wazua Sun, May 5, 2024

5 Pages<12345>
Equity Bank Ltd Q3 2014 results
jwatesh
#41 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 10:37:10 AM

I like how they getting serious with the Tanzanian business, KCB should borrow ideas....banking penetration is low there, peace is high GET THAT MONEY!!!!
mkeiy
#42 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 11:13:15 AM

Gatheuzi wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
jwatesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
We will reap big from the construction of the standard gauge railway,this project requires banks with a large balance sheet and equity is already in talks with all the contractors for financing agreements we can't wait to see the growth when the projects gains motion...says J.m

1) The Chinese are financing it and building it so why the need for local financing? What GoK is financing has and will be raised from the Eurobond & Infrastructure Bonds. Whereas ALL banks can/will buy the infrastructure bonds, banks prefer lending at much higher rates/spreads to the private sector.

2) There may be some local financing for some local firms but the Chinese will probably find a way into this market as well. They have trillions of $$$ so why not venture into this sector? It is only a matter of time until a Chinese Bank buys into a local bank.

Real value in the short term comes from ancillary industries that can spring up around the SGR construction. Hopefully, this results in skills transfer that leads to long-term benefits.

Contractors paid for work done and certified so they have to either use retained earnings or short term loans. The Chinese banks will not handle local lending but just lend to the China based companies which will look for funds in China then come spend it here.
China banks already have a HUGE Asian market especially India with a billion people why come to unstable Africa before handling Asian countries next door first

India is not like black Africa. They ahve their conglomerates which can rival the Chinese,they've got the man power and the government.

The present black Africa is not similar to the largely unstable ungovernable gvts we had in the 90s. We have a large growing middle class and fairly competitive democracies. For you to leap from upcoming growth, you must invest in Africa now. China knows that.

Of course they can add a default risk premium to Africa higher than that charged to US or say India.

@Gatheuzi, What's your point exactly? My response was to the reason behind China coming black Africa way than going to India.

Don't you think your argument [in red] above supports what iam alluding to? Link it with my red.
Gatheuzi
#43 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 12:05:15 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Gatheuzi wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
jwatesh wrote:
mlennyma wrote:
We will reap big from the construction of the standard gauge railway,this project requires banks with a large balance sheet and equity is already in talks with all the contractors for financing agreements we can't wait to see the growth when the projects gains motion...says J.m

1) The Chinese are financing it and building it so why the need for local financing? What GoK is financing has and will be raised from the Eurobond & Infrastructure Bonds. Whereas ALL banks can/will buy the infrastructure bonds, banks prefer lending at much higher rates/spreads to the private sector.

2) There may be some local financing for some local firms but the Chinese will probably find a way into this market as well. They have trillions of $$$ so why not venture into this sector? It is only a matter of time until a Chinese Bank buys into a local bank.

Real value in the short term comes from ancillary industries that can spring up around the SGR construction. Hopefully, this results in skills transfer that leads to long-term benefits.

Contractors paid for work done and certified so they have to either use retained earnings or short term loans. The Chinese banks will not handle local lending but just lend to the China based companies which will look for funds in China then come spend it here.
China banks already have a HUGE Asian market especially India with a billion people why come to unstable Africa before handling Asian countries next door first

India is not like black Africa. They ahve their conglomerates which can rival the Chinese,they've got the man power and the government.

The present black Africa is not similar to the largely unstable ungovernable gvts we had in the 90s. We have a large growing middle class and fairly competitive democracies. For you to leap from upcoming growth, you must invest in Africa now. China knows that.

Of course they can add a default risk premium to Africa higher than that charged to US or say India.

@Gatheuzi, What's your point exactly? My response was to the reason behind China coming black Africa way than going to India.

Don't you think your argument [in red] above supports what iam alluding to? Link it with my red.

"mkeiy I now see what you meant smile . I had thought you were implying that China will prefer India to Africa.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
theking
#44 Posted : Friday, January 16, 2015 11:51:26 AM

50/= zone seems cleared

innovator
#45 Posted : Friday, January 16, 2015 1:50:33 PM

jwatesh
#46 Posted : Friday, January 16, 2015 2:01:01 PM

[quote=innovator]Lets digest this first
http://www.businessdaily...8/-/q8efbn/-/index.html[/quote]
Well they moved to Wananchi Group, the next big company if Safaricom keeps sleeping on the home internet market
#47 Posted : Friday, January 16, 2015 5:42:23 PM

NAIROBI Jan 16 (Reuters) - Africa focused investment firm Helios will sell half its stake in Kenyan lender Equity Bank , or 12.22 percent of the bank's shares, to Norway's Norfininvest AS, the lender said on Friday.

The transaction, which requires regulatory approvals, will involve the sale of 452.9 million shares at an undisclosed price.

Equity's shares were trading at 52 Kenyan shillings on Friday, up slightly from the previous day's close of 51 shillings.

Norfininvest is jointly owned by Norfund, the Norwegian Investment Fund for Developing Countries, and Norfinance AS. Norfinance was established in 2013 alongside four private Norwegian partners to invest in banks and financial institutions in Africa.

Helios bought a 24.45 percent stake in Equity in 2007 for more than 11 billion shillings ($120.2 million).
#48 Posted : Friday, January 16, 2015 9:50:27 PM

mlennyma wrote:
NAIROBI Jan 16 (Reuters) - Africa focused investment firm Helios will sell half its stake in Kenyan lender Equity Bank , or 12.22 percent of the bank's shares, to Norway's Norfininvest AS, the lender said on Friday.

The transaction, which requires regulatory approvals, will involve the sale of 452.9 million shares at an undisclosed price.

Equity's shares were trading at 52 Kenyan shillings on Friday, up slightly from the previous day's close of 51 shillings.

Norfininvest is jointly owned by Norfund, the Norwegian Investment Fund for Developing Countries, and Norfinance AS. Norfinance was established in 2013 alongside four private Norwegian partners to invest in banks and financial institutions in Africa.

Helios bought a 24.45 percent stake in Equity in 2007 for more than 11 billion shillings ($120.2 million).

exercise caution when dealing with the equity stocksmile
theking
#49 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 12:38:04 PM

53/= touched
young farmer
#50 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 12:55:13 PM

My broker told me not to sell member yet, i can see why.
#51 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 1:14:08 PM

young farmer wrote:
My broker told me not to sell member yet, i can see why.

the last time I catched the c.e.o's eye,he was still vry optimistic owning more than 12b worth shares
Goldilocks Reloaded
#52 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 5:44:27 PM

mlennyma wrote:

@mlennyma fafanua zaidi... You sound almost like one Jimnah Mbaru smile
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
whiteowl
#53 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 7:49:16 PM

Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

whiteowl
#54 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 7:50:06 PM

mlennyma wrote:

don't say he didn't warn you! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Mainat
#55 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 6:51:22 AM

A shareholder would prefer a Nordic rather than Nigerian owning these shares.
It shows that Equity still has significant upside despite the thin simcard fiasco.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Goldilocks Reloaded
#56 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 12:41:48 PM

whiteowl wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

don't say he didn't warn you! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I am warned. Lakini bado najivunia kua Member Dancing
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
theking
#57 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 11:51:01 AM

strong demand at 53/=
#58 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 12:13:38 PM

Equity move from 45 to now is the best. Slow doesnot bring panic and stress. Pole pole
Goldilocks Reloaded
#59 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 12:38:07 PM

Interest from foreign investors on this counter is returning with a very good impact. Slow but sure.
And for the record, I am now officially an Equitel user.
theking
#60 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 12:57:45 PM

theking wrote:
strong demand at 53/=

now