads banks to take all shylock business,they must enter with caution knowing a shylock holds some personal assets to sell when the borrower defaults

When your phone number is part of your identity, one way or another your will end up paying debt to be able to use the number at peace. Plus they lend small amounts so its not really hard to pay up but the masses, ease and repeat customers will assure them of revenues
#183 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 10:14:42 PM

mlennyma wrote:

What does 'lending' airtime cost Safcom? Almost zero.

Okoa jahazi? 5bob!! You borrow 50, use it, next time you top up with 100 your balance will be 45

What @vvs is saying is that when Safaricom gives you 500/= airtime loan it's not like they get Kshs. 500/= from "their pocket". If you don't pay, they actually don't lose what they had in the first place.

Of course Safcom will still do everything to ensure you pay but default doesn't have the same effects as for banks and shylocks who actually part with hard cash.

As for the Kenya Power one, I suspect they have some arrangement where by if you don't pay, any time you try to buy tokens using other means, your money is "swallowed" to pay the debt. And in case you qualify for certain amounts depending on your profile.
#184 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 10:24:45 PM

watesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

When your phone number is part of your identity, one way or another your will end up paying debt to be able to use the number at peace. Plus they lend small amounts so its not really hard to pay up but the masses, ease and repeat customers will assure them of revenues

Plus they can forward your name to the credit bureau.

You would have to be nuts to let that happen because of a few hundreds or thousands.
#185 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 10:29:33 PM

watesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

You would have to be nuts to let that happen because of a few hundreds or thousands.

#186 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 10:35:53 PM

watesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

iam more worried about kcb giving upto 1m than safcoms airtime
hisah
#187 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 2:49:07 PM

Sellers stepping in.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#188 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 11:55:04 PM

Pesa Nane
#189 Posted : Friday, April 17, 2015 8:56:08 PM

Nzioka Waita joined Safaricom in 2001 as a Legal Officer responsible for Site Acquisition and thereafter rose steadily through the ranks to serve the company in various capacities ranging from his role as Legal Services Manager between 2002 and 2007 and thereafter as Head of Legal & Regulatory Affairs between the years of 2007and 2010 followed by a brief stint as Head of Strategy & New Business responsible for driving the company's mergers and acquisitions agenda, a position he held until April 2011 when he took up his present role as Corporate Affairs Director.
Nzioka is an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya and a Certified Public Secretary, he holds a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree from the University of Sheffield and a Post Graduate Diploma in IT & Communications Law from Queen Mary, University of London both in the United Kingdom.
Nzioka is also a founding Trustee of the Safaricom Foundation, a role he has held from August 2003.
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
hisah
#190 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2015 2:58:10 AM

M-Pesa customers get access to seven African countries

Mpesa trying to link up north, west, east and south money pool in africa! Fantastic. Money velocity will be incredible when it builds momentum. Now add India into the mix and maybe chinaland in future and you have an incredible case study for years! Banks can no longer ignore this; they have to partner with the disruptor. Western union and moneygram saw it coming and partnered.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
watesh
#191 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2015 9:33:42 AM

hisah wrote:
M-Pesa customers get access to seven African countries

Mpesa trying to link up north, west, east and south money pool in africa! Fantastic. Money velocity will be incredible when it builds momentum. Now add India into the mix and maybe chinaland in future and you have an incredible case study for years! Banks can no longer ignore this; they have to partner with the disruptor. Western union and moneygram saw it coming and partnered.

More money!!!!
doubletap
#192 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2015 11:53:02 AM

http://www.theguardian.com/global-development-professionals-network/2015/apr/16/mobile-money-m-pesa-india-kenya-development

in other news...

A factory worker in Mumbai is about to settle down to a snack of samosas and chai when he gets a call from his wife in Uttar Pradesh who complains she is out of cash. No problem he says, and hangs up to send a transfer via text message. This is the latest ad for M-Pesa mobile money in India - part of a strategic campaign to target migrant workers.

M-Pesa launched in India two years ago, but so far it hasn’t had the huge impact it made in Kenya. In September 2014 M-Pesa had 370,000 users in India, where Vodafone, who provide the service, has 173 million customers. This is despite the country having huge potential in this area, with high mobile penetration and millions lacking bank services.

Mobile money was so successful in Kenya because of a combination of government support and consumer demand, which was driven by the need for secure cash transactions during political instability, says research from the University of Manchester. World Bank economist Wolfgang Fengler adds that having a mobile operator (Safaricom) with more than 50% market share also helped.

As access to financial services is recognised as key for ending poverty, how can mobile money be be encouraged in more developing countries? Do governments need to do more to support it? What’s the best way to educate users about the value of the service? Join an expert panel on Thursday 23 April, 1-3pm BST to discuss.

The live chat is not video or audio-enabled but will take place in the comments section (below). Get in touch via globaldevpros@theguardian.com or@GuardianGDP on Twitter to recommend someone for our expert panel. Follow the discussion using the hashtag #globaldevlive.
You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else - Albert Einstein
Ericsson
#193 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 3:03:30 PM

Safaricom to announce full year 2014/2015 Annual Financial Results on 7th May 2015
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
watesh
#194 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 7:22:49 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Safaricom to announce full year 2014/2015 Annual Financial Results on 7th May 2015

thanks, will livestream the whole event
Ericsson
#195 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 10:22:26 AM

Safaricom Mkt cap reaches 700bn
#196 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 12:22:23 PM

Ericsson wrote:

lets give them credit for accounting efficiency and consistent results dates.
#197 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 12:29:00 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

lets give them credit for accounting efficiency and consistent results dates.

True...they set the standard...any projections?
Ericsson
#198 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 12:36:04 PM

Profit before Tax at ksh.42bn
Dividend at 55 cents due to additional cash needed to implement the security surveillance system and acquisition of YU infrastructure
#199 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 12:45:15 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Dividend at 55 cents due to additional cash needed to implement the security surveillance system and acquisition of YU infrastructure

my credit has been disappearing I think they have done well.
#200 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 1:21:51 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

my credit has been disappearing I think they have done well.